FB Twitter

Milestone Barn

Milestone Barn

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 24 reviews
96% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.5
Condition
4.7
Location
4.6
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.9


  • Lovingly restored in 2011 with great attention to detail, our barn is on the Paston Way footpath in a designated Quiet Lane and only a mile from the sea.
  • Wildlife may be seen in the meadow from the window and the cheeky Sparrows and Long tailed tits seem to escape the Sparrow Hawk, as do the fat Wood Pigeons.
  • Sandstone flooring (with underfloor heating) and no stairs make Milestone barn very suitable for children, dogs and those with limited mobility.
  • 10% of bookings go to Many Tears rescue in South Wales
  • There is no charge for dogs.
  • The owners have a very flexible approach to numbers.
  • The barn is completely open plan with glass in the upper truss of the wall that makes the bedrooms so you have full height all through and can see all of the roof.
  • The two nearest pubs with food are The Vernon Arms, 1.5 miles at Southrepps. (it is listed in Norfolk doggie pubs) and The Crown 1 mile at Trunch (CAMRA).
  • The beaches around our cottage are sandy and mostly dog friendly year round and there are miles of footpaths to explore.
  • Wells, Blakeney and Stiffkey are a short drive away and North Norfolk is a bird watchers paradise.

Fabulous break at Milestone Barn

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Apr 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Milestone Barn in Gimingham, near Cromer, for five nights in April 2021. Well we were supposed to stay seven nights but the Covid restrictions were still in place until the Monday. Two adults with a cockapoo and two spaniels. Milestone Barn is in a wonderful location. So many lovely walks straight from the doorstep and others a short drive away. One day we walked into Mundsley straight from the barn. It is about a 3 mile walk on a footpath across fields. We had a lovely wander around Mundsley, which is a pretty little beach resort, a scamper on the beach and then walked back. What a wonderful way to spend a day. The dogs were exhaused when we got back. The landscape around the barn is very varied - from beaches, to beautiful countryside walks, to the Broads - everything is on the doorstep or a short drive away. The barn is really sweet and was very clean and user-friendly. Definitely recommend a visit.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



Little piece of tranquility

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
First time staying at Milestone Barn. We were very pleased with the location and barn itself. It was perfect for us to spend time together with the open plan living area. Perfect for us and our dog. Lots of lovely places to visit just a short drive away.
We felt very confident with this holiday during the pandemic due to fantastic communications. We definitely would recommend x

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Relaxing

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our first stay at Miles stone Barn , but it will not be our last . We loved the location, the Barn and the peaceful space . We had everything we needed for a perfect holiday, the views were stunning and my dog absolutely loved the walks from the barn . We loved the wood burner and felt totally at home there . I can not recommend it highly enough. We just did not want to come home .

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





A good relaxing holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Oct 2020
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Pleasant comfortable place n lovely location lovely beaches for dogs to roam. Area is easily accessible and lots of places to visit

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Certainly will consider it.





Holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Sep 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful barn , great walking for the dogs and not to far from the sea . Peaceful and wonderful location

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Certainly will consider it.





Gorgeous barn

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Sep 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really loved our stay at Milestone Barn. We love booking through ERC as we know the properties are always done to a high standard. Not only a gorgeous barn but also very clean.

This beautiful property is set in lovely Norfolk countryside and just a short drive to the beach. The open plan living room/dining room and kitchen was ideal for our 2 dogs and our 1 year old baby. The garden was very secure and we enjoyed sitting out in the sun after spending the day on the beach.

Communication from the owners was very quick and our query was easily resolved.

If you have noise sensitive dogs it might be worth baring in mind there are pigs in the fields behind which can get quite loud.

We used the local park down the road to stretch the dogs legs first thing.

A lovely stay. Thank you!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Certainly will consider it.



