FB Twitter

Margaret Street Cottage

Margaret Street Cottage

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 63 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.7
Location
4.7
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.7


Situated in Avoch, sleeps up to 5 guests in 2 bedrooms. Situated close to the shore, local amenities and a short drive from Chanonry Point in Fortrose - a dolphin spotting national haven.

A Delightful Stay in Margaret Street

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a delightful stay in Margaret Street. The house is in a quiet location and is ideally placed for visiting our daughter nearby. The house was spotlessly clean on our arrival and generously supplied with towels and hand wash etc. The kitchen was very well equipped, which was much appreciated, as we were self catering most of the time. The house includes a large outdoor area and also a comfy sitting room. We would unhesitatingly recommend it as a place to stay when visiting this beautiful part of Scotland.

Nigel from Wetherby stayed at Margaret Street Cottage for 7 nights in August 2019


Avoch Margaret Street Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely comfortable cottage in a very interesting and friendly village and really enjoyed our stay there.

Garrow from Helensburgh stayed at Margaret Street Cottage for 7 nights in August 2019


Comfortable cottage in lovely location

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The kitchen was well equipped, the beds were comfortable and the lounge was a lovely place to relax. The enclosed garden was nice to enjoy the sunshine and great for our dog.

Margaret from Glasgow stayed at Margaret Street Cottage for 14 nights in June 2019


Short Stay

Review submitted on Sun, 12 May 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful cottage Easy to locate All items needed stocked in the home. Made for a comfortable short stay.

Joanne from Johnstone stayed at Margaret Street Cottage for 6 nights in May 2019


Great cottage and great location

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Apr 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was very comfortable and the enclosed garden was a delightful place to sit and relax in the sun. It was convenient for all amenities.

Guest from Peterborough stayed at Margaret Street Cottage for 5 nights in April 2019


Cottage beside the beach

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Sep 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Super cottage 2 minutes walk from a sandy/ shingles beach.
Lovely comfortable beds. Cosy in the evenings with a multifuel fire.
Plenty log in the shed too.
Ideal setting for a peaceful stress free break. Also within driving distance to Urquhart Castle, Fort Augusta. Chanory point is a must to see the dolphins ( we did & wow )
I’d recommend with 5* this fine example of a fisherman’s cottage.


Carole from Ellesmere Port stayed at Margaret Street Cottage for 7 nights in September 2018


Nice comfortable cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Nice comfortable cottage in quiet location. Close to local amenities. Everything you need for a relaxing break

Richard from Crewe stayed at Margaret Street Cottage for 14 nights in August 2018


Summer by the Sea

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Aug 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We enjoyed our stay in Avoch. The cottage was fine but in need of some up dating. The lighting was poor in the sitting room and the main lights had to be on if one wanted to read.
Neither the refrigerator nor the freezer were on when we arrived so our shopping bought in a large Tesco’s near the airport had to be put into a warm fridge! The freezer was replaced the next day and our defrosted prawns were kindly paid for by the owner.
We loved staying in Avoch and we would certainly stay again.


Cheryl from Wells stayed at Margaret Street Cottage for 7 nights in August 2018


Margaret Street Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Jun 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We have been renting this cottage numerous times during the past 8 years, and we like it. The location, dog friendly, are both big pluses. We were considering renting in February next year, but the storage heaters seem to have a mind of their own, coming on when they aren't needed, or maybe there is a way of programming them that is beyond my skill level. The only other minus is, at last there is wifi in the cottage, however it seems to be overwhelmed, and stops working at peak times, so not very reliable.
Those are the minuses for this property, as we are happy with everything else. We must be happy, as we are frequent visitors, and a lot of time is spent at Chanonry Point taking photos of the dolphins.


