FB Twitter

Southerdale

Southerdale

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 49 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.9
Location
4.9
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.9


Four Star. Sleeps 2. A romantic hideaway for two people with log burning stove and free wi fi. Amazing views and walks direct from the cottage door

Quiet and comfortable

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful cottage very comfortable and in a lovely place quiet but also convenient for attractions in the area. We will certainly be returning.



We keep coming back

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our 4th stay with Millhouse cottages and we are already planning our 5th. Beautiful location



Gorgeous Bolt Hole

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a fantastic weekend at this cottage. It was beautiful - very clean and gorgeous soft furnishings. It felt very cosy. We will return again in the cooler months so we can enjoy the log burner. Thank you so much Stephen and Julie. It was a pleasure to meet you both.



Objective comment

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Jul 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The accommodation was very comfortable and there will be return visits. It was noticeable, however, that some of the painting and decoration was a bit "tired".



Perfect country getaway

Review submitted on Tue, 15 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We couldn't have asked for a better way to spend a couple of days and nights away. The service from the initial booking to the following email correspondence, to the on-site arrival and meeting, was superb. The hosts were friendly, welcoming and very accommodating to our requirements.
The location is stunning, set in beautiful well maintained grounds with glorious views where ever you look. Our young daughter especially enjoyed the garden and little streams running through it. We also enjoyed exploring the countryside with great walks from the doorstep to the nearest pretty little village and back.
The accommodation was spotless, cosy with a good equipt kitchen.
It really is a place to escape too, we would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it to all.




Sutherdale cottage near Barbon,North yorkshire

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
On arrival we were really taken aback with the beautiful location secluded and very tranquil, rolling hills out all the views and so quiet, perfect for what we wanted to totally relax.
Inside the cottage we was left tea, milk, cookies and coffee and a bottle of nice wine.
The interior was cosy,stylish and very well equiped kitchen, log burner and gorgeous big comfy bed and thick fluffy towels,.
The cottage was very clean
We loved our stay and would reccommend this cottage and the location we would definately book again to explore more walks in this area.




Another lovely stay at Mill House Cottages

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Yet another stay in this small but excellent cottage. Wonderful views in a very peaceful location. Ideally situated near the Lake District, Yorkshire Dales National Park and The Howgill Fells.
We keep returning, because we like staying here and are always made welcome. Hopefully we will return in the very near future.




Perfect week

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Nov 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second visit to Mill House Cottages did not disappoint. The cottage was perfect, with a cosy wood burner for the evenings. The cottage had everything we needed and the generous welcome pack was appreciated. The surrounding landscape is glorious and we enjoyed walking up the fell and along the country lanes. Barbon is an easy walk with a welcoming pub and cheese shop/ deli/ coffee shop. Kirkby Lonsdale is 10 minutes away for supplies but the beauty of Southerdale is being immersed in peaceful countryside. Far field Mill at Sedbergh made a great trip on our only rainy day. Thank you to the team - we would love to return!



A lovely stay, very welcoming & very comfortable. Would certainly stay there again.

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our visit to Mill House Cottages. Cottage very cozy & finished to a high standard. The approaching single track lanes were a challenge but we managed as there is very little traffic on them. Great walks from the door of Southerdale and beautiful surrounding area.



A lovely outlook.

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Jun 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A very well equipped and maintained cottage with lovely outlooks in an outstanding area.

Some people may find the access via narrow lanes a little off putting and others may prefer the bedroom at first floor level capable of being shut-off from the lounge/kitchen - e.g. any noise from downstairs does disturb anyone trying to sleep.

There are also some fairly extensive building works currently underway on the site. So far as I am aware this is not mentioned on the website and there is some degree of noise (I am not aware of what the new buildings will be but if it is creating more units to let I wonder how this will affect the ambience of the location).

Also, to be slightly hyper critical, I thought the guest information could have been improved.




Julie Bolton replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay. We are delighted that you had a good stay. The weather was certainly fantastic for you. Just to clarify, we are building an extension to our house at the moment which will soon be completed. It is not more cottages ! Best Regards

Southerdale

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fabulous stay at Southerdale. The property was perfect for our needs, in beautiful surroundings, incredibly peaceful and only a 10 minute drive to Kirkby Lonsdale. Fabulous walks on the doorstep. We would definitely stay there again.



Wonderful place to stay at any time of the year.

