FB Twitter

Artist Cottage B&B | Cowley Road | The Green Room

Artist Cottage B&B | Cowley Road | The Green Room

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 24 reviews
92% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.6
Location
4.4
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.6


Fantastic Oxford central B&B with a location close to the city centre, university colleges, Brookes university and the hospitals.
A lovely single room, shared bathroom with Oxford High Street only a 20 minute walk from this peaceful road off the popular Cowley Road with its array of shops and restaurants. Continental breakfast included and light use of kitchen as an option for longer stay visitors. Walking distance to Brookes University, Churchill and the Nuffield hospitals and excellent bus service to JR Hospital and the city centre. Wireless Internet included.

A very good stay

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Back one more time to Barbara's cosy place. It's very nice to be welcomed as a friend and to share small moments here and there. The green room stays my favorite : peaceful, airy, bright with a big desk so handy when you feel like working. Although this time, the beginning of Cowley road was under repair, Artist's GH location was still easily reached without too much delay. Looking forward to my next stay ! Thank you Barbara and thank you Abodes of Oxford's team for your efficiency. Regards. DM

Dominique from Paris stayed at Artist Cottage B&B | Cowley Road | The Green Room for 6 nights in August 2019


A very comfortable stay in Oxford

Review submitted on Tue, 21 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I had a very comfortable stay. The accommodation is clean, safe, and at convenient distance from the bus station. Barbara is a lovely landlady, and a perfect balance of helpfulness, warmth, intelligence, and humour. It was delightful to spend time with her, and in her wonderful artistic home. I wish to return again.

Nandana from Oxford stayed at Artist Cottage B&B | Cowley Road | The Green Room for 16 nights in May 2019


Great stay at Barbara's

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the third time I stay at Barbara's when coming to Oxford, and it is always with the same pleasure and the feeling of coming back home. The house is spotlessly clean and the garden and the discussions are pleasant in the shade of the wisterias. This is a very peaceful place to be back to, after a day at work and Barbara is such a nice and interesting person! Looking forward to a next time!

Dominique from Paris stayed at Artist Cottage B&B | Cowley Road | The Green Room for 4 nights in April 2019


Interesting conversations

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I prefer to stay B&B than hotels. At B&B, you can enjoy conversations with the host. At Artist Cottage I enjoy discussing on various subjects.

Masanori from Zama stayed at Artist Cottage B&B | Cowley Road | The Green Room for 6 nights in February 2019


A confortable stay

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I feel very lucky to have found at a short notice, such a welcoming place! You can rely on the description given by Abodes of Oxford. The room and the bathroom were as described, clean and warm. Barbara is a smiling easy-going hostess with a real treasure : her kitchen. The location is a big plus : 3 stops from one end of High St., with many buses (even on the first of January!).
I'm really looking forward to my next stay!


Dominique from Paris stayed at Artist Cottage B&B | Cowley Road | The Green Room for 5 nights in December 2018


Very comfortable stay!

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Nov 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely cosy room and welcoming host - I will definitely consider booking the Green Room again despite the location being less than ideal for my purposes. Cowley Road is pretty lively and worthy of a day time walk to enjoy the fantastic street art. Highly recommended.

Guest from Matlock stayed at Artist Cottage B&B | Cowley Road | The Green Room for 3 nights in November 2018


I will come again

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I enjoyed my days with Barbara. She is a very nice host. The room is very nice, big and quiet. The shared bathroom is very clean and warm. I liked the breakfast - with chats with Barbara -a lot. She offers a wide range of cereals, teas, coffees, yoghurts, fruit, juices and a fridge full of different other breakfast ingredients which you can choose from. The house is very good situated off Cowley Road, a street with very many different restaurants and shops. Busses 1 or 5 take you to town and the rail station. Many other lines bring you to the city center. Perfect situation outside the touristy center. I liked it a lot.

Birgit from Berlin stayed at Artist Cottage B&B | Cowley Road | The Green Room for 4 nights in October 2018


Unique and beautiful place to stay

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was my first experience using a residential home for housing during my visit to England. Location, price and home was simply the best for my needs. Also, I enjoyed the personal touch Barbara offered. Certainly added to the wonderful experience I had. Without a doubt, I will come back.

Cathy from Byron stayed at Artist Cottage B&B | Cowley Road | The Green Room for 10 nights in October 2018


An absolutely lovely experience and very highly recommended

Review submitted on Sat, 21 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I stayed for 40 days at The Artist's B&B . It is a very nice and cosy place, very reasonably priced and is located close to many important parts of Oxford. The host, Barbara is wonderful and she made me feel at home as soon as I arrived. We shared several evenings of great conversations and I would definitely return to her place on my next visit. Very clean, beautifully maintained, and Barbara goes that extra mile to make her guests' visit comfortable and memorable. I couldn't recommend it high enough!

Janani Srree from Mumbai stayed at Artist Cottage B&B | Cowley Road | The Green Room for 40 nights in June 2018


A little bit of Heaven!

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An absolute gem of a place which is managed by a delightful lady called Barbara who is only too happy to be of service.

James from Co Mayo stayed at Artist Cottage B&B | Cowley Road | The Green Room for 3 nights in March 2018


I like the quietness of this B&B most.

