FB Twitter

Thatchers

Thatchers

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 23 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.7
Location
5.0
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.9


  • Stunning historic Arts and Crafts house in its own grounds
  • Huge enclosed, well kept garden
  • Peaceful family holidays or short breaks with the dogs!
  • Dog friendly pub a short walk away
  • Village location with shops
  • Cafes and vintage/retro funky burger van
  • Play areas for the kids!
  • Sandy beach a short distance away and very dog friendly.
  • On the Norfolk Coastal Path.

Family week

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Sep 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cottage and location, we thoroughly enjoyed the week. We had two dogs and a little one with us. Plenty of space for everyone and the dogs loved the garden.
We did though have some issues, really the kitchen struggles with the number of guests, we ended up going out and buying pans. Food storage is inadequate so if you are foodies and enjoy the cooking side then you might struggle.
We asked for a travel cot, it was awful so if you have a tiny one, bring your own.
We think maybe they can also look at replacing the bedding, it was quite tired, it looked like it was the end of the season.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Certainly will consider it.



Sue Allen replied 241 days ago
Hello Mike, thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear your stay wasn't completely satisfactory. We do like to remind our guests to let us know if there is anything wrong during their stay so that we can make adequate changes ASAP so you can enjoy your holiday to the fullest. We are pleased that this was brought to our attention and I can confirm the cot has now been replaced with a new one. The owners do replace the bedding on a regular basis. We hope we can welcome you and your family back to East Ruston Cottages in the future.

Perfect family holiday. Again happy dogs happy humans.

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another fantastic week at Thatchers. Perfect for family time, even more so this year. As usual the house was spotless when we arrived. Beautiful cake waiting for us milk in the fridge just what we needed after a long drive. The garden is so fantastic for the 6 dogs plenty of room for 5 large dogs to run around an have zoomies, an lots of nooks an crannies for a little Jack Russell to nose around. Everywhere is so dog friendly we never have to worry about going out an taking all the dogs with us. Happisburgh beach, Cart gap, so many perfect places for us all. Thatchers is the perfect place for large family gatherings enough space not to feel on top of each other. We’ve already booked again for next year..

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Already booked!



A Beautiful & Relaxing Home.

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful & Relaxing sums up this place. Just back from a week in the wonderful Thatchers Cottage, a delightful and spacious house in stunning landscaped gardens. Everyone had a wonderful time including our four french bulldogs who just loved doing zoomies up, down and around the massive lawn. Im sure we will visit again, so much to do in the area too with the beach a 5 min walk away and only a short drive to other local attractions. Superb !

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Excellent holiday home

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Aug 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great family holiday home. Rooms clean and comfortable with a large and secure garden for children. Short walk or drive from a lovely beach.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Lovely holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Jul 2020
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thatchers is a beautiful cottage in a fantastic location. A great place to rest, get lost and reconnect with yourself. We had a lovely stayed and will try to come back. While it is clear that the owners are doing a lot to maintain the property this could benefit for small but very much needed changes. Some of the mattresses are quite old and it is difficult to sleep on them. Some bathroom taps lick and even doing your best hot water still coming out. The cottage was in general clean for our arrival, sadly some areas as the outdoor furniture and areas around it were in need of a proper clean up.
The garden at the very top had a gap and our dog managed to scape on our 3rd day. Giving us a panic attack! We found him wondering around after a long search.
Finally, Owner very kindly agreed that our check out time will be at 10:30am but by 10:10am gate was open and lots of people was already in the property. Pushing us to leave in a hurry and we’re just able to catch out adventurous dog before running free through the fields next door.

Still our holiday was great and what we were looking for. Hopefully we will make it next year and this little improvements will be made by then.

Thank you!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



Sue at East Ruston Cottages replied 297 days ago
Thank you so much for your review Brenda and I am really pleased you had such a good time and would like to return. I feel it only right to address the issues you bring up so that any future guests, seeing this, can be confident that they will have a good experience at our lovely Thatchers. As part of our Terms and Conditions, that are agreed to by guests when they book, we do ask that all problems and issues are notified to the owner or me, the agent, so they can be sorted out and reduce any impact on a guests' stay. The taps and garden gap could easily have been dealt with as could the garden furniture clean and all of these would have been done, being careful to cause the minimum disruption to you. If they couldn't be completed during your stay then we would have been able to prepare for them during the changeover at the end of your stay. These have now been attended to. I must apologise for the early arrival of the cleaning and gardening team. They would have been more than happy for you to continue your preparation for departure at 10.30 but I do appreciate that this is not what you would have expected. I have spoken to the owner about the mattresses and am assured they are all less than 5 years old. Obviously they won't have been used constantly for 5 years as the property is not full year round and not every group of guests uses them all. I am very sorry you awarded just 3/5 for value. The house is priced for the number of people it can occupy - 10 - and worked out at just £21/person/night for 10 people which is very reasonable and cannot be matched locally by any hotel or even caravan site. Choosing a property priced for 10 people for a group of less than half, is going to be more expensive per person unfortunately. Out of season we can offer reduced occupancy discounts so that may be something you would like to consider for another booking out of the main part of the season, or maybe look at some of our properties that are more suitable for 4 guests and therefore priced accordingly. I am delighted you found the customer service to be 5/5 - that is certainly something I strive for with all guests and the location, in a quiet historic village, right by the sea is certainly worthy of the 5/5 too. I very much look forward to having you back to stay - I can assure you that the issues you have brought up in this review will have been attended to. Sue - Director of East Ruston Cottages Ltd