James from Falkirk stayed at Margaret Street Cottage for 7 nights in June 2018


Kitty, owner of Margaret Street Cottage replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you had difficulties with the heating and internet during your stay on this occasion. The weather has been very warm this summer in the Highlands :), the night storage heaters need to be switched off at the wall to stop them storing heat overnight and putting this out during the day. I’m always available on the phone and live not far away and would have been happy to pop down to help with this but didn’t hear from you ? :( Regretfully, due to the rural Highland location the speed of the internet can be stretched at certain times, BT are continually working on improving this. As there wasn’t internet at the cottage on your previous stays and when you booked hopefully you still found it to be a bonus. I do hope that you will visit again soon.

Margaret Street Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 14 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay in Margaret Street Cottage and will certainly stay here again. Everything about this property and location is just perfect. Spotlessly clean and excellent value for money. The secure dog friendly garden meant our two dogs had a great holiday too.

Marlyn from Aberdeen stayed at Margaret Street Cottage for 7 nights in May 2018


Always a wonderful stay!

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My family and I have stayed at this beautiful cottage many times over the years, as my sister lives in the village. It is always such a lovely place to stay; homely, well equipped, clean and comfortable. I highly recommend Margaret Street Cottage for anyone planning a trip to the Black Isle.

Guest from London stayed at Margaret Street Cottage for 7 nights in April 2018


...........................

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0







Lovely cottage, really well equipped. ...............................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................


Zoe from Haslemere stayed at Margaret Street Cottage for 3 nights in April 2018


Beautifull Black Isle

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Mar 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely week with my dog.
The cottage was great, cosy and warm especially with the log burner, and has a back garden for the dog.
All supplies you need were there including a hairdryer!
The location is great very close to a dog friendly beach and great for getting around to other destinations. Locals really friendly.
I didn't try the pub so not sure what it is like but good takeaway food in the village.
Great variety of restaurants fairly nearby but I cooked at home as well.
Just one thing for me I would have liked curtains in the bedroom to shut out the streets lights as I'm a light sleeper. The blinds had some gaps in them.
Otherwise I will go back again as it was perfect for me and my dog.


Fiona from Biggar stayed at Margaret Street Cottage for 7 nights in March 2018


A lovely holiday cottage in a fantastic location.

Review submitted on Wed, 31 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is ideal for a break with family or friends. Lovely, well-equipped kitchen; comfortable sitting room and clean, comfortable bedrooms. Lovely patio out the back. Ideal for a break beside the sea.

Helen from Avoch stayed at Margaret Street Cottage for 3 nights in January 2018


New Year at Avoch

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Jan 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a very nice but quiet New Year in the cottage at Margaret Street.
The cottage was very comfortable and warm despite the time of the year. The kitchen is very well fitted out although we did have a small issue with the hot tap on our last day but with the help of a neighbour , it was sorted quickly and a note left for the owner.
We had enjoyable trips to Cromarty , Inverness and Fortrose inc walking the old railway line between Avoch and Fortrose.

The only downside was that the details on the Gael website said that Free WiFi was available in the cottage but , in fact , there wasn't any WiFi, Although not a great issue it would have been nice to have it as additional convenience.


Graham from Dunfermline stayed at Margaret Street Cottage for 7 nights in December 2017


A perfect country cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 31 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This accommodation was my favourite on a 4 week trip from Australia.
The cottage was clean, well cared for & provided everything we needed including wood for a cosy fire. The location was a perfect country village... great food at the pub & a brilliant fish & chip shop for a takeaway meal. It was a short drive to Inverness & a couple of hours to the Isle of Skye. I enjoyed the fact that there was no WiFi!!!!
The host was very helpful . All in all I'd stay there again.


Jennifer from Rushes Creek stayed at Margaret Street Cottage for 4 nights in October 2017


Autumn break ...

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Oct 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thoroughly enjoyed our week in Margaret Street cottage. Cottage was delightful, very well equipped, clean and warm. Ideal location for walking with our two dogs both locally in Avoch and only 5 minutes drive to the beach at Fortrose and Rosemarkie. Will almost certainly be back in the Spring.

