FB Twitter

The Boat House

The Boat House

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 43 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
4.8
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.9


Beautiful, historic boat house in outstanding setting

Beautiful & Well Presented home

Review submitted on Tue, 03 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Was a beautifully well presented house, it had everything you would need also a bottle of wine, Milk and shortbread was there on our arrival.
The location for me was perfect, right on the river Lune. Perfect for Paddle boarding and wild swimming. The wildlife we saw added to our enjoyment, Kingfishers galore, the ducks would visit daily and we even saw an Otter floating on its back enjoying the sunshine to name but a few.
The hot tub was an added bonus to soothe your muscles after walks along the river banks. So good we have booked again.




Our first stay at the boathouse

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wow-What can I say,the pictures don't do it justice. Even though we expected 5 star we were still blown away by this beautiful property and its location .All the facilities were fantastic -living room both beautiful bedrooms, kitchen facilities and the bathroom which is not shown on the website is 5 star Hotel standard .The riverside location is almost addictive you can't take your eyes off it ,the gardens are stunning and the hot tub a real treat .We had a wonderful time at the boathouse Even after 4 nights it started to feel like home ( I wish ) .Would we recommend the boathouse absolutely.



Stunning

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fantastic weeks stay in this beautiful stunning property right on the river bank. Weather was glorious plentiful seating all around the property couldnt ask for more hot tub brilliant ! Will definitely be returning ..



Stunning location

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great week in this lovely cottage. Everything was all you could wish for. The outside space is well maintained & the numerous seating position's mean you don't have to be on top of everyone. Inside, you have everything you need. Would definitely recommend & will be looking to rebook for next year.



Great location, lovely cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Mar 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Amazing location by the river with so many places to sit and watch the world go by and listen to the birds and ducks.
The cottage was spotless with many extras waiting for us like toiletries, coffee pods and a lovely bowl of fruit.
The hot tub was a bit of added luxury and sitting on the window seat in the dining room watching the kingfishers was so relaxing.
Kitchen had everything we needed and we enjoyed using the bbq outside.
Would love to come back again.




Stunning

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Jan 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Boat House is absolutely stunning. The walks and views are beautiful. A real place where you can relax and forget about all your worries. We were greeted by one of the owners (Simon) on the first night who was lovely, he also gave his recommendation on a couple of local areas which again were brilliant. Fantastic place and would highly recommend. We'll be coming back that's for sure! Thank you to the millhouse and the owners for sharing such a beautiful place.



Beautiful cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Jan 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The boat house is beautiful and we had a lovely stay, the location is great, lots of lovely walks and beautiful beaches very nearby. We had 2 issues, 1 the kettle handle was broken and dangerous and from the look of the break it like it had been for awhile. Also the wardrobes in the bedrooms really let the cottage down as you couldn’t put clothes in them as the were cold and damp and wallpaper was hanging off, which for the cost of the stay, I feel was not good enough. That said we would stay again.



Wonderful Stay

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Dec 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We went to The Boathouse to celebrate our 50th. wedding anniversary and during covid could not have picked a better place to go. A beautiful comfortable house in a fantastic location with owners who go out of there way to ensure your comfort.

Thank You.




Fantastic property

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Dec 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Boathouse is a gorgeous house in a wonderful location....very cosy, would definitely recommend as an ideal getaway.



5* PROPERTY IN A FABULOUS LOCATION

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Boat House exceeded our expectations in many ways. On arrival we could not believe all the property and fabulous gardens were for our sole use. There are many sitting areas, all with tremendous views of the River Lune, as well as a lovely hot tub again with an equally good view. The interior of the property is stunning, with beautiful furniture and fittings throughout. Attention to detail is extremely high. The two bedrooms are very comfortable with lots of storage space. The kitchen is quite small but has lots of empty cupboard space for your storage and plenty of worktop area. There is a wide range of utensils and crockery. There is an abundance of walks and good very cycle tracks directly from the property and this is the first time we never used our car while on holiday. The local pub is about a 10 minute stroll away and very nice. We definitely would like to return and highly recommend.



Amazing space

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Oct 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is an amazing space. The house and gardens are lovely. The house has everything you need for a couple of days away. Its situated in an ideal spot for visiting Cumbria and the Yorkshire Dale's. Host was really helpful and approachable. Would definitely recommend



Perfect getaway

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely loved the Boat House. Beautiful setting, amazing house, with easy access. What more could you want!



