FB Twitter

Cot Cottage

Cot Cottage

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 49 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.9
Location
4.8
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
5.0


External View looking onto the Stunning Cot Cottage

50th Birthday Celebrations

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cot Cottage was amazing! Only 40 mins from home but was the best house we have stayed in. The views morning and night were amazing and Scott loved his 50th birthday celebration in this lovely house. We loved it and would love to come back one day. Thank you.



Donald replied 7 days ago
Hello Laura, many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review of your recent stay at Cot Cottage. We are so pleased you all had an enjoyable time celebrating a special birthday. Cot is ideal for that getaway with family and friends. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future.

An excellent hen do

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Sep 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This house exceeded our expectations for my hen do! The location is unreal, the views are amazing and it is so secluded.
The hot tub is one of the biggest from the places we have been, all beds bar the far downstairs one were very comfy (this one is very hard).
Communication was excellent before hand with Donald and we will definitely be returning!
In the future cooking oil, tin foil and cling film would be useful as we usually get these whenever we go away and the pans are very worn so hard to cook with.
But overall an excellent stay for a special occasion :)
I won’t forget waking up in the room with the balcony, book for a special occasion!




Donald replied 18 days ago
Hello Kath, thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review of your recent stay. We really appreciate your comments and we will certainly look into the points you have raised. Cot is a very special place and is ideal for a getaway with friends or family.

Stay at Cot cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Aug 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an amazing week in Cot Cottage. What a beautiful place surrounded by amazing views and wild life. Saw loads of deer and red kites. The gate out the back of the cottage takes you on a easy 5 mile loop through the forest. The hot tob was a bonus and sitting on the deck in the evenings enjoying the views was bliss. Plenty of room in the house for the 7 of us without feeling crowded. We had many enjoyable days out including the Galloway activity centre and local walks. Teens and adults all had lovely week.



Donald replied 27 days ago
Hello Hannah, many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review of your recent stay at Cot Cottage. Cot is ideal for that peaceful getaway with family or friends and our region has so much to offer our guests. Hopefully we can welcome you all back in the future.

Impressive house

Review submitted on Fri, 12 Aug 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A perfect set up for four couples and their small children. So much space. The open plan living/dining area is perfect. Hot tub is sensational! Overall, highly recommend. Only downside is the very early check-out time.



Donald replied 39 days ago
Hello Diane, many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review of your stay. Cot Cottage is the perfect place for a family/friends get together as there is plenty of space. With regards to the 9.30am check out we understand your frustration but due to Cot being a big house it takes a little longer to turn around for our next guests. Apologies and hopefully we will see you again soon.

Brilliant Holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What can I say.... a fabulous, spacious, well equipped house for our family. The hot tub and wildlife a bonus.
We loved the location, which was so peaceful, but within easy reach of beaches and The Galloway Forest. The only downside was a week was too short at this lovely property.




Donald replied 53 days ago
Hello Julia, many thanks for taking the time to leave us a lovely review. Cot is ideal for that peaceful getaway with friends and family. There is so much to see and do in the area. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future.

Perfect

Review submitted on Mon, 23 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cot Cottage was perfect in every way. We had a family holiday and there was plenty of space for us to spread out. Facilities were great and the location just fabulous.



Donald replied 123 days ago
Hello Jackie, many thanks for your lovely review. Cot is ideal for that peaceful getaway with friends and family. We try hard to make our guests experience as luxurious as possible and we are so pleased you have had such a positive experience.

The perfect secluded getaway

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
You truly are secluded here, tucked away at the top of a hill with excellent views. Donald was very helpful and answered all my questions with ease. The house has been very well refurbished and the hot tub is amazing. The real highlight was watching the sunrise from the balcony. I can't wait to go back.



Donald replied 167 days ago
Hello Stewart, thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a fantastic review. Cot is ideal for that peaceful getaway with friends and family and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Amazing place to stay for a get together.

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Feb 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Booked Cot Cottage to celebrate my 30th with friends - the location is great, the cottage is well maintained and comfortable, and Donald was a lot of help when recommending a caterer for a special group dinner. We're looking to book again and would recommend Cot Cottage for anyone looking for a very relaxing space to spend some time in! Thanks again :)



Donald replied 216 days ago
Hello Brogan, it was great to be able to welcome you to Cot Cottage along with your guests to help celebrate your special birthday. Cot really is the perfect place for that get together with friends and family. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you again soon.