Marlyn from Aberdeen stayed at Margaret Street Cottage for 7 nights in October 2017


2nd visit to Margaret street

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Sep 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This was our second visit to this cottage, everything you require for a comfortable stay is provided.
Had the opportunity to use the wood burner in the evening, plenty of sticks and logs available.
The back garden is a sun trap, we were lucky enough to have breakfast outside and also to sit and enjoy the last of the sun at the end of the day.
Would definitely recommend, quite sure we will be back.


Lorna from Wishaw stayed at Margaret Street Cottage for 7 nights in September 2017


Great location, real value for money.

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Sep 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely little cottage, recently decorated to a good standard in an excellent location. Lovely little coastal village with good Chinese and Indian takeaways, with an excellent fish and chip shop further down. There is also a small Co Op on the Main Street, just up from the pub, which serves good food Monday to Saturday.


However...

No wifi was a real negative, particularly as you have to go outside to get a mobile phone signal.
Also did not like not having full control of the heating and hot water, we are not children.
If those two points were rectified I would definitely go back.


Michael from Southport stayed at Margaret Street Cottage for 7 nights in August 2017


Avoch is a great locationnd the property was full of character and charm. Thoughtfully kitted out.

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Aug 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We became very fond of this property and miss it a lot. The enclosed garden was a wee sun trap and we miss bumping our heads on the angled ceilings upstairs. We will definitely be back. Our sons loved it too as did our fluffy companions. All in all - a lovely stay.

Yvonne from Banchory stayed at Margaret Street Cottage for 7 nights in July 2017


Nice and cosy cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Jun 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay at Margaret Street cottage - it was nice and relaxing and there was plenty to do in the nearby area

Guest from Edinburgh stayed at Margaret Street Cottage for 7 nights in June 2017


wonderful cottage on black isle.

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Jun 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Great place to stay
Exceeded our expectations, it also included a small but great backyard with outdoor furnishing,


Guest from Yellowknife stayed at Margaret Street Cottage for 3 nights in June 2017


Comfortable base

Review submitted on Mon, 15 May 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Nice cottage near seafront as long as you are not over 6ft. Found locals were friendly and sufficient facilities in village to keep me happy (small hotel with bar, curry carry-outs, Chinese carry-outs and local store). Easy to travel round and visited Rosemarkie, Cromarty, Dornoch, Brora and Strathpeffer.

Robert from Glasgow stayed at Margaret Street Cottage for 7 nights in May 2017


Avoch or Och, who knows?

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Jan 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great little cottage absolutely everything you could need. Great kitchen. Very comfortable. Fantastic selection of DVD to peruse. Nice to get away from mobile and the internet. Handy for everywhere on the Black Isle. Nice size Co Op, excellent, if expensive Indian takeaway and a Chinese takeaway to boot, all withing 2 mins walk of the cottage. Don't miss Cromarty.

Lachie from Dunoon stayed at Margaret Street Cottage for 7 nights in December 2016


Very comfortable well equipped cottage.

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Nov 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our stay in this lovely little cottage which has been refurbished to a high standard and is deceptively spacious. The cottage is well equipped and very comfortable. We particularly appreciated the ample supply of logs for the woodburning stove - so many holiday rentals provide sufficient for one evening only! Avoch is an interesting small village and a great centre for exploring the Black Isle and Easter Ross.

Alasdair from Dingwall stayed at Margaret Street Cottage for 5 nights in October 2016


lovely cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was lovely, very comfortable and ideally located for the Black Isle. The owners have really thought through what their gusts might need to enjoy the area. Avoch is a lovely location and everyone is very helpful.

Barbara from Bury St. Edmunds stayed at Margaret Street Cottage for 7 nights in August 2016


Perfect for exploring the Black Isle

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Margaret Street cottage is a comfortable, well equipped cottage in the beautiful village of Avoch - ideal for exploring the Black Isle, Cromarty, dolphin watching and so much more.

Ralph from Liverpool stayed at Margaret Street Cottage for 7 nights in August 2016


Nice stay in Avoch

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Aug 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Nice stay in Avoch in a very comfortable cottage. The location is fantastique for holydays. However Internet/wifi was missing and à single bed was disant Led.

