FB Twitter

Hendre Farmhouse

Hendre Farmhouse

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 30 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.8
Location
4.8
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.9


Spacious detached farmhouse tucked away from it all. Accommodation for 6 (+ 1 with provision of a Folding Guest Bed on request). 2 Double Bedroom, both en-suite. 1 Twin Bedroom. Upstairs bathroom. Downstairs Shower room with Sauna.

Large kitchen-diner and spacious lounge. Lawned garden and paved patio.

Escape the rat race

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Oct 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Avery secluded and private cottage very spacious with lovely views,
Good location for the coast Criccieth is a must As is Barmouth and Harlech.
The local pub the goat is very good and very reasonable.
An enjoyable relaxing getaways




Criccieth Retreat

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our long-awaited holiday/retreat more than met expectations.
Hendre Farmhouse was so well renovated that it was a taste of luxury. No lack of bath/shower rooms, appliances, rooms to meet or be private in. Its grounds were a delight and so private and safe for our little grandsons aged 3 and 1. Calves even came to see us through the fence as we barbecued or had a little tea party!
The location was so good - rural but so near to the sea and so much choice: Criccieth, PorthMadog, Abersoch, Barmouth (on the train) were the ones we sampled.
When we managed to break the toaster, Anwen was so kind and understanding and replaced it straight away, free of charge.
We wouldn`t have had a better place. And we even had the blessing of a week of Indian Summer!
Delightful!
Margaret Parker





Lovely stay again

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Despite all the issues with Coronavirus, the cottage was beautifully prepared. This was our third stay and we love Hendre cottage and the location in general. Look forward to visiting again soon.



Beautiful, spacious tranquil farmhouse.

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Aug 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the perfect place to go if you need time out of your very hectic life. The farmhouse is just a short drive from Cricceith. Set on the owners farmland, you will encounter the occasional cow or sheep but these are never around to disturb sleep.

The farmhouse is so spacious, finished to a good standard and has a large well equipped kitchen. It had everything we needed and more. This property oozes a quality and was immaculate on our arrival. The outdoor space is also stunning but unfortunately we didn't have the weather to really enjoy it.

WIFI was down during our stay due to a previous thunderstorm, BT did visit whilst we were there to try and fix it. I believe the signal isn't always strong when it is working but I've never stayed in a remote location where it has had any. There's also no mobile signal until you drive up the lane a bit but to be honest, we enjoyed a break from all the technology! But it might be worth taking a few DVD's if you like to relax watching a film.

We would definitely recommend Hendre Farmhouse and Rhos Country Cottages to others. All the family, including the kids and dog enjoyed our stay here!

Anwen and the others working on the farmland were very pleasant on every encounter we had.




Exceeds expectations in every way

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We cannot begin to say how lovely the property is with additional features such as the sauna, enclosed garden and proximity to a beautiful river. The property was very well presented with every amenity we required



"far from the madding crowd".

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An idyllic country retreat. Relaxing and peaceful. Beautifully maintained.
eVERY THING TO A HIGH STANDARD AND COMFORTABLE




Family weekend away

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Hendre and Rhos Wen to celebrate with my family. Both well equipped , clean and ideal location to explore area, which is blissful. Will definitely be back.



Peaceful spot

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Dec 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful farmhouse in a peaceful location in the Welsh countryside. We really enjoyed our stay here as we just wanted a relaxing place to recharge. Every home comfort was on hand and we would happily go back. A couple of things to mention, that don't worry me, but it is located up some single track windy lanes, I had no mobile signal and I'm not a fan of halogen hobs. Criccieth is about 3 miles and Porthmadog about 8 miles to get any shopping, restaurants etc.



Stunning, peaceful and very clean and confortable

Review submitted on Thu, 14 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed before and have rebooked because we love staying at Hendre so much.
The location is fantastically secluded yet everywhere you want to visit is easily reachable.
The farmhouse has everything you need and more.
Can't fault it.




Birthday Break

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another wonderful week in Wales. As always a very warm welcome and everything you could want for a holiday.



