FB Twitter

The Rock View Apartment Edinburgh Old Town

The Rock View Apartment Edinburgh Old Town

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 12 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.8
Location
4.8
Value
4.3
Customer
Service
5.0


In the heart of Edinburgh’s historic Old Town, in a lovely quiet spot with views to Arthur’s Seat, the two bedroom Rock View Apartment is your perfect smart holiday home from home. Situated 2 minutes from the Holyrood end of the Royal Mile, everything that Edinburgh city has to offer is a few minutes walk from here, and a selection of tasty eateries and cafes are on your doorstep. It’s spacious living areas are flooded with light, and the flat has the convenience of a lift/elevator, private roof terrace and onsite parking space. Pure white 200 count Egyptian cotton bed linen and memory foam with pocket spring mattresses provide the ultimate in comfort for a great night sleep.

Enjoyable stay at The Rock View Apartment

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Sep 2022
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at The Rock View Apartment for just over a week during the Fringe in August.

Emil got in touch just after our flight arrived and met us at the apartment, where he gave us a tour to help us settle in. The apartment is in a good location at the bottom end of the Royal Mile, within walking distance of most of the places we visited during our stay (and as one member of our party struggles with stairs, we really appreciated having lift access). It was very nicely decorated and was a comfortable base for the four of us: the bedrooms were a little on the small side, but the beds were great and we appreciated the spacious built-in wardrobes. It was also really useful having two bathrooms between us. For provisions, Tesco Express is literally next door, which was another plus point, and on check-out day, we were able to leave our cases in the apartment for a couple of hours, which was a huge help and very much appreciated.

There were just a couple of (minor) negative points to mention. We could have done with a hand towel for the kitchen, a bigger tea towel (the one provided was tiny) and some cleaning cloths for the kitchen surfaces (we would expect these to be provided). We also would have preferred a coffee table in the lounge rather than the stool, as anyone sitting in the middle of the sofa had to either hold their drinks or put them on the floor. Finally, there were a couple of things the cleaners must have missed, which was a bit disappointing.

Overall we had a very good stay, and I would certainly recommend The Rock View Apartment to anyone looking for a base in Edinburgh.





Howard from Northampton stayed at The Rock View Apartment Edinburgh Old Town for 8 nights in August 2022


Edinburgh Old Town Holiday Apartments replied 68 days ago
Hi Pauline many thanks for taking the time to leave your review - it's lovely to hear that you enjoyed the location of the apartment to be very handy for exploring Edinburgh and conveniently situated near shops! We supply one full size tea towel and cleaning cloth in the kitchen as well as 2 normal towels per guest. There are 2 side tables in the living area and a tray is provided that can be used on the large central stool for drinks. I'm sorry that you thought there had been a couple of small areas of cleaning missed, my housekeepers are very fastidious - I have passed your feedback onto them. We do ask all of our guests to let us know straight away if there is anything that needs attention - we would have been round straight away to sort this if you had let us know! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and would look forward to welcoming you again!

Rock at Rock View

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Aug 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The apartment was as advertised. Good location to Royal Mile, restaurants and drinking establishments. Ridge to Arthur’s Seat visible from balcony. Private parking a plus, since we were walking to most locales. Communication, directions and meeting host all no problem. Second bedroom on small side. Value good though during Fringe festival cost was at a premium.

Larry from Livermore stayed at The Rock View Apartment Edinburgh Old Town for 3 nights in August 2022


Edinburgh Old Town Holiday Apartments replied 68 days ago
Very glad you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for leaving your review. We hope to welcome you back again!

An excellent location

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jun 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed staying at the Rock View Apartment very much. Check in was a breeze (thanks to Emil). An apartment that awaited was clean and smart. Well stocked kitchen with all the appliances (except a dryer). The only thing was that the floors creaked. Great location, close to the Royal Mile.

Susan from stayed at The Rock View Apartment Edinburgh Old Town for 5 nights in June 2022


Edinburgh Old Town Holiday Apartments replied 68 days ago
Many thanks for leaving your review. Really delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope to welcome you back sometime!