Michel from Chantepie stayed at Margaret Street Cottage for 3 nights in July 2016


A very comfortable and well provided cottage by the sea

Review submitted on Sun, 31 Jul 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay. The cottage has everything we need and is a pleasure to go into. The little back garden is useful for the dogs and a pleasant place to sit .
Well equipped all round, peaceful and comfortable in all rooms.
A pleasure to relax in and the dogs love the beach, two minutes away


Lesley from Morpeth stayed at Margaret Street Cottage for 4 nights in July 2016


Excellent holiday cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful family holiday, in a beautiful area. The cottage is light and airy and spacious. Lovely decor, beautifully clean and well equipped. We would definitely recommend this cottage.

Morna from Fort William stayed at Margaret Street Cottage for 7 nights in July 2016


A cosy, clean and comfortable cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We (two adult couples plus our spaniel) had a very enjoyable few days at this cottage. It was warm and very comfortable.
On arrival, we found milk in the fridge, shortbread, tea and coffee supplied - what a delight. There was a plentiful supply of reading matter, including leaflets on local attractions, and a wide range of DVDs for rainy weather.
The cottage is within a two minute walk of the local beach, where there are boat trips out to view the dolphins. The skipper on these trips was great fun, with a wonderful sense of humour - highly recommended.
The only shame is that the Station Hotel no longer serves meals to non-residents, which means that to eat out you have to drive to Fortrose. However, the Anderson Hotel in Fortrose is a must for any visitor - excellent cuisine and an incredibly vast selection of beers, wines and whiskies.


Alison from Banchory stayed at Margaret Street Cottage for 3 nights in June 2016


Perfect Black Isle traditional cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage is full of character with a super sunny courtyard garden. It makes a very comfortable base from which to explore the stunning Black Isle.

Guest from Wick stayed at Margaret Street Cottage for 3 nights in May 2016


Everything anyone could want for a comfortable break with seaside and woods and hills very close by

Review submitted on Mon, 23 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were delighted with our stay. All the rooms were well furnished and extremely comfortable. Beds are not always as comfortable as these. Having a dining kitchen, extremely well equipped, was nice, as was the comfortable sitting room.
We loved the little garden and the ability to let in fresh air, during our stay in glorious weather both via the back door and all the windows.
The seaside walks/swims for the dogs, just two minutes away was brilliant and other walks are all close by.
Really really good cottage


Lesley from Morpeth stayed at Margaret Street Cottage for 9 nights in May 2016


Easter break at Margaret Street Cottage Avoch

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a wonderful time in this well equipped and well located cottage. It was great for pets and for exploring the local area. The wood burner was a real bonus. Would recommend to friends and family and would stay here again.

Susan from Bo'ness stayed at Margaret Street Cottage for 7 nights in March 2016


Great cottage and fab wildlife to spot if you are lucky

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was a home away from home. Very comfortable living room with the best wood burning stove I've ever used.....and with free kindling and logs.....fabulous. Kitchen was well equipped. Very friendly neighbour's cat came and sat beside us when we were out in the back garden. Saw dolphins, seals and thousands of pink leg geese at the RSPB hide near to Cromarty. All in all we had a perfect break. Many thanks.

Liz from Ardrossan stayed at Margaret Street Cottage for 7 nights in October 2015


Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Aug 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Margaret Street cottage is a really lovely place. The cottage is clean, comfortable and well equipped. We are a family with 3 children, stayed for a week and used the cottage as base camp for day trips and hikes on the black isle, to the Highlands and to Ullapool. We also enjoyed the dolphin boat trip that leaves right from Avoch. We had a very pleasant stay and can highly recommend the cottage.

Guest from Zurich stayed at Margaret Street Cottage for 6 nights in August 2015


Lovely cottage in a great location

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Aug 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very clean, warm and well equipped cottage. Enjoyed our stay and would rebook. Black Isle great to explore as is the area surrounding Inverness. Seeing the Dolphins at channonry point was an added bonus!