A fantastic stay right near the sea

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thankyou very much for allowing us to have a fantastic week in thatchers, it really is a wonderful house set in a truly fantastic place. We had a lovely time relaxing in the HUGE garden, the dogs have loved it as well! It was super handy being so close to the beach as well, we went twice everyday. From the moment we pulled into the drive our jaws hit the floor, we couldn’t believe the sheer size of the house and it left us smiling all week. The house suited us all perfectly, there was plenty of space for us all to do our own things when we wanted and the kitchen/dinner/snug area worked really well when we all wanted to be together, the true hub of the house!
The dogs had an absolute joy of a time in that massive garden, running around it for as long as they desired and just having a good old time, the weather was lovely for a few days during our stay so we got to sit out in it and just relax. It’s so nice being able to hear the sea in the distance as well, it just makes you truly relax and forget about everything else that’s happening in the world.
A big thankyou for the welcome cake as well, it was delicious! We’d all love to come and stay again, so hopefully that can happen sooner rather than later.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



Christmas 2019

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Dec 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an amazing Christmas holiday at thatchers cottage in 2019 .
So dog friendly and a great location for dogs and us .
Cottage has loads of room for 6 dogs and the 9 people that stayed over Christmas ,lovely decorations and tree provided.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Certainly will consider it.





Perfect relaxing break with the dogs!

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Oct 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What an amazing place to spend a week relaxing with our dogs.
Such a beautiful cottage with a huge secure garden and with the beach and countryside walks just a few minutes away

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Certainly will consider it.





Wonderful house, garden and location - we loved it

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just returned from two weeks at Thatchers and what a wonderful place it is. A lovely house with terrific gardens, very secluded and dog friendly. Five minutes from a lovely pub serving delicious meals, ten minutes walk to the beach, a wood only a short distance away - the dogs were in heaven. There is plenty to do within a short drive and Stalham and North Walsham are a short drive away and have the usual Supermarkets. In addition there are numerous farm shops in the area. What more could you ask for. Thank you Helen for allowing us to stay.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



A great family break

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Sep 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location of Thatchers is second to none and the garden perfect for children and dogs. The house is beautiful with 5 good sized bedrooms and a lovely kitchen and adjoining snug. It was amazingly well equipped. The fridges are a bit confusing as the big fridge is in the garage and there is also a chest freezer in a different place. Perhaps not the most convenient location if the weather was bad. The chest freezer was full of black mould but we were pleased to find it and turn it on.
However these small issues apart we had a great holiday and would certainly consider going again. It is a lovely house which makes a great base for beaches, play parks, NT houses and is nice to spend time in.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!



Sue at East Ruston Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Dinah, thank you so much for your review and I know from our emails during your stay that your extended family loved the house and had a great time! When you come back, if you find any minor issues (like mould in the freezer) then do let us know and we will be able to get straight over to sort it out! We do like to make sure any issues and problems are sorted out ..... we just need to know about them from you while you are here. Looking forward to having you and your family back for another stay and I hope you have lots of lovely memories from this one.

Happy holiday at East Ruston Cottages Thatchers.

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 1st stay at this property a real family holiday. We loved it lots of room for all of us.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!





Thatchers

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We all really enjoyed our holiday despite the awful weather. Thatchers was comfortable and extremely beautiful place. The area is lovely. Hopefully we will be back with better weather next time.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!





Another wonderful week at Thatchers

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just returned from our third family holiday staying at Thatchers, a beautiful Arts and Craft property in Happisburgh. We had another fantastic week, the property is located in a beautiful setting and is the perfect holiday home for our three generations of family (and three dogs) to stay in. The house and garden is spacious, comfortable and very well presented. We would recommend both Thatchers and East Ruston Cottages whom we book the house with. Sue, from East Ruston cottages, is friendly and the personal touch provided is excellent.
We have booked to return to Thatchers next year!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!



