FB Twitter

High Barn

High Barn

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 14 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
4.9
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.9


  • Comfortable, welcoming and fully equipped for a TOTALLY dog friendly holiday.
  • At the end of a dead end track on the edge of the village of Happisburgh, the barn sits right up on the coast (the beach, Hill House pub, shop and fish shop are within an easy walk).
  • ​The views from the barn are across the fields, along the coast and out to sea.
  • Even more special are the views of the sunset and seascape from the balcony off the upstairs bedroom – truly magical at night when the stars are out.
  • The garden is large, laid to grass, surrounds the house as well as having a patio area and is very securely fenced with 6ft high fencing, cleverly designed to allow a view through as well as a secure boundary for all your dogs
  • ....and you can bring as many of them as you like for free!
  • Sleeps 6 - 8 in great style and space

high barn

Review submitted on Sun, 09 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
our second time staying at high barn and once again it did not disappoint! upon arrival we was greeted with a delicious home made cake and a bottle of wine in the fridge and some other little goodies. high barn was super clean when we arrived , not single bit of dirt in site. we used all the bedrooms and the beds , pillows and duvet are such good quality giving us all a brilliant nights sleep after long days exploring the local areas. the added balcony upstairs is such a bonus , great added touch to watch the sun rises in the morning. the garden is massive , so secure with having 6ft fence and gate all around the barn. the location of the barn is perfect , down a little farm track , so peaceful , waking up to the sound of just birds tweeting , views overlooking the sea , a few minutes walk into the village and beach , what's not to love about that??, overall we have loved our weeks stay here , highly recommend to anyone , friends and family are already wanting to book ( i cant blame them!! ) , this property is faultless , hope to return very soon!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



Wonderful property!

Review submitted on Sun, 02 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a wonderful property! High Barn exceeded all our expectations - space, perfect quiet location at the end of a quiet lane, walks from the house to the sea and beyond, our very own WW1 (or 2) pill box in our garden, wrap around garden and amazing hot tub and that’s just outside... inside was spacious, clean, perfect for our dogs with stone floors and plenty of throws, dog beds, stair gates etc. Kids loved it too (wonderful rocking horse). We didn’t want to leave! Our host also made us a very tasty GF cake and left goodies for us all - we will be back! Best dog / family friendly property we have stayed in...

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



A perfect holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Apr 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
High Barn has everything you need for a dog friendly holiday. The location is just phenomenal, just a minute away from the coastal path between Walcott and Happisburgh so no need to gets the dogs in a car for beautiful long walks.
The garden is large and well fenced all around but still allowed for beautiful views of the countryside.
The property is well equipped. Two huge sofas in the living room, a large dining table, a very well equipped kitchen with everything you need to self cater. There is underfloor heating which my dogs loved (and so did we).
Downstairs there are two ensuite double bedrooms and upstairs can only be described as a king size suite with the most beautiful bathroom and a balcony with views to die for.
This property is comfortable and luxurious and super dog welcoming.


How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



What a fabulous Barn, location is awesome.

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Apr 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
High Barn surpassed all our expectations, wonderful location, cosy comfortable and homely barn. Views are spectacular, over the fields to the sea and Happisburgh lighthouse and church. The garden was wonderful, and our pack of 10 loved zooming around the garden. It was a much needed post lockdown short break. Highly recommend the afternoon tea. Can't wait to return.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Lovely clean cottage suited us down to the ground

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely holiday.Had everything that we wanted.Host was A1 and couldn't do enough for us.Really happy and cottage was lovely and clean

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Super week at High Barn - lots to see and do

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Oct 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great week at High Barn. A very comfortable, spacious barn with a great, genuinely secure garden for the dogs. Welcome pack of flowers, homemade cake and wine was much appreciated. Lots of throws for the dogs so they can go on the sofas (which were very squishy and comfortable), dog towels, huge dog beds and bowls provided too. Good location close to village and beach. Lots of great places to visit in surrounding area - recommend Holt, Horsey (for the seals), Cromer and Sea Palling (nice food at Lighthouse Inn) as well as Thrigby Hall wildlife park for a great day out for the kids (big and little alike). Highly recommend East Ruston Cottages very friendly and smooth booking backed up by genuinely dog friendly accommodation.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



WOW WOW WOW (or should that be BOW WOW WOW)

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just back from a week at amazing High Barn. I only wish my home was as wonderful. Really lovely open plan layout for that all important 'included' feel, even if cooking.
Sasha (GSD) loved the huge garden.
The hot tub was an added luxury - looking up at the stars on one clear night, made a change from lounging in the bath with the same view!
Such comfy furniture and really quiet location.
I know we'll be back.
Thank you

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





We didn't want to go home!!!

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a beautiful house, with fantastic decor, in a gorgeous location. The facilities are incomparably good in comparison to anywhere else we have stayed. And our three pugs loved it!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





High Barn

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderfully spacious property for five adults and two dogs. Quite location but close to amenities, pubs and walks.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





A great break in a spacious, well presented property. We loved it.

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely quiet location, close to the coastal path and the beach. The Barn is beautiful, homely and comfortable. Presented well, very clean, with plenty of space inside and out. The garden surrounds the Barn so you can follow the sun during the day, and finally sit in the hot tub and watch the sun set. Absolutely dog friendly not just dog tolerant.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Stunning beautiful safe perfect

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great week with our dogs. The garden was perfect & safe for them to run around in. The house is spacious & very comfortable. Plenty of room for people & dogs. We had lovely views & walks on our doorstep. We had a very chilled week & was sad to be leaving such a beautiful place, it is so peaceful there - highly recommend.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Great holiday at High Barn

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fabulous stay as usual, we love staying there as it has every thing we need, The garden is so lovely and the dogs have a great time running and playing in a secure garden. Weather was hot so we spent most of the time in the garden, lovely and shady table area at the front new this year. Thankyou

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Lovely quiet location

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Aug 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Super dog friendly wrap around garden with good local walks. Large rooms, so plenty of space for families. Skylights meant lovely starry nights visible from bedrooms. Unfortunately the Hill House inn had not opened again for our week, although now open. Was lovely on previous visit to Happisburgh. However had a very good and socially distanced meal at the Lighthouse at Walcott, so well worth a visit.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Take a lovely quiet break at High Barn

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Aug 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
High Barn is a great place to stay if you want peace, quiet and wonderful views of fields and the sea.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Certainly will consider it.