FB Twitter

Brian's Cottage

Brian's Cottage

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 45 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
5.0
Location
4.9
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
5.0


  • Brian’s Cottage is a 1930’s bungalow with some original features in a rural idyllic location, surrounded by fields.
  • ​Along the edge of the garden (but hidden from it so your dogs won’t be bothered by passers by) a footpath leads to the church and connects with a maze of further paths including the Weaver’s Way and the North Walsham and Dilham Canal, where the surrounding meadows are a site of special scientific interest.
  • On the far side of the field edging the end of the garden there is a large badgers sett and we are regularly treated to sights of red deer, roe deer, muntjac, as well as hares, tawny and barn owls, buzzards, kestrels and other birds of prey.
  • This lovely little cottage is in the quiet village of Honing
  • Huge selection of walks from the door - Weavers Way, Dilham Canal, Bacton Woods and a network of very quiet paths.
  • Charming and comfortable inside
  • Perfect for 4 people and approx 4 dogs.
  • Separate kitchen off the combined living and dining room.
  • All on the same level making it ideal for those with limited mobility.

Brians Cottage a little peace of heaven in the countryside

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Apr 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage was a lot smaller than we have been used to but it had all we needed. The garden was immaculate and beautiful and the dogs adored it. Being able to see into the adjourning field and see wild hares and deer and Owls was simply amazing. Very nice cottage, albeit small had all we needed for our five days away. Nice hot water and heating. Super comfortable sofa which we all enjoyed including the dogs. We have already rebooked for next year.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Already booked!





Just as lovely the second time

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Jan 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just returned from our second holiday in Brian’s Cottage, once again immaculate on arrival and everything provided to ensure a relaxing holiday for us and our two Lurchers. This is the perfect cottage for dogs, lovely well fenced garden and the perfect dog bed. The views from the garden are amazing, lots of wildlife and beautiful sunsets. Out third visit is already booked,

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Already booked!





Fabulous cottage!

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Nov 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I can't say enough good things about this cottage. It was immaculately clean, modern and so well equipped with everything we could have needed for ourselves and the dog. The garden was secure with fabulous views and in a lovely quiet location.



October holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottages very comfortable all our needs and the dogs needs. Very nice cottage very clean high standard lovely location.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





fabulous

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
everything was as it should be and more!! welcome cake and supplies and dog biscuits were amazing, everything was perfect. great location close to beahes and woods and walks right from your doorstep. lovely hosts- helpful and welcoming.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Liz Arnold replied 191 days ago
Thank you so much Chris, what a wonderful review, so pleased you enjoyed your stay, we hope you can come back soon for a longer one with your lovely rescues.

A lovely stay

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Brian’s cottage with my sister and four dogs. The dogs are quite young and it was their first time away. They were very vocal at first as they weren’t used to the noises but this was no problem.
The cottage was very clean and cosy. The kitchen well appointed with a washer/drier and dishwasher, plenty of crockery etc.
The owners Tim & Liz made us very welcome and it was “our house” for the week.
The cottage is well situated to go to the lovely beaches and woods which were very dog friendly.
Another lovely thing was the intercom that we could use if there was a problem.
This was a lovely cottage to stay in and hopefully we shall return.


How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



Liz Arnold replied 191 days ago
Thank you for your glowing review, so glad you all enjoyed your stay and we love to hear our doggy guests enjoying themselves.

Very very lovely

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Oct 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Firstly, especially because of covid, cleanliness was a priority.....and it was honestly spotless.
Well equipped and very comfortable. We have dogs, however you would never have known it was dog friendly property. Liz and Tim was very helpful and the warm cake on arrival went down a treat. Can’t recommend it enough.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Liz Arnold replied 191 days ago
Thank you for your kind review.