Amanda from Whitby stayed at Margaret Street Cottage for 7 nights in August 2015


Cosy Cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 31 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage in a beautiful area, not far from inverness. Only negative thing was there was no wifi. Would definitely recommend and stay again. Excellent value!

Guest from Isle of Lewis stayed at Margaret Street Cottage for 3 nights in July 2015


Great cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great stay at Margaret st, the location couldn't have been better, we were in the black isle for a wedding so being able to book Wednesday to Wednesday was ideal for us. The cottage is in a great location for exploring the fabulous countryside in the area, and we were lucky enough to see dolphins from the beach at rossmarkie. The tea/coffee etc was a very nice touch.

Carole from Bedford stayed at Margaret Street Cottage for 7 nights in July 2015


Margaret cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Jun 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
we had an enjoyable holiday and found everything needed in the cottage. One felt welcome in the house and it was comfortable and very clean. Avoch is a good centre for a host of good places to visit. The booking agents were helpful and pleasant to deal with. All in all a good experience.

Guest from Edinburgh stayed at Margaret Street Cottage for 7 nights in June 2015


Exploring the Black Isle

Review submitted on Mon, 04 May 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
I had a lovely stay in Margaret street cottage. It was exactly as described on the website, and more, as it provided lots of very welcome little extras, like a coffee plunger, hot water bottles, tea, coffee, milk and shortbread on arrival, fuel for the wood burner, salt and pepper, games, books etc etc. The cottage is in the heart of Avoch so the harbour, shop, Station hotel and Pavillion cafe were very close by. There is a regular bus service to Inverness and a safe walking path to Fortrose. I took the opportunity to explore some of the many walking trails around Avoch and the rest of the Black Isle, and enjoyed the magnificant scenery and interesting wildlife. All in all Margaret street cottage was a great base for my stay in the Black Isle and I will return!

Guest from Co. Dublin stayed at Margaret Street Cottage for 14 nights in April 2015


Margaret Street Cottage Avoch

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Apr 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was spotless, well decorated and very well equipped - especially the kitchen and the range of DVD's books and games which are always helpful for a family.

The bedrooms were comfortable although we found the mattress in the double bed very soft. The two sofas in the lounge were also not the most comfortable for a slouchy evening watching a film. This is why we have only given a 'good' rating for comfort.

One point to consider would be the addition of a grab rail to the wall at the top of the winding staircase. As one descends the stairs there is an immediate sharp left turn meaning a drop of about 4 steps with narrow treads. Our 4 year old boy (despite his parents repeated reminders to be careful) tended to reach for the banister at the top left of the stairs (the side with the long drop). He did this because there was no grab rail on the wall at the top of the stairs. Consequently, he had one rather fast descent down the stairs as he missed his footing on one of the narrower steps. He was fine but a little shocked as he slid down. It could have been worse though if he'd fallen head first as at the bottom of the stairs the hall way is floored with hard stone tiles. So this is really just some helpful feedback from a safety point of view. A short grab rail about two foot up the wall at the top of the stairs would help.

It may also be worth having a stair guard available in the storage area at the top of the stairs where we noted there was a high chair. It's clear from the selection of books/games and the provision of a high chair that the owner wishes to encourage families to stay. So a stair guard might be a good thing to provide for those with toddlers.

Sorry to have laboured these points but I think the cottage owner would value knowing this.

Other than this we could not fault the cottage. It was a lovely place to stay.


Guest from Banbury stayed at Margaret Street Cottage for 6 nights in April 2015


A cosy cottage in a good location

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Apr 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was well equipped and it functioned well as a temporary home. It is cosy and warm.

