FB Twitter

Brian's Cottage

Brian's Cottage

5.0
out of 5
Ratings from 23 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.9
Customer
Service
5.0


This lovely little cottage is in the quiet village of Honing with a huge selection of walks from the door - Weavers Way, Dilham Canal, Bacton Woods and a network of very quiet paths.
Charming and comfortable inside, it is perfect for 4 and approx 4 dogs.

Satisfaction

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Brian,s Cottage this cottage is far the best dog friendly cottage that we have stayed at Liz andTim the most welcoming hosts,they have thought of everything and the welcome pack was just great need not have taken so much with us the cake was most welcome and was lovely,walks with our ridge back really great could not have wished for a better place to stay,would have booked again but fully booked when we like to go back

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Our stay at Brains Cottage, so relaxing and very dog friendly

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
During the years we have stayed in many holiday cottages with our canine companions, Brian’s Cottage is head and shoulders above all of them. This really is a dog friendly place to stay, everything you could need for both humans and dogs was provided. There was an amazing welcome pack, with delicious home made cake, farm eggs, bread, butter and fresh fruit for us and biscuits and dog treats for our two Lurchers. Set in lovely countryside with walks direct from the door and a lovely garden to relax in you really have no need to travel far, the local beaches are clean and the seals at Horsey are well worth a visit. This was my ideal holiday break we have already booked for next year.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Already booked!



Lovely, and thank you for ordering the sunshine!

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great week in this immaculate, cosy and comfortable cottage. It was very well equipped with everything you could possibly need and we were provided with lots of goodies including dog treats and a delicious cake.
We and our two dogs had a great time and would love to return.
Thank you for a lovely stay.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Liz Arnold replied 41 days ago
Thank you so much Lynne.

Perfect!

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just completed our second visit to Brians Cottage. It's a cracking place for a peaceful week. The owners are wonderful and close to hand if needed, but also keep a respectful absence also, (though I'm always up for a chin wag). Everything you need and more in this cottage. Enjoy.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Liz Arnold replied 48 days ago
Thank you so much Claire, hopefully it won’t be too long before we see you all again and good luck with the chilli plants.

Brilliant

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our first visit to Brian’s Cottage. It’s really homely and lovely welcoming package including homemade cake and treats for hounds

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Already booked!





Liz Arnold replied 41 days ago
Thank you Becky, look forward to seeing you again next year.

Had a great week despite the weather

Review submitted on Thu, 10 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great week in October despite the rainy days and the cottage was lovely, plenty of room and facilities for us and Paddy the pooch. The location was ideal for getting to the seaside as well as Bacton woods

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Liz Arnold replied 41 days ago
Thank you so much for your kind review.

Beautiful, well equipped cottage with great walks right on the doorstep.

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great holiday in a beautiful, well equipped cottage. Great walks right on the doorstep, and a fully enclosed garden so you could let the dogs out without worrying about whether they were going to escape. Lots of outside furniture to choose from as well. Lots of treats left for us including a lovely fruit cake and fresh fruit, which was very much appreciated. Beautifully clean as well!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Liz Arnold replied 41 days ago
Thank you for your kind review.

Wonderful stay at Brian’s cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just come back from a week at Brian’s Cottage, what canI say other than amazing.This lovely little cottage was so warm and welcoming and when I say they had thought of everything, they really had. We went with our 3 dogs who loved the garden and the gigantic bed which they left for us. The bedrooms which are at the front of the property and looked out on the front garden had bird feeders so you could sit in bed in the morning watching the many different birds. Unbeknown to us, we were the first people to book the cottage and on arrival there was a bottle of champagne waiting for us in the fridge and a lovely card along with all the other lovely goodies that had been left for us and the dogs. Would we stay again, you bet.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



Liz Arnold replied 81 days ago
Thank you so much Mandy and Chris and we are very grateful that you decided to give our little cottage a try.