Just what was needed

Review submitted on Sun, 19 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The property is great for families getting together and the garden was a huge hit with the dogs - they spent the whole week exploring and we have never seen them so tired. The property is perfect for taking time out and relaxing, recharging the batteries - it is such a peaceful location.

The Hill House Inn couldn't do enough for us, including providing take-away fish and chips one evening, and the local fish shop up the road was definitely on our list to visit.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!





ANOTHER WONDER STAY WITH EAST RUSHTON COTTAGES

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful house, when driving up the gated gravel drive you immediately get goosebumps as you approach this beautiful thatched cottage and well kept gardens. The cottage has everything you could possibly need for a fantastic break with your four legged friends. The views are amazing and lovely coastal walks near by. Can’t recommend this highly enough. We have booked for next year already !!



Wonderful house for a dog friendly stay with friends and our 4 legged friends.

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thatchers is a wonderful house , cosy but spacious.
We had the most wonderful time , the house, garden & situation were perfect for 9 of us and our dogs!
Arriving alone at dusk to xmas lights & the heating on, homemade cake and fizz was so welcoming especially as I was spending the first night alone with just me and my dogs.
I can’t recommend the house and East Rushton cottages enough.
Thank you , we will be back.




Family Christmas

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thatchers felt like home the minute we arrived. Our welcome pack included a delicious home made sponge cake, which we did appreciate after a long journey & a great selection of doggie treats, made locally in Happisburgh. A lovely house with plenty of comfy furniture & kitchen/dining area with all facilities & utensils necessary for a big family gathering. Our dog loved all the space & his choice of bowls & beds!
The garden is beautiful & secure, our dog could run around and explore we had no fear that he may escape.
Wonderful walks on your doorstep & a great pub with a very friendly team , we ate here 3 times for lunch & dinner, food was very good.
Thatchers is perfect for a luxurious break any time of the year.




In need of some TLC

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Nov 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
This property is excellent for a restful holiday. However for the money that is charged definitely needs a few issues sorting.



Sue Allen - Director of East Ruston Cottages Ltd replied more than 1 year ago
I am so very sorry you had a less than satisfactory experience at Thatchers, Christine and John and family. Most of the issues you make reference to could have been sorted quickly and easily during you stay and at a time to suit you if you had alerted us as soon as you discovered them - lightbulb, dvd connection, chair, smell in the cupboard, for example. Some of them were notified to me by email towards the end of your stay, giving little time to effect resolutions and yet others were included in the comments book and therefore only discovered after your departure, giving the owner no chance to rectify them during your stay. The Terms and Conditions agreed to at the time of booking state that problems are to be notified as soon as discovered and we include this so that owners can be given a fair chance to put things right for their guests. A link to the page on the website is here https://www.eastrustoncottages.co.uk/terms-conditions/ The price you paid for this half term week was £893 = £127/night. The house sleeps up to 10 people so at full capacity would equate to £12.70 per person, per night. This price includes heating, full use of all 5 double bedrooms and 3 bathrooms/toilets plus the 2 living areas and the acre of mature gardens/parking - dog proof and well maintained. I am confident that this represents good value for money given that you were also very welcome to bring your 4 dogs with you without any additional charge. In summary, I am very sorry that you found Thatchers not to be as you would like it, also that you did not feel you were able to contact me directly as soon as you discovered the issues that caused you dissatisfaction. I can confirm that Helen has rectified the issues you identified. Thank you for taking the time to provide a review.

Thatchers Happisburgh

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a fantastic property, the grounds were also fantastic and totally dog proof (even for small dogs). Owner and gardener very friendly. Amazing cake on arrival. We would certainly stay again.



Fantastic house

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thatchers is fully equipped for all your needs, beds are so comfortable I didn’t want to get up!! Dogs loved the garden which is fully enclosed, they loved exploring. This was our second visit and will definitely be returning. Loved the cake which is a lovely idea. Thatchers is very close to a lovely, dog friendly beach.



Time of their lives

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a beautiful large house with what I would call grounds, not garden. Our two Labradors had the time of their lives here, running through the wooded area, down the drive, back round to the rear garden and then around again. The house was very well kept, clean and the snug was a cosy retreat. As just two of us and the dogs we had more than enough room, only using the downstairs space.

Would return without question.




Weekend for Happisburgh wedding

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beauriful house fwas just rifght for our special occasion.everything was excelkent and we could even accommodate the retrievers who had lors od open space to run arpund safely.



Lord of the manor

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
That's what you feel like !
Superb grounds ! Great size rooms, superb walks from the door & a pub within stagering distance !