Beautiful Brian's Cottage - August 2020

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were lucky enough to stay at Brian's Cottage in August and can thoroughly recommend this lovely cottage. We were greeted on arrival by Liz and Tim who are perfect hosts, helpful and friendly but not intrusive. As well as the yummy welcome pack (including homemade ciabatta and cake!), Tim gave us some fresh produce from their garden too. A card and some fizz for a special birthday was also a lovely touch. The cottage is set in an extremely quiet area which made sitting in the garden whilst listening and watching the wildlife, and the ever changing skies, absolute bliss. Being able to watch the birds in the front garden whilst enjoying our morning cuppa was also a highlight - the robins and a woodpecker were our favourites. The cottage itself is perfect with everything needed for a relaxing holiday. Our elderly Bichon loved the outdoor K9 bed too and was happy to snooze away on it.  Unfortunately, due to a family emergency, we had to leave early, and extremely swiftly - I cannot stress enough what a difference Liz's calm, helpful and caring manner made in a very hectic 40 minutes of throwing everything in the car, and afterwards as well. This really showed the dedication to looking after their guests in every way. We would return in a heartbeat.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



Liz Arnold replied 191 days ago
Thank you so much Anne, such a lovely review and I was only too glad to help in such a stressful situation. We hope to see you again soon.

Perfect.

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Second stay at this beautiful cottage and next years already booked.
We love everything about it! So peaceful, spotlessly clean, and near enough to beaches and shops, but not too close! Can’t fault anything..

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Already booked!





Liz Arnold replied 191 days ago
Thank you so much Julie, it was lovely to see you Rod and the spangles again. Looking forward to next year.

Our second stay

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another lovely week spent relaxing in this exceptionally well equipped cottage with wonderful owners who have an eye for incredible attention to detail. We love the rural nature of the location and spent many days just walking from the cottage. Everything was perfect. Thank you.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Liz Arnold replied 191 days ago
Thank you so much Lorraine, it’s the best compliment when guests return for another visit.

Brian’s Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just spent a very relaxing week at Brian’s Cottage. The location was perfect in the open countryside overlooking fields. The garden is totally dog secure and the path at the end of the garden was perfect for walks. Only met two other people all week. The cottage was spotless with everything we needed. Tim and Liz were very welcoming and provided a lovely cooked meal on the first night along with other homemade goodies, the fruitcake kept us going all week. Will definitely be coming back as soon as we can.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



Liz Arnold replied 191 days ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review.

Cosy, dog-friendly home from home.

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Sep 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked Brian’s Cottage with East Ruston Cottages as we’ve had a previous holiday with East Ruston and we’re very impressed with the standard of the properties on their books and, most importantly, the dog-friendly nature of the company. Brian’s did not disappoint. The cottage was super clean especially given COVID-19 requirements. Liz and Tim, the owners, lived next door and were easily accessible when needed, via an intercom, but gave us complete privacy unless asked. The cottage was very well equipped and cozy. We’d booked for a week as we couldn’t find a property which was available for two or three weeks. We normally try to be nearer the coast which was a 20 minute drive away but, for a week’s break, it was fine. It’s very handy for supermarkets, being equidistant to North Walsham (Sainsbury and Waitrose) and Stalham (Tesco). There are lots of beautiful walks in the surrounding countryside and the ‘big hitters’ of Cromer, Sheringham, Yarmouth and Norwich are within an easy driving distance. A big plus for us was that the Star at Lessingham (our favourite eatery) was only 10 mins away. We certainly recommend Brian’s.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Certainly will consider it.



Chris & Chris Review

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very warm welcome from Liz and Tim as we arrived, lovely homemade cake and Chiabatta and of course doggy biscuits in the welcome pack. Well fitted cottage with everything we needed for our stay and dog walks in the fields from the garden was a real bonus.
Zac took a real liking to the boomer ball - so much so that we are buying one for home -

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Certainly will consider it.





Liz Arnold replied 255 days ago
Thank you so much Christine for your lovely review, Zac and Zara were utterly gorgeous, hope to see you all again soon.

Highly recommended

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Brian’s cottage is in a beautiful location, overlooking golden fields over which the sun sets every day. The cottage and the garden are both meticulously maintained with such a lot of attention to detail. The inside of the cottage is so well equipped, there’s nothing that hasn’t been thought of for both humans and dogs. The owners, Liz and Tim, are so welcoming and have thought of everything. The cottage was spotlessly clean when we arrived, which is very reassuring during these worrying times. We couldn’t have asked for more, thank you.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



Liz Arnold replied 276 days ago
Thank you so much Lisa for your lovely review, so glad your family and Lottie had a lovely holiday. Come back soon.