Fantastic Dog Friendly Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Brian’s cottage for a week at the end of August and had a fantastic time, our three doggies loved every minute
of it, the cottage has everything a doggie can need - treats, throws for the sofas and beds, dog baskets, towels and outside
warm shower for any dirty doggies with towels for drying them. They also cater for us humans, the beds are really comfy and they cottages have everything you could need. Also leaving tea,coffee,milk,sugar,butter bread,marmalade,fruit and a lovely fruit cake for us humans. We all loved the garden as we had fantastic weather. Fantastic cottage would visit again or try one of the other cottages from the website. Xx

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!



Liz Arnold replied 98 days ago
Thank you so much Diane, we are so glad you all enjoyed your stay here.

A little gem in the heart of Norfolk

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What can I say? We loved our stay at Brian's Cottage so much that we have already booked to go back. The secure garden overlooking such an idyllic view made it the perfect choice to kick back and relax to watch the stunning sunsets. It's the first time that 'the sausages' have been on holiday and the fact that we had walks straight from the back garden gate made it so easy for them to have their own amazing 'sniffaries!' We ate outside every morning and evening of our stay and even attempted to barbecue one evening -something I need to practise before April. Inside the property there was everything we needed: washing machine/dryer, dishwasher (fabulous as I don't have one at home), hairdryer, cooker, microwave, smart TV to name but a few and the owners had thoughtfully left the detergents needed. The beds were comfy. The furniture was of good quality- including a large reclining sofa. The cottage was ideally placed being just ten minutes or so from local sandy beaches, twenty minutes from main supermarkets, fifteen minutes from the recommended pet friendly boat hire marina and thirty minutes from the main town of Cromer. Tim and Liz really have created 'a little gem in the heart of Norfolk.' We will be returning and soon.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!



Liz Arnold replied 98 days ago
Thank you so much Melanie, really looking forward to your next visit.

First time in Norfolk

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage with brilliant owners. My parents and I spent a week at Brian's Cottage and Liz and Tim's attention to detail was impeccable. I could not fault them for anything. The cottage is close to numerous walks and the nearest beach is about 3 miles away. This really is an amazing setting for a holiday. Highly recommended!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!





Liz Arnold replied 115 days ago
Merci beaucoup pour votre evaluation,nous esperons vous revoir bientot.

Brian’s Cottage ... a wonderful place to stay

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Brian’s cottage, The most dog friendly place we have ever stayed at, probably more dog friendly than my own house!!!. I’ll start with the cottage which was immaculately clean, nicely furnished and contained all the creature comforts you needed to make your stay a pleasant one. The beds were comfortable, the pillows were the softest I have ever slept on and the bedding was clean and smelt lovely and fresh. We stayed for 2 weeks and was provided with clean bedding for the second week and given the choice of changing the beds ourselves or allowing liz to come in and do them for us (this doesn’t always happen on 2 week stays). There was also throws provided for the beds and furniture which saved stressing about trying to keep the dogs off. There was a lovely table of goodies left to welcome us on arrival cake, bread, marmalade, tea, coffee, milk and a lovely bag of homemade dog treats which the dogs loved. It was my mums 80th birthday whilst we was there and Liz helped me organise flowers and even came around with a balloon, card and a jar of homemade jam (which was lovely). The garden was amazing fully secure with high fencing and a lockable front gate, there is a lovely patio set (table, chairs and parasol), sun loungers which were an unexpected extra and luckily we was able to make use of them and a fantastic gas barbecue which we also made use of. The garden was great to come back to relax in on an afternoon and evening and watch the sun go down over the fields. The dog theme even continues in the garden with an outside dog shower which came in useful and various dog ornaments which adorn the garden. Now onto Tim and Liz who are the lovely owners of Brian’s cottage and live next door, you couldn’t wish to meet two nicer people who go the extra mile to make sure your stay is as enjoyable as possible. Although they live next door they don’t impose themselves on you but are there should you need them, they are also a great source of info on local attractions and places to visit. I’m pretty sure they are going to have a large extended friend circle after this venture ....we arrived as strangers and left as friends. They are open to suggestions about how the cottage could be made better or if there is anything which would be a useful addition .... as it was really hot on one of our weeks I suggested in the future maybe getting a child’s plastic sandpit for dogs to use as a paddling pool to cool off in, by the time we had been out and come back Liz had been out and purchased one ... wow nothing is too much trouble for these two.
Would we come back ..... YES
would we recommend Brian’s cottage .... DEFINITELY
AMAZING IN EVERY WAY .... thanks Tim and liz for making our stay a fantastic one

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!