Only 3 comments:

1. We felt that the sofa's were not comfortable; we needed cushions on top of the sofa base to sit on otherwise you could feel the frame of the sofa coming through.
2. The double bedroom duvet was too small for us (we are tall); my expectation is a duvet one size bigger than the size of the bed. We ended up putting the bed cover underneath the duvet and using that as a sheet, however this wasn't enough to cover our feet warmly so we put another blanket over the top of everything at the bottom of the bed.
3. The street light opposite the double bedroom window is not blocked out enough by the blinds at night. We ended up putting the laundry basket and the suitcase on top of the chair and covering the whole thing in a blanket to cover up the window! A good sleep needs black out blinds.

These three issues did not stop us enjoying our holiday, the area or the cottage.

Thanks very much

Laura Stephenson



Guest from Dalkeith stayed at Margaret Street Cottage for 7 nights in March 2015


Had a great time with my family

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Jan 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Margaret Cottage in a real home from home, the burning stove is a fantastic feature, specially if you are interested in just sitting in front of the fire enjoying quite time with your loved ones.
it was very clean, warm,cosy and had everything you might need, close to different areas of interest.

If you have the time, drive up to John O'groats (A99), excellent destination with great views along the way.

The only thing missing was the Internet, visiting from abroad over the festive period we really did mis it as there is not even phone signal inside the cottage :-(.

over all a fantastic place to stay we felt very comfortable and were sad to leave.


Guest from London stayed at Margaret Street Cottage for 11 nights in December 2014


A really great place to stay in the Black Isle

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Nov 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Margaret Street Cottage was a really lovely 'home from home' and a great base for exploring the Black Isle and beyond. The owners were easily contactable and very attentive over a minor problem and also provided additional information for my particular birdwatching interests. The cottage itself was lovely to come home to each day - warm, homely and so comfortable with everything you needed to hand. I thought the weekly cost was very reasonable especially because it covered all heating and fuel for the wood burning stove - no messing about with reading or feeding meters!
I will gladly book this cottage for any future visit I make to The Black Isle, it was great.


Guest from Edinburgh stayed at Margaret Street Cottage for 7 nights in November 2014


An enjoyable stay.

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Nov 2014
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This is a really lovely cottage. It was our fourth stay here, as we have family living in the village. It is a warm, cosy and comfortable cottage, with everything you need for a enjoyable stay.

Guest from London stayed at Margaret Street Cottage for 6 nights in October 2014


Great cottage - great location!

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Oct 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a beautiful little cottage in the heart of the village of Avoch. It is very well-equipped, warm and cosy. The enclosed back garden is a bonus if you have young children or a dog. Avoch is a great base from which to explore the area but also a lovely place to simply stop and relax. Parking might be a bit of a problem in the high season, especially if you have young children, but other than that we cannot fault it.

Guest from Campbeltown stayed at Margaret Street Cottage for 3 nights in October 2014


maragret street cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
maragret street cottage was a very nice clean and tidy cottage it had every thing that you needed from a tin opener to a nice comfy bed it rely was home from home the locale folk are rely nice and there is a chip shop a chines a cash point a co op a hotel and an indian takeaway plus the beach all within 200 yards we will be back robert and joan robb plus archie the dog this place rely was excellent

Guest from Kirkcaldy stayed at Margaret Street Cottage for 7 nights in October 2014


Margaret St Cottage, Avoch

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Oct 2014
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This home was in very good condition and well equipped, it is in a lovely area with many interesting places to visit. The neighbours were extremely friendly and helpful. The bus service to Inverness,if required,was very fast and good and takes you right to the centre of town.

We would not recommend it for elderly people, ( we are 74yrs and 78 yrs) the staircase was extremely hard to get up and down, with no proper bannister and steep small steps. It was impossible to take our suitcases upstairs, and very hard to get downstairs to the bathroom especially at night.
We found the washing machine very difficult to operate and despite searching diligently for the instruction manual it seemed to be the only one missing.
Parking was a problem especially on arrival with heavy bags to unload as the top entrance to the street was blocked off by a machine working on the the top house, we had to enter from the bottom and my daughter then had to reverse down a long narrow street with vehicles parked on one side, this she found very difficult. After this we parked along the sea wall, luckily the machine was removed the following day.