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed here many times and can say with all honesty that my wife and I never go home without having had a wonderful stay. The location couldn't be better, central for most locations in Cumbria and The Yorkshire Dales and a lovely place to return to each day.



Southerdale in November sunshine

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Nov 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay this year at a Millhouse cottage and again it was excellent - a great base to explore the Lakes and Dales.



Perfect bolt hole for a short break

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful short break at Mill House Cottages. Beautiful location which felt far away from our real life yet we were only 10 minutes away from the beautiful village of Kirkby Lonsdale. The cottage was warm , immaculately clean and provided a lovely refuge after a day out in the Lakes or Dales Stephen and Julie are charming hosts. We will definitely return but next time for a longer break.



Comfortable charming little cottage.

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Nov 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful place, owners very welcoming, location good and very well placed for Dales and Lake District, cottage very comfortable and extremely warm and very well presented, a few negatives mattress lumpy a topper might sort this out,lighting in sitting area inadequate for reading and dining area cramped, unacceptable for guests to have to negotiate dog poo, a firmer policy needed for dog owners who don't pick up, but the owner did pick it up when she saw it. We would come again.



Julie Bolton replied more than 1 year ago
It was a pleasure to meet both of you . We are delighted that you had a wonderful time in Southerdale Cottage. As we discussed when you were with us, we were appalled to realise that we had some extremely inconsiderate and irresponsible dog owners were staying in another cottage. The issue only came to light once they had left. Every time a guest wishes to bring a pet into one of our dog friendly cottages, we always check the breed, size, sleeping arrangements and age of the dog to ensure it meets certain criteria. Many of our properties are pet free. It was therefore a huge disappointment to realise that despite our best screening efforts, we had an issue. It is the first time this has ever happened and we will be extremely vigilant going forward.

Little Gem

Review submitted on Wed, 31 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a gorgeous stay at Southerdale Cottage. It is beautifully furnished , immaculately clean and in the most beautiful location. It feels as if you are miles away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life yet it is only 10 minutes drive into Kirkby Lonsdale which has great shops , restaurants and a Booths Supermarket. We enjoyed great walks from the door. Our favourite was the walk across the fell into the lovely village of Barbon where we had lunch in the village store. Stephen and Julie made us very welcome We can't wait to return



Wonderful, luxurious self catering in a fantastic location,

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this luxurious self catering property.
Great location for accessing the Lake District and Yorkshire Dales not to mention the fantastic views from the cottage.
A week just wasn't long enough - we will be back!




One week stay in June.

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Jul 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Good admin and welcome
Very comfortable cottage - shower cubicle v good and spacious.
Laundry facilities good
Good customer service during stay
Remote site but good road access - welcome change from the town.

Winding stair a bit difficult.
Recycling boxes too small and unclear re contents required.




A week in Southerdale

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Jul 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved to stay in Southerdale Cottage. It was our first time in a place like that but we will certainly come back! Nice people amd beautiful surroundings. Very peaceful and quiet and good weather!



Julie replied more than 1 year ago
Lovely to meet you both. We are always thrilled to welcome our European guests and we are delighted that you had a wonderful time in England and Cumbria. Kind regards Stephen and Julie

Perfect base for exploring the Lakes

Review submitted on Tue, 31 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Immaculately presented and maintained cottage provides the perfect base for exploring the Lakes and the surrounding countryside.

We've been enjoying an annual stay for the last 10 years and will be back again next year!




Julie . Mill House Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you ! As ever, lovely to see you again and thank you so much for your on-going loyalty Kind regards Stephen and julie

Southerdale Cottage, Middleton, Cumbria

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at Mill Cottages many times, it is always good to return. Whatever the weather we always enjoy being here and the area is completely unspoilt, but has plenty of opportunities for every type of activity.



Walking Weekend

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Oct 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having stayed in Northerdale a couple of years ago we were confident of another warm and cosy cottage to return to after walking the wilds of Lancashire! Southerdale did not disappoint. The welcoming tray was full of goodies and the cottage is equipped with everything you could need. Great shower, comfortable bed and a log burner which tried hard to tempt us not to venture outside! There are fabulous places to eat within a short drive and beautiful walks to work off the excess! We appreciated the owners popping round to check all was well and are very happy to highly recommend their properties.



We keep wanting to come back.

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We first stayed in Southerdale in 2005. Our stay this time was just as enjoyable as the first.At the point of turning off the M6 to head for Mill House Cottages we feel relaxed knowing we are going to be staying in a house that feels like a home. Looking out over the hills though the window from your bed is just magic! Julie and Stephen are on hand to help with anything you might need and always make you feel welcome.
We left planning our next stay.




