FB Twitter

Dominoes

Dominoes

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 18 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
4.9
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
5.0


Dominoes- Excellent

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great place to stay really comfortable and a fantastic view. Nicky couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful.



A beautiful house in an outstanding location

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Dominoes is a beautiful house in the most amazing location. I have never stayed in such a well equipped house - full of everything that you could possibly need. Throughout the week the rain and wind was non stop but this did not mar our stay.
Do try the very good eating/drinking venues in the village.
The Church House Inn pub - friendly & good basic food.
The River Shack - such a great location and can recommend breakfast and lunch.
Emma's - do book for dinner.




Wow, best ever cottage stay.

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I'm scared to write such a good review, if the word gets out it will become impossible to book in the future.

Dominoes has everything you would want in a holiday cottage, comfort, cleanliness, location. So well equipped it puts my own home to shame. The owner Nicky has put so much thought into making sure this is a go to destination.

Stoke Gabriel is a great village with friendly locals, the shop has everything you will need and the Church House Inn has great food and beer.

We will be back.








Idyll on the Dart's Millpool

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely time at Dominoes. Don't think I could ever tire of the view of watching the ducks dive bomb into the Millpool.
The house is close to perfection, with very high quality fixtures, the owners have tried to ensure that your every need has been provided for.
Doggy treats and amenities were appreciated, it was lovely to find truly dog friendly accommodation, our pup had a wonderful time and the secure enclosed garden was a godsend. We loved the patio for outside entertaining.
Great options in walking distance for lunch and dinner.
We wouldn't hesitate in recommending, go on treat yourself, you won't be disappointed.




Summer Stay

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Aug 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic place to stay, the house is a delight and very relaxing.
The area is beautiful with lots to do for all ages.
The owner Nicky was very easy to deal with and could not have been more helpful.




Wonderful week with the family.

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Dominoes is in a beautiful,quiet location. There's plenty of wildlife to watch from the house. Nearby there's cafes and pubs, local cider, kayaking and beautiful dog friendly beaches.
There is everything you need and more in the kitchen. The BBQ was great too.




Dog friendly Dominoes

Review submitted on Sun, 19 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a fab week at Dominoes. Great to find top notch accommodation which is also dog friendly and with a secure garden. Views from house are very special.



The most tranquil location

Review submitted on Fri, 03 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Dominoes exceeded our expectations. A really warm welcome from Nicky, not only in person but through the extensive information pack and the high standard to which the property has been appointed. Everything has been careful thought about to make your stay as comfortable and carefree as possible. The open plan living area was perfect and the view from the property just breathtaking and so relaxing. A very special place.



New years getaway

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Jan 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Dominoes is a fabulous property with absolutely stunning views. We spent our new years here with friends and had a lovely chilled weekend. The house is so quiet, with the loudest noise being the owls at night. Nicky was a great host and very accommodating. We would love to come back in the summer months!



Stunning house in a fabulous location

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a place you would aspire to live in yourselves. The instant you open the car door you are hit by the calm silence. And that's just how it is except for the owls hooting at night and the ducks and other waterfowl by day. The house inside is exceptional, the views from it inside and sitting outside are stunning - overlooking the ever changing tidal mill pool below. There's rarely the sound of a car either - two houses further on and then the narrow road peters off into a footpath.
The comfiest beds and sofas ever, the tasteful soft furnishings, the luxurious bathroom and shower rooms, this place exudes style in every corner. Best of all though is that view and those massive sliding glass windows that make you feel you are outside when you are inside.
It's in a great location too for sightseeing. Walk down by the foreshore or along the narrow road to the well stocked village stores, the lovely Emma's bistro or the shack by the waterside for a coffee or a lunch and there are two pubs in the village of Stoke Gabriel too. Or hop in the car to nearby Totnes and do the famous round robin tour on boat, steam train and bus, taking in the sights of the river Dart, Dartmouth, Kingsweir, Paignton and back to Totnes again - for a whole day out. Explore the fascinating collection of independent shops in Totnes, visit NT Coleton Fishacre and Greenway only a few miles away or head up to Dartmoor. There is so much to do and see that you will need more than one holiday at Dominoes. We'll be back!




A great place to stay

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed or stay at Dominoes, which is reflected in the grading we have provided above. I believe this is the first year this property has been available for rental but everything one might need has been provided and is new and in good condition. For my wife, the quality of bed linen and towels is close to her heart and Dominoes certainly delivered in this respect.

Dominoes is in a lovely position overlooking a creek coming off the river Dart, so I need to comment on only ranking the position as "good". It is impossible to get in and out of Stoke Gabriel without going down a lot of very narrow lanes, which doesn't make going out of the village for dinner in the evening ideal if one wants to have a drink or two. The facilities for eating out in the village are fairly limited, though the village does have a lot of charm. However, our hosts were very helpful and drove us to and from Dartmouth one evening.

I would certainly recommend Dominoes.




Beautiful building in a wonderful setting

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Oct 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our week especially as we had exceptional weather for the time of year. The property was just as we expected from the website pictures and description except the lack of a handrail which was said to be at the side of the property this meant my husband had to use the staircase. The reason I chose Dominoes (very carefully) was for the architecture, the position and the accessibility at the side, meaning he wouldn't need to use the stairs! We still enjoyed ourselves it just meant I had to do all the running up and down!



A wonderful stay

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Sep 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent location and exceptional house; midcentury in style but loaded with 21st comforts. Nicky was a gracious host. So much to do in the local area (one of our party was in the Dart 10k swim; fantastic NT locations nearby, beaches, towns, villages, landscapes) but the greatest delight for us was being in the house and Stoke Gabriel: the ever changing light on the mill pond, the trees, the huge sliding windows. Glorious!



We had an amazing week at dominoes in Devon and will definitely be back

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wow is all that we can say - we had the most amazing week in dominoes in Devon and the house was wonderful to stay in. Nicky was very easy going and helped in every step of the booking - even advising the best place to buy a birthday cake. We totally enjoyed dominoes.



An amazing house in a stunning location

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is truly a wonderful glass fronted property boasting stunning views of the river from every room. The location is incredibly peaceful and serene and it is a pleasure watching the bird life on the water throughout the day.
The accommodation was 5* and Nicky, the owner, was incredibly helpful.
We had a great holiday and absolutely loved Stoke Gabriel and Dominoes. We would highly recommend.




Paradise!

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful property in an ideal location. Nicky welcomed us and made us feel at home. We would recommend Dominoes to everyone.



An Oasis of Calm

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay at the Dominoes. Firstly the location and view are stunning, tranquil and private. The house is well equipped, and it made holidaying with children easy. The property is tastefully decorated and well maintained so really felt like a home from home rather than a ‘holiday let.’ There is plenty to do within walking distance and within a short drive. So much so that we must come back soon to complete our ‘to do’ list. However, our favourite thing to do was to watch the sun go down with a glass of something cold from the front terrace.



Wonderful house, wonderful setting

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Apr 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Dominoes. It was the perfect house for my needs, including the visit of my mum and step-dad, with 3 lovely bedrooms each en suite, the most comfy beds ever, and a thoughtfully stocked kitchen and lounge. The views through the full length glassed front are phenomenal, and the surrounding nature right outside the door was perfect for daily walks with my dog. Perfect. Thank you Nicky for a wonderful stay. I will definitely return to Dominoes!