FB Twitter

1 Chapel Cottage

1 Chapel Cottage

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 21 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.7
Condition
5.0
Location
4.6
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.9


Chapel Cottage is in the lovely rural Norfolk village of Lessingham, a short drive to the dog friendly Blue Flag beach at Sea Palling and, to the south, Cart Gap and Happisburgh.

Just a little further down the coast at Horsey you can see the amazing site of the huge seal colony giving birth to pups in the winter months.

There are a huge selection of lovely sandy and accessible beaches along this coastline with Cromer and Sheringham in the north and Great Yarmouth in the south. Offering plenty to do and see for families.

The Norfolk Broads National Park is also on the doorstep with amazing opportunities to hire boats, sail, fish and wildlife watch - a really special and unspoilt place to visit.

The cottage has been beautifully and tastefully modernised and is in an off road location with a footpath just yards away. This leads to a huge network of country walks or an off road stroll to the best dog friendly pub in the area, The Lessingham Star. There are plenty of other lovely, dog friendly cafes and pubs in the area too.

Up to four of you - and approx 4 dogs (we can be flexible!) can enjoy a very comfortable stay here with easy access to both the coast and the Norfolk Broads. Just about perfect!

Short breaks also available, Mon - Fri and Fri - Mon year round apart from school holidays.

Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Apr 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A really lovely little cottage, perfect for four of us and three dogs.
Spotlessly clean and recently refurbished to a very good standard. Well equipped kitchen with everything we could possibly need and a lovely safe garden for the dogs.
Walks from the door step along country footpaths and a short drive to a gorgeous, quiet beach.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Beautiful cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay at Chapel Cottage. It was spotlessly clean and had everything we needed. The welcome hamper was a lovely touch. Loads of beaches and beautiful walks less then ten minutes away. Would definitely recommend.
Thank you! :)

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Chapel cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Feb 2020
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A lovely little cottage, well maintained and comfortable with everything provided you would need to enjoy your stay.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Certainly will consider it.





A few days in January

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Feb 2020
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at chapel cottage was comfy and the cottage is lovely. Very dog friendly except the stairs for our lurchers, they struggled with the steep winding steps. Carrying them up and down at night so they could be near us would be a deal breaker for a return trip. Unfortunately the local pub was being refurbished so wasn't open for food but seemed nice and relaxed. All the communication for booking was great and the personal touches with the welcome hamper was lovely. Thank you.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Certainly will consider it.





Norfolk in January

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Jan 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is warm, easy to find and relatively quiet. No problem about getting to Cart Gap or Happisburgh beaches or to the towns for any shopping and fuel for cars. The service was excellent, responsive and prompt. Even out of season it’s a good choice to visit north Norfolk coast and broads.

Great to eat at Smallsticks at Cart Gap.
The welcome pack was super too and great for us on arrival.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Certainly will consider it.





Wet and windy

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Dec 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Weather not the fault of the property but did not help. The property is excellent although the stairs would make it unsuitable for really disabled, a bit difficult for the elderly. The rest could hardly be bettered; warm, comfortable, well fitted out. We did have one problem when the electricity went off for a whole day, from 0830 to 1530. According to the neighbour, this was due to some tree work making the shutdown necessary. He had been made aware so I imagine had this property but we were not warned. We had to go out for breakfast and be out most of the day. A breakdown in communication that was not helpful. The only problem that could be laid at the door of the property management. The rest was perfect.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Certainly will consider it.



Throughly enjoyed our holiday the cottage was so warm & comfortable x

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was a wow moment when we went inside our cottage,everything you need & more,we took our 6 dogs plenty of room & the garden secure & still in flower..beautiful..it's a central location for all popular beaches & places to visit,will definitely be going again loved peaceful & quiet...
Pam

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Oct 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely cottage perfect for a holiday. It was perfectly clean which was great considering it allows dogs. Everything you needed and the welcome basket made things easy for the first morning

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Certainly will consider it.





Immaculate cosy cottage -great base for exploring Norfolk

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Oct 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
1Chapel Cottage is a beautiful and immaculate cottage that proved to be a great base for exploring the coastal areas of North Norfolk with our dog. Situated in the quiet village of Lessingham - the area is very rural so don’t expect any shops or restaurants nearby . There is a dog friendly pub within about a 15 minute walk away but across fields so wouldn’t suggest doing the walk in the dark. The area is only a couple of miles away from the beautiful beaches at Sea Palling/Cart Gap/Happisburgh and Horsey where you can see the seals on the beach.
The cottage itself has been thoughtfully renovated and refurbished, with a good sized living room, separate kitchen/diner and ground floor bathroom which is ideally situated off the lobby/hallway. The kitchen door leads out to the fully enclosed garden which has a good sized grass area, patio, raised area with gazebo and pond. The pond has a submerged grid system to stop you dogs and /or kids getting too wet! My only concern about the garden, with this being a dog friendly cottage is that there is a grapevine growing around the gazebo. Although it looks beautiful, there were fallen grapes on the ground which are obviously highly dangerous to dogs if eaten. So if your dog is a scavenger, like mine, then you will need to keep an eye on them in the garden.
Back inside the cottage, up the very steep little staircase there are two bedrooms, a double and a twin room, both good sizes with plenty of storage and tastefully decorated.
The cottage was immaculately clean when we arrived and there was no doggy smell that you get with some dog friendly places.
There was also a welcome pack on our arrival, which contained local produce such as eggs, bread, milk, shortbread, fudge and of course some doggy biscuits.
All in all we had a very pleasant stay and would definitely go back to Chapel Cottage again.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



Warm welcoming cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Oct 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was warm cosy and welcoming perfect for the 2 of us and our dog. Everything we needed to make our stay perfect was supplied plus a lovely welcome hamper. The garden is securely fenced and very private, perfect for dogs. The cottage was in a superb location, farmland walks directly from the door or choice of gorgeous sandy beaches just a short drive away. We can thoroughly recommend it.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Beautiful cosy dog friendly cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a relaxing weekend break at this beautiful dog friendly cottage. It was a pleasure to spend time at this clean and comfy cottage. The attention to detail was seen throughout the cottage. Best if all, the dogs were very happy to explore the secured garden and we were happy to leave them unattended in the garden without a concern. I can definitely recommend this cosy cottage.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!