Our Stay At Hendre

Review submitted on Thu, 19 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay at Hendre. The perfect holiday home if you want peace and quiet. Hendre is set in a beautiful location. My mother, son, myself and our four dogs had a wonderful time. We look forward to coming back again sometime.



A wonderful holiday home

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Hendre Farmhouse is a wonderful holiday home in a fantastic private location. All amenities plus more than you could ask for. A lovely outdoor space which we enjoyed many barbecues in and the children loved the freedom (and the neighbouring cows!) Inside the house is clean and very well presented. Fantastic big, comfortable rooms and a pleasure to come back to after a long day out. It is in a great location, not far from all tourist areas and attractions. The hostess is very friendly and popped by to welcome us and make sure we had everything we needed.
I would recommend the farmhouse to anyone and will definitely book again when we return to the area.




Lovely well equipped house

Review submitted on Wed, 31 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Hendre is a fabulous cottage, ideal for families and in a great location for multiple beaches and Snowdonia.



Tranquil

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved staying in this cottage, it was so peaceful and tranquil, we enjoy watching the variety of wildlife that regularly visited the garden.



Lovely holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great place for exploring North West Wales. This was our second stay at Hendre and we really love the place.



A piece of tranquility

Review submitted on Thu, 16 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been using Rhos cottages for the past 7 years and due to the fantastic location of the cottages we keep returning, they are excellent value with everything you need, The standard of cleanliness is impeccable and the facilities are faultless. Its an amazing get away from it all place to recharge your batteries. The cottages are perfect to explore both the coast line and Snowdonia which is perfect to avoid the variety of weather that descends upon you. I can not think of anywhere else i would want to spend my holidays. I love returning with my dogs year after year. But most of all the hospitality of our lovely hosts Mr and Mrs Jones its always great to catch up with them.



Our second time

Review submitted on Sat, 04 May 2019
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Nice to return, lovely and quite with a homely feel, since our last stay last year, the property has had some decorating done.



Anwen replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking time to do a reveiw. It was lovely so see you and the family returning to Hendre. I'm glad that you liked the new bathroom and the new colours in the kitchen - all in grey! Hopefully we'll see you return to Hendre for another peaceful relaxing break. The Snowdonia area has so much to offer the visitor at any time of the year. Many thanks. Kind regards, Anwen

Lovely stay in a super house

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house was spotless and extremely comfortable, with everything provided for a great holiday. Very peaceful and in a lovely rural location down a narrow farm lane. Masses of space for a lively 6 year old grandson and in easy reach of beaches and other Snowdonia attractions, castles, mines, boat trips, walks etc.



Anwen replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind words. As you say there's plenty of space in the house which makes it ideal for children to run around. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and had really good weather. Hope we'll see you and the family returning again one day.

Perfect

Review submitted on Fri, 19 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you would like a spacious, spotless, secluded cottage in the Porthmadog - Criccieth area, with all mod cons then look no further!

My wife and I have stayed in many cottages and we consider Hendre Farmhouse to be one of the best.

If the opportunity should arise again we would definitely choose Hendre Farmhouse as a self-catering place to stay.




Great stay

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It's a very big house, everything was clean and tidy. We love our stay in this place! You feel relax very quickly and enjoy to be far from a noisy place.



winter weekend break

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Feb 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely January weekend break at the luxurious Hendre cottage, despite the wild Welsh weather There were four of us so Loads of space & bedrooms ( & bathrooms!) Criccieth is only a few miles down the road and a lovely place to wander around with a castle & good ice cream/coffee shop looking out over the sea . It was great to come back & jump in the sauna after getting damp & cold. Did a 2 hour wander from the cottage the next day down the country lanes & fields & could see the snowy tops of Snowdonia ( details in the cottage). It has WIFI ( essential for our teens!) , Alwen was a lovely host & had lit the fire for us on arrival. That Inglenook fireplace is quite something! Highly recommended on the beautiful Llynn peninsula



Beautiful & Amazing!

