FB Twitter

Brian's Cottage

Brian's Cottage

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 11 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
5.0


This lovely little cottage is in the quiet village of Honing with a huge selection of walks from the door - Weavers Way, Dilham Canal, Bacton Woods and a network of very quiet paths.
Charming and comfortable inside, it is perfect for 4 and approx 4 dogs.

Brians Cottage 2019

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Brian's cottage in August. The location is excellent for dog friendly beaches, cafes, restaurants and inns. There are numerous countryside walks accessible from literally the bottom of the garden. As for the cottage... it was simply beautiful, spotlessly clean, luxuriously appointed and had a fully secure garden to let the dogs roam. Considering this is a holiday residence for dogs there was no doggy smell, no hairs all over your clothes etc. The people running the cottage supplied an excellent welcome package filled with all the necessities you always forget to pack. We loved our time there and celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary whilst staying. Very fond and happy memories indeed.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!



Sue at East Ruston Cottages replied 6 days ago
What a wonderful review Adam! Thank you so much! Liz and Tim are thrilled with it and I too am delighted you had such a lovely stay. Sue

Excellent cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We cannot fault the cottage, it was a joy to find a truly dog friendly holiday home. Secure garden, dogs allowed on the furniture and beds. The cottage is in a lovely quiet location, but with all the places you would want to go to, near at hand.
Highly recommend

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!





Liz Arnold replied 10 days ago
Thank you so much for your glowing review, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay so much.

Definitely recommend

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a week, beautiful location, so peaceful, lovely walks straight from the cottage, close to lovely Cart Gap beach for wonderful walks too. Extremely dog friendly cottage with the added bonus of being extremely human friendly too! Very comfortable with everything you would possibly need.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!





Liz Arnold replied 26 days ago
Thank you Claire, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, hope to see you all back soon. More cake waiting.

Brian's Cottage - perfection.

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our first visit to Brian's Cottage and indeed to any of the East Ruston Cottages. To say that we were impressed would be an understatement. On arrival,we had a wonderful greeting from the owners Liz and Tim. Once inside the property, having struggled to take our eyes of the garden and the fabulous view beyond,we discovered the huge array of provisions,which we did not expect and have never received in any cottage we have previously stayed in throughout the UK. The provisions also included top quality dog treats, which Ruby certainly approved of.
Brian's Cottage was spotlessly clean, bright, airy, comfortable and well equipped.We lacked nothing!
The garden was delightful to sit in at any time of the day. The layout of the cottage and garden, although attached to that of Liz and Tim,was totally private and very easy to forget that we even had a neighbour. We would not hesitate in booking this cottage again and thoroughly recommend it for its rural, peaceful position, its proximity to the coast and not least it's wonderful hosts.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!



Liz Arnold replied 56 days ago
Thank you Ingrid for your lovely review, so glad you enjoyed your stay here, we hope to see you all again soon.

Suited us perfectly.....!

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The bungalow is perfect for the less mobile who also have dogs.
The dogs loved the grassy garden, the walks from the back gate, the treats with the welcome tray, and the odd walker to bark at on the footpath next to the cottage on the Sunday afternoon!
We appreciated the arrival welcome cake....still warm from the oven and truly delicious! We also loved the one level accommodation, the big comfy bed, the cotton linens, the well equipped kitchen, the dishwasher, the thoughtful little touches like extra name tags with the local address on for the dogs, the rocking garden chairs, etc etc etc. The cottage really is well equipped for an easy holiday with good quality kitchenware etc.
The area is perfect for dog owners with the Weavers Way not far and plenty of different walks to do from the back gate across the fields.
It is really really quiet at night.....!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!



So good we’ve booked for next year!

Review submitted on Thu, 30 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I can’t think of enough superlatives to describe our holiday at Brian’s Cottage. Everything about it was perfect.Home from home, neighbours better than home! Total comfort, fully enclosed garden, wonderful cake on arrival. Doggy heaven and human heaven too!
Already booked for next year and we’ve never done that before!
Thank you Liz and Tim for everything..

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!