Excellent cottage in a fantastic location

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Feb 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My family had an excellent get together at Cot Cottage. Lots of space for the 9 of us. Fantastic location and a very comfortable cottage. First visit to the area and we were very impressed at what the area had to offer. The Red Kites feeding are a sight to see. We hope to return.



Donald replied 237 days ago
Hello Pauline, thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We try hard to make our guests experience as luxurious as possible and we feel Cot is perfect for that relaxing get away with family and friends. There is so much to see and do in the area.

Girls weekend away

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Jan 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just book it!! This house is outstanding - probably one of the best I have stayed in. Amazing customer service and communication with Donald made the booking very straightforward. The house was immaculate and very well equipped - had everything we needed and more. Location is perfect for short walks and seems ideally located for exploring but we were happy enough in and around the house and the hot tub. Couldn't recommend it more! We'll definitely return.



Donald replied 242 days ago
Hello Sara, thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and for choosing Cot Cottage for your girls weekend away. The cottage is ideal for that much needed get together with friends and family and we are so lucky to have such amazing surroundings. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future.

Logicals weekend

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Jan 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fab weekend, amazing location, stunning views.
Cozy warm with everything you need lovely welcome basket




Donald replied 249 days ago
Hello Kim, thank you so much for leaving us a review. We are so pleased your weekend went well and you had a great time. We work hard to give our guests a positive experience and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

cot cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Jan 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Hi Donald

Just thought i would drop you a line to say how much we enjoyed our stay. The accommodation, location and the surrounding countryside all lent themselves to a great experience . I would certainly recommend your place and would not hesitate to book again. Thank you for your help through the whole covid crisis and all that remains is to wish yourselves a very happy new year.

Phillip Sherry and family.




Donald replied 265 days ago
Hello Phillip, thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Cot Cottage. We are truly lucky with our surroundings and Cot is ideal for that peaceful getaway with family. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future.

Amazing place

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Dec 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just had the best wkend with 10 friends and family ever, the house is just amazing! Has absolutely everything you need, it is so comfy, cosy and the Xmas decorations were beautiful, living locally it only took 45 mins to drive to the house, it is more remote than we realised but was still only 15 mins to shops, pubs, restaurants but we didn’t leave from the Friday to the Monday! The hot tub being covered was great too as we had bad weather. Beds, linen, were all spotless, we really couldn’t fault it, Cannot wait to return next year.



Donald replied 286 days ago
Hello Annie, thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We work very hard to make our guests experience as luxurious as possible and we are so pleased you all had such a lovely break. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

A Great Venue for a Reuniomn

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Sep 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were 4 couples celebrating a reunion over a long weekend. Cot Cottage was a perfect choice. Plenty of space allows people to do their own thing, yet come together too at mealtimes. The cottage was very clean, with quality furnishings and crockery/glassware/cookware etc. We chose to eat in each night and the kitchen was well equipped and easy to use. TV package and tub were lovely ‘extras’. Wonderful views, solitude and stunning night skies. Donald was brilliant from the start of the booking process to conclusion, and we were especially grateful for his successful efforts to give us very prompt access on Friday afternoon.
We would certainly visit again. Many thanks!




Donald replied more than 1 year ago
Hello Chris, thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We feel Cot Cottage is perfect for those family and friends get togethers with that extra bit of luxury. We hope we can welcome you again in the future.

A perfect house for a family gathering

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful house which had everything we needed for a family gathering. Superb hot tub and high tech features added to our enjoyment - TVs with SkyQ, Netflix etc, good lighting and underfloor heating. Excellent views of the hills and perfect night skies, easy access to forest trails. Donald was really helpful. We look forward to returning in the futures



Donald replied more than 1 year ago
Hello Joyce, thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us at Cot Cottage. We try hard to make our guests experience as luxurious as possible and Cot is ideal for that peaceful getaway with family or friends. Hopefully we can welcome you back soon.