Guest from Toowoomba stayed at Margaret Street Cottage for 4 nights in September 2014


Avoch - Black Isle

Review submitted on Thu, 25 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cottage is Warm, quiet, and well positioned for amenities, on the beautiful black isle.
Having towels, toilet roll, washing up liquid, tea, coffee, milk and biscuits, firewood already there was only as you could wish for. These make all the difference.

Great 3 day break was had.


Guest from Dunfermline stayed at Margaret Street Cottage for 3 nights in September 2014


Avoch short break.

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Sep 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very well equipped property,everything you could possibly want was provided. Would definitely recommend this place to any of my friends. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

Michael from Beccles stayed at Margaret Street Cottage for 4 nights in September 2014


Excellent location for a visit to Black Isle and it's surrounding nature

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Sep 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Black Isle is a beautiful place for those interested in nature, local culture and crafts. To mention just a few: Watching dolphins (about two hours after low tide is best) and photographing them at Chanonry Point is a great joy. Avoch, Margaret Street, is at only a few km's of this. For birdwatchers Udale Bay is the place to be. At high tide we spent hours watching wading birds, a crane (!) and an osprey, the latter probably watching us. Meanwhile we had chats with friendly local birdwatchers.
A bit further away there is the stunning glen Affric with it's remote loch, the falls of Rogie (leaping salmons already at begin of September) and much, much more.
The comfortable and well equipped selfcatering at Margaret Street is a good starting point for all of this. The quiet location ensures a good night's rest.Relaxing and a fine place to return for sure.


Guest from Diessen stayed at Margaret Street Cottage for 10 nights in August 2014


Margaret Street Cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Aug 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A gorgeous cottage, with an amazing location. Everything you need is close to hand. A very enjoyable and comfortable stay with our two dogs who enjoyed it as much as we did. Thank you :)

Guest from Falkirk stayed at Margaret Street Cottage for 4 nights in July 2014


A very special Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Jul 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a super stay in Margaret Street Cottage. It is very deceptive from the outside, but open the door and a wonderful surprise awaits
.It is much larger indoors, than it appears from the outside The kitchen is everything a cook could wish for. It is fitted out to a very high spec.
The shower room was well equipped. It also had the option of a bath.Upstairs was very comfortable, with a play area for young children.
A great deal of thought has been given to the whole cottage. It is very comfortable and really clean! We loved the wooden floors, they gave such a warm feel.
There is a garden to the rear, which gets the sun in the afternoon. An excellent spot for a glass of wine on a warm summer evening.
We found the people from Avoch were really friendly and helpful. I left my handbag on a bench, never expecting to see it again. To my delight the lady I had been speaking to had handed it in to the Harbour Master. I was given her name and found her but she wouldn't accept any reward.

I can highly recommend Margaret Cottage Cottage and we hope to return the in the not too distant future.
Lynda Willis
Witney



Guest from Witney stayed at Margaret Street Cottage for 7 nights in June 2014


Holiday review

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Jun 2014
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Excellent accommodation in interesting area. Accessible attractions nearby. Would have preferred to have been able to stay the full week from Saturday to Saturday rather than having to leave on Friday.

Guest from Edinburgh stayed at Margaret Street Cottage for 6 nights in June 2014


Great cottage great location

Review submitted on Wed, 14 May 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautifully presented and spotless cottage everything you need! We loved the Black Isle so beautiful. Cottage nice and cosy! Recommend definitely. Lots to see and do locally and friendly people.


Barbara from Ilford stayed at Margaret Street Cottage for 6 nights in May 2014


A beautifully maintained cottage a stone's throw from the sea

Review submitted on Wed, 14 May 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We would definitely recommend Margaret Street cottage. Our family has stayed there twice, using it as a base to visit friends in the area and to explore the Highlands. It is clean and exceptionally well-appointed. The owners make it feel like a home away from home..they even leave some tea in the cupboard, milk in the fridge and wood by the stove. Plus they have a few kids toys and books, a high chair and cot, and a patio for the children to run around in. My only minor complaint is the low ceilings, particularly in the upstairs bedrooms, but that's part of the charm of a old building that was once a fisherman's cottage. I'm sure we'll be up there again soon.