Peace, quiet and doggie heaven

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the most dog friendly cottage we have ever stayed in. The owners Liz and Tim were most welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. We even got to sample the delights of Tim's greenhouse! A beautiful part of Norfolk with lots of dog walks from the door but yet within easy reach of the coast.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Liz Arnold replied 276 days ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review, good luck with the future house hunting and then dog hunting.

Lovely time

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great time. We took our 5 dogs. The garden was perfect and safe for them. The view was great and a lovely walk from the back gate.
The owners was very helpful and we had a cooked meal on our arrival day. It was very tasty.
Thay also supply a fruit cake lovely. Would recomend this cottage to all

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Certainly will consider it.





Liz Arnold replied 290 days ago
Thank you Keith for your lovely review, we're so glad you all enjoyed your holiday at Brian's Cottage and hope to see you all again.

We had a perfect Holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Well what can we say, right from the start we had a lovely welcome and when we went inside there was a lovely cake waiting for us and lots of other goodies to get our holiday off to a fantastic start.
The cottage had everything we wanted and the garden was so peaceful to sit in with amazing views.
There were wonderful walks from the cottage and the beech and Bacton woods were not very far away.
All in All a fabulous place for us and Ella .

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Already booked!





Liz Arnold replied 290 days ago
We're so glad you had a lovely holiday Dawn, Tony and the gorgeous Ella. Look forward to seeing you next year.

Amazing cottage and location

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a wonderful little cottage! We received a lovely welcome from the owners who were very helpful and thoughtful without being intrusive. The cottage is in a beautiful, perfect location, amazing views and dog walks from the door! The garden is totally safe and secure for dogs, with not only high fences, but escape proof high gates. The garden is lovely, well thought out and beautifully planted. There are good quality table and chairs and loungers. The view from the garden across fields to the church is stunning and peaceful. The front garden has lots of planting and bird tables which are regularly stocked up and has lots of activity, we even saw a spotted woodpecker! The resident pheasant struts around the front garden proudly! The cottage is so cosy and comfy with lots of little extras and personal touches. Lovely welcome pack for us and biscuits for the dogs. Beds and sofa very comfortable and plenty of throws provided so dogs can share! The quality of items such as crockery was excellent, and it all matched too! Very well equipped with everything you could possibly need and more! Lots of extras provided for the dogs such as bowls, leads, beds, we will know next time not to take so much! The surrounding area is perfect for fabulous beaches and walks. Definitely recommend this gem and we will be back! Just totally perfect in every way.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



Brian's Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had the most perfect break at Brian's cottage. It was in the most peaceful setting with lots of lovely local walks but near to the local villages and beaches. The welcome pack was amazing and the home cooked meal and cake absolutely delicious. Totally dog friendly and the garden was secure and safe. Highly recommended.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Already booked!





Liz Arnold replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Wendy, so glad you enjoyed your stay.

Brian’s Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What’s not to love about this gorgeous cottage having been the lucky one to get this cottage this week. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel so welcome and then opening the doors to the smell of freshly baked cake. Enjoying the views out over the fields, the beautiful garden, the quiet and the bird song, apart from my barking Zaki! The cottage is beautifully decorated, everything you need, a real home from home. The dogs love it here! I love it here! What a gem this place is! I know where to come in future when it’s just me and the dogs, that’s if I’m allowed back! Thank you ERC!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



Liz Arnold replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Kim, come again soon.

Peaceful and relaxing

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Mar 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our first visit to Brian's Cottage and we were very impressed with the cleanliness and comfort of this cottage. We received a warm greeting from the owners Liz and Tim and very much enjoyed the home baked fruit cake and other goodies in the welcome pack.

The location was amazing, with stunning views over farmland from the back of the cottage and the garden.It was peaceful and quiet, and great to be able to walk along local footpaths straight from the garden, which was perfect for morning walks with our two lurchers. The garden was secure for them and I didn't have to worry at all about letting them outside.

