FB Twitter

Islands @ Beachcroft

Islands @ Beachcroft

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 11 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.6
Location
4.8
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.8


Islands is the second floor apartment in a semi-detached Victorian house within a short walk to the beach and village. It is blessed by a simply lovely view from the large Velux window in the living room and this room has a dual aspect with the front window offering views out over Woolacombe Down, dunes and beach.

Great place to stay in Woolacombe

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely apartment in a great location in Woolacombe. Short walk to the beach and shops.
Sea views from living room, main bedroom and kitchen windows.
Me and my family really enjoyed our weeks stay at Islands, it was spotless clean, and bigger than it looks on the website photos, plenty of room for a family of 4. everything we needed was in the apartment.
Would definitely recommend this apartment for a stay in Woolacombe and hope to return ourselves next year.




Yet another lovely hoiday.

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been many times to Beachcroft and it never fails to meet our expectations. Location ideal, just up the road from the beach. The accommodation is comfortable and has everything we need, just be aware there several flights of stairs to go up but this gives lovely views over the bay. Woolacombe has a charm all of its own. Fabulous beach and glorious coastal path walks. It's our most favourite place in the world.



Spotless clean and a very warm welcome.

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Oct 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spotless clean and a very warm welcome.





































Thanks




Super clean, Covid safe and amazing sunsets.

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We've stayed here before and will do again as it's always enjoyable whatever the weather. Excellent location an easy walk to the beach so great for surfing without having to change on the beach. Gill and Rob are excellent hosts and can't do enough for you.



Wonderful holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Love this place have been staying there for 45yrs and would not change Gill and Rob are great and can’t do enough for you you only have to ask and it’s there. It’s like home from home can’t wait until we go again



Nice apartment, shame about the road noise...

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Aug 2020
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A modern 2nd floor apartment (beware, lots of stairs!) on Beach Road in a great location for the fantastic Woolacombe beach - just 4 minutes walk. Great views & an off road parking space provided, meaning we were able to leave the car where it was for the week & get around on foot. The apartment is 2 minutes walk from a selection of places to eat - Brundle's was the closest & mostly very good, with gluten free options.
Unfortunately, the traffic noise from Beach Road was very intrusive, especially in the front facing rooms, including the living room & the main bedroom - you had to close all the windows to hear each other or the TV. This worked, but made the rooms very hot in the height of summer. We couldn't understand why North Devon Council hadn't put in traffic calming measures (or a pedestrian crossing) on Beach Road to slow cars down & make it safer to cross - we had the noise of cars racing up & down the hill from early until late, including those with extra loud exhausts...
The apartment was in good repair & had spacious rooms. It was mostly well equipped (a couple of suggestions for improvements below) & very clean.
The shower is fantastic & it was also nice to have a bath, even if it is a bit shorter than some.
It was useful to have hooks for coats, bathrobe etc - surprising how many rentals don't have these! There was also lots of storage for clothes.
There is a large TV, which was good for viewing, but made it a squeeze to use the bistro seating set where you could admire the view from the Velux window - we sat there a couple of times but kept catching the edge of the TV & were worried about knocking it off its stand. We also had to work out how to use the TV & its Sky Box as there were no instructions.
The sofa in the living room was super comfortable, but the main bedroom's mattress was very soft & had a dip in it - it needs replacing.
We didn't like the closure on the door of the 2nd bedroom - it seemed unnecessary & would have been dangerous for small fingers; there was no closure on the door of the other bedroom.
There was a very good blackout blind in the main bedroom, but no privacy blind - to get changed you had to pull the blackout blind down & turn on the light. By contrast, the 2nd bedroom had a slatted blind, which wasn't quite wide enough & the slats didn't completely close, meaning the room was too light - anyone with young children might find it hard to get them off to sleep & that they get up early due to the light - not what parents need on holiday! Both bedrooms could do with a privacy blind AND a good blackout blind.
We are obviously in strange times, but the amended check in & check out times - 5pm & 9am - (to allow for deep cleaning) made a rather rushed beginning & end to our stay. Also, the owners' approach to Covid measures seemed a little inconsistent - a week before we arrived we received an email saying that we now needed to bring our own bed linen, which seemed odd when towels, tea towels etc were still being provided. It meant a last minute scramble for supplies, as well as trying to find out the details of the bed size in the main bedroom (this has now been added to the apartment description for future renters), more luggage to transport & carry up the stairs, plus having to make the beds when we arrived. We were asked to put all towels, bath mats etc in a sealed bag before leaving - we didn't understand why this couldn't include bed linen.
Similarly, instructions in the apartment requested us not to put any cardboard in the recycling (due to Covid?) but to put it in the bin - why couldn't we put it in the NDC brown recycling bag as other apartments were? We took our cardboard home - we weren't comfortable with our holiday contributing to Devon landfill…
The Wifi in the apartment was intermittent/poor - we got a better signal on the beach!
Interestingly, for a top floor apartment, there was also a very poor radio signal, although you could listen to the radio through the TV.
Possibly due to Covid cleanliness, there were none of the usual useful leftover kitchen sundries in the cupboards - salt, pepper, tinfoil, a few teabags etc - which was a pity, although loo rolls, hand wash, washing up liquid & cleaning products were provided.
There was only one oven tray - the grill pan - which made cooking a full meal in the oven a challenge - eventually, we covered one of the oven shelves with tin foil (which we had to buy). We also couldn't find any microwavable dishes.
Although it was nice to have a dishwasher, with only 4 of most items you had to wash up after meals if you wanted to have crockery & cutlery for the next meal.
The bathroom was nice (although the floor tiles could do with re-grouting & the mould killed at the edges of the tiling around the bath) but a loo roll holder would be nice, plus a lock on the door. It also took me a while to find the bath plug, which had been put in the bathroom cupboard!
The chairs around the table in the living room were hard & needed seat pads - cushions were provided on the sofa, but not the chairs.
There was only the barest of information in the apartment - one sheet with essential phone numbers & one about Covid arrangements. There were no fire escape instructions (that we could see), particularly important in a 2nd floor apartment.

As a suggestion, it would be useful to have some sort of secure outside space for sandy kit such as surf boards & wetsuits - maybe a shed? That would help to limit the amount of sand coming into the building.

Overall, a nice apartment, but the road noise would probably put us off booking Islands again.




Fantastic location with amazing views.

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely modern flat very close to the village centre and beach. Gill and Rob are excellent hosts who are very friendly and helpful. Excellent value. We go back every year. Love it.



A perfect place

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely situated apartment, good views and close to the beach. Both rooms are spacious and kitchen mostly well equipped. Host was very helpful. Would go again.



Excellent location 5 minute walk from the beach

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Aug 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great 2nd storey apartment thats well furnished throughout. 5 minute walk to the beach and all of the attractions in Woolacoombe.



Beach holiday with family

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Nostalgic trip to meet up with old friends & kids going with their kids ,found this accommodation excellent & views are excellent, 5 minutes to beach with shops on route , great stay



A Lovely Place to Stay

Review submitted on Wed, 29 May 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
My son and his girlfriend had an enjoyable week's stay. it is ideally situated and well equipped for your needs. Would recommend to others.