FB Twitter

Artist Cottage B&B | Cowley Road | Double Room

Artist Cottage B&B | Cowley Road | Double Room

4.5
out of 5
Ratings from 17 reviews
94% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.6
Location
4.4
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.5


Cowley Road - OX4 1XX Fantastic location near to the city centre, the university and hospitals. One of three rooms in a traditional Oxford cottage on Bartlemas Road, with Oxford centre only a 20-minute walk. Just off the popular Cowley Road with its array of shops and cosmopolitan restaurants. Continental breakfast included and light use of the kitchen as an option. Walking distance to Brookes University, Churchill and the Nuffield hospitals and excellent bus service to JR Hospital and the city centre. Wireless Internet included. Restricted parking for loading and unloading. Nearby supermarket parking or Park & Ride. Discount on single occupancy, weekly and multi-week stays. Great B&B near Churchill Hospital and Warnford Hospital

Other rooms offered at Artist Cottage B&B: The Green Room, The Pink Room

few days in Oxford

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Oct 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very nice place, feel like at home. A pleasant experience. A very quiet home, clean, confortable and cozy.

Tiziana from Oxford stayed at Artist Cottage B&B | Cowley Road | Double Room for 4 nights in October 2018


Very good value for visiting Oxford

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Sep 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Quiet location with access to shops, public transport and banks, with a easy walk into Oxford central . Generous breakfast and access to the living room to relax

Susan from Northcote stayed at Artist Cottage B&B | Cowley Road | Double Room for 3 nights in September 2018


warm income, everything ok

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Aug 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
everything ok.
location near the town-centre
you can feel like at home
I cn not day anymore because my English is too bad, sorry


Gundolf from Freiburg I.br. stayed at Artist Cottage B&B | Cowley Road | Double Room for 2 nights in August 2018


Great place

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I've stated here several times. Barbara is a superb host and the cottege is in a great location. Highly recommended.

Stephen from Brunswick stayed at Artist Cottage B&B | Cowley Road | Double Room for 4 nights in June 2018


Aweful

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Jun 2018
2.2
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
1.0
Value
1.0
Customer
Service
2.0
No privacy , this was a house NOT a B&B , and should not be classed as Bed & Breakfast . I am not happy parking some 100 yards away !!! As the owner stated this is my home , not a Hotel. When parking near this B&B had to removed my car before 7.30 am . All I paid for the was a bed.

Raymond from Amlwch stayed at Artist Cottage B&B | Cowley Road | Double Room for 3 nights in June 2018


Lliwen replied 315 days ago
A totally inaccurate review as the host prides herself in offering a clean, comfortable and affordable place to stay in the middle of Oxford. It is clearly described as a private B&B - ( dictionary.com: "an accommodation offered .. especially in a private home, consisting of a room for the night and breakfast the next morning for one inclusive price.") The details states that there is no parking - however the host - at a cost to herself, provided the visitor with a permit as the wife was struggling to walk. There was no need for their car to be removed. They refused breakfast as they had to leave early for the hospital. If the guest wanted to book a hotel then that is what he should have booked at quadruple of the rate paid.

Great room, wonderful host.

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Jan 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Barbara is a wonderful host, very friendly and super helpful.
The room was exactly as shown in the pictures, the whole house is beautiful and clean.
Would book it again without thinking!



Izabella from Budapest stayed at Artist Cottage B&B | Cowley Road | Double Room for 4 nights in January 2018


Nice and comfortable accomodation near Cowley St., a very lively part of Oxford near the center.

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Jul 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
My room and the house in general are very tastefully furnished and comfortable. Bárbara tríes to offer a really homely atmosphere. The kitchen is very big and well equipped which allows for cooking and having meals together. Cowley Street, a very lively Street full of shops and restaurants, is just around the córner. The center of Oxford is in walking distance.
I highly recommend this accomodation,


Marta from stayed at Artist Cottage B&B | Cowley Road | Double Room for 7 nights in July 2017


nice private house in Cowley Road

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Jul 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
It is a very nice private house with a very kind landlady who allows you to feel comfortable and also use all what you need for your daily life (with the proper induction). The house is 30 min walking from the city centre.