21st birthday celebrations

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked cot cottage to celebrate my daughters 21st and had a fantastic stay. The views from the cottage are breathtaking and its so peaceful. Enjoyed walking through the woods at the back of the cottage every day with our dog and we never saw anybody else! If you love getting away from it all and enjoying a bit of peace and quiet then this beautiful cottage is ideal. Spent loads of time just sitting on the balcony watching the wildlife or relaxing in the hot tub. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, didn't want to leave, thanks Donald for making us feel welcomed.



Donald replied more than 1 year ago
Mark, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. We agree that Cot is a special place that offers peace and tranquility along with a little luxury. We are based very centrally so that it is a good base to explore the beauty of Dumfries and Galloway. There is so much to do on our doorstep. As you say, some days you just want to sit back, enjoy the breathtaking views and watch the world go by. Thanks again and hopefully we will see you again very soon. Regards Donald

Excellent stay

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Aug 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We could have lived there it was so nice, not just the quality of the building and fixtures but it’s location it felt like living of grid! It was lovely to wake up to silence and the occasional sound of nature rather than the bustle of town living every morning. Our grandchildren could make as much noise and explore without worrying about the neighbours. Early in our stay we had a problem with the hot tub, it was resolved very quickly by Donald and the team.
Only a few minor disappointments, the barbecue it was not very clean and it is showing its age, but after I cleaned it we still managed to use it, but I think a replacement is required. Things like roasting tins, utensils in the kitchen etc need replacing just because of wear and tear etc hence the slightly lower score on condition.
Would we stay again……. Definitely thanks for a great stay




Donald replied more than 1 year ago
Hello Andy, many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Cot is ideal for that peaceful getaway with family and friends and there is so much to see and do in the area. Thank you also for your input we have already purchased a new BBQ and will address the utensils and and roasting tins immediately. We hope we can welcome you back in the future.

50th family celebrations

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Jul 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed at cots cottage with my family to celebrate my up coming 50th birthday . Excellent stay everyone really enjoyed it location and house perfect for what we wanted , the views where breath taking , donald was very helpful, fabulous time had by us all



Donald replied more than 1 year ago
Hello Kelly, thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Cot Cottage. We try to make our guests experience as luxurious as possible and we are pleased you enjoyed your birthday celebrations. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future.

Great holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 16 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Terrific cottage, scenery. Very peaceceful.
Places nearby to visit .
Seem plenty of wildlife
Nothing bad to say at all.
Management available at all times and very helpful.




Donald replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Sandra, thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us recently. We really appreciate your comments. Cot Cottage is ideal for that peaceful getaway and we are pleased you had a good experience. Hopefully we can welcome you back soon.

Idyllic getaway

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Oct 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just under a mile up a gravel track from a quiet road so no surprise that our requirements of total seclusion and peace was assured. The views from all three side of this property are stunning and to the rear instant access through the forest to a network of cycle tracks but MTB is required due to some sections being quite rough.
The hot tub is an additional welcome after a day out and a great way to wind down and absorb more of the views. Reassuring to find on our last day that the tub was being emptied and fresh water filled ready for the next guests, told this is done on every change over.
We had a completely relaxing time and hope to return for another break.




Donald replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Louise, thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We feel Cot Cottage is ideal for that peaceful getaway and our area offers so much for our visitors. We hope we can welcome you back in the future.

10 out of 10

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our second at Cot Cottage and it was just as fantastic as the first time. A beautiful property set in wonderful surroundings with an abundance of wildlife including owl, deer, hare, red kites and a couple of lizards that like to visit on a night. The stars are amazing on a clear night and we hope to visit again sometime in the future



Donald replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Louise, thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. It makes our job so much more worthwhile when our guests have such a good experience. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Amazing getaway

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed here for 3 nights the place was stunning. The views were amazing and the place was secluded so it was very quiet and peaceful. It also meant we could make noise without worrying. Great place to escape 10/10



Donald replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Greig, thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We feel Cot Cottage is the ideal place for that peaceful getaway and it makes our job so much more worthwhile when our guests have a good experience. Hopefully we can welcome you back soon.

Fabulous stay

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Jul 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were a family of 10 and booked the cottage for a long weekend. The accommodation is set in beautiful countryside and the house itself is stunning. Inside there was plenty of space for us all and it had everything we needed. Hot tub was excellent. My only grumble is the hot tub would benefit from a screen of some sort to protect from the flies which were unbelievable during our stay. They were attracted to the hot tub for some reason and we had to make our own makeshift screen in order to use the hot tub without them buzzing around us. Sort that out and the place is perfect!



