FB Twitter

Cot Cottage

Cot Cottage

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 28 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
5.0
Location
4.6
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.9


External View looking onto the Stunning Cot Cottage

Amazing getaway

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed here for 3 nights the place was stunning. The views were amazing and the place was secluded so it was very quiet and peaceful. It also meant we could make noise without worrying. Great place to escape 10/10



Donald replied 15 days ago
Hi Greig, thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We feel Cot Cottage is the ideal place for that peaceful getaway and it makes our job so much more worthwhile when our guests have a good experience. Hopefully we can welcome you back soon.

Fabulous stay

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Jul 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were a family of 10 and booked the cottage for a long weekend. The accommodation is set in beautiful countryside and the house itself is stunning. Inside there was plenty of space for us all and it had everything we needed. Hot tub was excellent. My only grumble is the hot tub would benefit from a screen of some sort to protect from the flies which were unbelievable during our stay. They were attracted to the hot tub for some reason and we had to make our own makeshift screen in order to use the hot tub without them buzzing around us. Sort that out and the place is perfect!



Donald Dunlop replied 58 days ago
Hello Cathrine, thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review and we really appreciate your comments. We are currently looking into the net situation and we endeavour to have the problem fixed soon. We want Cot to be as perfect as possible and we would love to welcome you back in the future.

Dream break at Cot Cottage for mothers pre 60th birthday celebration!

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cot Cottage is very comfortable. The standard of everything is excellent. My family and I had excellent nights sleep in the comfy beds and found the whole experience of being at the cottage relaxing. We went for walks in the forest and each day spent time in the hot tub looking out at the wonderful views which surround the cottage and even done a spot of stargazing at night!

Donald left a few extras for our arrival which were very much appreciated. He provided all the information we required to enjoy our stay and for that we are all thankful.

We loved the peaceful countryside and the wonderful cottage and will look forward to visiting again next year. Cot Cottage was perfect for us all.

Thank you Donald for providing a peaceful and tranquil place.




Donald Dunlop replied 58 days ago
Hello Natalie, thank you very much for your review. We really appreciate your comments. We are so lucky to have such a beautiful countryside for our guests to enjoy and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Relaxing weekend away with friends

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely relaxing weekend away to celebrate my partners 30th birthday. It was a great opportunity for us and 3 other couples to get away from the madness of home. Although the location was remote we all loved how far away it took us from normal life. The house was amazing and luxurious with lots of thoughtful amenities included. The cleanliness of the cottage was fantastic and I would give the whole experience 5 stars. I would recommend this accommodation to all my friends and family and would love to come back here again in the near future! The information provided by Donald was great and he was only a phone call away for any questions we had.



Donald Dunlop replied 58 days ago
Hello Hayley, thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay. We really appreciate your lovely comments. Cot is ideal for that peaceful getaway with friends and there is so much to do in the surrounding area within a short drive. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Fabulous Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed over the Christmas week. What a fabulous cottage. Clean, luxurious and beautifully decorated ready for our Christmas celebrations. The hampers were appreciated very much.
We have visited many lodges and cottages over the years and this was one of the better equipped that we have stayed in.
No query or request was too much trouble and replies were very prompt.
The views are stunning and the hotub fab. We thoroughly enjoyed our festive break.




Donald replied 260 days ago
Julie, Thank you so much for your very kind comments. Christmas is a very special time and we do try to make it that for our guests. It was lovely to meet you also and we do hope you enjoyed our locally sourced hamper! Happy New Year and we will hopefully see you soon.

Excellent cottage, lovely break! Can't wait to be back!

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cot cottage is absolutely perfect. The owner thinks of everything you could possibly need and more.

We had a fantastic time and can't wait to be back!




Donald replied 277 days ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are very passionate about making our guests experience as memorable as possible. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to Cot on 2020.

Heavenly weekend break

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Nov 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The photos DO NOT do Cot Cottage justice. It is the most exquisite location, so peaceful and tranquil with views for miles. The house is huge and so light with all the windows so you can appreciate the views inside or out. Sat in the hot tub day or night is one of the most peaceful therapeutic experiences I've ever had!
There are lovely walks through the woods. Kirkcudbright is a gorgeous town and we went to the red kite feeding centre which was amazing to see all the beautiful birds.
The house is so well equipped with gorgeous furnishings.
Donald was so helpful and friendly and accessible with lots of advice.
So I couldn't recommend a stay at Cot Cottage highly enough. Dumfries and Galloway is so quiet and scenic with friendly people and the best weekend break I have ever had, just wish it was a week!