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Since I needed a quiet and clean place for my research in Oxford, this B&B is excellent. And the owner is very friendly.

Guest from Zama stayed at Artist Cottage B&B | Cowley Road | The Green Room for 11 nights in February 2018


Refund awaited

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Jan 2018
3.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
This booking was cancelled a week before due to unforseen circumstances. The refund had not yet been received.

Kindly look into this and arrange the refund promptly.


Margaret from Haywards Heath stayed at Artist Cottage B&B | Cowley Road | The Green Room for 3 nights in January 2018


Lliwen Williams replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Ms Tyzack More Thank you for your review. We have not received any notification of cancellation from you. I have checked our emails and answerphone messages and there are no messages from you. Please can you let me know when you informed your host so I can confirm your conversation with her. Thank you.

This is a comfortable room in a nice house. Barbara is a great host.

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Nov 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a comfortable room in a nice house in a very convenient location. Barbara is a great host. Can't recommend highly enough.

Stephen from Brunswick stayed at Artist Cottage B&B | Cowley Road | The Green Room for 12 nights in October 2017


Perfect stay for a part-time student

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect stay for a part-time student
Perfect stay for a part-time student
Perfect stay for a part-time student
Perfect stay for a part-time student


Daniel from Alpnach Dorf stayed at Artist Cottage B&B | Cowley Road | The Green Room for 5 nights in June 2017


To recommend

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Aug 2016
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
I spent one week in Barbara’s home and I really enjoyed it.
Barbara is a nice and friendly person and in the same time she also respects privacy.

The bedroom is pleasant, the bathroom beautiful and the kitchen roomy.
I really felt at home!

To conclude I would recommend it.


Marie-christine from Oxford stayed at Artist Cottage B&B | Cowley Road | The Green Room for 7 nights in July 2016


Art Cottage is Excellent

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful with customer service, comfort and location.
Its very comfortable and welcoming,lovely food and pictures on the wall.
The host was very kind and helpful and welcoming.


Helen from Filey stayed at Artist Cottage B&B | Cowley Road | The Green Room for 4 nights in May 2016


Great experience

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Feb 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Personal touch ... loved Barbara!
Great place for short trips; and a lot of intellectual discussions possible...
Location is very conducive and lots of shops around!
Cheers.


Guest from Dortmund stayed at Artist Cottage B&B | Cowley Road | The Green Room for 7 nights in January 2016


unimpressed

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Nov 2015
2.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
2.0
Bed was never made, bin was never emptied.Sheets not changed in over a week. Very stuffy building with no fresh air anywhere but outside. I was told that I could not have any drinks in my room in case of spillage.

Milton from Bristol stayed at Artist Cottage B&B | Cowley Road | The Green Room for 4 nights in October 2015


Reasonable and comfortable room

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Sep 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Room is very tidy, clean and quiet. This guesthouse is located within walking distance to city centre and easy to main areas in Oxford, for example, Headington, Cowley and Ifley. The host is very kind and price is very reasonable. Wi-fi connection is no problem. This guest house is appropriate for both short stay and long stay in Oxford and I highly recommend to stay here.

Masahiro from Toyonaka stayed at Artist Cottage B&B | Cowley Road | The Green Room for 16 nights in July 2015


Great stay at a good location

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I had a great stay here. Excellent location and comfortable surroundings!
Very friendly and inspiring landlady! The rooms are clean and very comfortable to stay in.


Chantal from Kawasaki stayed at Artist Cottage B&B | Cowley Road | The Green Room for 6 nights in August 2015


Lovely friendly place to stay

Review submitted on Sun, 10 May 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely friendly place to stay. Not in the centre of Oxford but maybe 15 minutes' walk to the High Street - there are plenty of buses. Very clean and comfortable, not luxury.

Guest from London stayed at Artist Cottage B&B | Cowley Road | The Green Room for 3 nights in April 2015


Great Place

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Apr 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just like staying at home. Very warm place to stay for a couple of days if you wish to visit Oxford. A bit far away from downtown, but is just within walking distance.

Guest from Islington stayed at Artist Cottage B&B | Cowley Road | The Green Room for 2 nights in April 2015


Back to Art Cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Apr 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I spent seven lovely days in Oxford and at Art Cottage Green Room. The house was very cozy with its beautiful small garden and not too far from the city center. My room was small but comfortable with all the interesting paintings on the walls. I already miss the place and hope to be back some day!

Guest from Vääksy stayed at Artist Cottage B&B | Cowley Road | The Green Room for 7 nights in April 2015


Warm and welcoming

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Jan 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Tha place is close to the lively quarter of Cowley Road which, love it or not, provides good services at affordable prices (for Oxford). The house is a typical Cowley area residence, a terraced, oldish but characterful building adapted to modernity according to the individual taste of its present owner, a lovely and sincere former academic turned artist-painter who loves chating but respects privacy. The single room is smallish (typically British), but the nice garden view and the book stacks plenty of books provide a homely feeling for accademics and book-lovers in general.
great breakfast, lots of variety and high quality!


Guest from Villanova stayed at Artist Cottage B&B | Cowley Road | The Green Room for 4 nights in November 2014