Second stay at Southerdale.

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit.
Love the location to both Lake District and Yorkshire Dales National Parks.
Cottage lovely and comfortable.
Will return again!




Another wonderful holiday!

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another wonderful stay at Millhouse cottages. This time at Southerdale. First time since it's 'make-over' and very impressed too! The shower is a great improvement, I could stay in it for ages. The bed was so comfortable I thought I was at home! Cannot recommend these cottages enough. All are immaculate and cosy. And the surroundings are breathtaking, I really hate leaving.




Idyllically located cosy cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Aug 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thoroughly enjoyable stay in scenic and peaceful location. Lovely cottage with warm welcome from friendly and helpful owners. Would highly recommend.



Perfect!

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We celebrated a birthday at Mill House Cottages with all of the family coming together. The setting was perfect, relaxed and just what was required for a short break. Kirkby is only 10 - 15 minutes drive away and has plenty of excellent restaurants to enjoy. I would strongly advise Avanti Resturant for an evening meal (book in advance).

My parents stayed in Southerdale and it really is wonderful decorated, exceptionally clean and well maintained. Plenty of room for 2 people to enjoy the comforts of a country cottage. Everything they needed (kitchen, comfort, guide wise) was thought of, the bed was lovely and excellent wifi signal, which wasn't exactly a strong requirement of theirs, however it was a surprise considering the location of the cottage.

Highly recommended as a relaxing spot and base to explore the lakes.




Perfect cosy hideaway for two

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Aug 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 4 night stay here was idyllic. The location was rural at its best. The fells were outside the front door, with outstanding views. Peaceful and a perfect hideaway for a couple who wish to escape the daily chaos of life. The cottage was warm, cosy and spotlessly clean, with a huge super king size bed that was so comfy. Highly recommended.



Good Location.

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jul 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very clean cottage in a great location. However it is quite small compared to others we have stayed in that were not as expensive. Very narrow and long access lane.



Outstanding Service - Fantastic cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved Southerdale Cottage. Having searched for a cottage which was remote enough to escape from city life, yet had easy access to the area, shops and restaurants,we found the dream.
Perfect in every way. We will return.




Perfect Relaxation

Review submitted on Sun, 24 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just spent 5 days at "Southerdale", cottage, views and surrounding area PERFECT. Enjoyed some wonderful walks and meals, but best of all was coming back to the cottage in the evening, sitting outside and watching the sun go down behind the hills, and listening to the sheep and birds in the fields.The village of Barbon, with its lovely pub, and Churchmouse Cheeses just 5 mins down the road, and Kirby Lonsdale just a little further on, with its Old Fashioned sweet shop, and bakery, what more could you want. A welcome basket on arrival, with bread, wine, homemade jam, butter and a cake. Looking forward to a return visit soon.



Lovely cottage in beautiful location

Review submitted on Tue, 19 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely break at Southerdale Cottage. Everything was perfect. Thank you to Stephen and Julie for first class but unobtrusive service during our stay



Julie Bolton replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again in the future Best Regards Julie

Romantic n quiet hide away.

Review submitted on Mon, 18 May 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Well appointed cottage with fantastic views. Peaceful location ( plenty of local walks).
Almost everything you could need in the kitchen, but provision of crockery n glasses on the low side. ( Only two mugs and two beakers for example).




Fantastic relaxing stay

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Apr 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cottage, with everything you could need. Very comfortable and cosy with the log burning fire. Peaceful and rural location, great views and plenty of walks. Was everything we were hoping for as a little get-a-away



Julie Bolton: Owner replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to review Southerdale. We are delighted that you had such a great time and made the most of the local area - including your energetic walk up the fell ! Our dogs loved the fact that they could tag along and hope you will return soon !

As ever.................outstanding!

Review submitted on Tue, 31 Mar 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our return visits to Mill House Cottages are always much anticipated. This was the first to Southerdale but, as always, didn't disappoint. Attention to detail is meticulous and, even though small, the cottage feels luxurious and is superbly equipped. The location is stunning, with fabulous views from every aspect and excellent walks straight from the door. Julie and Stephen are perfect hosts - exceedingly welcoming and helpful but unobtrusive unless needed. We couldn't fault it.



Beautiful cosy cottage, great location.