Liz Arnold replied 118 days ago
Thank you so much Ann-Marie, it was great fun having you and Pam to stay and thank you for all the advice regarding our new rescue dog Polly. Invaluable.

Brians Cottage 2019

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Brian's cottage in August. The location is excellent for dog friendly beaches, cafes, restaurants and inns. There are numerous countryside walks accessible from literally the bottom of the garden. As for the cottage... it was simply beautiful, spotlessly clean, luxuriously appointed and had a fully secure garden to let the dogs roam. Considering this is a holiday residence for dogs there was no doggy smell, no hairs all over your clothes etc. The people running the cottage supplied an excellent welcome package filled with all the necessities you always forget to pack. We loved our time there and celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary whilst staying. Very fond and happy memories indeed.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!



Sue at East Ruston Cottages replied 123 days ago
What a wonderful review Adam! Thank you so much! Liz and Tim are thrilled with it and I too am delighted you had such a lovely stay. Sue

Excellent cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We cannot fault the cottage, it was a joy to find a truly dog friendly holiday home. Secure garden, dogs allowed on the furniture and beds. The cottage is in a lovely quiet location, but with all the places you would want to go to, near at hand.
Highly recommend

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!





Liz Arnold replied 127 days ago
Thank you so much for your glowing review, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay so much.

Definitely recommend

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a week, beautiful location, so peaceful, lovely walks straight from the cottage, close to lovely Cart Gap beach for wonderful walks too. Extremely dog friendly cottage with the added bonus of being extremely human friendly too! Very comfortable with everything you would possibly need.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!





Liz Arnold replied 143 days ago
Thank you Claire, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, hope to see you all back soon. More cake waiting.

Brian's Cottage - perfection.

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our first visit to Brian's Cottage and indeed to any of the East Ruston Cottages. To say that we were impressed would be an understatement. On arrival,we had a wonderful greeting from the owners Liz and Tim. Once inside the property, having struggled to take our eyes of the garden and the fabulous view beyond,we discovered the huge array of provisions,which we did not expect and have never received in any cottage we have previously stayed in throughout the UK. The provisions also included top quality dog treats, which Ruby certainly approved of.
Brian's Cottage was spotlessly clean, bright, airy, comfortable and well equipped.We lacked nothing!
The garden was delightful to sit in at any time of the day. The layout of the cottage and garden, although attached to that of Liz and Tim,was totally private and very easy to forget that we even had a neighbour. We would not hesitate in booking this cottage again and thoroughly recommend it for its rural, peaceful position, its proximity to the coast and not least it's wonderful hosts.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!



Liz Arnold replied 173 days ago
Thank you Ingrid for your lovely review, so glad you enjoyed your stay here, we hope to see you all again soon.

Suited us perfectly.....!

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The bungalow is perfect for the less mobile who also have dogs.
The dogs loved the grassy garden, the walks from the back gate, the treats with the welcome tray, and the odd walker to bark at on the footpath next to the cottage on the Sunday afternoon!
We appreciated the arrival welcome cake....still warm from the oven and truly delicious! We also loved the one level accommodation, the big comfy bed, the cotton linens, the well equipped kitchen, the dishwasher, the thoughtful little touches like extra name tags with the local address on for the dogs, the rocking garden chairs, etc etc etc. The cottage really is well equipped for an easy holiday with good quality kitchenware etc.
The area is perfect for dog owners with the Weavers Way not far and plenty of different walks to do from the back gate across the fields.
It is really really quiet at night.....!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!



So good we’ve booked for next year!

Review submitted on Thu, 30 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I can’t think of enough superlatives to describe our holiday at Brian’s Cottage. Everything about it was perfect.Home from home, neighbours better than home! Total comfort, fully enclosed garden, wonderful cake on arrival. Doggy heaven and human heaven too!
Already booked for next year and we’ve never done that before!
Thank you Liz and Tim for everything..

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!