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Hello Cathrine, thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review and we really appreciate your comments. We are currently looking into the net situation and we endeavour to have the problem fixed soon. We want Cot to be as perfect as possible and we would love to welcome you back in the future.

Dream break at Cot Cottage for mothers pre 60th birthday celebration!

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cot Cottage is very comfortable. The standard of everything is excellent. My family and I had excellent nights sleep in the comfy beds and found the whole experience of being at the cottage relaxing. We went for walks in the forest and each day spent time in the hot tub looking out at the wonderful views which surround the cottage and even done a spot of stargazing at night!

Donald left a few extras for our arrival which were very much appreciated. He provided all the information we required to enjoy our stay and for that we are all thankful.

We loved the peaceful countryside and the wonderful cottage and will look forward to visiting again next year. Cot Cottage was perfect for us all.

Thank you Donald for providing a peaceful and tranquil place.




Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Hello Natalie, thank you very much for your review. We really appreciate your comments. We are so lucky to have such a beautiful countryside for our guests to enjoy and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Relaxing weekend away with friends

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely relaxing weekend away to celebrate my partners 30th birthday. It was a great opportunity for us and 3 other couples to get away from the madness of home. Although the location was remote we all loved how far away it took us from normal life. The house was amazing and luxurious with lots of thoughtful amenities included. The cleanliness of the cottage was fantastic and I would give the whole experience 5 stars. I would recommend this accommodation to all my friends and family and would love to come back here again in the near future! The information provided by Donald was great and he was only a phone call away for any questions we had.



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Hello Hayley, thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay. We really appreciate your lovely comments. Cot is ideal for that peaceful getaway with friends and there is so much to do in the surrounding area within a short drive. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Fabulous Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed over the Christmas week. What a fabulous cottage. Clean, luxurious and beautifully decorated ready for our Christmas celebrations. The hampers were appreciated very much.
We have visited many lodges and cottages over the years and this was one of the better equipped that we have stayed in.
No query or request was too much trouble and replies were very prompt.
The views are stunning and the hotub fab. We thoroughly enjoyed our festive break.




Donald replied more than 1 year ago
Julie, Thank you so much for your very kind comments. Christmas is a very special time and we do try to make it that for our guests. It was lovely to meet you also and we do hope you enjoyed our locally sourced hamper! Happy New Year and we will hopefully see you soon.

Excellent cottage, lovely break! Can't wait to be back!

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cot cottage is absolutely perfect. The owner thinks of everything you could possibly need and more.

We had a fantastic time and can't wait to be back!




Donald replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are very passionate about making our guests experience as memorable as possible. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to Cot on 2020.

Heavenly weekend break

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Nov 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The photos DO NOT do Cot Cottage justice. It is the most exquisite location, so peaceful and tranquil with views for miles. The house is huge and so light with all the windows so you can appreciate the views inside or out. Sat in the hot tub day or night is one of the most peaceful therapeutic experiences I've ever had!
There are lovely walks through the woods. Kirkcudbright is a gorgeous town and we went to the red kite feeding centre which was amazing to see all the beautiful birds.
The house is so well equipped with gorgeous furnishings.
Donald was so helpful and friendly and accessible with lots of advice.
So I couldn't recommend a stay at Cot Cottage highly enough. Dumfries and Galloway is so quiet and scenic with friendly people and the best weekend break I have ever had, just wish it was a week!




Donald replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for leaving such a detailed and lovely review. We are blessed with where we live in Dumfries and Galloway with our beautiful countryside and of course the dark skies. There is so much to see and do around the area so we will welcome you back so that you can sample some more. We do try very hard to provide that luxury for our guests and it is gratifying that you take the time to recommend Cot. Many thanks

Weekend stay with the girls!

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Oct 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fab house! Everything we needed for a great weekend. The hot tub was brilliant. Lovely rural location in a great setting. The house was kitted out with everything we needed for the weekend. Great communication and info from the owner.



Donald replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for the comments. The only way for us to improve is for you to take the time to give us feedback. We appreciate this and we look forward to hopefully seeing you next year!

Family Trip

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Oct 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had an excellent stay at Cot Cottage. Place is lovely and well equipped. Great hot tub. Remote peaceful location.