Sue Allen replied 231 days ago
Hello Alice, thank you so much for your review. It is lovely to hear such kind words about Milestone Barn and ERC. It was unfortunate timing with your stay and some noisy pigs, it's not normally long before they are moved on. We hope they didn't impact your break. Kind regards, Sue

Milestone Barn

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Aug 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed a wonderful week at Milestone Barn.
Well equipped and very comfortable with lovely views of the countryside. Peaceful and quiet location. Secure garden for our dog to enjoy.
This was our first visit to Norfolk and we loved the area. Milestone Barn was a great base to explore from.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Linda and Dave's and dogs holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely time at this barn lovely location really nice inside had everything you could need. Garden secure for the dogs they thought it was great very comfortable will be going back next year.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Already booked!





Christmas at Milestone Barn

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Dec 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely barn and very well equipped. Warm and cosy although I think it would be very cramped if there were 4 adults. Ideal for a family. Nice and quite and very relaxing. Just wished the garden had been a bit bigger so the dogs could have a run.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Ok for dogs.

How likely are you to return?
Certainly will consider it.





Sue at East Ruston Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your review Sue :) Very much appreciated. I remember that the last Christmas booking made the same observation about possibly being a bit small for 4... but nobody has in between! I think that has a lot to do with the rather lovely big decorate Christmas that the owners leave for their Christmas guests. It does sit by the dining table (so it can be viewed from the road too) and that reduces the space a bit. I think next year the owners will just decorate the beams instead :)

Beautiful Barn

Review submitted on Thu, 14 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at this beautiful little barn many times & each time we go up I say to my husband that I’m going to change the locks as we never want to leave. Pat & Richard are so accommodating ,I’m sure there’s not that many people ,that would let you stay in there home with a 4 month puppy .
It’s home from home , both of our girls loved going there and was relaxed and settled straight away just like our little Martha.
Perfect location for the beach , plus there’s beautiful walks straight outside the door as well , what more do you need .

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Already booked!



Relaxed as soon as we arrived.

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My friend and I were so looking forward to going back to Milestone Barn for our second stay.

The minute we arrived we relaxed. Dogs (3 Greyhounds and 1 Pointer) took to the dog beds and relaxed as well.

The owners had kindly supplied a brand new fan for me, as well as putting a summer duvet on my bed. Nothing is too much trouble.

Sadly I had a bad fall on the road on the Tuesday and due to pain in my arm, we came home Thursday. Turns out I have broken the top of my arm.

Owners left a nice message on my phone, when they found out we had to leave early.

Cannot recommend this property enough.


How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



Fantastic stay at milestone barn

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Me and my family had an amazing stay at milestone barn, the barn itself is beautiful and comfortable the garden was perfect for our 3 dogs and 2 children and it was completely secure and safe. Milestone barn is located only a 5 minute drive from tringingham beach which is a lovely beach and is dog friendly, there are also beautiful walks straight from the doorstep and only a 15 minute car journey to Cromer a really nice seaside town with lovely shops and restaurants and amusements. We will definitely book with East Ruston Cottages again for next year this time for 2 weeks.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!



Ticked all the boxes for us.

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Aug 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely location,very peaceful and quiet. Milestone barn was clean, comfortable, warm and very dog friendly. Would love to return.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!





Great DOG FRIENDLY holiday cottage!

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely week at Milestone Barn! The Barn was perfect for us and our black Lab Polly. We all loved the garden (especially with the amazing weather we had) and the dog walks straight from the door were great. The location was really good, with dog friendly beaches close by and Cromer when we fancied fresh seafood. The cottage was clean and well equipped, we will definitely be back (we want to come back in the Autumn as the log burner looks like it will be so cosy!).

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!





Big problem with garden not being dog escape proof

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Jun 2019
3.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Quiet location but cottage not that easy to find and no telephone number to ask for help. It would have been most helpful to have been given the instruction that the cottage was adjacent to Hall Farmhouse. I tentatively entered the garden, matching the cottage furnishings to the picture I had been sent. The Tesco delivery man said that the cottage sign needed more prominence as he too had also failed to see it! Cottage was as expected but biggest problem were the holes in the fence which my large dogs quickly negotiated. The owner phoned to tell me that he was unaware of the problem but the cleaner and the guest book said differently. The cleaner came to place a garden chair in front on one of the holes but this was ineffective, and her comment that "Billy usually lets his chicken out in the adjacent field" caused consternation. As there were deer roaming nearby, my dogs had already escaped on a couple of occasions for over half an hour, so I was unable to leave them in the garden and had to keep the door closed.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Ok for dogs.