The Boat House, Halton

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
In a stunning location right on the river Lune, the Boat House is very well equipped, furnished and styled both inside and out. The rooms are well proportioned for a property of this age, though a compromise is a small (but more than satisfactory) kitchen. Though the FF is a little small and has awkward access in the cubbyhole (the house could benefit from a larger one being located in the garage alongside the washing machine). The view from the dining room over the river is mesmerising (and our favourite spot inside). There are extensive (well maintained) gardens and space offering you plenty of scope to soak up the river location and watch the river wildlife unfold in front of you. The added bonus is the hot tub which was a great hit.
Although the noise from the M6 can be heard, you soon zone that out.
This is a fabulous place to retreat to and relax. Definitely recommended for river enthusiasts who enjoy open water swimming, bird watching and water sports (kayaking / paddle boarding).
Additionally, the property is in a great location for local walks and travelling further afield to the Lakes, Yorkshire and the west coast.
As a family of three we had a simply perfect holiday (helped by a week of sunshine) and highly recommend this property.




Relax by the River Lune

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Aug 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely stay in this very well appointed Boat House with plenty of seating to view life on the banks of the River Lune. Very clean and comfortable. Day trips possible to the Crook O'Lune, Kirkby Londsale and the Bowland Forest, all very beautiful.



The Boathouse 2021

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Simply stunning property with beautiful thoughtful touches. An amazingly relaxing holiday by the river with all its wildlife and activities and close enough to the lakes for gorgeous days out.



Beautiful and Unique

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I did a google search for holiday properties by a river and found The Boat House on the River Lune. It did not disappoint! This unique house has that wonderful blend of history and old charm, combined elegantly with modern luxury and comfort.
The garden and grounds are simply stunning and extremely spacious, with seating areas aplenty, so you can enjoy the views from all aspects of the outdoor space. We took our canoe, which we could launch directly from the lower patio area into the river. Sitting in the hot tub on the elevated patio area, just watching life on the river was complete bliss!
Out and about, the property is very well located for visiting all the surrounding areas of outstanding natural beauty and Lancaster, with it’s historical places of interest and all it’s amenities are on the doorstep.
All that’s left to say is that we booked for a week again next year, whilst still at the property!




Couldn't really find fault

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house and gardens were beautiful and as described on the web site. The location was stunning and the attention to detail was first class, very welcoming. Lots of nice local walks, Lune Valley Ramble was a great walk, slightly challenging in places. Plenty of wildlife to spot if you are quick enough. Will definitely return.



Beautiful House by the River Lune

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautifully presented, comfortable and cosy house in a stunning location on The River Lune. The gardens are gorgeous and very well cared for, offering so many seating areas to enjoy the views. The Hot Tub is fantastic and offers a wonderful view over the river whilst enjoying a glass of fizz or two!! Highly recommended and we will definitely be returning.



Breathtaking!

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have had a truly magical holiday. The Boat House encompasses wildlife and nature with luxurious accommodation, plus the added bonus of it's proximity to the Lakes and the Dales (if you can drag yourself away). The owners Debra and Simon have thought of everything to make their guests feel welcome and comfortable. We've travelled the world to some marvellous places and this stunning property with it's beautiful surroundings is up there at the top of the list with the best. We can't wait to return!



Beautiful house in a lovely setting

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Jun 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Boat House is a beautiful old building and set in very pretty mature gardens. Lots of different areas in the garden to sit and relax in. The hot tub is a nice added extra.
The house is very comfortable and well equipped.




Stunning property in perfect location

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house was immaculate, in beautiful landscaped grounds with lots of different seating areas.
Inside, the beds were extremely comfortable and everywhere was spotlessly clean. The kitchen has everything you need and the view from the dining room is wonderful.
The hot tub/spa is a perfect addition if you don't want to swim in the river!
The house is elevated and the grounds are on varying levels so there are lots of steps around which must be taken into consideration if you have mobility issues.
You can hear the M6 from the outside of the property but that is not the fault of the house as it was here way before the road!
We take our canoe and cycles on holiday with us and so the location for us was perfect. We could drop the canoe into the water from the grounds and paddle between the two weirs which are about 4 miles apart. From the river you see the wonderful wildlife including kingfishers and herons. The otters were well hidden on this occasion!
The cycle / walking track runs on the opposite bank of the river and has easy access over a bridge in the village. There you have access to miles of dedicated tracks, which are well signed, surrounding Lancaster and beyond.
I wouldn't hesitate in returning to this property!