Donald replied more than 1 year ago
Marie, Thank you for your lovely review. We really appreciate this and we look forward to your return.

fab place as good as expected we loved the place - everything you need and more heaven !!!!!!!!!!!!

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
cottage was excellent solitude luxury and very relaxing not one to be missed we had a brilliant stay



Donald replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for leaving us a review. Our situation is ideal if you are looking for luxury, peace, beautiful surrounding and dark skies! Thanks again and we will hopefully see you in 2020

Girls Weekend

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Sep 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Fantastic cottage to get away from it all & relax. Beautiful Outlook. Lovely house , the owners seem to have thought about everything. The house is big enough for everyone to be together but not on top of each other and the hot tub was the icing on the cake. The only suggestion I have is better signposts and directions. Entering the postcode into satnav directs you to the middle of a neighbouring field. All of us got lost!



Donald replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review. Cot is ideal for family or for a friends getaway and the hot tub is a great addition. As regards the directions, Google has imputed the post code directions incorrectly so this will take you to another location. At the moment we are trying to solve this. Until this happens, when I send out the welcome e-mail with the key procedure I do send out the correct directions to get you safely to Cot. Thanks again and we hope to see you again.

Amazing stay

Review submitted on Wed, 31 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was amazing, views, cleanliness, comfort was all 10/10. Would highly recommend this to all



Donald replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a lovely review. We very much appreciate it .

Fantastic!

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic house set in a peaceful stunning location. Hot tub was great and we spent many nights sat in there looking up at the stars. Dogs loved the space the property provided. Welcome pack was a nice touch and much appreciated.

The only downside was the midgies (not the property owners fault) and the driveway is a little awkward to navigate with low cars but its not full of pot holes so driven slower than the rest of the group with normal cars it was fine.




Donald replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your comments. It is very much appreciated the constructive comments also. We are always trying to keep the road up to Cot as smooth as possible for our guests. We do have measures in place to contain the midges so hopefully that won't detract from our guests experience now. Thanks again and we will see you again soon.

Great week of Wedding Celebrations

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Jun 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here before our wedding and had another party the day after, Cot Cottage was perfect and everyone who visited thought the same. The house was so spacious and had everything we needed, the quality of everything provided was top notch and they had thought of everything we would need.
Donald was really helpful and had a lot of tips and recommendations for us which made it a very easy and relaxed stay.




Donald replied more than 1 year ago
It was a pleasure to accommodate you all for your special occasion. We have lots of space at Cot and if the weather is kind then it can cater for friends for a post wedding gathering which seem to go down well. Anyway it was great to meet you all and we will meet some of you again very soon.

Peace and tranquility

Review submitted on Sun, 12 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you are looking for luxury, peace and quiet then this is the place for you. Highly recommended. Hot tub an added bonus



Donald replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave a great review for us at Cot Cottage. We really appreciate this and we hope we will meet you again in the very near future.

Cot Cottage in April

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Apr 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyed our stay, excellent cottage, position and views. Location ideal for countryside, coast and visiting places of interest.
Our party consisted of various age groups, all enjoyed their stay, with plenty of room to have family time or quiet time.
Our weather was very good (for April) therefore a good holiday was had by all.
Would recommend to anybody who likes quiet relaxing holidays in the countryside.




Donald replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your comments. If you are looking for luxury in the quiet secluded countryside with beautiful views then Cot is the place to go. We are glad this ticked the boxes for you and we hope to see you again soon.

Family break away

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Apr 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a fantastic break here all ten of us. Great rural location a bit too rural if you needed the local shop it was like a 12mile round trip. Everything was thought about in this place even down to milk in the fridge for your arrival. Had some good walks in the wood and chills in the hot tub



Donald replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for your lovely review. Where we are located is around 6 miles from Kirkcudbright and Castle Douglas which has some lovely locally shops and delicatessens. We hope we helped your family have a memorable stay and we look forward to your return.

Our stay with Cot Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Me and a group of friend stayed for the weekend at Cot Cottage and we couldn’t recommend it highly enough. The place was very clean and maintaned to a high standard. All the bedrooms were great and the living areas were amazing with fantastic views! The hot tub is a great addition to the place as it was under a balcony so protected us from the weather. All in all Cot cottage was a great break away and i can’t see anyone being dissapointed with their stay.