The perfect 'escape to the country 'fr

Review submitted on Wed, 29 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the moment we walked through the door it felt like we were visiting old friends.
Every thing we needed was there. The heart shaped cake, still warm from the oven was a lovely .our dog loved the walk, through the gate at the end of the garden straight onto the footpath to the church.
I could write an essay on the loveliness of this dear little cottage, but it is easily summed up in one word PERFECT.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!





Brilliant week at Brian's Cottage!

Review submitted on Mon, 06 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a wonderful place to stay! Such a lovely welcome to the cottage with the aroma of freshly baked cake and so many thoughtful touches that are rarely provided in holiday cottages. It's so refreshing to stay somewhere that is is genuinely dog friendly, and not have to worry about them jumping on the sofa or being able to escape from the garden. A wonderful, peaceful setting and a very well equipped cottage with a secure dog friendly garden. Great being able to go on some beautiful walks direct from the cottage too. Lovely friendly owners who have clearly gone to a lot of trouble to provide such a lovely place. Many thanks to you both.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!



Sue at East Ruston Cottages replied 223 days ago
So pleased you had such a lovely time! Brian's Cottage owners really do care about their guests and their dogs and really do try their best. Thank you so very much for taking the time to give us a review - I know they will be thrilled! Sue

A lovely Easter break at Brian's Cottage!

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful warm welcome from the owners of this lovely comfortable cottage. Beautiful homemade cake waiting for us on arrival, along with all the basics needed, milk, bread, eggs, tea. coffee etc. which were much appreciated after a long drive! Perfect for a holiday with you 4 legged family members, from handmade doggie treats to dog beds of every shape and size & a totally enclosed rear garden, along with a beautiful patio and outdoor furniture to enjoy an afternoon/evening meal and drink in the sun. Such a quiet and relaxing location with lovely views across the fields up to the church, we would higher recommend and would love to return!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!



Reluctant to leave

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were met by the owners of Brians Cottage who made us so welcome. There was some lovely welcoming goodies waiting for us which were much appreciated. The Cottage itself was really lovely, certainly big enough for us and our two large dogs. The bed was exceedingly comfortable which is a luxury in my opinion as I often struggle to sleep in strange beds.

On one of our days we had need to use the outside hot/cold dog shower, that was impressive as everything that one could need was provided... shampoos, wash mitts, dog towels etc. (Mind you I didn't see any tomato sauce lol for dogs that roll... but I bet that will be there soon). The garden is just perfect, very secure and some nice amount of lawn for the dogs to play on (with toys provided). I have to mention the dog beds, lots of them in all different sizes. All really comfy too.

The stable door in the kitchen was really handy.

Whilst grilling some food we realised there were no kitchen tongs... I mentioned it to Liz who ensured they were purchased promptly.. she was just so willing to make sure our stay went perfectly. Nothing was too much trouble. There were lots of basic supplies in the kitchen than I have seen in other holiday homes, like ground nut oil, coffee etc.

We went on some really lovely walks, a circular one from the house was suggested and maps were provided to assist us.


Also there is freezer space for Raw fed dogs, with additional freezer space available in the owners garage if required.

We were truly sad to have to say good bye, but we are already plotting our return.


How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!



Sue at East Ruston Cottages replied 249 days ago
Hi Claire So very pleased you had such a good time at Brian's Cottage! I know it is going to be one of our most popular cottages as the attention to detail by the owners, the location, the facilities and the comfort are all so very good! I am thrilled by your great review and really hope to have you back at Brian's Cottage again soon!! :) Sue

Walks out of the gate

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Brians cottage with our eight scottie and westie family...The walks straight from the back gate were beautiful, we were lucky to visit during the daffodil festival, and really enjoyed the Daffodil mile walk...A very quiet and peaceful place to have fun with the dogs, the owner Liz has thought of everything to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable, even down to the huge dog bed, all ours fell into every night after a day in the Norfolk countryside...Its a short car ride to the beautiful beaches that Norfolk offer, we look forward to a repeat visit in the very near future.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!



Sue at East Ruston Cottages replied 247 days ago
So pleased you had a lovely time and We really do appreciate you taking the time to do a review - how kind! That Daffodil Mile is such a wonderful cheery site! A good time of the year to visit. We really do look forward to welcoming you back. Sue