FB Twitter

Holmes House

Holmes House

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 24 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.6
Location
5.0
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
5.0


  • Sleeps 4 + extra bed area
  • Well set out with enclosed, hard floor large hallway area - ideal for dog beds and drying off
  • Lovely big lounge with woodburner
  • Open plan, well fitted kitchen / diner
  • Unlimited dogs welcome for FREE
  • Enclosed parking for up to 3 cars
  • Very suitable for reactive dogs
  • Dead end lane location so no passing traffic
  • Quiet and easy walks from the door along the Weavers Way

Great place to relax and unwind

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a restful & relaxing few days, which is what we went away for! The Weavers way right on our doorstep was an added bonus, shame we couldn't walk to Stalham have a coffee & cake before returning home.
Coronavirus scuppered our plans.
Dogs enjoyed the fantastic garden and exchanging greetings with Caz' dogs. Look forward to a return stay at holmes house love the peace!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Wonderful place to take your dogs

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Feb 2020
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spent a fabulous relaxing week at Holmes house. I've never seen my dogs so relaxed. So quiet and fantastic location.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Doggy Heaven

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Jan 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Three labradors and three adults had a great time in Holmes House. A very secure garden alongside immediate access to Weavers Way and over 6 miles of walks was a great asset.

We then had access to beaches for other walking and ball games.

The house had everything we needed and more - more than this was the relaxed and friendly attitude of the owner and the efficiency of east Ruston Cottages throughout the whole process. We will use this organisation again without hesitation.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





An autumn stay at Holmes House

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were looking for a dog-friendly cottage - which this one is in bucket loads. The lovely owner lives next door. He showed us around when we arrived but then left us to our privacy which was great. The cottage is in a wonderful rural location, up a lane with no passing traffic. It sits a few minutes walk from Weavers Way footpath, so you can have lovely walks straight from the front door and it is only a short drive to beaches and other networks of footpaths. Lots of info at the cottage and on East Ruston Cottages website about walks, dog-friendly places to eat etc. We had to leave with a lot more to explore so we have already booked another stay for next year. Would 100% recommend both Holmes House and East Ruston Cottages to book through.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Already booked!



Best Dog Holiday!

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Nov 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have 4 dogs, so going away is always difficult. It is always been a challenge to find a property that is fully dog secure. This property was exactly that!
The wife was able to completely relax knowing that the garden was secure and the dogs safe!
The house offered everything we needed. The local area was so friendly and dog friendly.
We would definitely come back to this property, we have booked another East Rushton property for June2020 and November2020 (unfortunately this one had already been booked)

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



ERC Holmes House Norfolk

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Holmes House was just perfect for us and our dogs. The house was clean and comfortable with a great secure garden for the dogs and situated on the Weavers Way. Caz the owner was lovely and left us a very much appreciated welcome pack. Various beaches only minutes away, who could ask for more!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Already booked!





Perfect Holiday Home

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 3rd visit to fabulous Holmes House, and it was just as good as we remembered. The house manages to be both spacious and yet cosy - a large sitting room with 3 good sized comfy sofas and real log fire - already made up and ready to be lit, with a full wood basket - make a great area to sit and relax at the end of a day exploring the beautiful country walks straight out of the door, or the wonderful nearby beaches, just a very short drive away.

The garden is a great size, completely secure, so that even the tiny Pomeranian in our party was safe outside. The parking is within the garden, and plenty of room for at least 2 cars, so getting dogs in and out of the car is easy and stress free.

Located nearly at the end of a dead end lane, which then goes on to the Weavers Way, this is a wonderfully quiet place to stay, and very good for us as one of our dogs is nervous, but he always manages to relax and enjoy his stays at Holmes House.

The bedroom spaces area good size with comfortable beds and are adaptable - we love the comfy reading area by the picture window overlooking the garden and surrounding fields - this can be made into an extra sleeping area if required.

The kitchen is very well equipped, so if you fancy cooking a full meal in there is everything you need. The spacious dining area is open to the kitchen, so the person cooking isn't isolated, and we find we spend a lot of time around the large table making plans for the day or following day.

The house has the benefit of a downstairs shower room off the large hallway, as well as a full bathroom upstairs, so no queues in the morning.

Lovely to be welcomed to our stay by Caz the owner, who makes sure everything is ready for your arrival, including a welcome parcel of goodies for humans and dogs - even down to milk in the fridge for a welcome cup of tea after a long drive - and the tea and coffee.


