FB Twitter

High View Bed & Breakfast | Kennington | Twin Room

High View Bed & Breakfast | Kennington | Twin Room

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 29 reviews
97% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.8
Location
4.4
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.8


Kennington - OX1 5SA
High View B&B offers a twin room and the host prides herself on providing visitors with a comfortable stay.
Conveniently located for either Oxford or Abingdon with a bus stop only 2 minutes away. Ideal location to Abingdon Business Park, Oxford Science and Business Park and the Kassam Stadium.This cosy first-floor maisonette with moblity access offers visitors a nice, and affordable place to stay. Small twin room is offered ensuring peace and quiet with all the facilities of a home from home. Flat screen TV and free Wireless Internet. Private free parking in car park. Single person and long term discounts. No Pets.

Good place to stay not too far from Oxford

Review submitted on Sat, 28 Sep 2019
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Room is a little small but ok for a short stay and the host is quite talkative which we liked but of course depends on personal preference. The sleeping room does have a tv but is too small to sit comfortably.

Auke from Utrecht stayed at High View Bed & Breakfast | Kennington | Twin Room for 2 nights in September 2019


This was an excellent stay.

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Aug 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The big plus staying here is the hostess. She was the best we have ever had in any B and B. Don't pass this place up.

Sherrie from . stayed at High View Bed & Breakfast | Kennington | Twin Room for 2 nights in August 2019


Home from home

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Aug 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Although High View usually accommodates short stay guests we found it an excellent base from which to explore Oxford with our senior citizen bus passes! Clean and friendly we felt welcomed and very much at home.

Barry and Sue from Cottingham stayed at High View Bed & Breakfast | Kennington | Twin Room for 11 nights in July 2019


Excellent 5-day-stay.

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Jul 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Breakfast: 9 out of 10. You can end up pretty full actually.
Host: helpful, polite, fun to talk with. Clearly has been doing this for a long time.
Room: looks very much like in picture, comfortable and clean. It also has plenty of room for luggage.
Issues:
-- The house itself is a little bit difficult to find.
-- Privacy is not perfect: we were a bit scared of making too much noise.
All in all, a worthy expirience.


Fco. Javier Benitez from . stayed at High View Bed & Breakfast | Kennington | Twin Room for 5 nights in July 2019


Excelent host.

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I had 3 wonderful days at Oxford. Emma is the best host. Her secret is her caringness. I felt at home and remembered my Mom. We had great talkings. Best for her.

Marcelo from Montevideo stayed at High View Bed & Breakfast | Kennington | Twin Room for 3 nights in July 2019


Lovely stay with a wonderful host

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Feb 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The host was fantastic, such a lovely property so clean and very comfortable beds! We shall be back whenever we stay in Oxford again.

mira from 1 stayed at High View Bed & Breakfast | Kennington | Twin Room for 2 nights in February 2019


Welcoming stay

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Would stay here again, very comfortable and friendly. Excellent breakfast provided and a great location for visiting Oxford

Guest from Taunton stayed at High View Bed & Breakfast | Kennington | Twin Room for 1 nights in September 2018


A pleasant stay

Review submitted on Tue, 31 Jul 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our hostess was friendly, helpful and kind. We really enjoyed our stay. It was home from home! Good accessible parking. Easy access to Oxford by the 35 bus. We will go again!

Barry and Sue from Cottingham stayed at High View Bed & Breakfast | Kennington | Twin Room for 9 nights in July 2018


High View

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I have stayed at High View for the last 3 weeks and have thoroughly enjoyed my stay. It really is like a home from home. Mrs Glynn is a fabulous host and particularly like her touch of blueberries first thing in the morning! Very comfortable stay in a quiet area and convenient for work.

William from Laurencekirk stayed at High View Bed & Breakfast | Kennington | Twin Room for 3 nights in September 2017


Home from home service with excellent landlady who shares her whole range of facilities with guests

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location next to main bus stop into city centre only 20 minutes ride and bus pass is valid. Car parking spot is off main road. Lovely breakfast with lots of variety. Good power shower in double sized cubicle. Comfy supportive beds with two pillows of polyester or feather according to taste. Free access to kitchen for refreshments. Own key for access. Quiet area. Just what we wanted for freedom and on a budget.

Vicki from Bridgwater stayed at High View Bed & Breakfast | Kennington | Twin Room for 2 nights in August 2017


An ideal place to stay

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our second visit to the property and we were looking forward to our stay as Emma is so friendly and accommodating. We will definitely re-book next time we visit Oxford.

Anne from Truro stayed at High View Bed & Breakfast | Kennington | Twin Room for 2 nights in August 2017


Unexpected visit

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful and kind hostess who not only accepted our booking at very short notice but was extremely kind helping us the following day to get back to where we needed to be. Thank you so much.

Ben from Gloucester stayed at High View Bed & Breakfast | Kennington | Twin Room for 1 nights in July 2017


A very enjoyable visit

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My sister and I enjoyed our stay at High View B&B and have already booked a return visit in August.

Anne from Truro stayed at High View Bed & Breakfast | Kennington | Twin Room for 1 nights in June 2017


The staff were lovely and very helpful.

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Through my booking via the phone, the 2 members of staff were so helpful and kind. I booked on behalf of a colleague and he thoroughly enjoyed his stay and would definitely use abodes accommodation again.

Abigail from Warrington stayed at High View Bed & Breakfast | Kennington | Twin Room for 3 nights in January 2017


Traditional English hospitality

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I had a very good stay. The host was gracious, polite and informative. We had more than one cup of tea as the conversation flowed forth naturally. I would recommend this place to anyone looking for good English hospitality.