Lara from Madrid stayed at Artist Cottage B&B | Cowley Road | Double Room for 19 nights in June 2017


Artist B&B

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Apr 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent time spent with a lovely and accommodating host, and a great place as a base to visit the rest of Oxford from. Relaxed time, while i sorted out rental accommodation, and would definitely recommend. Cowley location facilitated excellent transport links and walking distance restaurants!

Andrew from Belfast stayed at Artist Cottage B&B | Cowley Road | Double Room for 14 nights in March 2017


Flexibile arrangements and convenient location.

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Sep 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This accommodation is situated in a quiet turning just off the Cowley Road, which is very well served by buses and has a good choice of places to eat. The hostess welcomes you to her home, which has some very interesting features, and we enjoyed our discussions of many topics. The arrangements are very flexible and give the visitor plenty of scope with their itinerary.

Jane from London stayed at Artist Cottage B&B | Cowley Road | Double Room for 4 nights in September 2016


Very pleasent stay

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Due to work I spent a several weeks at the artists cottage and I found it very comfortable and good value for money. The host is very nice and very accommodating, breakfast is quite sufficient to start your day. My room was very comfortable and very clean with excellent wifi connection. Location was ideal, very central to everything. Would definitely stay there again.

Philip from Cork stayed at Artist Cottage B&B | Cowley Road | Double Room for 14 nights in February 2016


A homely stay at the artist's cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Feb 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I stayed almost 2 weeks at the artist's cottage and would recommend it as a nice place to stay. It was clean and everything (including wifi..) worked well. Breakfast (that the visitors prepare themselves) was of good quality and the host would make a effort to provide things that the visitors wanted. I enjoyed the conversations with the host and the other guests as well.

Guest from Helsinki stayed at Artist Cottage B&B | Cowley Road | Double Room for 12 nights in January 2016


lovely..look forward to going back in the future

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Sep 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
warm welcome but unintrusive.....llike a home from home..shared bathroom clean...creaky floorboards in my room but compensated by very comfortable sleep...assessible location. would recommend. Lovely warm artistic and interesting host ..would recommend..you will return,!

Doreen from London stayed at Artist Cottage B&B | Cowley Road | Double Room for 5 nights in September 2015


A fantastic week with Barbara

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent 5 lovely days with Barbara. We really felt at home and we enjoyed very funny stories about the English way of life and the bad weather. I would definitely recommend to go the Artist cottage! Moreover we'll keep in touch for a future "funny stories party" ;-)

Guillaume from Paris stayed at Artist Cottage B&B | Cowley Road | Double Room for 5 nights in August 2015


Accommodating and truly home-from-home

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Jun 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent 2 nights in Barbara's home and she was extremely accommodating and friendly. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The bathroom was shared but this wasn't an issue. Breakfast was a varied continental style affair which we shared with her and another guest with interesting conversation. The location was great for us, visiting our daughter, near friends and plenty of restaurants nearby and the walk into the city took us only about 15-20 mins. We would definitely stay again (although next time we will book through Abode and not Booking.com!)

Guest from Norwich stayed at Artist Cottage B&B | Cowley Road | Double Room for 2 nights in June 2015


Very enjoyable stay. Lovely clean home.

Review submitted on Tue, 19 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My sister and I really enjoyed our weekend stay in Artist Cottage. All areas were very clean and beautifully furnished/decorated. The bed was comfortable, a lovely breakfast was provided, the company of the host and other guests was pleasing, and the surrounding area quiet, pretty and well situated. Would recommend.


Guest from Liverpool stayed at Artist Cottage B&B | Cowley Road | Double Room for 2 nights in May 2015


Oxford Trip

Review submitted on Fri, 08 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very pleasant place to stay in Oxford. It´s quiet and calm even though not far from the town center, it´s possible to get everywhere on foot. The host is very kind and provides wonderful breakfasts :-)

Guest from Prague 1 stayed at Artist Cottage B&B | Cowley Road | Double Room for 5 nights in April 2015