We were in easy reach of shops, beaches, pubs, etc, although we did spend most of our time relaxing on the very comfortable reclining sofa when we were not walking on the beaches!

Everything we could need was provided (and more!) and humans and dogs had a really lovely holiday. Thank you.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Certainly will consider it.



The perfect place to stay with dogs.

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely winter break at Brian’s Cottage which was one of the most thoughtfully planned places we’ve ever stayed. The attention to detail was brilliant with everything you could need , and more, for both dogs and owners.
Clean, comfortable and with a birthday cake , card and sweets for my son on arrival, it really had the personal touch. The location was utterly peaceful with wildlife on the doorstep. The lovely owners were helpful and had gone to great lengths to make us feel welcome. Beyond expectations. We hope to return.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



Liz Arnold replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Lorraine for your lovely review, I hope we see you all again soon.

Satisfaction

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Brian,s Cottage this cottage is far the best dog friendly cottage that we have stayed at Liz andTim the most welcoming hosts,they have thought of everything and the welcome pack was just great need not have taken so much with us the cake was most welcome and was lovely,walks with our ridge back really great could not have wished for a better place to stay,would have booked again but fully booked when we like to go back

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Our stay at Brains Cottage, so relaxing and very dog friendly

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
During the years we have stayed in many holiday cottages with our canine companions, Brian’s Cottage is head and shoulders above all of them. This really is a dog friendly place to stay, everything you could need for both humans and dogs was provided. There was an amazing welcome pack, with delicious home made cake, farm eggs, bread, butter and fresh fruit for us and biscuits and dog treats for our two Lurchers. Set in lovely countryside with walks direct from the door and a lovely garden to relax in you really have no need to travel far, the local beaches are clean and the seals at Horsey are well worth a visit. This was my ideal holiday break we have already booked for next year.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Already booked!



Lovely, and thank you for ordering the sunshine!

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great week in this immaculate, cosy and comfortable cottage. It was very well equipped with everything you could possibly need and we were provided with lots of goodies including dog treats and a delicious cake.
We and our two dogs had a great time and would love to return.
Thank you for a lovely stay.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Liz Arnold replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much Lynne.

Perfect!

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just completed our second visit to Brians Cottage. It's a cracking place for a peaceful week. The owners are wonderful and close to hand if needed, but also keep a respectful absence also, (though I'm always up for a chin wag). Everything you need and more in this cottage. Enjoy.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Liz Arnold replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much Claire, hopefully it won’t be too long before we see you all again and good luck with the chilli plants.

Brilliant

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our first visit to Brian’s Cottage. It’s really homely and lovely welcoming package including homemade cake and treats for hounds

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Already booked!





Liz Arnold replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Becky, look forward to seeing you again next year.

Had a great week despite the weather

Review submitted on Thu, 10 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great week in October despite the rainy days and the cottage was lovely, plenty of room and facilities for us and Paddy the pooch. The location was ideal for getting to the seaside as well as Bacton woods

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Liz Arnold replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your kind review.

Beautiful, well equipped cottage with great walks right on the doorstep.

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great holiday in a beautiful, well equipped cottage. Great walks right on the doorstep, and a fully enclosed garden so you could let the dogs out without worrying about whether they were going to escape. Lots of outside furniture to choose from as well. Lots of treats left for us including a lovely fruit cake and fresh fruit, which was very much appreciated. Beautifully clean as well!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Liz Arnold replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind review.

Wonderful stay at Brian’s cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just come back from a week at Brian’s Cottage, what canI say other than amazing.This lovely little cottage was so warm and welcoming and when I say they had thought of everything, they really had. We went with our 3 dogs who loved the garden and the gigantic bed which they left for us. The bedrooms which are at the front of the property and looked out on the front garden had bird feeders so you could sit in bed in the morning watching the many different birds. Unbeknown to us, we were the first people to book the cottage and on arrival there was a bottle of champagne waiting for us in the fridge and a lovely card along with all the other lovely goodies that had been left for us and the dogs. Would we stay again, you bet.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



Liz Arnold replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much Mandy and Chris and we are very grateful that you decided to give our little cottage a try.

Fantastic Dog Friendly Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Brian’s cottage for a week at the end of August and had a fantastic time, our three doggies loved every minute
of it, the cottage has everything a doggie can need - treats, throws for the sofas and beds, dog baskets, towels and outside
warm shower for any dirty doggies with towels for drying them. They also cater for us humans, the beds are really comfy and they cottages have everything you could need. Also leaving tea,coffee,milk,sugar,butter bread,marmalade,fruit and a lovely fruit cake for us humans. We all loved the garden as we had fantastic weather. Fantastic cottage would visit again or try one of the other cottages from the website. Xx

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!



Liz Arnold replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much Diane, we are so glad you all enjoyed your stay here.

A little gem in the heart of Norfolk

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What can I say? We loved our stay at Brian's Cottage so much that we have already booked to go back. The secure garden overlooking such an idyllic view made it the perfect choice to kick back and relax to watch the stunning sunsets. It's the first time that 'the sausages' have been on holiday and the fact that we had walks straight from the back garden gate made it so easy for them to have their own amazing 'sniffaries!' We ate outside every morning and evening of our stay and even attempted to barbecue one evening -something I need to practise before April. Inside the property there was everything we needed: washing machine/dryer, dishwasher (fabulous as I don't have one at home), hairdryer, cooker, microwave, smart TV to name but a few and the owners had thoughtfully left the detergents needed. The beds were comfy. The furniture was of good quality- including a large reclining sofa. The cottage was ideally placed being just ten minutes or so from local sandy beaches, twenty minutes from main supermarkets, fifteen minutes from the recommended pet friendly boat hire marina and thirty minutes from the main town of Cromer. Tim and Liz really have created 'a little gem in the heart of Norfolk.' We will be returning and soon.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!



Liz Arnold replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much Melanie, really looking forward to your next visit.

First time in Norfolk

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage with brilliant owners. My parents and I spent a week at Brian's Cottage and Liz and Tim's attention to detail was impeccable. I could not fault them for anything. The cottage is close to numerous walks and the nearest beach is about 3 miles away. This really is an amazing setting for a holiday. Highly recommended!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!





Liz Arnold replied more than 1 year ago
Merci beaucoup pour votre evaluation,nous esperons vous revoir bientot.

Brian’s Cottage ... a wonderful place to stay

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Brian’s cottage, The most dog friendly place we have ever stayed at, probably more dog friendly than my own house!!!. I’ll start with the cottage which was immaculately clean, nicely furnished and contained all the creature comforts you needed to make your stay a pleasant one. The beds were comfortable, the pillows were the softest I have ever slept on and the bedding was clean and smelt lovely and fresh. We stayed for 2 weeks and was provided with clean bedding for the second week and given the choice of changing the beds ourselves or allowing liz to come in and do them for us (this doesn’t always happen on 2 week stays). There was also throws provided for the beds and furniture which saved stressing about trying to keep the dogs off. There was a lovely table of goodies left to welcome us on arrival cake, bread, marmalade, tea, coffee, milk and a lovely bag of homemade dog treats which the dogs loved. It was my mums 80th birthday whilst we was there and Liz helped me organise flowers and even came around with a balloon, card and a jar of homemade jam (which was lovely). The garden was amazing fully secure with high fencing and a lockable front gate, there is a lovely patio set (table, chairs and parasol), sun loungers which were an unexpected extra and luckily we was able to make use of them and a fantastic gas barbecue which we also made use of. The garden was great to come back to relax in on an afternoon and evening and watch the sun go down over the fields. The dog theme even continues in the garden with an outside dog shower which came in useful and various dog ornaments which adorn the garden. Now onto Tim and Liz who are the lovely owners of Brian’s cottage and live next door, you couldn’t wish to meet two nicer people who go the extra mile to make sure your stay is as enjoyable as possible. Although they live next door they don’t impose themselves on you but are there should you need them, they are also a great source of info on local attractions and places to visit. I’m pretty sure they are going to have a large extended friend circle after this venture ....we arrived as strangers and left as friends. They are open to suggestions about how the cottage could be made better or if there is anything which would be a useful addition .... as it was really hot on one of our weeks I suggested in the future maybe getting a child’s plastic sandpit for dogs to use as a paddling pool to cool off in, by the time we had been out and come back Liz had been out and purchased one ... wow nothing is too much trouble for these two.
Would we come back ..... YES
would we recommend Brian’s cottage .... DEFINITELY
AMAZING IN EVERY WAY .... thanks Tim and liz for making our stay a fantastic one

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!



Liz Arnold replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much Ann-Marie, it was great fun having you and Pam to stay and thank you for all the advice regarding our new rescue dog Polly. Invaluable.

Brians Cottage 2019

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Brian's cottage in August. The location is excellent for dog friendly beaches, cafes, restaurants and inns. There are numerous countryside walks accessible from literally the bottom of the garden. As for the cottage... it was simply beautiful, spotlessly clean, luxuriously appointed and had a fully secure garden to let the dogs roam. Considering this is a holiday residence for dogs there was no doggy smell, no hairs all over your clothes etc. The people running the cottage supplied an excellent welcome package filled with all the necessities you always forget to pack. We loved our time there and celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary whilst staying. Very fond and happy memories indeed.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!



Sue at East Ruston Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
What a wonderful review Adam! Thank you so much! Liz and Tim are thrilled with it and I too am delighted you had such a lovely stay. Sue

Excellent cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We cannot fault the cottage, it was a joy to find a truly dog friendly holiday home. Secure garden, dogs allowed on the furniture and beds. The cottage is in a lovely quiet location, but with all the places you would want to go to, near at hand.
Highly recommend

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!





Liz Arnold replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your glowing review, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay so much.

Definitely recommend

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a week, beautiful location, so peaceful, lovely walks straight from the cottage, close to lovely Cart Gap beach for wonderful walks too. Extremely dog friendly cottage with the added bonus of being extremely human friendly too! Very comfortable with everything you would possibly need.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!





Liz Arnold replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Claire, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, hope to see you all back soon. More cake waiting.

Brian's Cottage - perfection.

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our first visit to Brian's Cottage and indeed to any of the East Ruston Cottages. To say that we were impressed would be an understatement. On arrival,we had a wonderful greeting from the owners Liz and Tim. Once inside the property, having struggled to take our eyes of the garden and the fabulous view beyond,we discovered the huge array of provisions,which we did not expect and have never received in any cottage we have previously stayed in throughout the UK. The provisions also included top quality dog treats, which Ruby certainly approved of.
Brian's Cottage was spotlessly clean, bright, airy, comfortable and well equipped.We lacked nothing!
The garden was delightful to sit in at any time of the day. The layout of the cottage and garden, although attached to that of Liz and Tim,was totally private and very easy to forget that we even had a neighbour. We would not hesitate in booking this cottage again and thoroughly recommend it for its rural, peaceful position, its proximity to the coast and not least it's wonderful hosts.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!



Liz Arnold replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Ingrid for your lovely review, so glad you enjoyed your stay here, we hope to see you all again soon.

Suited us perfectly.....!

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The bungalow is perfect for the less mobile who also have dogs.
The dogs loved the grassy garden, the walks from the back gate, the treats with the welcome tray, and the odd walker to bark at on the footpath next to the cottage on the Sunday afternoon!
We appreciated the arrival welcome cake....still warm from the oven and truly delicious! We also loved the one level accommodation, the big comfy bed, the cotton linens, the well equipped kitchen, the dishwasher, the thoughtful little touches like extra name tags with the local address on for the dogs, the rocking garden chairs, etc etc etc. The cottage really is well equipped for an easy holiday with good quality kitchenware etc.
The area is perfect for dog owners with the Weavers Way not far and plenty of different walks to do from the back gate across the fields.
It is really really quiet at night.....!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!



So good we’ve booked for next year!

Review submitted on Thu, 30 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I can’t think of enough superlatives to describe our holiday at Brian’s Cottage. Everything about it was perfect.Home from home, neighbours better than home! Total comfort, fully enclosed garden, wonderful cake on arrival. Doggy heaven and human heaven too!
Already booked for next year and we’ve never done that before!
Thank you Liz and Tim for everything..

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!