Lovely Break in Norfolk

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely few days staying at 1 Chapel Cottage, excellent location, very comfortable cottage. Great area with lots of walks and dog friendly pubs and cafes. Plus the Swan at Ingram is just up the road for a posh meal out.

The one thing I will say is we found the staircase in the cottage a bit too steep and could be precarious if you needed the loo in the middle of the night. Perhaps make this clearer in the cottage info?

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!





Sue at East Ruston Cottages replied 266 days ago
Hi Clive. Thank you for the lovely review and I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay. It's great having the Ingham Swan so close for a posh meal out (and the Lessingham Star a short walk away for great pub grub!) I agree, that the stairs in the cottage are very steep as it is an old style farmer's cottage and they did tend to have steep stairs back then. There is a photo on the website specifically of the stairs, taken from the top, so people can see them clearly and two other photos of the living room where the stair door is open and the first few stairs can be seen. There are two mentions of the steep staircase in the website text too. I will make sure these are highlighted further in some way so that guests are aware. Sue

Relaxing break

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My sister and I and my 2 Border Terrorists had a truly relaxing stay at 1 Chapel Cottage. Some great beaches only 7 mins drive away. All dog friendly. At Sea Palling a seal popped up to say hello. The cottage has a fresh modern interior with everything you could need for a self catering break. It was spotlessly clean. Dog towels, water bowl and treats provided for the dogs. Throws for the furniture in case they couldn’t resist jumping on the sofa. (Which they did!). The welcome pack from a local farm was a lovely touch. Being in a lovely village it’s a quiet location with the benefit of being close to the main attractions of the Norfolk coast and the Broads. We especially would recommend visiting Blakeney & Cley ( Only an hour away by car) taking a trip out on a boat to see the Seals. You won’t be disappointed. We we’re blessed with the weather. Sue from East Ruston Cottages was very helpful throughout our stay.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!



Great cottage in a very good location

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our latest stay in North Norfolk has been another ERC managed cottage, 1 Chapel Cottage. It is very comfortable, and well equipped. The garden is fully enclosed so that's a big plus. The stairs are very steep and they wind up the stairs (and down!) You have to get used to stepping on the widest part of the stairs. That said, it is the only downside.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!





Lovely location

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay here in March. The cottage was spotless and a useful basket of goodies was there on arrival. It is very well equipped and the information pack was very useful. The only negative is that the stairs are quite steep and take some getting used to. Would definitely recommend.




Weekend break

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Mar 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
2 adults and 4 dogs stayed for the weekend. The dogs loved the garden. We loved the house. Beautifully clean great location. The welcome pack was lovely. The greyhound found the stairs a challenge but she just about managed. Her happiness in the garden made up for the challenge of the stairs though.
1st visit to Norfolk but definitely won't be the last




Another great stay in an East Ruston cottage!

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Mar 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cosy cottage in an idyllic location. Very well equipped and great dog friendly garden. Great circular walks from house. Excellent local pub 'The Star'. Wonderful welcome hamper including produce from local farms. Would highly recommend.



Gorgeous cottage close to beautiful beaches and super dog friendly

Review submitted on Thu, 14 Feb 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a short break at 1 Chapel cottage, if you want peace and quiet in a lovely cottage, with countryside views and a fully fenced, secure garden this is the place for you!
The cottage is well equipped and the yummy welcome pack is very nice! The garden is very secure, we have an escape artist dog and we were comfortable letting her out here, it is fully wooden fenced, to over 5 foot in most places.
In a great location close to some fabulous beaches (cart gap, sea Palling, happisburgh, Horsey gap and winterton) and lovely pubs and cafes which are also dog friendly (poppylands at Horsey gap, star Inn lessingham and dunes cafe Winterton)

Hope to be lucky enough to stay again




Beautiful, well appointed, cosy cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 10 Jan 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a lovely cottage, warm and cosy, very well equipped, great location for walks from the door and the brilliant Star Pub just across the fields.



New Year holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our first holiday in Norfolk and it won’t be our last.Lovely cottage,very clean and well equipped.Very warm and cosy.Lovely beds and bedding.Attention to detail was excellent. The use of a dishwasher and washing machine was very useful and a hose outside was very useful having three dogs.The local pub (The Star) was very friendly and we sampled the food a couple of times which was very good.Lovely quiet location



Properly dog friendly not just dog tolerant!

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cosy cottage that - like all East Ruston properties- welcomes dogs with open arms as opposed to just accepting them. Every little thing was thought of to make our stay memorable. Fabulous garden which is completely enclosed. The cottage was spotlessly clean and very comfortable and relaxing. Quirky Norfolk stairs which wouldn’t be suitable for the infirm or those that have difficulties walking but we actually loved them - hubby said it reminded him of being on a yacht! And the bedrooms are really spacious with plenty of room to spread your things about. Great view across open fields from the main bedroom window. Each morning we sat in bed with our cup of tea watching the pheasants run about in the nearest field. Bliss.