FB Twitter

OWL COTE

OWL COTE

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 27 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
5.0
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.9


At the end of one of South West Scotland’s most stunning coastal driveways, rests Owl Cote & The Bird’s Nest, 2 luxury holiday homes on the beautiful shores of Carrick Bay, Gatehouse of Fleet in South West Scotland. Owl Cote has been beautifully “refreshed” with new carpets, repainted, new linens throughout and some wonderful new furniture. A true home from home.

Our umpteenth visit to Owlcote!

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Nov 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Yes, it is our umpteenth visit, well OK possibly 9th or 10th and we are never disappointed! We are always keen to see what changes happen upon arrival, for example, this time the pond renovation. We are not sun worshippers and enjoy the flora and fauna of the area whatever the time of the year and importantly, the weather. We can chillax, whatever the climate and Owlcote always allows us that opportunity. We highly recommend Owlcote but sadly the more people that give glowing recommendations, the less opportunity we have to re-book at our ideal time/date!!!!



Donald replied 26 days ago
Hello Gerald, thank you so much for taking the time to review your most recent stay with us at Owl Cote. It is a pleasure to welcome you back again. Owl Cote is a special place and the area has so much to offer our guests.

Five Star.

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Owl Cote is such a lovely property, warm and bright, with such comfortable furnishing, a well loved house, we immediately felt at home.
In fact it was a wrench to leave.
The large garden was enclosed and had lovely sitting areas to enjoy the views. We all loved the pond.
Our dogs enjoyed their stay as much as we did.




Donald replied 61 days ago
Hello Margaret, thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. Owl Cote is a special place and we are so pleased you had such a positive experience. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future.

Excellent full stop!

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Brilliant property, great peaceful location, totally relaxing. Included good customer supports and clear and helpful guidance on the property. We will be back. We highly recommend Owl Cote.



Donald replied 81 days ago
Hello Sean, we really appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We try hard to make our guests experience a positive one and we would look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Wonderful property

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Gutted that we forgot to sign guest book as we had the most amazing time in Owl Cote this year , we have had the pleasure of staying for several years and always regret not booking an extra week . The house is comfortable , very tastefully decorated with everything you could need when self catering . The views are extraordinary, lovely balcony to comfortably watch the most amazing skyline over the coast . The garden is glorious , beautiful planting and a gorgeous new pond area , we are very lucky to be able to stay . Great touches like dog towels for pooches and a lovely bouquet of flowers on arrival . The trouble is we don’t want anyone else finding our bay as it’s too nice to share



Donald replied 89 days ago
Hello Patsy, it was lovely to be able to host you once again at Owl Cote. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We feel so lucky to have such wonderful surroundings and there is so much to see and do in the area. Hopefully we will welcome you back soon.

Perfect week's stay for the family

Review submitted on Sat, 21 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful place to stay. The house was very well presented, comfortable and well equipped for its visitors.



Donald replied 103 days ago
Hello Cecily, thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Owl Cote. It really does make it all worthwhile when our guests have a positive experience. Our region has so much to offer our visitors and hopefully we can welcome you back in the future.

A proper holiday!

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Owlcote is a special place, the location is exceptional and the house has everything you need. Our holiday was based around the beach, sea swimming, building sand castles, a walk to the island at low tide with a bacon butty breakfast picnic. We saw deer from the kitchen window, and watched bats at dusk.
If you want to you can make a stay at Owlcote very uncommercial - which is just what we did.
I don't usually return to holiday cottages, but Owlcote may well be the exception.
Many, many thanks for sharing this lovely cottage.




Donald replied 109 days ago
Hello Gill, many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at Owl Cote. Our area has so much to offer our visitors and lots of the activities can be enjoyed right on the doorstep. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future.

Beautiful house, lovely location.

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Jul 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 8th stay at Owl Cote. A beautiful home away from home with everything you need for a comfortable stay. Beautiful sunsets.... we love Carrick Bay.



Donald replied 124 days ago
Hello Patricia, it was lovely to welcome you back to Owl Cote. Many thanks for taking the time to review your most recent stay with us. We are very lucky to have such beautiful surroundings . Our area has so much to offer our visitors. Hopefully we can welcome you back once again.

Amazing place, unique location

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
First time at owls cote and in area. Family with 3 young boys and my parents at birds nest. Carrick Shore is an amazing area, so unspoilt and like going back 30-40 years. Owls cote is lovely home with great facilities, large, well kept gardens and variety of places to sit with stunning views. Very private location setback from bay but only a minutes walk from incredible bay with warm swimming, views and walks out to tidal islands. Can't recommend more highly.



Donald replied 131 days ago
Hello Lucy, thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We feel Owl Cote & The Bird's Nest is perfect for families taking their holiday's together. There is so much to see and do in the area but also ideal for that peaceful getaway. We hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Peace and tranquility, away from it all. Perfect break - Far from the madding crowd.

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Situated so well hidden Owl Cote is an ideal getaway.
The property is extremely well equipped and spotlessly clean.
There were five of us for the weekend and we had more than ample facilities. Enjoying Trivial Pursuit in the evenings for the first time in years.
We are already planning (hopefully) to stay next year.
Thank you for accommodation us.

