FB Twitter

Meadow Cottage

Meadow Cottage

4.2
out of 5
Ratings from 6 reviews
83% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.3
Condition
3.8
Location
4.7
Value
3.7
Customer
Service
4.7


Meadow Cottage is a charming three bedroom holiday home on the outskirts of Eynsham, less than six miles from Oxford. Boasting stylish interiors, a generous garden and parking, this dog friendly property is the perfect base from which to explore Oxford and the eastern Cotswolds. For larger parties, consider booking neighbouring Brook Cottage, sleeping a further 6+2 guests.

Lovely cottage in the countryside

Review submitted on Wed, 04 May 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay in Meadow Cottage, which is located in the beautiful countryside close to Oxford and the Cotswolds. The cottage is lovely decorated and has all the amenities and excellent beds. Small detail is that if you're over 170 cms the showerhead is a tad low. Would definately recommend for a stay.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswold replied 20 days ago
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are thrilled to hear that you had a lovely stay and enjoyed exploring the beautiful countryside that the Cotswolds has to offer.

A warm, clean and comfortable place to stay.

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Feb 2022
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Meadow Cottage was a handy spot for a short stay in the Cotswolds area. When we arrived, it was clean, tidy and warm, despite the cold weather. Contact from the housekeeper was very welcoming and she answered our questions via text, promptly. The cottage is quite small, there was only just enough room in the living room for the 4 of us, so I'm not sure it would have been very comfortable for 6 people. The kitchen was well enough equipped for 4 although a microwave would have been a useful addition. There was very little storage for clothing in the bedrooms which would have been irritating had we been staying longer and brought more clothing with us - certainly if we'd needed to hang anything up. Despite those small niggles, we had a lovely stay though, the views from each room are lovely and you feel like you're in the middle of nowhere, even though Oxford is only a short drive away. We even caught the train into London one day, which was very handy.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes



StayCotswold replied 78 days ago
Thank you for your kind review and feedback Rachel. We are really pleased to hear you had a lovely stay and enjoyed the location of the property. I hope our description of the property was able to suitably advise you of what the property does provide in terms of kitchen and bedroom facilities and hope to welcome you to the Cotswolds again very soon!

A pleasant week away with family

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Sep 2021
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Meadow cottage was a conveniently located cottage tucked away down a quiet country lane.
We stayed for 7 nights and it was for 2 adults, a 3 year old and a dog.
Although the cottage can sleep six we would say it would be “cozy” if fully occupied mainly because there was only one bathroom but for us this was fine. The main points we would make to improve the experience would be as follows:-
1. A microwave in the kitchen would have made our lives a lot easier having a toddler
2. The down light led lighting was constantly flickering to the extent we have to turn off.
3. A comment on another review about access to the kitchen door. This would have made life easier if we could have used it as we had the dog.
4. The dishwasher was hit and miss in terms of getting things clean.
Apart from the above aspects everything was as expected and we had access to a large garden for our son to play in and any issues we had during the stay were dealt with quickly.

If you enjoy country walks the cottage allows you to head off in virtually any direction to find a good walk across lots of open fields and down to the Thames etc. If you have a dog though be mindful there are lots of sheep around! The location gave us quick access to Blenheim palace, Oxford and lots of other cotswold highlights.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes



StayCotswold replied 242 days ago
Thank you Paul for your review, we are pleased you had a pleasant time at Meadow Cottage and found it to be well located and quiet. We thank you for your comments and will share your feed back to have the issues looked at. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Beautiful Location with very pretty outlook

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Sep 2021
3.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed as a couple at the cottage and enjoyed our stay in this very private and quiet location. The beds, duvets and pillows were extremely high end, sumptuous and comfortable. Having only one loo and bathroom, however, I think 6 people would struggle and the seating in the tv area would also be inadequate to provide a comfortable area for six. The general decor/furniture was a bit dowdy and the lighting could be improved with a few more lamps. Likewise the kitchen could be better equipped, in particular a better range of glasses. Some of the glasses were dirty and the cutlery drawer was mucky. The loo seat was broken too! For the price of staying here, I would expect a little more overall comfort!

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes



StayCotswold replied 251 days ago
Thank you for booking with us Jane and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and the lovely bedding. Thank you so much for your very constructive feedback.

Our stay at Meadow Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Aug 2021
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Our stay at Meadow Cottage was lovely, it was in the middle of nowhere and very quiet. And you got farm eggs every day!! There are only a couple of things I would mention.

I. The back door is a fire door and it is kept locked. This is not explained in the information pack on arrival and the key is not out in the open so guests would not know this unless specifically told. We asked when we got there.

2. The Cottage is promoted a dog friendly but the pack asks you to keep them in the kitchen only. Difficult when the back door is locked and also not very dog friendly. I understand a no dogs on furniture or upstairs but most guests would like their pet to be allowed to sit with them at night in the lounge etc I am sure.

3. There were just a few aspects with cleanliness, for example, the Cottage was very dusty, the area around the bathroom sink did not look like it had been cleaned properly nor the top of the bin, plus quite a few cobwebs about the place. Small things but in Covid times...

4. Although obviously clean, there was a large stain on one of our bath towels. Looked liked someone had soaked up tea with it!!

But overall it was nice and I would recommend.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes



StayCotswold replied 271 days ago
Thank you so much for your review. It was lovely to hear you’ve enjoyed your stay at Meadow Cottage. I’m so sorry to hear you had a few issues during your stay. We are always grateful for feedback which enables us to act on any issues and ensure we provide a better service. The back door is a fire door only and information about this can be located in the guest book however going forward we will advise guests on arrival. We warmly welcome pets and I will check the wording in the guest book as dogs are permitted in all downstairs areas however not on the furniture. If guests leave dogs unattended for long periods of time we would understandably prefer they were left securely in the kitchen until guests return. We pride ourselves on the attention to cleanliness in each of our cottages. I can only apologise that this wasn’t your experience and would like to reassure you that we will follow this up. We follow all the COVID 19 health and safety guidelines and will continue to do so to ensure our properties are clean. I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback which helps us to continually improve our service where required and ensures our guests have an enjoyable stay.

Thank you for a lovely stay :)

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really enjoyed our stay, eggs from the farm were a lovely touch. Great base to visit the Cotswolds and surrounding areas.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes