FB Twitter

The Boat House

The Boat House

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 7 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
4.9
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.9


Beautiful, historic boat house in outstanding setting

Gorgeous Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Boat House was a gorgeous cottage and it was good to receive a brief history from the owners. It was extremely clean and comfortable in a wonderful location. The garden was lovely and the hot tub a bonus overlooking the river. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Boat House.



Beautiful location

Review submitted on Sat, 21 Mar 2020
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Cottage is set in great grounds with lots of outdoor seating giving lovely views
Inside is traditional with modern TV and wifi
Kitchen very small but well equipped with fridge and microwave across coridor
Bedrooms and living rooms spacious and comfortable




A lovely relaxing holiday in beautiful surroundings

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The boathouse is a lovely Victorian building, elegantly and comfortably furnished to be complementary to the house. There are stunning views of the River Lune from many windows. There are footpaths and cyclepaths along the river in each direction on the opposite side of the river. These provide a pleasant easy walk along the Lune to the East, including the Crook O' Lune, another walk into Lancaster (less scenic due to flood work) or, half way to Lancaster you can pick up the canal walk to Hest Bank.
The garden at the cottage is beautiful with lots of options for sitting out in different locations to get different views. The hot tub looks out over the river too, allowing for yet more time relaxing in the lovely surroundings,
The settees in the living room were great for stretching out, the kitchen was well equipped and the promise of seeing wildlife on the Lune from the dining room window seat added extra enjoyment, we saw a kingfisher. The comfortable bed ensured a great night's sleep too. Thanks for a great break.




A beautiful property in a beautiful location

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a perfect location to relax and unwind, enjoying the beautiful location on the river Lune. The house it self is extremely well appointed and no detail has been over looked. The decoration is to a very high specification, the age of the property adds to the ambiance and garden and folly are lovely to sit and enjoy the nature that visits the property, such as herons, kingfishers, otters and birds. We particularly enjoyed the squirrels antics, which we viewed from the sitting room window. The kitchen has everything you need to produce a full dinner should you wish to and a dish washer to clean up afterwards. We found the beds very comfortable and again with lovely bedding and decoration.
Satellite TV and WiFi are supplied and this is an excellent addition.
We had a number of lovely evenings in the outdoor Hottub with a hot toddy in hand.
Finally it’s well situated for country walks, especially the Crook-o-Lune.




Peaceful haven.

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful stay in luxurious surroundings. The views are spectacular, the home is warm and cosy with everything you could possibly need to ensure a relaxed stay, including a welcome hamper.
Very easy booking system with great communication throughout.
Highly recommend.






Julie Rogers replied 182 days ago
We are so pleased that had a wonderful time at The Boat House. We think it is amazing too ! Hope to see you again in 2020 Best Wishes. Stephen and Julie

Relaxing mini break

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Myself, my husband and our son stayed at the boathouse for 4 nights from 26th October. We had previously stayed in another mill house property, the cowshed. Which was outstanding, so we booked this property with only seeing pictures of the exterior as it was a new property just getting sorted for bookings. I believe we were the second people to stay. And all I can say is just WOW! We were not disappointed. The property is quite mesmerising as you enter through the ancient archway, the autumnal colours of the leaves and plants was just beautiful. I spent a lot of time sitting in the dining room window seat just staring out at the beautiful scenery and nature. We got to meet Debra who actually owns the property and lived here for a while before letting it out, she was so lovely and helpful. Upon arrival there was milk in the fridge, a bottle of red wine and a home made lemon drizzle cake made by a friend which was a really lovely touch. Although the house is old with original leaded windows, wood floors etc it all adds to the quirkyness of it. There is an amazing contemporary showery room, brand new carpets up the stairs and lovely big comfy beds. If you are looking to book here then don’t hesitate. It was an amazing experience for us. Thanks again to Julie & Stephen at Mill House cottages and to Debra & Simon the owners. We loved it.



Julie Rogers replied 204 days ago
We are so delighted you had an amazing time ! The Boat House is a very special and unique property !

perfection!!

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Oct 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
amazing place. nothing bad to say. wouldnt do it justice describing it. you really need to go and enjoy for urself



Julie Rogers replied 213 days ago
We are delighted you loved The Boat House ! It really is a very special place to stay!