The boat house

Review submitted on Tue, 18 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was bril my husband didnt want to go home!!!
So relaxing and we had a fantastic time despite the eating places mainly shut or hard to get in
We loved every minute




Very enjoyable stay in an intriguing property

Review submitted on Mon, 10 May 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The history, location and the wildlife are fascinating
Easy access by bike into Lancaster
Local chippy, Blacks is excellent
Fast response by owners to questions




A special unique house

Review submitted on Mon, 03 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The boat house is a beautiful unique property in a wonderful location. The gardens are very pretty and the owners have placed seating in several areas to give guests different aspects of the River Lune.
The house is extremely well equipped with everything you would need including those thoughtful extras for a comfortable stay.




Post Lockdown Short Break at the Boat House

Review submitted on Sun, 02 May 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The owners took the Covid safety protocols seriously both before and during our stay which was welcomed.
The Boat House is a gem - fantastic house and gardens right on the banks of the the River Lune. The owners have shown great attention to detail and the facilities are of a very high standard. There are so many places to sit around the property to enjoy every time of the day. River life is fascinating, especially viewed whilst enjoying the hot tub in beautiful spring sunshine.
It exceeded our expectations.




Beautiful Boathouse

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Apr 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
So hard to leave this beautiful Boathouse. We had the most amazing few days in this idyllic peaceful location enjoying the gorgeous gardens and watching the river life. The house itself is furnished and equipped to the highest standards with amazing views from every room. We were greeted with fresh flowers, delicious shortbread and wine and enjoyed the Nespresso machine for our morning coffees on the many terraces. The history and character of the Boathouse is an absolute delight but balanced with high standard modern requirement like the smart tv, the ultra modern shower room and extremely comfortable beds with excellent quality bed linen. The jacuzzi was the icing on the cake.
After the latest lockdown it was so wonderful to get away to a different area and this is a perfect base for not only enjoying riverside walks and the local countryside but also convenient for trips to The Lakes and Yorkshire Dales.
I can not recommend it highly enough and hopefully we will be back soon. Thank you to Simon for all the information and everyone that makes this Boathouse so enjoyable.




1/2 Term break

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Dec 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just what we needed. We only live 30 miles away but this was well worth the drive!! What a character filled house, yes it's near the motorway which can be heard in the distance but it's no noisier than the weir further upstream!! Each room has it's own chill out zone, from the bay window above the 'boat dock' to the many different garden seats and to the toilet seat!! The beds are to die for, (so much so I've recorded the supplier's details to order one myself).
A walk along the riverbank on the opposite side of the river allows yourself to gloat that "That's where we live" The village is lovely and the butchers is recommended, if we were told that this was where we had to stay for our remaining Covid holidays, we'd be more than happy!!!




Boat House

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent property. Such a beautiful location and place to relax. Very well equipped and comfortable.
Lovely to sit in the hot tub with views of the river. Great walks very close by.
Huge garden with various seating areas.
The quay was particularly nice to sit at abs watch the wildlife, especially when the sun came out, so warm for a November day!
Excellent attention to detail in the house with modern features and beautiful log fire.
Cannot fault the service from Millhouse, prompt attention at all times.
Definitely recommend and definitely want to go back!




Late September at The Boat House

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Oct 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Boat House is absolutely stunning! The gardens are kept in perfect condition and are beautiful, full of paths and seating areas. Sitting outside, having breakfast with the sun coming up over the river was a daily joy. I did manage to spot a Kingfisher one morning, sitting on the wall where the stream joins the river.

The house itself is very comfortable and well appointed. The bathroom was a lovely surprise, as it is not shown on the website. I would love one like it at home, especially the heated floor. Both bedrooms have TV’s with Sky and King size beds (one looked like it could be split into singles).

We had organised an order of groceries from Ocado to be delivered on our first morning, which saved us from the whole mask shopping trauma. There is plenty of room in the kitchen cupboards for groceries just be careful about buying too many frozen items (the freezer compartment is tiny, just the size of the inside of a large microwave).

We only used the hot tub on the penultimate evening, which made us wish that we had tried it earlier! Oh well, we shall just have to come back.....