Lovely stay

Review submitted on Tue, 17 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great apartment with fabulous view in a great location 5 minutes from the Scottish parliament and the royal mile. Easy instructions and we were met at the address to collect the keys and be given an explanation of what to do.
Great friendly service from Jo having booked it pre Covid we went several years later than expected and would definitely recommend.


Karen from Leeds stayed at The Rock View Apartment Edinburgh Old Town for 2 nights in May 2022


Edinburgh Old Town Holiday Apartments replied 68 days ago
So glad you got to have your stay with us at last! Really delighted that you enjoyed it and hope to be able to host you again in the future!

Lovely apartment in a great location

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Feb 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Firstly, the apartment was clean, bright and well equipped and all furniture and fittings of good quality. The hosts met us on time and were very helpful.
Secondly a perfect location for sightseeing around Edinburgh and a lovely view of Arthur’s seat.
Would we stay here again, most definitely


Guest from stayed at The Rock View Apartment Edinburgh Old Town for 2 nights in February 2022


Excellent

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely clean well equiped apartment with lovely furnishings in good location. Walking distance from train station.

Rachel from stayed at The Rock View Apartment Edinburgh Old Town for 2 nights in June 2021


Jo replied more than 1 year ago
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Rock View Apartments and found the location to be handy, and enjoyed the furnishings. We would love to host you again at some point in the future!

Great location for old and new town

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Jun 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved the views of Salisbury Crags and the location. Very easy for Arthur’s Seat, Old Town and New Town.

Flat was clean and modern and is well equipped with everything you might need on a short city break.

May come again. Would recommend.


Emily from stayed at The Rock View Apartment Edinburgh Old Town for 3 nights in June 2021


Edinburgh Old Town Holiday Apartments replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks for your review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and hope to welcome you again!

Comfortable accommodation in a great location

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Apr 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The apartment was very clean and comfortable. The location is excellent for proximity to the Royal Mile, Holyrood and the parkland along Queens Drive; the secure parking is a real bonus. There was very little open during our stay (whilst attending a funeral) but the nearby Tesco Express was adequate for food and provisions. Our only gripe was that the property was very cold when we arrived - it had been empty for some months - although it did warm up once the heating was increased. We would definitely consider staying here if we visit Edinburgh again.

Carol from Thetford stayed at The Rock View Apartment Edinburgh Old Town for 4 nights in March 2021


Good Location for exploring Edinburgh

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Oct 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved this apartment, it was clean, comfortable and ideally placed to explore Edinburgh.
The apartment was perfectly clean, and bed super comfortable......and huge!! There were only 2 of us in this 4 berth apartment, but would be spacious enough for 4 guests, given that there are 2 bathrooms. Comfortable sitting/dining room, with large TV for your entertainment. The kitchen, is small but well equipped. My only grumble, and it is one I have found in other holiday lets, is there was no cupboard available (other than the fridge) to store food. As we visited Edinburgh during the pandemic 'Firebreak', announced by the Scottish Parliament restaurants and pubs were closed, so we had to cater for ourselves. Not a problem as we brought food with us, but there was no cupboard in which to store groceries. All the other cupboards were full of kitchen equipment, crockery, glasses etc, which meant the worktop became quite cluttered.
One other thing my husband struggled with was the lack of a thermostat for the heating, maybe we missed it!! It would have been nice to turn down the temperature sometimes, as it was a little too warm for our liking.
Small points in an otherwise ideal apartment, a home away from home.
Loads to do in and around Edinburgh, even when the weather is unkind, would definitely come again.




Bernie from Nottingham stayed at The Rock View Apartment Edinburgh Old Town for 7 nights in October 2020


Great location and good safe parking.

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Good location and just 5 minutes from “the royal mile’
Smart two bedroom apartment with good safe parking with gated entry.


David from stayed at The Rock View Apartment Edinburgh Old Town for 3 nights in August 2020


Mrs

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great apartment within easy walking distance to all the sights and attractions, lovely old town and Arthur's seat location.

Sian from Ferryhill, Aberdeen stayed at The Rock View Apartment Edinburgh Old Town for 3 nights in August 2020


Clean, easy check in and parking

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Aug 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
All you need for a short stay in Edinburgh . Good location, walking distance to the sites of the city centre.

Liz from Crowthorne stayed at The Rock View Apartment Edinburgh Old Town for 3 nights in July 2020