JOSHUA from Oxford stayed at High View Bed & Breakfast | Kennington | Twin Room for 1 nights in September 2016


Intimate setting with welcome hostess

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Sep 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An interesting situation! Spare twin bedded room in two bedded flat, share bathroom with hostess. Very friendly, so if you like to have a warm welcome and a good chat, this is for you!

David from Bradford-on-avon stayed at High View Bed & Breakfast | Kennington | Twin Room for 1 nights in September 2016


122a the avenue kennington

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely stay . Emma made us most comfortable ... Felt very relaxed and home like and was sad to say goodbye . Will definitely stay again if possible.

Rachael from Totland Bay stayed at High View Bed & Breakfast | Kennington | Twin Room for 2 nights in August 2016


Fabulous place to stay

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife Kathryn and I had the privilege of spending the first week of our two week holiday staying at High View owned by the lovely lady Emma Glynn. We could not fault anything. The rooms were spotless, we had delicious continental breakfasts every morning and nothing was too much trouble for Emma. In the evenings when we came back from sight-seeing she would invite us to share with her where we had been in the comfort of her lounge. She recommended a local pub to us where we were able to feed ducks on the canal at the side of the pub for £1 per bag.

We came away thoroughly relaxed and rested and would not hesitate to book there again when we are in that area.


Colin from Stockport stayed at High View Bed & Breakfast | Kennington | Twin Room for 8 nights in July 2016


Perfect stop for my brief stay

Review submitted on Tue, 17 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The owner was friendly and humourous, a joy to be around which really helped as I was there getting my archery certification. The food was good and plenty, and the location was pleasant and quiet which was perfect for me as I often have trouble sleeping. The icing on the cake for me was that it was very close to where I was training!

Chloe from Battle stayed at High View Bed & Breakfast | Kennington | Twin Room for 2 nights in May 2016


No hesitation in recommending to anyone requiring relatively cheap, basic, friendly accommodation.

Review submitted on Fri, 13 May 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very good value for money. An excellent hostess who made our stay very enjoyable. Nothing was too much trouble for her and we felt very much at home. Very convenient for bus service into the city.






Alan from Oswestry stayed at High View Bed & Breakfast | Kennington | Twin Room for 2 nights in May 2016


This was a very good place to stay for a short visit to Oxford.

Review submitted on Mon, 09 May 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
At first we had some difficulties finding the house, but once we phoned it was easy. There was a good parking place. The landlady was very friendly and helpful.

Ellen from Voorschoten stayed at High View Bed & Breakfast | Kennington | Twin Room for 1 nights in April 2016


High View B & B, Kennington,Oxford

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Sep 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely 3 night stay. Good to find a twin-bedded room and somewhere within our budget. Location was perfect enabling free parking and easy access to City Centre via good bus service or beautiful riverside walk. Shared bathroom worked well for us. Lovely friendly and very helpful owner. Would certainly stay again and recommend to others.

Claire from Canterbury stayed at High View Bed & Breakfast | Kennington | Twin Room for 3 nights in September 2015


Really lovely host highly recommended.

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were really impressed with our lovely host Emma she was so helpful and made our stay a wonderful experience. We will be returning to stay again in the near future. Highly recommended!

Joan from Norwich stayed at High View Bed & Breakfast | Kennington | Twin Room for 2 nights in September 2015


Good value, comfortable and great host

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Jul 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I think my title says it all. Definitely pretty good value of money considering everything else in Oxford was very expensive. It was comfortable and clean BnB, and the host was very generous and helpful.

Guest from Dundee stayed at High View Bed & Breakfast | Kennington | Twin Room for 1 nights in July 2015


Home away from home

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Jul 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Had a very enjoyable stay at High View B&B. The lady who runs it is really lovely and a great companion for watching soaps in the evenings :) The whole place has a homely feel and I would definitely recommend it to people visiting Oxford.

Guest from London stayed at High View Bed & Breakfast | Kennington | Twin Room for 4 nights in July 2015


My one night stay

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Jun 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very hospitable and good breakfast provided, verynhelp landlady, couldn'thave made me feel more welcome. Location ideal for launderette should you need one, which I didn't in this instance. Nice quiet location with lovely private gardens, all condusive for a good night, plenty of sleep!!!!!!!

Guest from Huntingdon stayed at High View Bed & Breakfast | Kennington | Twin Room for 1 nights in May 2015


Adequate for one night stopover

Review submitted on Fri, 01 May 2015
3.2
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Although we had a pleasant stay and the landlady was very friendly, the reasons we thought we did not receive value for money are as follows: There was no hospitality tray in the room (although the paperwork we had said there would be). Admittedly we were able to get a drink from the landlady but having to ask isn't quite the same. It stated 'continental breakfast' but it was really just an uncooked English breakfast - cereal, toast and a croissant. I was under the impression that 'continental breakfast' usually consisted of various meats and cheeses, and several types of Danish pastry. Also the room was very small (although clean and tidy). I think at nearly £70 for the night, that was somewhat excessive.

Guest from Basingstoke stayed at High View Bed & Breakfast | Kennington | Twin Room for 1 nights in April 2015


comfort + freindliness

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Mar 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
kind charming host, treats her guests like family..................................................................................................good place to be

Guest from Ledbury stayed at High View Bed & Breakfast | Kennington | Twin Room for 4 nights in March 2015


comfort + freindliness

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Mar 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
kind charming host, treats her guests like family..................................................................................................good place to be

Guest from Ledbury stayed at High View Bed & Breakfast | Kennington | Twin Room for 4 nights in March 2015