How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



We'll be back again next year!

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our third stay at Holmes House and as before we can't wait to come back again. The dogs were so happy there that they refused to leave
The house is very comfortable and the landlord very welcoming and keen to ensure all your needs are satisfied. There are dogs walks from the door and this time we also enjoyed the lovely gardens at East Ruston Old Vicarage and Sheringham Park.
We felt we had been able to relax and enjoy our break. The only downside was the 5 1/2 hour journey home, but it was well worth it.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Already booked!



Very relaxing and just wonderful

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Sep 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our second visit to Holmes House and what can I say other than it is just wonderful. The house is so charming and comfortable and the garden is fantastic especially for our pack of 6 whippets.

Everything about the location to Caz the owner being so helpful is just lovely.

Just about to book again for next year.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Marvellous dog friendly house

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a really good week here, and the house was perfect for our 2 labradors. The garden is huge, entertaining and very secure. The house is lovely and clean. The owner was helpful without being at all intrusive and we really appreciated the welcome gifts provided.
The booking process was easy, and very efficient.
The area is good, with numerous local, dog friendly, establishments, a great off road walk on the doorstep and short drives to a number of beaches.
Thoroughly recommend it.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!





Holmes House 27 July to 3 August

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Aug 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another excellent East Ruston Cottages stay from 27th July to 3rd August - our second visit to Holmes House. We thoroughly enjoyed our week with plenty of countryside walks direct from cottage and beach walks within a few minutes drive. Holmes House has everything you need for a great week away and in a fabulously quiet setting.
We've been visiting beautiful Norfolk with our dogs since 2014 and have stayed with varying family members, or just the two of us, at I think 8 East Ruston Cottages on all 12 occasions - and have a further two visits booked for this year. I think this says it all for the quality and diversity of the cottages Sue manages, her enthusiasm and hard work, and of course that of all the owners. We can't wait for our next stay!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!



It’s all about the dogs!

Review submitted on Wed, 31 Jul 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was comfortable and had everything needed. Think a bit of up dating would make it amazing. Wouldn’t put us off going again due to its location. The garden was secure and quite large great for the dogs . Brilliant walks from the door up Weavers Way in 2 directions. Quick access to the beaches and a great woodland walk. The weather was amazing as we struck lucky staying in a heatwave ..
Just a dog owners tip we would have found an outside hosepipe useful to clean the dogs especially as even though weather was dry one dog always found a muddy hole to jump into up weavers way.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Ok for dogs.



A spacious homely cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I stayed here with my sister and my daughter plus our 2 dogs. Being located right next to Weavers Way is lovely. We walked for miles taking in the beautiful countryside. The owner, Caz is such a nice man and nothing is too much trouble. He made us feel really welcome. We will definitely holiday again with East Ruston Cottages because it is such a friendly company with excellent customer service which is hard to find nowadays.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!





Holmes fabulous dog friendly cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Jun 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent place for anyone with multiple dogs, location is excellent and house so tranquil with an amazing feel to it. Felt really at home and loved sitting in the cottage style gardens.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!





HIDEAWAY IDLE

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just a few feet from the Weavers Way, this property has everything for both two and four legged holiday makers! From the personal greeting by the owner Caz, to the little touches like the fire already made up and ready to use, this house, almost at the end of a dead end is a quiet paradise home from home.
With the town of Stalham just a short drive away, along with the fabulous beaches also just a skip and a jump away, plus the added attraction of the Weavers Way it really is a perfect location for all. Already booked for next year!




Fabulous and perfectly dog friendly

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Myself and a friend stayed at Holmes House with our six spaniels and had a wonderful, relaxing time. The house was cosy, homely and comfortable and truly dog friendly with enclosed, safe garden and was just set up so we could enjoy and relax.
Loved it - didn't want to come home!




Our stay at Holmes House

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Jan 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for a week in January and had a pleasant and peaceful time there. The house was well stocked and was always warm as the boiler is always on.