Donald replied more than 1 year ago
Scott, Thank you for your great review. Cot is perfectly situated so that our guests can get away totally from their everyday busy lives. We have that touch of luxury which means you don't need to go anywhere, apart from exploring our wonderful region. See you soon

Idyllic

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Feb 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Totally and utterly what we needed from a break

Wonderful contemporary home, situated in the middle of nowhere and complete with Stunning views

We shall definitely return




Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
And what amazing weather we are getting for February! We look forward to welcoming you back to Cot!

Great place

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Dec 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great long weekend at Cot Cottage - 10 of us stayed to celebrate our friend’s 30th birthday. The house is fantastic, beautiful views and the hot tub is a definite plus! The kitchen is well-equipped - only downside is that it’s a gas oven which takes a while to heat up/cook with so need to keep that in mind. Really easy to get in touch with Donald when we had a small issue with the heating, which was fixed right away. Would definitely stay again!



Donald replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. The beauty of Cot is that it is ideal for a friends or family getaway. We try to provide the best service for our guests so that you can enjoy the house and surrounding area. Hope to see you in 2020.

Family weekend at Cot cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Nov 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cottage, modern and spacious, very comfortable. Superb remote location. Loved the hot tub.



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Plenty of space for all the family/ families. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

An amazing place

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a really wonderful time at Cot Cottage. We loved how rural it is. Living in busy Leicestershire you are constantly surrounded by people, traffic and noise, so to find somewhere like this was heaven. We will certainly be back next year. The owner was lovely, and made us feel extremely welcome. If we had any issues (which we only had one when a cup accidently smashed) the owner would contact us back to help. I would certainly recommend this place to anyone who would like to get away from it all. Thank you Donald for providing such a wonderful place.



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
The perfect 'escape' location and a great opportunity to recharge the batteries in peace. Delighted you chose to come to us. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Amazing

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing cottage in the perfect location. Never left the cottage in all the time we were there. Weather was great so this made it even better. Loved the attention to detail.



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Sounds blissful! Delighted to hear the cottage provided all you needed. Thank you.

Absolute amazing

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just spent five days at Cot cottage and WOW! It was amazing! The location was brilliant and the customer service from Donald was second to none. Great recommendations for dog friendly pubs. Loads of good walks nearby and a really good base for further trips. The dogs really enjoyed the grounds and the hot tub was the icing on the cake - it was used everyday. We can’t wait to return ASAP!



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Great news! We look forward to welcoming you back! Sounds like everyone had a super holiday, including the dogs!

Birthday Celebrations

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Jun 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spent a wonderful weekend at Cot Cottage with family and friends to celebrate my 60th birthday in June. The only thing that could have been better was the weather but it didn't stop us going out into the hot tub - lovely warm and relaxing. Well equipped kitchen, even a coffee machine which we weren’t expecting. All rooms had a hairdryer which we weren’t aware of so maybe worth mentioning in accommodation description. The welcome pack was very much appreciated too.

Would definitely recommend and wouldn’t hesitate to return.




Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
And after such a great spell of weather too! Relieved to hear it didn't affect your holiday. Lucky Hot tubs are suited to all weathers! Thank you for your feedback, that is a good point about the hairdryers!

Our Holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a superb time in a fantastic location. The vies are breathtaking. Donald could not have been more helpful. A wonderful holiday home witch is I would highly recommend.



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the recommendation. We love how the views change with the seasons. Worth visiting just for the view!

Fantastic

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic house for relaxing, dog walking and socialising with family and friends.Would recommend this property to large parties.



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Yes, perfect for a friends/family get together! Thank you

Simply amazing!!

Review submitted on Wed, 30 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the best time. The cottage was amazing and the attention to detail was superb. The owners had thought of everything. We were a large group and the cottage was so spacious to suit our needs. The views were simply stunning especially from the hot tub and outdoor seating area. We were able to get a grocery delivery and enjoyed a BBQ. The welcome pack provided was so detailed and we can’t thank Donald enough for everything he did to ensure we had a great holiday. We all agreed it was the best place we have stayed and we can’t wait to go back!



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted to hear Cot cottage provided you all with everything you needed for a great holiday! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.