FB Twitter

Ivy House B&B | Kennington | Single Private Bathroom

Ivy House B&B | Kennington | Single Private Bathroom

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 18 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.9
Location
4.2
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.9


This beautifully decorated single room with private shower room ideally suited for a professional visitor looking for a very comfortable place to stay. TV & DVD. Located on the Oxford side of Kennington with a regular bus stop within a minute's walk this room is very convenient for Oxford city centre, Abingdon or Didcot. Close to the A34 and all major connections to the M40 and M4. Continental breakfast. Wireless internet. Safe on-road Parking. No smoking

Cozy and welcoming

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Oct 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The photos and info provided are accurate. This is a cozy, well-furnished single room and very modern private bathroom with a large tub. Anne and Martin are very welcoming, thoughtful and friendly. There are bus stops very close by that can take you into the city centre. The room can get cold overnight but there are extra blankets available. The room is up a flight of stairs (something to note for those with mobility considerations).

Julie from stayed at Ivy House B&B | Kennington | Single Private Bathroom for 5 nights in October 2019


One night business stay

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Oct 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
All aspects were well beyond my expectations I hope to stay again each time I visit Kennington
Highly recommended single for solo stopovers


Derek from Hereford stayed at Ivy House B&B | Kennington | Single Private Bathroom for 1 nights in October 2018


Probably can't do better re: Oxford in the summer

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Jun 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My hosts (Anne and Martin) were phenomenally congenial, helpful and accommodating - lovely property, lovely people. Thanks!

Jonathan from Walton On The Naze stayed at Ivy House B&B | Kennington | Single Private Bathroom for 2 nights in June 2017


Good place to stay

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
- good mix of heartwarming hospitality and privacy at the same time
- very sweet cat and dog in the house (if you have allergy, do not forget to take medicine)
- room is located on the second floor (was perfectly ok for me, but can be difficult for disabled people)


Надежда from St. Petersburg stayed at Ivy House B&B | Kennington | Single Private Bathroom for 2 nights in May 2017


An enjoyable stay

Review submitted on Mon, 15 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An excellent base for my stay in Oxford. Well-located for the places I wanted to get to, clean, comfortable accommodation and friendly owners.

Roger from Morpeth stayed at Ivy House B&B | Kennington | Single Private Bathroom for 3 nights in May 2017


A very welcoming place with fantastic hosts

Review submitted on Thu, 04 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The reason for my stay was attending a conference in Oxford. Although a bit out of the city center is a perfect place to rest after daily activity. The area is very quiet and has good communication with the transport service. Everything is very clean, very comfortable and the breakfast very good.
I am very happy with my stay at the Ivy House B & B. A very welcoming place with fantastic hosts.


Joan from Alella stayed at Ivy House B&B | Kennington | Single Private Bathroom for 2 nights in April 2017


A calm, friendly place to the south of Oxford

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Apr 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very nice place to stay with a private touch to it. It's a bit remote from Oxford city centre but once you have figured out how the bus connections work it is no issue. Always have coins or 5 pound notes with you to buy a 24 hour ticket for 4 pounds. The Thames path is nearby and ideal for running.

Nikolai


Nikolai from London stayed at Ivy House B&B | Kennington | Single Private Bathroom for 2 nights in April 2017


Excellent experience stayed in Ivy House B&B

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Dear Ann and Martin, thank you again.All the best^_^ Really great experience for me.Nice house and comfortable bed and luxury bathroom. You are so kind.

Min from Belfast stayed at Ivy House B&B | Kennington | Single Private Bathroom for 3 nights in April 2017


5 Star Stay

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having stayed at this property over the weekend during an academic event I must say that the house is extremely well run, clean, comfortable and the service was excellent throughout. The host even made an effort at providing a personalized doormat! (inadvertedly).

I only have positive things to say of the host and his wife, and his very warm and friendly service. I would not hesitate to recommend this B&B to any future weekend guests or others looking for a quiet, comfortable and high quality stay. The bed is extremely comfortable and private bathroom of hotelier standard. A credit to Oxford.


Matthew from Newbridge stayed at Ivy House B&B | Kennington | Single Private Bathroom for 2 nights in March 2017


Stop over for work.