Donald replied 291 days ago
Thank you very much for leaving such a detailed and lovely review. We are blessed with where we live in Dumfries and Galloway with our beautiful countryside and of course the dark skies. There is so much to see and do around the area so we will welcome you back so that you can sample some more. We do try very hard to provide that luxury for our guests and it is gratifying that you take the time to recommend Cot. Many thanks

Weekend stay with the girls!

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Oct 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fab house! Everything we needed for a great weekend. The hot tub was brilliant. Lovely rural location in a great setting. The house was kitted out with everything we needed for the weekend. Great communication and info from the owner.



Donald replied 291 days ago
Thanks for the comments. The only way for us to improve is for you to take the time to give us feedback. We appreciate this and we look forward to hopefully seeing you next year!

Family Trip

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Oct 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had an excellent stay at Cot Cottage. Place is lovely and well equipped. Great hot tub. Remote peaceful location.



Donald replied 291 days ago
Marie, Thank you for your lovely review. We really appreciate this and we look forward to your return.

fab place as good as expected we loved the place - everything you need and more heaven !!!!!!!!!!!!

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
cottage was excellent solitude luxury and very relaxing not one to be missed we had a brilliant stay



Donald replied 291 days ago
Thank you for leaving us a review. Our situation is ideal if you are looking for luxury, peace, beautiful surrounding and dark skies! Thanks again and we will hopefully see you in 2020

Girls Weekend

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Sep 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Fantastic cottage to get away from it all & relax. Beautiful Outlook. Lovely house , the owners seem to have thought about everything. The house is big enough for everyone to be together but not on top of each other and the hot tub was the icing on the cake. The only suggestion I have is better signposts and directions. Entering the postcode into satnav directs you to the middle of a neighbouring field. All of us got lost!



Donald replied 291 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review. Cot is ideal for family or for a friends getaway and the hot tub is a great addition. As regards the directions, Google has imputed the post code directions incorrectly so this will take you to another location. At the moment we are trying to solve this. Until this happens, when I send out the welcome e-mail with the key procedure I do send out the correct directions to get you safely to Cot. Thanks again and we hope to see you again.

Amazing stay

Review submitted on Wed, 31 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was amazing, views, cleanliness, comfort was all 10/10. Would highly recommend this to all



Donald replied 291 days ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a lovely review. We very much appreciate it .

Fantastic!

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic house set in a peaceful stunning location. Hot tub was great and we spent many nights sat in there looking up at the stars. Dogs loved the space the property provided. Welcome pack was a nice touch and much appreciated.

The only downside was the midgies (not the property owners fault) and the driveway is a little awkward to navigate with low cars but its not full of pot holes so driven slower than the rest of the group with normal cars it was fine.




Donald replied 291 days ago
Thank you very much for your comments. It is very much appreciated the constructive comments also. We are always trying to keep the road up to Cot as smooth as possible for our guests. We do have measures in place to contain the midges so hopefully that won't detract from our guests experience now. Thanks again and we will see you again soon.

Great week of Wedding Celebrations

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Jun 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here before our wedding and had another party the day after, Cot Cottage was perfect and everyone who visited thought the same. The house was so spacious and had everything we needed, the quality of everything provided was top notch and they had thought of everything we would need.
Donald was really helpful and had a lot of tips and recommendations for us which made it a very easy and relaxed stay.




Donald replied 291 days ago
It was a pleasure to accommodate you all for your special occasion. We have lots of space at Cot and if the weather is kind then it can cater for friends for a post wedding gathering which seem to go down well. Anyway it was great to meet you all and we will meet some of you again very soon.

Peace and tranquility

Review submitted on Sun, 12 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you are looking for luxury, peace and quiet then this is the place for you. Highly recommended. Hot tub an added bonus



Donald replied 291 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave a great review for us at Cot Cottage. We really appreciate this and we hope we will meet you again in the very near future.

Cot Cottage in April

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Apr 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyed our stay, excellent cottage, position and views. Location ideal for countryside, coast and visiting places of interest.
Our party consisted of various age groups, all enjoyed their stay, with plenty of room to have family time or quiet time.
Our weather was very good (for April) therefore a good holiday was had by all.
Would recommend to anybody who likes quiet relaxing holidays in the countryside.




Donald replied 291 days ago
Thank you for your comments. If you are looking for luxury in the quiet secluded countryside with beautiful views then Cot is the place to go. We are glad this ticked the boxes for you and we hope to see you again soon.

Family break away

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Apr 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a fantastic break here all ten of us. Great rural location a bit too rural if you needed the local shop it was like a 12mile round trip. Everything was thought about in this place even down to milk in the fridge for your arrival. Had some good walks in the wood and chills in the hot tub



Donald replied 291 days ago
Thanks for your lovely review. Where we are located is around 6 miles from Kirkcudbright and Castle Douglas which has some lovely locally shops and delicatessens. We hope we helped your family have a memorable stay and we look forward to your return.