The perfect 'escape to the country 'fr

Review submitted on Wed, 29 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the moment we walked through the door it felt like we were visiting old friends.
Every thing we needed was there. The heart shaped cake, still warm from the oven was a lovely .our dog loved the walk, through the gate at the end of the garden straight onto the footpath to the church.
I could write an essay on the loveliness of this dear little cottage, but it is easily summed up in one word PERFECT.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!





Brilliant week at Brian's Cottage!

Review submitted on Mon, 06 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a wonderful place to stay! Such a lovely welcome to the cottage with the aroma of freshly baked cake and so many thoughtful touches that are rarely provided in holiday cottages. It's so refreshing to stay somewhere that is is genuinely dog friendly, and not have to worry about them jumping on the sofa or being able to escape from the garden. A wonderful, peaceful setting and a very well equipped cottage with a secure dog friendly garden. Great being able to go on some beautiful walks direct from the cottage too. Lovely friendly owners who have clearly gone to a lot of trouble to provide such a lovely place. Many thanks to you both.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!



Sue at East Ruston Cottages replied 106 days ago
So pleased you had such a lovely time! Brian's Cottage owners really do care about their guests and their dogs and really do try their best. Thank you so very much for taking the time to give us a review - I know they will be thrilled! Sue

A lovely Easter break at Brian's Cottage!

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful warm welcome from the owners of this lovely comfortable cottage. Beautiful homemade cake waiting for us on arrival, along with all the basics needed, milk, bread, eggs, tea. coffee etc. which were much appreciated after a long drive! Perfect for a holiday with you 4 legged family members, from handmade doggie treats to dog beds of every shape and size & a totally enclosed rear garden, along with a beautiful patio and outdoor furniture to enjoy an afternoon/evening meal and drink in the sun. Such a quiet and relaxing location with lovely views across the fields up to the church, we would higher recommend and would love to return!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!



Reluctant to leave

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were met by the owners of Brians Cottage who made us so welcome. There was some lovely welcoming goodies waiting for us which were much appreciated. The Cottage itself was really lovely, certainly big enough for us and our two large dogs. The bed was exceedingly comfortable which is a luxury in my opinion as I often struggle to sleep in strange beds.

On one of our days we had need to use the outside hot/cold dog shower, that was impressive as everything that one could need was provided... shampoos, wash mitts, dog towels etc. (Mind you I didn't see any tomato sauce lol for dogs that roll... but I bet that will be there soon). The garden is just perfect, very secure and some nice amount of lawn for the dogs to play on (with toys provided). I have to mention the dog beds, lots of them in all different sizes. All really comfy too.

The stable door in the kitchen was really handy.

Whilst grilling some food we realised there were no kitchen tongs... I mentioned it to Liz who ensured they were purchased promptly.. she was just so willing to make sure our stay went perfectly. Nothing was too much trouble. There were lots of basic supplies in the kitchen than I have seen in other holiday homes, like ground nut oil, coffee etc.

We went on some really lovely walks, a circular one from the house was suggested and maps were provided to assist us.


Also there is freezer space for Raw fed dogs, with additional freezer space available in the owners garage if required.

We were truly sad to have to say good bye, but we are already plotting our return.


How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!



Sue at East Ruston Cottages replied 132 days ago
Hi Claire So very pleased you had such a good time at Brian's Cottage! I know it is going to be one of our most popular cottages as the attention to detail by the owners, the location, the facilities and the comfort are all so very good! I am thrilled by your great review and really hope to have you back at Brian's Cottage again soon!! :) Sue

Walks out of the gate

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Brians cottage with our eight scottie and westie family...The walks straight from the back gate were beautiful, we were lucky to visit during the daffodil festival, and really enjoyed the Daffodil mile walk...A very quiet and peaceful place to have fun with the dogs, the owner Liz has thought of everything to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable, even down to the huge dog bed, all ours fell into every night after a day in the Norfolk countryside...Its a short car ride to the beautiful beaches that Norfolk offer, we look forward to a repeat visit in the very near future.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!



Sue at East Ruston Cottages replied 130 days ago
So pleased you had a lovely time and We really do appreciate you taking the time to do a review - how kind! That Daffodil Mile is such a wonderful cheery site! A good time of the year to visit. We really do look forward to welcoming you back. Sue