The perfect 'escape to the country 'fr

Review submitted on Wed, 29 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the moment we walked through the door it felt like we were visiting old friends.
Every thing we needed was there. The heart shaped cake, still warm from the oven was a lovely .our dog loved the walk, through the gate at the end of the garden straight onto the footpath to the church.
I could write an essay on the loveliness of this dear little cottage, but it is easily summed up in one word PERFECT.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!





Brilliant week at Brian's Cottage!

Review submitted on Mon, 06 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a wonderful place to stay! Such a lovely welcome to the cottage with the aroma of freshly baked cake and so many thoughtful touches that are rarely provided in holiday cottages. It's so refreshing to stay somewhere that is is genuinely dog friendly, and not have to worry about them jumping on the sofa or being able to escape from the garden. A wonderful, peaceful setting and a very well equipped cottage with a secure dog friendly garden. Great being able to go on some beautiful walks direct from the cottage too. Lovely friendly owners who have clearly gone to a lot of trouble to provide such a lovely place. Many thanks to you both.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!



Sue at East Ruston Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
So pleased you had such a lovely time! Brian's Cottage owners really do care about their guests and their dogs and really do try their best. Thank you so very much for taking the time to give us a review - I know they will be thrilled! Sue

A lovely Easter break at Brian's Cottage!

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful warm welcome from the owners of this lovely comfortable cottage. Beautiful homemade cake waiting for us on arrival, along with all the basics needed, milk, bread, eggs, tea. coffee etc. which were much appreciated after a long drive! Perfect for a holiday with you 4 legged family members, from handmade doggie treats to dog beds of every shape and size & a totally enclosed rear garden, along with a beautiful patio and outdoor furniture to enjoy an afternoon/evening meal and drink in the sun. Such a quiet and relaxing location with lovely views across the fields up to the church, we would higher recommend and would love to return!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!



Reluctant to leave

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were met by the owners of Brians Cottage who made us so welcome. There was some lovely welcoming goodies waiting for us which were much appreciated. The Cottage itself was really lovely, certainly big enough for us and our two large dogs. The bed was exceedingly comfortable which is a luxury in my opinion as I often struggle to sleep in strange beds.

On one of our days we had need to use the outside hot/cold dog shower, that was impressive as everything that one could need was provided... shampoos, wash mitts, dog towels etc. (Mind you I didn't see any tomato sauce lol for dogs that roll... but I bet that will be there soon). The garden is just perfect, very secure and some nice amount of lawn for the dogs to play on (with toys provided). I have to mention the dog beds, lots of them in all different sizes. All really comfy too.

The stable door in the kitchen was really handy.

Whilst grilling some food we realised there were no kitchen tongs... I mentioned it to Liz who ensured they were purchased promptly.. she was just so willing to make sure our stay went perfectly. Nothing was too much trouble. There were lots of basic supplies in the kitchen than I have seen in other holiday homes, like ground nut oil, coffee etc.

We went on some really lovely walks, a circular one from the house was suggested and maps were provided to assist us.


Also there is freezer space for Raw fed dogs, with additional freezer space available in the owners garage if required.

We were truly sad to have to say good bye, but we are already plotting our return.


How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!



Sue at East Ruston Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Claire So very pleased you had such a good time at Brian's Cottage! I know it is going to be one of our most popular cottages as the attention to detail by the owners, the location, the facilities and the comfort are all so very good! I am thrilled by your great review and really hope to have you back at Brian's Cottage again soon!! :) Sue

Walks out of the gate

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Brians cottage with our eight scottie and westie family...The walks straight from the back gate were beautiful, we were lucky to visit during the daffodil festival, and really enjoyed the Daffodil mile walk...A very quiet and peaceful place to have fun with the dogs, the owner Liz has thought of everything to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable, even down to the huge dog bed, all ours fell into every night after a day in the Norfolk countryside...Its a short car ride to the beautiful beaches that Norfolk offer, we look forward to a repeat visit in the very near future.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!



Sue at East Ruston Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
So pleased you had a lovely time and We really do appreciate you taking the time to do a review - how kind! That Daffodil Mile is such a wonderful cheery site! A good time of the year to visit. We really do look forward to welcoming you back. Sue