FB Twitter

Settlebeck Cottage

Settlebeck Cottage

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 34 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.8
Location
4.6
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.8


Four Star. Sleeps 4. Most suitable for 2 adults and 2 children. Situated in Sedbergh- England's Book Town-this contemporary and stylish accommodation is set over three floors in a converted workhouse. Both bedrooms are en-suite. Just a few minutes' walk from the River and the centre of Sedbergh

Cosy cottage.

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Sep 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Parking outside cottage a little tight due to width of "drive",also suggested car park down the road doesn't allow overnight parking. May be busy during term time as very close to school.Both bedrooms large and comfy,bathrooms spacious too. Living room adequate in size as was kitchen.
A few things need to be repaired eg. Knob on oven,handle on cistern and one bar stool.
Good base for walking and exploring the area.




Excellent property, location and owners

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Apr 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage, lovely location. Very comfortable, clean. Hosts superb; excellent booking experience and follow up. Had one very small hiccup with ignition on gas fire on first morning, but owner came out immediately and changed the battery and got everything working again. Also arrived to find a welcome pack, which was very nice. All in all, very enjoyable holiday. Would return again.

Only slight negative for me was there was no external space to lock up/store a bike, but, I knew this when booking and the owners did offer me the opportunity to lock my bike up at their property a few miles away.




A real gem

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is conveniently located at the edge of Sedbergh, close to amazing walks along the Rawthey river. The two of us enjoyed the space spread over three floors.

We appreciated the quality of the soft furnishings and the comfortable bed.

Walking on the public footpaths on the hills and in Sedbergh was a real treat. Plenty of places in Sedbergh to eat.




Pretty cottage in great location

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay at Settlebeck Cottage. It is beautifully furnished and very cosy. Great base for touring the lakes and Dales. Very welcoming to come back to each day. Thoroughly recommend. Thank you Stephen and Julie for all your help.



Ideal family getaway, kids loved the cottage!

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Aug 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Nice quiet location to get away from it all. Lovely scenic setting. We'r a family of four and when we arrived the cottage felt very cosy with the fire set for us arriving. We enjoyed walks around the area and the little village town of Sedbergh. The tennis court was a hit with the kids but no tennis racquets? Or maybe we didn't find them and we were lucky to have good weather too!. Good places to eat in nearby Kendal and a visit to Windermere is a must!! So much to do and see. South Lakes Safari Zoo was very impressive with lots of animals to see up close and hand feed too. The nearby Spar was very handy for bits & pieces. The shops in the little Main Street were great such as the chip shop & sweetie shop. We also ordered a take away from the Indian Restaurant Aamilahs and food was amazing not too spicy. People really friendly in the town. Overall a great escape and would highly recommend it.



Brilliant modern accommodation in a historical building to a very high standard

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From start to finish the accommodation and service provided by Julie and Stephen at Settlebeck Cottage can only be described as excellent. The cottage is very contemporary inside yet retains the historical exterior. It is over three levels and each level is spacious with large sized rooms. Even the bathrooms on the two bedroom levels are large and tastefully decorated and fitted out.

This cottage is genuinely luxurious with high quality fittings, linen, large fluffy towels and comfortable modern furnishings.

WiFi works very well and it is really nice sitting in the lounge area on the ground floor, with its large window and to look out onto the quiet street while working or addressing emails, or simply just reading and relaxing.

Very comfortable bed (we only used the top floor as there were two of us). The middle floor contains the twin beds. The kitchen is nicely set up with a round central glass table and swivel chairs to optimise space and is finished to a high standard. The whole cottage is very well appointed with the things you may need and also thoughtful extras. The cottage was very clean. There is a balanced mix of wood, carpet and stone floors so the cottage has a warm feel and is not cold or sterile. It has great atmosphere. Heating worked perfectly.

We were also presented with a welcome hamper which included wine, bread and a gourmet jam on arrival, which was extremely thoughtful and appreciated.

Both Julie and Stephen dropped by to check that all was okay and all prior communication was simple, clear and timely.

The area is quiet and it only takes a few minutes to walk into the centre of the village.

Parking is provided and gaining access to the cottage is easy. The area is safe and peaceful.

This is the only place that we would stay at if we returned to Sedbergh in the future (we are from Australia). We would definitely recommend this cottage to anyone seeking luxury accommodation in a village setting. (Factor in there are stairs if you have any issues in managing steps/stairs).




Very comfortable, cosy cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jun 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay at Settlebeck cottage. The beds were very comfortable and we loved the window seats. Any issues were dealt with swiftly.
My only suggestions would be- some tennis rackets and a ball, so that we could have enjoyed the tennis courts, and that the table and chairs in the kitchen are quite unsteady so drinks are easily spilt (by the children).
Thank you for a lovely holiday.




Julie . Mill House Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Thank yo for your review. We are delighted that you had such a great time . Thank you for the feedback on the tennis rackets - great idea! i will put some in and will ask Stephen to take a look at the kitchen table. Best Regards

Fantastic place to stay

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Apr 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We really enjoyed our stay at Settlebeck Cottage. It was a perfect home from home in a fantastic location for exploring the Lake District and the Yorkshire Dales.



