FB Twitter

Stone Walls Cottage

Stone Walls Cottage

4.3
out of 5
Ratings from 10 reviews
80% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.1
Comfort
4.3
Condition
4.1
Location
4.5
Value
4.3
Customer
Service
4.6


Stonewalls is a pretty thatched cottage that is full of character and period features, including exposed beams, stained glass windows, stone fireplace, widescreen TV and Sky TV.

Great location for exploring the Cotswolds

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Jun 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great time at Stone Walls. Peaceful location. Main bathroom needs a little attention. Garden cushions need replacement. Kitchen well stocked but it needs a bigger fridge for six people. Perhaps a beer and wine fridge? Smoke alarm needs replacing. Eggcups and ice cube trays would be useful. We would recommend it.



Stunning cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stonewalls Cottage is very well appointed, the location is ideal for visiting the many places of interest in the area. The cottage is very comfortable and is so interesting as it is was built in 1763 as the Toll House, the stained glass windows are beautiful. It has everything you need for a very comfortable stay.



Needs more care and clean

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Jun 2022
2.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
2.0
Location
3.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Beautiful cottage but needs extra TLC to bring it up to standard.
Not clean when we arrived. Found old dusty socks in room
Toilet seat broken
Two overused kitchen towels and one disposal sink cloth left in kitchen. Not ideal
Only one chopping board provided
No bin bags provided
No extra toilet paper provided
Mossy smell in the house
Bathroom door does not close properly
Carpets old and don’t look clean
Only one Heavy vac provided. Could not use this to clean upstairs. A cordless vac for hues use especially for long stairs is necessary
Very steep stairs. Needs to be highlighted in bold on the booking page




Cotswold break

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Mar 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely character cottage in a great location ideal for visiting other parts of the Cotswolds and walks to pretty villages nearby



Nice but not great

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Aug 2021
3.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The cottage needs some TLC, paintwork peeling, broken toilet seats (reported but not fixed), cooker dials all with no numbers on so no idea what is on and at what heat! The village it is located in is lovely and handy for getting around the Cotswolds, however, it is also located on the edge of a main road which seems to have more traffic than the M25!! Take ear plugs if you want to sleep past 0530!! All in all, it's an ok place but not a great place.



A beautiful place

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Jul 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is really cosy and well situated. Useful information is provided by Nick and Fiona. Perfect location to visit the Cotswolds.



Stonewalls March 2020

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Mar 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is beautiful and very well equipped, both with necessities and personal, decorative touches that made it feel like home. The linen was very good quality and the beds in the large bedroom and the annexe were very comfortable.

Unfortunately, the small twin bedroom had a couple of problems. The mattress on the left hand bed is very soft, and the springs could be felt (and heard) when trying to sleep. It's probably fine for a child but we are four adults. As the room slopes, the other bed could do with levelling using something under the side next to the bedside table to raise that side of the bed. Two of us slept in that room the first night. I slept in the right hand bed and found myself holding on to the side of the mattress in the night so I didn't roll off. The second night we had to share the large bed in the annexe as the other mattress was just too uncomfortable. My friend who swapped and slept in the right hand bed actually fell out of the bed during the night.

It's a real shame, as otherwise this is one of the nicest cotttages I have ever stayed in. I would highly recommend, but only if the small room wasn't needed. We will be returning in the Autumn, unless the situation re Covid-19 is more prolonged than we anticipate.. I hope you all stay safe and well over the next few weeks.




Wonderful stay

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Booked this cottage as a surprise for my friends 65th birthday what a surprise we all had cottage was beautiful stairs are strange but we laugh up them and down them everything about the cottage was lovely very high standard in everything from furniture to knives and forks this is five star would recommend this cottage to anyone lovely location for visits to the Cotswolds we had a great stay



A very comfortable cottage in the Village of Long Compton.

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Sep 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We very much enjoyed our stay in Stonewalls Cottage. There is a very comfortable lounge with satellite television, good kitchen and dining room and two nice bedrooms. The stairs going up to the bedrooms are very steep so we chose to sleep in the annex which is self contained. We lived in the cottage for 3 months and would highly recommend it to other holiday makers.
There was excellent support and communication from Cotswold and Vale Letting.




2 day stay at Stone Walls

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous cottage, perfectly located for our two days. Lovely rooms, great communal sitting room. Really easy access and nice to be completely independent. Would definitely recommend this cottage. Perfect location for the Cotswold Distillery and lovely walking in the area. The Red Lion Pub down the road was great, with really lovely food and very hospitable staff.
Only tiny thing we noticed was that the kitchen didn't feel fully stocked, e.g. a few more chopping boards/ pie dishes but this was a really small thing and did not impact at all on the enjoyment of our stay.