Guest from London stayed at Margaret Street Cottage for 4 nights in May 2014


Review of our stay

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Apr 2014
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We enjoyed our stay. Really nice to find owners who are happy for visitors to bring their dog with them. We would use this cottage again, as it met our needs.

Guest from Orkney stayed at Margaret Street Cottage for 7 nights in March 2014


lovely cottage great stay

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Mar 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cottage was spotless and we had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. Lovely walks from the door for our 2 dogs and a great area to explore. Takeaways and shop in Avoch very handy after a busy day out and about. Would certainly return thanks

Guest from Newton Stewart stayed at Margaret Street Cottage for 7 nights in March 2014


Go and stay in this lovely cottage!!!

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Mar 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage is excellent. It is clean, warm, SO quiet and feels very welcoming. We were amazed by the kitchen, it is well equipped.
The location is excellent for exploring the Black Isle or heading to the North West for walking and we had a lovely day on Findhorn beach and at Culloden.
The cottage itself is excellent for relaxing with a comfy sofa big telly and fire. We had a very comfortable few days staying and hope to go back.
This is a thoroughly recommended location for a quiet and relaxing holiday.


Guest from Edinburgh stayed at Margaret Street Cottage for 5 nights in February 2014


Perfect place

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Dec 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Margaret Street Cottage. Beautifully refurbished and with all modern facilities, it still retains its old fisherman's cottage characteristics. It was clean, cosy and comfortable. The kitchen was well supplied with cooking utensils (often lacking in rented holiday cottages). The outside garden to the rear was pleasant to sit in and safe for our two labradors to run around.

The village has a popular pub, a small supermarket, Chinese and Indian takeouts and a fish and chip shop. No need to cook at home if you don't want to.

The cottage is well located for excursions around the Black Isle, but also near to the main roads running further north or south to Inverness and beyond.

Thanks for the lovely shortbread biscuits you left us as a welcome present. They didn't last long!


Guest from Berwick-upon-tweed stayed at Margaret Street Cottage for 7 nights in November 2013


Angus and Kitty, owners of Margaret Street Cottage. replied more than 1 year ago
So glad you enjoyed your holiday and thanks for the generous comments . These mean a lot to us as they let us know how we are doing and how we can improve. Hope to see you again soon Angus and Kitty

Fantastic

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Oct 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 2nd time staying here & there is nothing to fault.

Warm, comfortable, avoch is a lovely village/setting & all the people we met were so friendly.

We will return next year, hopefully


Guest from Glasgow stayed at Margaret Street Cottage for 7 nights in October 2013


Angus and Kitty, Owners of Margaret Street Cottage. replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Mr Whyman We were pleased that you enjoyed your holiday and that the cottage was lovely but were distressed that you did have some problems with the bed. We had been alerted to the fact that the previous visitor had a similar experience and had, we thought fixed it. It seems however that we had not. I apologise and hope that this mishap did not cause you too much discomfort. Should you wish to return in the future and we do hope that you will, and should you find that something is broken or fails to work, that in your information pack you have our contact details, that we live just around the corner from the cottage and will respond immediately we know of any problem.

visit week commencing 5th oct

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Oct 2013
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Cottage lovely and location good
However dissapointed that bed collapsed again - especially as you were already alerted to this fact from the previous occupancy.



Guest from Seaham stayed at Margaret Street Cottage for 7 nights in October 2013


Angus and Kitty, owners of Margaret Street Cottage replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for the kind review. We look forward to your return next year. It is rewarding for us to know that our guests enjoy their holiday and that the cottage meets their needs. If there are any improvements or additional items you feel we should get before your next visit please do not hesitate to get back in touch.