Easter Weekend break

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was a good location and was well thought out to meet our need. Also Yorkshire Dales and South lakes not to far away. The Dalesman pub was a really nice place to eat.



Great short break in the Yorkshire Dales

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you very much for letting us stay in your lovely cottage. We had a wonderful holiday and enjoyed exploring the Lake District and Yorkshire Dales as the cottage is in a fantastic location for both of these national parks. The cottage itself is a beautifully furnished, warm and very welcoming base to return to at the end of the day. It was fantastic to have two large bedrooms, each with their own facilities. We especially loved the fire in the sitting room which was a lovely feature and gave the room a glow!
We will definitely recommend this property to our family and friends. Thank you once again..




Thank you for a great stay

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic little cottage in village location with easy access into the Lake Disttict and Yorkshire Dales. The cottage is really cosy and warm , immaculately clean , and we loved Sedbergh itself. Thank you for a great stay. We would love to come back for a longer period in the summer



First class

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Dec 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a beautiful cottage. Very clean and comfortable. All the furishings and facilities are to a high standard. Brilliant communication and helpfulness from the owner. We enjoyed our Christmas break very much and will certainly be back in the future.



perfectly gorgeous

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was beautiful. Perfect for a quiet weekend away.
Spotless. Comfortable and just perfect.
Booking was easy and everything was as it said.
Beautiful.




Great for family active outdoor holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Sep 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very cosy, clean and warm cottage with well-equipped kitchen and extremely comfortable beds. Lovely welcoming basket with edible and alcoholic goodies. The bathrooms are spacious with good water pressure in the middle floor bathroom. The only thing to consider is: we were able to park outside the cottage but if there were cars parked outside both adjacent houses, or if we had a wider car such as a 4-wheel drive, we would have had to park on the road opposite or in the nearby car park.



Week in summer

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Aug 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage very nicely renovated. Feels quite newly done and fresh. Quite dark but cosy. No outdoor area but lots to do outside anyway. Great area near enough to lakes and to coast and to Yorkshire dales to have lots to do. Stairs could be difficult if not fit and able or for small children as cottage on three floors and stairs steep and wonky typical cottage. Very well equipped home from home.



Quintessential English Cottage at its Best!

Review submitted on Sat, 27 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We don't have quaint stone cottages everywhere in Australia, so staying in one in the beautiful Cumbrian countryside was such a treat...and having the beck at the rear of the cottage was just sooo lovely... listening to it and the black birds in the gardens was for me, so relaxing and so quintessentially English! The cottage really was very spacious (like the Tardis in Dr Who!), so warm and so welcoming. The quirky staircases and thickness of the walls were just amazing to us Aussies...and the floorboards were incredible. The cottage was very well appointed with quality crockery, fittings and furnishings. The cottage was also perfectly placed for our visiting Lake Windermere in the Lakes District (what a stunning area of beauty that is!) and at the opposite side, to Barnard Castle, Co. Durham where Bowes Museum is located (you gotta visit that place!). The scenery all around was so incredibly beautiful, but we looked forward to going back to the lovely, welcoming, warm and comfortable cottage at the end of each day. It was only 60 miles to Gretna Green in Scotland, so we headed there for lunch after our sad departure from this cottage. We would love to have stayed for much longer! Accompanying my husband and I, was my Aunt and Uncle from Nottinghamshire - neither of them had been to the area before and they have vowed they will return. If hubby and I are ever back over in England, we shall definitely want to stay in Settlebeck Cottage again and have told and will continue to tell our friends of this fabulous cottage. Thank you!



Cosy Cottage in Great Location

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our short break in this very cosy cottage which is immaculately clean and beautifully furnished.
The bedrooms are huge and both bathrooms are exceptional, especially the large walk in shower room on the second floor.
Settlebeck is perfectly located for taking in the best of The Lakes and The Dales. I have no hesitation in recommending it.




comfortable and cosy!

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Apr 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very comfortable place to stay with everything you need. Well appointed and pleasantly decorated throughout to a high standard. Nice cosy lounge with instant warmth from the gas fire which helps when you are up in the Yorkshire Dales! Nice touch with basket of food on arrival which we did not necessarily expect on a short stay like ours. Would thoroughly recommend to others.



Cosy comfortable cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Mar 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An excellent, well-equipped cosy cottage in a great location. We particularly liked the fireplace. It's a short walk to Sedbergh village which is handy for food, pubs and places to eat.
It's a good location if you want explore the Lake District and the Yorkshire Dales. Owners were easy to reach and helpful.




Great place

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Mar 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
a very well equipped and clean cottage. Very impressive and bathrooms super clean and great shower. the only downsides is lack of light in sitting room I felt it was too dark to see. ipod dock for music and dvd player would have been nice extras. some type of privacy net would have been handy in sitting room as its on a busyish road.