Messing about by the River

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed yet another first rate stay at one of Millhouse Cottages excellent properties. The Boat House is a stunning property, furnished and equipped to the highest standard. The location, right on the River Lune, is beautiful and the grounds would grace any country house. Sitting in the hot tub surveying such a scene is a pleasure indeed. For those wishing to venture further afield the proximity to the motorway allows easy access to the Lakes to the north, or the Forest of Bowland to the south (but does mean there is some road noise), and more relaxed routes to nearby Kirkby Lonsdale and its environs are also on the doorstep. As always the customer service and information provided by Millhouse Cottages could not be faulted. We have aleady booked our next hoiliday with them



Beautiful location on the River Lune

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
When we arrived we were blown away by the location of the Cottage. The gardens are so beautiful and lots of mature planting, we couldn’t believe that all the garden was ours, lots of seating areas. We had breakfast outside several mornings overlooking the river and also BBQs in the afternoon. The cottage is tastefully decorated throughout and a spacious modern wet room. As the weather was fantastic during our weeks stay, we decided to stay local and ate out several times at The Highway Man and The Lunesdale Arms in Tunstall. Both meals were very good and I would recommend going.
Lots of wildlife, birds, swans and I also saw the Mink early evening. One swan came to see us most days whilst we were sitting on the patio. At the end of the day, we used the hot tub with a nice drink in hand :)
This is the second time we have used Millhouse Cottages and we look forward to using them again.

Thanks again all the team at the Millhouse

Lisa & Mark Prosser





Immaculate property

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We found the property immaculate on arrival which was very re-assuring under the current circumstances. The gardens were also exceptionally well tended, more so than most self catering cottages we have stayed in. The location was very relaxing with sightings of kingfisher, heron, and believe a mink, but didn't manage to spot the otters although a fisherman confirmed they are regularly under The Boathouse.



A fantastic place to put on the brakes and relax

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great break at The Boat House, chilling in the hot tub, reading in the lovely garden and sitting on kingfisher watch in the dining room window. The 3 course meal delivered to the door by Private Chef at Home was delicious and the cooking instructions were very easy to follow.



Beautiful Boat House

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Aug 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely week in The Boat House which is a fabulous and unique property with excellent facilities.

The accommodation was very clean, the lounge had large and comfortable sofas with a large TV! We didn’t use the dining room because we were lucky with the weather and ate outside but the window seat in the dining room was a lovely spot to sit and watch the world go by. Bed linen was fresh, lovely and clean and the bathroom with a large walk in shower was really luxurious.

As others have said we couldn’t believe that the whole of the garden was ours for the week. It had an abundance of birds at the bird feeders and there were many seating areas to use and all had amazing views. We were even invited by the owners to pick cooking apples from the trees in the garden - they were delicious.

We made good use of the hot tub which again was lovely and clean and had great views of the river. We even managed a swim in the river but it was a quick one!

The booking process was easy and managed very well in these difficult circumstances and we would like to thank all those involved in making this a relaxing and memorable holiday.

On the whole, an excellent place to stay which I would highly recommend.




Riverside Gem!

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in the BoatHouse in July and from the moment we arrived we were awestruck! The house is absolutely stunning - old and full of character but equipped to a very high and modern standard, whilst being sympathetic to the period features. The living room was comfortable with a large TV, the dining room has the most amazing view up the river, 2 large bedrooms and a sumptuous modern shower room with under floor heating. The kitchen may be small but actually has more work surface that we imagined and there is a good sized fridge freezer opposite. We enjoyed the hot tub with more views out to the river and were lucky with the weather and managed drinks and meals both at the quay (where we also had a couple of barbecues) and the patio area to the rear of the house - both with amazing views. The garden is also worth mentioning - it is huge and absolutely stunning! The mature planting, the folly, varied seating areas and abundance of wildlife provided the perfect outdoor setting. We couldn't believe the garden was all ours for the week! Our booking experience and communication throughout and at the end of our stay both with the owner and staff at Mill House cottages could not have been better or more positive. We really hope to visit the Boat House again in the future and experience it all again - it really is a gem on the River Lune!



Julie Rogers replied more than 1 year ago
Wow ! Amazing review ! Thank you so much. You clearly had a wonderful time at The Boat House. We agree - it is a very special place. Thank you for being such wonderful and appreciative guests !

A wonderful location and super property

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Jul 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely time here - the weather wasn't in our favour - so the hot tub provided a warm location from which to view the flooding river and wild weather conditions. It was a shame we didn't get chance to enjoy the beautiful garden. It really was a gorgeous location.