Great week in the norfolk country side

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife and i and our 3 dogs Reggie, Ouzo, and little Louie, had a fantastic time staying at Holmes House in norfolk, thank you to Cas and the team for a great stay. Some days we would go out for lunch by the sea in cromer or veras tea shop the food is fresh and tastes great you should try for yourselfs. Happy holidays.
Steve and Michelle x




A Memorable Week

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Such a welcoming house with everything you need. Cosy,warm & so comfortable. The garden is fully fenced & large enough for the dogs to explore & stretch their legs.
Weavers Way is virtually on the doorstep for lovely dog walks & so convenient for some wonderful beaches. Only a mile or so from Stalham for any grocery shopping.
Loved it here.




Perfect Holiday Home

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 2nd stay at Holmes House was so good that we booked a 3rd as soon as we returned home. The house has everything you could want. Spacious yet still warm and cosy. A well equippped kitchen off a bright dining room (where we spent a surprising amount of time), and a lovely sitting room with wood burning stove, perfect for Autumn evenings. Added bonus of the downstairs shower room meant no one is waiting for the bathroom. Beautiful enclosed garden - drive in, close the gate and the dogs can be let out without any worries. Throws are provided for the sofas, there are dog towels and water bowel, and crates available if needed -the lovely owner Caz has thought of everything. Wonderful location on a quiet lane just off The Weavers Way mean lovely walks from the door are available. Short drives to stunning beaches nearby at Happisburgh, Sea Palling & Horsey to see the seals (a must do) and visit the dog friendly Nelson’s Head pub. Everywhere seems to welcome dogs, which is a refreshing change. We hired a day boat from Wroxham - who are happy to allow 3 dogs and more onboard - and had a fun afternoon exploring, even stopping at the ice cream boat to buy some. So many things to do in the area that we still have a must do list for the future. Do stay at this lovely house if you have the chance, it is perfect.



Holmes House

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely week here, wonderful weather for October. Had daily walk on Sea Palling beach for our 4 legged companions followed by lunch at Reefs bar for us 2 legged monsters! Holmes House is very spacious and in a lovely location with a generous sized garden plus walking available virtually on your doorstep.Caz (owner) greeted us on our arrival and went through house explaining all we needed to know, he left us a lovely welcome pack and made us feel welcome. East Ruston Cottages are truly pet friendly, your furry friends can treat their cottages as home from home which is great (unlike others we've used who really are only dog tolerant). I would thoroughly recommend them to anyone that wants to take holidays with their pets!!!



Holiday in September 2018

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Oct 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our 4th holiday visit to Holmes House and we have a better week every time we come. The property is clean and tidy and very welcoming and owner, Caz, is always on hand for help without being intrusive. The location is perfect, just a few yards from the Weavers Way allowing a picturesque walk in both directions. East Rustpn is a lovely vilage to wander around. There are so many places only a short drive away, Happisburgh, Walcott, Eccles, Sea Palling and the wonderful Winterton on Sea (the Dunes Cafe is highly recommended) are all excellent beach locations. There are also a number of pretty villages and larger towns including Wroxham, Stalham, Nth Walsham and Holt with a variety of shops pubs cafes and restaurants. Wells next the Sea, Norwich and Great Yarmouth are not far away too. Overall it's a great place to stay to explore North Norfol



Holmes House review

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have now stayed 4 times at Holmes House in East Ruston, the last visit for a fortnight in September 2018, and it the most dog friendly place we have ever stayed. The house itself is very well equipped (with the all-important dishwasher) and is spacious and yet cosy at the same time with a log burner in the living room. The garden is completely enclosed and the owner (Caz) has even improved the safety for regular customers with escape artist dogs!

There are throws provided (if you don't take your own) for dogs to go on the furniture and you can leave them unattended (there is also a stair gate if you want to stop them going upstairs).

The house is located right on the Weaver's Way track and there is great walking from the doorstep. The location makes it ideal for exploring the broads and its towns and villages as well as the north Norfolk coast. There are fabulous dog friendly beaches a short drive away our favourite being Waxham.

The company have grown significantly in the past couple of years and now manage a whole host of dog friendly properties in the area.

I simply cannot recommend them highly enough!




A great place for a break with the dogs

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Jun 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was our second stay at Holmes House and it was just as relaxing as last time. The house is very comfortable and roomy and the dogs love the garden where they are safe to be let loose. Caz, the owner, was very helpful indeed with the one or two small problems we had. There are dog walks right outside the gate and many interesting places to visit in the area like Felbrigg Hall and Blickling. We had an excellent meal at the Greyhound in Hickling and the crayfish sandwiches at Winterton on Sea are a real treat.