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Mar 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent four idyllic February nights in 'Southerdale' it is a very cosy well equipped cottage with luxury furnishings and everything you need for a happy and relaxing stay. Its' location in a gorgeous peaceful valley with walks from the door, is also close to the town of Kirby Lonsdale. The owners, Julie and Stephen are on hand should you need them to ensure your holiday is the best!



Short getaway

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Oct 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fantastic cottage perfectly located in the middle of nowhere for quiet nights and long walks. Close enough to Kirkby Lonsdale, ingleton and the Lake District if a day trip is desired. The log burner and welcome pack were very very welcome!!



Amazing short break

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I can't fault anything, we had an amazing weekend at the cottage. The quality is of a very high standard and all the little extras were so lovely. Highly recommend for short or longer stays.



September 2014

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Sep 2014
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Lovely hamper awaiting on arrival. Rooms very compact, but cosy. Good bathroom with walk in shower. Kitchen well equipped. Location right next to fells, ideal for what we wanted to do - played golf, walked and visited NT properties. Good cheese shop and tea room in neighbouring village, and plenty of places to eat in Kirkby Lonsdale, Sedburgh and surrounding villages. Roads to property are single track, so some reversing skills necessary.



A wonderful stay!

Review submitted on Fri, 12 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We just returned from a two week stay in lovely Southerdale Cottage.
What a beautiful location and property!
Everything is provided for a very comfortable stay .
Furnishings and deco are tasteful and cozy.
Welcome hamper was very much appreciated.
Thanks Stephen and Julie, and, to your assistant Sarah!
We will return!




Perfect holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Aug 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a perfect holiday in Southerdale. Cottage was comfortable and nice, surroundings beautiful, weather perfect so everything attributed to this wonderful fortnight. Made some walks, visited some little towns and places, read some books and enjoyed the quietness and rest. What can a person ask more of a perfect holiday!



mini moon at the southerdale

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Aug 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing tranquil cottage in an outstanding location. It was just perfect! It was obvious that so much attention was placed on the decor and even the kitchen utensils!!! Everything was of high quality and we will most definitely be returning in the near future. Big thankyou to stephen and julie.



Lovely Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Jul 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage in beautiful setting.Cottage in excellent condition,very clean, welcoming hosts and great welcome pack.
Well situated for touring the Lakes and Yorkshire Dales. My husband and I enjoyed our stay very much.




Beautiful cottage close to the Lake District

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Jun 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Southerdale is a beautifully appointed and maintained cottage to which we have returned many times over the past 10 years. Great location close to the lakes.





Mill house cottages in May.

Review submitted on Mon, 19 May 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely looking cottage at the foot of the fells, easy access down typical country lanes.
Nice and clean and all the appliances one could need for a stay away from home, especially the dishwasher, who wants to be washing dishes on holiday?
Nice finishing touches to make the cottage homely.
The bedroom was nicely furnished especially with the en suite.




One of the best!

Review submitted on Thu, 08 May 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely, comfortable cottage for two people who want the peace and seclusion of the countryside and fells but with good access to shops, pubs, restaurants and other amenities. We have been going for years now, and can't speak highly enough of the cottages, which are kept in immaculate condition, and the warmth of welcome by the owners, Julie and Stephen.



A perfectly tranquil and heavenly retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Nov 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My brothers and I sent our parents to Southerdale for their ruby wedding. Having been before I knew they'd just love it. Having new owners apprars not to have spoilt any of its charm. Here's what they said: "Julie looked after us so well. We arrived to a hamper of local produce which was very appreciated. Next morning we had 6 eggs delivered to the door. The location is just amazing. The accommodation is spotless and very cozy. The real fire finishes it off perfectly". Thank you Julie



The Best of the Lune Valley

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Nov 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a late October week in Southerdale part of Millhouse Cottages. Southerdale offered excellent accommodation. This house for two is immaculately clean, comfortable, warm and very pretty. The views from the windows are beautiful, the welcome hamper full of delicious treats and the lanes leading to the house absolutely delightful.



Highly recommend

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Oct 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage is in a lovely location, so peaceful, certainly a place to unwind. Southerdale is a very cosy cottage with everything you need, So close to the Lakes and also Yorkshire, there are so many places to visit. Highly recommend this property.



Julie Bolton replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Gill. It was lovely to meet you both. We are so pleased that you enjoyed discovering Southerdale Cottage. Thank you for your kind feedback