The master bed was quite small for two people and the bedding was way to warm for summer so we didn't sleep well. Sky needed a fix from the landlord the following day. Apart from that everything was wonderful - especially as the first guests back since Covid lockdown! It might be worth considering the fridge/freezer which we found quite small as we were mostly self catering (many of the restaurants etc were not yet open).

Thank you for a lovely break and all the best for the rest of the season.




Gorgeous Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Boat House was a gorgeous cottage and it was good to receive a brief history from the owners. It was extremely clean and comfortable in a wonderful location. The garden was lovely and the hot tub a bonus overlooking the river. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Boat House.



Beautiful location

Review submitted on Sat, 21 Mar 2020
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Cottage is set in great grounds with lots of outdoor seating giving lovely views
Inside is traditional with modern TV and wifi
Kitchen very small but well equipped with fridge and microwave across coridor
Bedrooms and living rooms spacious and comfortable




A lovely relaxing holiday in beautiful surroundings

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The boathouse is a lovely Victorian building, elegantly and comfortably furnished to be complementary to the house. There are stunning views of the River Lune from many windows. There are footpaths and cyclepaths along the river in each direction on the opposite side of the river. These provide a pleasant easy walk along the Lune to the East, including the Crook O' Lune, another walk into Lancaster (less scenic due to flood work) or, half way to Lancaster you can pick up the canal walk to Hest Bank.
The garden at the cottage is beautiful with lots of options for sitting out in different locations to get different views. The hot tub looks out over the river too, allowing for yet more time relaxing in the lovely surroundings,
The settees in the living room were great for stretching out, the kitchen was well equipped and the promise of seeing wildlife on the Lune from the dining room window seat added extra enjoyment, we saw a kingfisher. The comfortable bed ensured a great night's sleep too. Thanks for a great break.




A beautiful property in a beautiful location

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a perfect location to relax and unwind, enjoying the beautiful location on the river Lune. The house it self is extremely well appointed and no detail has been over looked. The decoration is to a very high specification, the age of the property adds to the ambiance and garden and folly are lovely to sit and enjoy the nature that visits the property, such as herons, kingfishers, otters and birds. We particularly enjoyed the squirrels antics, which we viewed from the sitting room window. The kitchen has everything you need to produce a full dinner should you wish to and a dish washer to clean up afterwards. We found the beds very comfortable and again with lovely bedding and decoration.
Satellite TV and WiFi are supplied and this is an excellent addition.
We had a number of lovely evenings in the outdoor Hottub with a hot toddy in hand.
Finally it’s well situated for country walks, especially the Crook-o-Lune.




Peaceful haven.

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful stay in luxurious surroundings. The views are spectacular, the home is warm and cosy with everything you could possibly need to ensure a relaxed stay, including a welcome hamper.
Very easy booking system with great communication throughout.
Highly recommend.






Julie Rogers replied more than 1 year ago
We are so pleased that had a wonderful time at The Boat House. We think it is amazing too ! Hope to see you again in 2020 Best Wishes. Stephen and Julie

Relaxing mini break

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Myself, my husband and our son stayed at the boathouse for 4 nights from 26th October. We had previously stayed in another mill house property, the cowshed. Which was outstanding, so we booked this property with only seeing pictures of the exterior as it was a new property just getting sorted for bookings. I believe we were the second people to stay. And all I can say is just WOW! We were not disappointed. The property is quite mesmerising as you enter through the ancient archway, the autumnal colours of the leaves and plants was just beautiful. I spent a lot of time sitting in the dining room window seat just staring out at the beautiful scenery and nature. We got to meet Debra who actually owns the property and lived here for a while before letting it out, she was so lovely and helpful. Upon arrival there was milk in the fridge, a bottle of red wine and a home made lemon drizzle cake made by a friend which was a really lovely touch. Although the house is old with original leaded windows, wood floors etc it all adds to the quirkyness of it. There is an amazing contemporary showery room, brand new carpets up the stairs and lovely big comfy beds. If you are looking to book here then don’t hesitate. It was an amazing experience for us. Thanks again to Julie & Stephen at Mill House cottages and to Debra & Simon the owners. We loved it.



Julie Rogers replied more than 1 year ago
We are so delighted you had an amazing time ! The Boat House is a very special and unique property !

perfection!!

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Oct 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
amazing place. nothing bad to say. wouldnt do it justice describing it. you really need to go and enjoy for urself



Julie Rogers replied more than 1 year ago
We are delighted you loved The Boat House ! It really is a very special place to stay!