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable room and warm. Good location with bus service to Oxford city centre.
Good large private bathroom with an excellent shower.


Craig from Retford stayed at Ivy House B&B | Kennington | Single Private Bathroom for 4 nights in February 2017


Two weks stay in Ivy House

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Jan 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very nice people, kind and friendly. The room was more than OK for one person, and the bathroom nearby was modern and clean.

Alberto from Málaga stayed at Ivy House B&B | Kennington | Single Private Bathroom for 7 nights in January 2017


A change from too similar hotel stays

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Nov 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the very start I was made very welcome
The bedroom was clean and very comfortable
The next door bathroom was modern and very efficient
I felt like a guest in a friendly couples home


Barry from Newcastle-upon-tyne stayed at Ivy House B&B | Kennington | Single Private Bathroom for 3 nights in November 2016


Very Comfortable stay in Oxford

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Oct 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really great hosts made me feel welcome in their lovely homely house, breakfast adequate with plenty of choice of cereals fruit etc. Stayed in the single room with own bathroom, comfortable bed with clean bedding ample towels and general cleanliness/comfort excellent. The bathroom is a good size with large deep bath and brilliant power shower.
All in all a very enjoyable stay.


Steven from Sheffield stayed at Ivy House B&B | Kennington | Single Private Bathroom for 4 nights in October 2016


Spot on

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Aug 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a very comfortable stay. Hosts could not have been anymore helpful. My room was very cleam and the shower was excellent.. good value for money and very helpful people

Macka from Middlesbrough stayed at Ivy House B&B | Kennington | Single Private Bathroom for 1 nights in July 2016


Short stay

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I found the room very comfortable, clean and quiet. Adjoining the room is a private toilet/shower/bathroom. Given that my visit was work related, the room having a desk, tea making facilities and being quiet was ideally suited for my needs. I needed to get across to the business park and the location has easy access to the ring road. The host is sociable and happy to chat. Of the two pets in the house, the cat was curious enough to come into the room to keep me company while I worked.
Breakfast: Tea/coffee, cereals, toast with butter/honey/marmalade/jam, yoghurt, a selection of fruit.
I would be more than happy to stay at the accommodation again.


Lester from Sale stayed at Ivy House B&B | Kennington | Single Private Bathroom for 2 nights in June 2016


ivy stay

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Apr 2016
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The lady was lovely but did not feel I could have a cup of tea besides breakfast. I would have liked to have been able to prepare. a simple meal at night as I do no particularly like eating out and having junk, I did not feel welcome to do that. It was very much a get in the house and into your room. The breakfast was just toast, fruit and cereal, I felt a small cooked breakfast would have been good for the price. I did not get a serviette with breakfast. The room was lovely but would have expected a kettle as there was no welcome to go into the kitchen. No decent guides as to where to eat in the evening. If I recommended this place I would would warn the people about the downs.

Linda from Shoreham-by-Sea stayed at Ivy House B&B | Kennington | Single Private Bathroom for 4 nights in April 2016


Lliwen Williams Director replied more than 1 year ago
Than you for your review of Ivy House B&B and we have noted your comments and as such the host has now provided tea and coffee facilities in the bedroom. I would like to reply to a couple of points that seems to have caused confusion. B&Bs are not required to offer cooking facilities. As our aim is to keep the rates lower that neighboring guest houses we state that only a simple continental breakfast is provided. I believe the host did inform you of the local eateries. Having now clarified the points raised I hope we can be of service to you in the future

A place to stay, ideal for Oford and easy access to the A34.

Review submitted on Thu, 18 Feb 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ideally situated to Oxford's park and ride and the A34. A comfortable room and bed with an excellent private bathroom. Off road parking available. Hosts are very friendly and accommodating, and have friendly do, and cat. Breakfast is a good choice of cereal with yougurt and toast also provided along with orange juice and tea or coffee.

Andrew from Waterlooville stayed at Ivy House B&B | Kennington | Single Private Bathroom for 5 nights in January 2016


Great!

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Feb 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you to my welcoming hosts! The room was attractive and comfortable and the shower was out of this world! Charging my satnav for me went beyond expectations. Thanks again!

Wendy from York stayed at Ivy House B&B | Kennington | Single Private Bathroom for 2 nights in February 2016