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My little family and my friends family stayed here for 3 nights, for our New Year break. What a fantastic find! Beautiful and spacious cottage. All 3 bedrooms were large, 2 had en suite and a family bathroom on the 1st floor. The sauna on the ground floor was fantastic too.
The kitchen is fully equipped with everything you need. It really was like home from home.
The living room was large, and very spacious. The fireplace was beautiful, we had used twice, once the children were in bed, and the adults played games.
The surrounding area was just beautiful, you really are secluded, and you could hear the river in the distant, which was very calming.
We didn’t really get out and about much as we just wanted to just relax within the cottage. We got a takeaway on the first night, and we were also able to get a online grocery shop delivered to our door to set us up for the 3 nights we were there for.
Anwen, who owns the property was very accomdating and attended to all my enquiries before arriving at the cottage. Meeting her was also a pleasure, very helpful.
We would definitely recommend this properly and also be back again for another holiday. It really was amazing!




Half term break

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Nov 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 5th visit to Hendre and we weren’t disappointed. The farmhouse is extremely spacious, well equipped and comfortable. It is an excellent base for exploring the beautiful snowdonia area and a little further afield (we went to RAF valley). We came with our 2 children and dog and there was plenty of space indoors and out for them and us! Anwen is most helpful if you need her and provides a warm welcome. We will be returning soon for our 6th visit!



Fantastic family cottage out of the way - just enough

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Jun 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a fantastic cottage just remote enough. Has everything you could want for a break in a cottage, no need for towels, dishwasher tablets, loo roll - all you need to bring is your clothes.

Our boys loved the woods, the stream just within the woods along with the young crazy cows who ran all the time. Don't be too surprised if the local farmers little dog strays in.

The only thing we can think of to improve would a few more up to date DVD's would be good.

we would stay again





Very good but expensive

Review submitted on Wed, 30 May 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had an excellent holiday. There was a smell of diesel from the boiler and the microwave was broken.
Also the property could do with a washing up bowl.
However the property it very good.




Anwen replied more than 1 year ago
Steven and Deborah, Thank you for taking time to leave a review and for your valued points. I'm glad that you and the family enjoyed your stay at Hendre. There are two washing up bowls there, kept away in one of the kitchen unit cupboards (corner unit, on right of sink unit). I have also found that the microwave worked but the turn table doesn't seem to, so this will soon be replaced with a new one. Looking forward to seeing you in September. Anwen

Comfy farm house, with access up a narrow lane.

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Apr 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
At first sight of the house we thought very impressive, inside spacious and bright, large kitchen dinner, large living room, large bedrooms, and the sauna was a great, we had some issues which were swiftly delt with by Anwen. We loved the privacy, one small problem was a couple of the cupboards had a musty smell. Great location out every day to nearby beach’s, Betws-y-Coed, Snowdon and managed the velocity Zip wire. All in all we would definitely return.




Anwen replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking time to do a review on your stay at Hendre. Also thank you for being so understanding with the central heating boiler when the "pump" failed. The problem could not be predicted and we did our very best to get it going again for you. I hope that you'll return one day.

Heaven

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Again another week of pure heaven at Hendre with my friend and our dogs. Home from home comfort, tucked away from the ‘Real’ world.

Will definitely return.




Couldn’t Ask For More

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely spacious farmhouse cottage, with all the mod cons. Very clean. The kitchen has all that you need, even a dishwasher. There’s a washer dryer to keep your clothes clean. Great remote location, but handy for all of North Wales’ attractions. The owners are very friendly and helpful.



Fantastic country escape

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Nov 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Had a fantastic stay. Great facilites and and an amazing location. Being in the middle of nowhere it wouldn't be for everyone but we loved the privacy. Very greatful for being allowed it on such short notice and for only 2 of us! Thanks very much. Will recommend.



Lovely house for large family group

Review submitted on Tue, 31 Oct 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was an ideal property for our extended family holiday in Wales - with my brother and his family staying at Betws Bach ( we could wave at each other across the fields) it was easy to spend time together. Anwen was extremely welcoming and friendly and made sure that we had everything we needed. There was plenty of room - a very large lounge and big farmhouse kitchen and the children also loved running around in the gardens of both houses.