Great place

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Mar 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
a very well equipped and clean cottage. Very impressive and bathrooms super clean and great shower. the only downsides is lack of light in sitting room I felt it was too dark to see. ipod dock for music and dvd player would have been nice extras. some type of privacy net would have been handy in sitting room as its on a busyish road.



Lovely Cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Dec 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cottage in a lovely location would recommend to anyone. Fully equipped with everything you would need. Ideal location for lovely walks. Close enough to walk into Town.



Lovely relaxing stay

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Nov 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and I enjoyed a relaxing few days in settlebeck - lovely cosy cottage with incredibly comfy beds! Recommend the 3 Hares cafe for baked goods and a friendly welcome, the grocers for an amazing range of produce and cautley spout for a bracing walk! Also enjoyed Ingleton and cycling Buttertups...

Thanks for the welcome basket - much appreciated biscuits and wine.





Settlebeck

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Nov 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful cottage full of character and very welcoming. The location was great - easy to access beautiful countryside all around with glimpses of the Howgills from the windows.



Cosy cottage in the Dales

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very clean and comfortable cottage. Superb location with easy access to both the Lakes and The Dales.
Cottage is cosy and beautifully decorated. Downstairs space is a bit tight for 4 adults but perfect for 2 adults or for a family with 2 children. Stephen and Julie could not have been more helpful.




Great short break

Review submitted on Thu, 18 Sep 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This break was to spend some quality time with our Uncle & Auntie from Leicestershire whilst we were visiting from Australia and we all found the cottage to be very welcoming, comfortable & cosy. Whilst we didn't get to meet Stephen & Julie, the welcome basket was great and we received a lovely welcome note from them, as we were out and about when they called by.



Fantastic Cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Aug 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Delightful cottage that is spotlessly clean. The owners have gone that extra mile to make the stay both comfortable and enjoyable, all appliances are of a good standard and there is plenty of information in the cottage for days out. The cottage itself is warm and cosy and access to the local town is just a short walk for all amenities. The cottage is perfectly situated to visit both the Yorkshire Dales and the lakes. I will and have recommended this cottage to friends and family. Thank you again we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.



Great cottage in lovely Sedbergh

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Aug 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a lovely snug and well equipped cottage. It's location is ideal for ramblers and real ale fans! There are heaps of flat and fell walks from the door. The owners were really good and went out of their way to help. Loved listening the sound of the beck behind the cottage and the huge bed in the master room.



Sublime walking country

Review submitted on Fri, 02 May 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a lovely stay over Easter at Settlebeck Cottage, the cottage was gorgeous and it was a welcome sight to arrive to a nice hamper with a lovely bottle of Italian red! Set in the Yorkshire Dales, it is a fabulous cottage, well kitted out with plenty of comfort.



Chilling out

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Apr 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cosy cottage in great location, handy for Lakes and Dales. It is small but very well-equipped. Sedbergh is well-served for eating out. You won't need to cook, though the owners may bring you some tasty free range eggs and it would be a shame not to try them.
There is loads to do. We had a real good mix of caves, Go Ape at Grizedale, a walk above Haweswater, Levens Hall for its amazing topiary, Kendal, Windermere and fell walking at Sedbergh.
The Dalesman pub is good for food and beer, the Red Lion has great meat from the local butcher (stock up before you leave), the local chippie is sensational, the Indian fine but the service was a little slow.
There are some great local products such as Sedbergh soap and lotions and potions from the Bath House. Check out the arts centre down the road too.




Country Break

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Mar 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent six wonderful days in the cottage.Despite the weather we were able to do several walks from the doorstep.Coming back to the warm dry cottage at the end of the day was a real pleasure. Very relaxing and just the place to get away from it all but still go and fetch the daily paper and find a good place to eat.



Fantastic cottage for a couple or small family

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Jan 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Settlebeck with our 8 month old baby and found it very well equipped, lovely and warm, and extremely comfortable. The whole cottage was nicely furnished and both bedrooms are spacious. The entire place was spotlessly clean and had everything we needed. We felt very much at home there during our stay and would definitely recommend it.



Delightful cottage in a beautiful location!

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Nov 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fabulous time staying in Settlebeck, a delightful cottage in Sedbergh! It was extremely comfortable and beautifully presented! We were welcomed by a basket of goodies and lovely wine when we arrived. The owners Julie and Stephen were very friendly and helpful. They made us feel very welcomed! We enjoyed walks from the cottage and it was very easy to explore the area by car as well. We will certainly return next year and will be recommending Mill House Cottages to our friends and family.



a wonderful experience in a very special cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Oct 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We did love staying at Settlebeck cottage: my personal dream is to own a cottage and that is an amazing cottage, with a design twist and all comforts.

Very peaceful, close to the Lake District but also to Yorkshire, we were able to visit all Northern England going up to Scotland too and we managed to bring some of our Italian sun too!!!!

The bedrooms and bathrooms are awesome, the kitchen provides everything you may need.

Fantastic cottage for an unforgettable stay!





Julie Bolton replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Anna Thank you so much for your kind review. We are so glad that you had a wonderful time. We are very much looking forward to coming to Italy to experience your new Cookery School and enjoy the recipes in your new cookery book