Sue at East Ruston Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Rosie. Thank you very much for taking the time to do your review and I hope I can satisfactorily address the points you made. For arrival, the details and the postcode are on the website. We send an arrival email 2 weeks before and it does suggest that you download the details as mobile phone signal can be patchy. My contact telephone number is on the bottom of every email I send and on the website too and I am more than happy to take calls to help people with any issues they have before or during their stay. I am very sorry there were issues with the fence/hedge at the back. These have now been resolved by the owners. Thank you again for your feedback - it is always appreciated and we hope to see you back here in Norfolk.

Relaxing, dog friendly, comfortable stay in rural Norfolk

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spent a lovely relaxing week at Milestone Barn, it had everything we needed, couldn’t fault it! Totally dog friendly, secure garden and welcoming dog treats, bowls & throws and best of all a donation to the rescue 2 of our dogs were adopted from!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!





Lovely Barn conversion

Review submitted on Mon, 27 May 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved our stay at Milestone Barn. Couldn’t think of anything that wasn’t there that we needed!! Was a little concerned about the dresser with the crockery etc. that was displayed there....glad we didn’t have young children or energetic dogs with us. Lovely secure garden, we had an escape artist with us and he never found a way out!!!! Had a fantastic week weather wise and the Barn is positioned well to get to everywhere easily. Beautiful views as well.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!





A Dog's Holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 16 May 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I decided on my last holiday without my dogs that I wouldn't leave them behind again so East Ruston Cottages are a perfect option - seriously dog friendly and catering for all the dogs needs. Milestone Barn in Gimington was delightful. A converted barn, spacious open plan kitchen and living area well appointed and comfortable.
There are some lovely walks across fields to the beach and Mundesley has a couple of very good coffee shops. We've already booked for next year - same time, same place.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!



Fantastic cottage, more than recommended

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We love Norfolk and have been many times, but, we have never used East Ruston cottages before.
When we pulled up to Milestone Cottage I knew we’d made the right decision. The setting was amazing, the view was just breathtaking.
Inside the cottage was beautiful, very comfortable and lovely for the dogs, being extremely dog friendly, there was plenty enough room for their beds.
The kitchen, bathroom and bedrooms were exceptionally clean and fitted to a high standard.
We were sad when the week was over and will definitely be back.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!



Relaxing week at Milestone Barn

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful week at the Barn. We felt immediately at home. Very comfortable, especially the bed which was the best I have slept in for a long time. The kitchen was very well equipped and the quality of the fixtures and fittings excellent.
A safe garden for the dogs and a lovely view from the window.
Also great walks straight from the Barn was ideal for the early morning walk with the dogs.
A truly memorable holiday.




First visit to Norfolk

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Mar 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful barn with lovely views. Great dog walking beaches nearby. Had a wonderful holiday despite the weather at times being very windy. Barn was great to come back to at the end of a busy day



Short stay at Milestone barn

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely few days away in a truly dog friendly place. So nice that it is set up to totally accept dog not just tolerate them. All made for a really relaxing stay.



Beautiful Norfolk!/ Beautiful milestone barn

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful barn that we have stayed in now 4/5 times and have already booked for next year twice ! Our girls love Norfolk and the barn and settle in straight away . Unfortunately we lost one of girls just before this visit so it was quite emotional, but also gave us very happy memories as it feels like home when we return. Thank you so much Pat , Richard & Rosie for letting us stay there x



Brilliant

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Nov 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely barn conversion and very cosy with the under floor heating. Our three sighthounds loved it and are now getting over it.
The barn is well situated for beaches and dog friendly NationalTrust properties .