Our stay with Cot Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Me and a group of friend stayed for the weekend at Cot Cottage and we couldn’t recommend it highly enough. The place was very clean and maintaned to a high standard. All the bedrooms were great and the living areas were amazing with fantastic views! The hot tub is a great addition to the place as it was under a balcony so protected us from the weather. All in all Cot cottage was a great break away and i can’t see anyone being dissapointed with their stay.



Donald replied 291 days ago
Scott, Thank you for your great review. Cot is perfectly situated so that our guests can get away totally from their everyday busy lives. We have that touch of luxury which means you don't need to go anywhere, apart from exploring our wonderful region. See you soon

Idyllic

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Feb 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Totally and utterly what we needed from a break

Wonderful contemporary home, situated in the middle of nowhere and complete with Stunning views

We shall definitely return




Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
And what amazing weather we are getting for February! We look forward to welcoming you back to Cot!

Great place

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Dec 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great long weekend at Cot Cottage - 10 of us stayed to celebrate our friend’s 30th birthday. The house is fantastic, beautiful views and the hot tub is a definite plus! The kitchen is well-equipped - only downside is that it’s a gas oven which takes a while to heat up/cook with so need to keep that in mind. Really easy to get in touch with Donald when we had a small issue with the heating, which was fixed right away. Would definitely stay again!



Donald replied 291 days ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. The beauty of Cot is that it is ideal for a friends or family getaway. We try to provide the best service for our guests so that you can enjoy the house and surrounding area. Hope to see you in 2020.

Family weekend at Cot cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Nov 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cottage, modern and spacious, very comfortable. Superb remote location. Loved the hot tub.



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Plenty of space for all the family/ families. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

An amazing place

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a really wonderful time at Cot Cottage. We loved how rural it is. Living in busy Leicestershire you are constantly surrounded by people, traffic and noise, so to find somewhere like this was heaven. We will certainly be back next year. The owner was lovely, and made us feel extremely welcome. If we had any issues (which we only had one when a cup accidently smashed) the owner would contact us back to help. I would certainly recommend this place to anyone who would like to get away from it all. Thank you Donald for providing such a wonderful place.



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
The perfect 'escape' location and a great opportunity to recharge the batteries in peace. Delighted you chose to come to us. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Amazing

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing cottage in the perfect location. Never left the cottage in all the time we were there. Weather was great so this made it even better. Loved the attention to detail.



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Sounds blissful! Delighted to hear the cottage provided all you needed. Thank you.

Absolute amazing

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just spent five days at Cot cottage and WOW! It was amazing! The location was brilliant and the customer service from Donald was second to none. Great recommendations for dog friendly pubs. Loads of good walks nearby and a really good base for further trips. The dogs really enjoyed the grounds and the hot tub was the icing on the cake - it was used everyday. We can’t wait to return ASAP!



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Great news! We look forward to welcoming you back! Sounds like everyone had a super holiday, including the dogs!

Birthday Celebrations

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Jun 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spent a wonderful weekend at Cot Cottage with family and friends to celebrate my 60th birthday in June. The only thing that could have been better was the weather but it didn't stop us going out into the hot tub - lovely warm and relaxing. Well equipped kitchen, even a coffee machine which we weren’t expecting. All rooms had a hairdryer which we weren’t aware of so maybe worth mentioning in accommodation description. The welcome pack was very much appreciated too.

Would definitely recommend and wouldn’t hesitate to return.




Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
And after such a great spell of weather too! Relieved to hear it didn't affect your holiday. Lucky Hot tubs are suited to all weathers! Thank you for your feedback, that is a good point about the hairdryers!

Our Holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a superb time in a fantastic location. The vies are breathtaking. Donald could not have been more helpful. A wonderful holiday home witch is I would highly recommend.



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the recommendation. We love how the views change with the seasons. Worth visiting just for the view!

Fantastic

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic house for relaxing, dog walking and socialising with family and friends.Would recommend this property to large parties.



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Yes, perfect for a friends/family get together! Thank you

Simply amazing!!

Review submitted on Wed, 30 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the best time. The cottage was amazing and the attention to detail was superb. The owners had thought of everything. We were a large group and the cottage was so spacious to suit our needs. The views were simply stunning especially from the hot tub and outdoor seating area. We were able to get a grocery delivery and enjoyed a BBQ. The welcome pack provided was so detailed and we can’t thank Donald enough for everything he did to ensure we had a great holiday. We all agreed it was the best place we have stayed and we can’t wait to go back!



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted to hear Cot cottage provided you all with everything you needed for a great holiday! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.