EileenScott







Donald replied 173 days ago
Hi Eileen, thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Owl Cote is ideal for that peaceful getaway with family and friends. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future.

Location, location, location.

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Owl Cote is 5 star in every aspect. Highest standards all round. You will not regret visiting this wonderful home. Enjoy.



Donald replied 180 days ago
Hi Fiona, thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us recently. We really appreciate your comments. It makes our job worthwhile when our guests have such a good experience.

Bliss

Review submitted on Mon, 24 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Did not want to leave . The most tranquil place I’ve ever stayed in. Surrounded by beauty, nature and birds. The house has everything you need , so warm and relaxing. The garden is fabulous with lots of seating areas. Out the back window and watch the animals and out the front the views of the water. What more could you ask for! It was also immaculately clean
Would recommend walking along to Knockbrex, if the cows let you pass . Lots of other spectacular walks which you will find in the book in accommodation.
Highly recommend Gather for food, Galloway Lodge and ReadingLasses in Wigtown.
Carrick is a wonderful place to completely switch off.




Donald replied 194 days ago
Hi Elaine, thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us. We feel Owl Cote is ideal for that peaceful getaway. We are very lucky to have such good establishments close by and it is great you got the opportunity to try some of them out. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future.

Location, locaton, location

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Jan 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Owl Cote is a very comfortable house with all you need for a relaxing stay. Beautiful, quiet location.



Donald replied 229 days ago
Hi Patricia, many thanks for leaving us a review after your stay at Owl Cote. We work hard to produce that home from home feeling and we are pleased you had a lovely stay.

Set yourself up for the winter.

Review submitted on Sat, 21 Nov 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely house with great views. We were fortunate enough to have a clear starry night, we sat out on the balcony, wrapped up in big cosy blankets, to catch the shooting stars and see the milky way. The house is equipped with everything you need for a relaxing break. We enjoyed having the wood burner on, especially when it was howling a gale outside. We will definitely be back again soon.




Donald replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Janette, many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us at Owl Cote. We are glad you got the opportunity to experience Galloway's dark skies. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Short stay at Owl Cote

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Oct 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely stay at Owl Cote, wonderful accommodation with stunning views . The children enjoyed the morning coastal walks and exploring the local area . Wish we had stayed longer !



Donald replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Pamela, we really appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. We are very lucky to have such amazing surroundings to enjoy. There is so much to see and do in the area. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future.

Tranquility

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Owl Cote was a well needed place to make the world feel normal to get away from the struggling world
A beautiful cottage in a stunning location with everything you need
Watch the sun go down over the sea with a glass of wine what more could you want
It was TRANQUILITY!




Donald replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Paul, many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. We try our best to make our guests experience a positive one and we feel very lucky to have such lovely surroundings. We hope we can welcome you back soon.

A magical Autumnal week in a very sunny Galloway

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We've just returned from a glorious stay at Owl Cote - and it was hard to tear ourselves away. We were blessed with wonderful weather, with only a few hours of rain one morning, so we were able to get out and about and to visit so many places.

We particularly loved Loch Trool and had a great walk around there. Beautiful colours and a great leg stretch.

We also visited the RSPB Wood of Cree - fabulous woodland walk with amazing waterfalls - alas no otters at the Otter Pool. But another visitor had seen Willow Tits.

The Mull of Galloway was a bit of a distance away, but well worth the journey - the most southern tip of Scotland with lighthouse. Portpatrick was a good place to visit for lunch, a good picturesque fishing port, with lots of pubs and restaurants. And then we had a good walk at Castle Kennedy round Black Loch.

And Ninian's Cave and Chapel, and the Isle of Whithorn, and the interesting town of Wigtown, the bookshop capital of Scotland - who knew?

And I had a hilarious game of golf at Gatehouse with my son. Hilarious on my part, because I hadn’t picked up my clubs for 2 years. Glorious views and a nice friendly course.

Don’t miss Kirkcudbright- an enchanting town. Great butchers - don’t go without sampling the steak, bacon and sausages. Great fishmongers - we had sea bass, salmon and oysters (and Owl Cote is complete with oyster shucker - how many holiday cottages have those?!). Several bakers and small independent friendly shops. We loved the ceramic pottery shop. And could have spent a fortune at the art gallery, The Whitehouse Gallery.

And after all that activity it was fabulous to go home to Owl Cote. Amazingly knitted out - everything is there that you could want. Warm, luxurious, very comfortable beds, beautifully decorated, standards way higher than the average holiday rental. It is, after all, a family home too. Everything has been thought out so well.

And then you come to the sunsets and the location of the cottage. The cottage has been designed with the sitting room and adjoining balcony overlooking the sea facing west. The sunsets were staggering. And we loved our sunset walks on the beach, again accompanied by the sunsets and also by the calls of the curlews and wading birds. My son even swam - not for long - but in October?!

I would love to visit again. It was the most lovely respite from the madness and upset that 2020 has brought us!




Donald replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Sally, thank you so much for leaving such a detailed review of what our region has to offer. It really does make our job much more worthwhile when our guests have such a positive experience. We hope we can welcome you back soon.

Another great stay at Owlcote

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Oct 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay at Owlcote and we had a wonderful time again, helped by some really good weather for September. It's a great property that has everything you could wish for, including Premier League football if that's your thing. Suffice to say that we are looking to return again in 2021.



Donald replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Chris, thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at Owl Cote. It is lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay and we would love to welcome you back in the future.

The Perfect Escape

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit to Owl Cote and once again it did not disappoint. Great location , beautiful accommodation. We had fantastic weather for walking and exploring and out favourite pastime, sitting on the balcony taking in the wonderful views especially the sunsets. We will definitely return.



Donald replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Peter, we really appreciate you taking the time to leave us your feedback. It makes our job so much more worthwhile when our guests have a good experience. We look forward to welcoming you back.

A secret gem!0

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Sep 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Owl Cote is a fantastic holiday home with every convenience. All fixtures & fittings are of good quality. The beautiful surrounding gardens offer a varied selection of seating areas. The beach is a 2 minute flat walk away & day trips to the surrounding area offered a variety of options. Definitely recommended.



Donald replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Christine, we really appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us. We work hard to produce that home from home feeling. There is so much to see and do in the area we hope we can welcome you back soon.

When Galloway was like the Mediterranean

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Aug 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our stay in Owl Cote very much, from seeing the owl on the first evening to walking to Knockbrex or the beach, swimming and kayaking most days in warm sunshine, and were sorry to leave. A very special place.



Donald replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Liz, many thanks for leaving us a lovely review. The weather was great during your stay and we are pleased you were able to make the best of it. Hopefully we can welcome you back soon.

Lovely relaxing place to stay

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second trip to Owlcote. It is a lovely home on a very special location, right on Carrick shore. There is lots to do in the surrounding area, or you can spend your time going for long walks along the beach and swimming in the sea.



Donald replied more than 1 year ago
Hello Clare, we are really grateful for you taking the time to review your stay with us at Owl Cote. We feel very lucky to be closely located to so many local attractions and activities. Our area offers so much for our visitors.

Superb accommodation

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Owlcote has everything for a family looking for a relaxing break. It is comfortable, clean, tastefully decorated with all the modern appliances you would hope for. The introduction of wifi is much appreciated. if you like what this gorgeous part of Scotland has to offer, Owlcote is the place to go, no doubt about it.



Donald replied more than 1 year ago
Hello John, many thanks for your lovely review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at Owl Cote. We feel very lucky that our area has so much to offer our visitors and hopefully you can return sometime soon.

Lovely property in a stunning location

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Feb 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Owl Cote is a lovely cottage in a stunning location. We had a wonderful stay and found it most comfortable. We would definitely consider returning in the future



Donald replied more than 1 year ago
Hello Kenny, thank you very much for your review. We really appreciate your feedback. We try very hard to make our guests experience home from home and we are glad you found the cottage comfortable. Hopefully we can welcome you back sometime soon.

Beautiful Christmas in Owl Cote :)))

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are definitely returning to this beautiful house in the most delightful, calming, location!
Was a much needed relaxation...
Lovely, warm welcome to a beautifully decorated Christmas tree & decor including a huge tray of Christmas delights plus our Christmas food was pre-arranged making life so much easier for us all.
Christmas morning we had the pleasure of deer roaming near the house
Wood burning fire was a dream, the house is beautifully decorated, providing us all with enough personal space to relax & rejuvenate.
Our evening walks looking at the amazing night sky were simply stunning....the peace & tranquility was much needed.
We wish we'd stayed longer....so sad returning home :(
Ourselves & our pooch, Connie, loved the area, especially our evening walks on the beach, along the coast looking at the stunning night sky.
Connie (and us humans) also enjoyed being sat in the delightful garden smelling the wildlife & watching the great outdoors in such a safe, isolated area.
Highly recommended xxxxx
The gardens are charming and secluded. The garden and outdoor seating areas are all picturesque , calm and relaxing.




Donald replied more than 1 year ago
Hello Victoria, thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Owl Cote. We are so pleased you had a wonderful time. Owl Cote is ideal for that tranquil getaway and we are glad you had a good experience. Hopefully we can welcome you back soon.

Short Break

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Nov 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Booked last minute for a break, the owner was very welcoming and nothing was any trouble. The cottage is furnished lovely and it had everything you needed. Very cosy and comfortable even on a rainy day, would definitely recommend it.



October break.

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Oct 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We enjoyed a peaceful break at Owl Cote. Seaside walks and visiting favourite places. The Station House Cookery School cafe serve pizza on a Sunday evening with byo wine. Well worth a visit if you like pizza. Very reasonably priced, tasty pizza and friendly staff.



A perfect break

Review submitted on Thu, 25 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Looking for a new location for our annual family trip to Galloway, (the owners of the Moorland Farm we used can no longer have us) we found Owl Cote when walking at Carrick Shore. It looked perfect, it is.

Clean comfortable well appointed accommodation by our favourite beach and a wonderful view, a perfect place to relax