FB Twitter

Holmes Cottage

Holmes Cottage

4.5
out of 5
Ratings from 21 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.3
Condition
4.6
Location
4.7
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.6


An extended traditional cottage, sleeping 4, centrally situated in Rosemarkie. Off-road parking and garden. Very convenient for local shops and beach. Only a short distance from Dolphin watching.

Thoughts about Cottage.

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Aug 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Cottage in ideal spot..nice & clean inside..garden also great.Maybe could have done with more Household supplies..such as spare bin liners..cleaning cloths etc.Tv,phone & wifi a bit hit & miss..but that's probably down to location.

Overall spacious & comfortable & garden really good & quiet at night.


Steve from Manchester stayed at Holmes Cottage for 7 nights in August 2019


A beloved place on the Black Isle

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 4th time at Holmes Cottage. It is a very comfortable and charming cottage with a charme of its own. Rosemarkie beach is nearby and if the weather plays along, I could not think of a better place to be.

Anneke from Frankfurt Am Main stayed at Holmes Cottage for 14 nights in July 2019


Lovely cottage in a peaceful location close to the beach

Review submitted on Tue, 14 May 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cottage was very clean and well equipped. The location was perfect for us, close to the beach and within driving distance of some great visitor sites. Gardens were well kept and would be lovely to sit out in (Scottish weather permitting). Very kind of the owners to leave guide books, local maps and information for reference. Only point to criticise would be lack of control given to guests to control the heating in the property. We were there during a particularly cold week in May (down to 1/2 degrees C in the evenings) and with all the heaters locked and set at between 16 & 18 degrees it made it pretty chilly in the evenings in the cottage. Electric fire in the living room was a bonus and made it very cosy to sit in however the bedrooms and the rest of the house were cold.

Claire from Penicuik stayed at Holmes Cottage for 7 nights in May 2019


Christopher, owner of Holmes Cottage replied 56 days ago
Thank you for your kind words about Holmes Cottage, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay. Sorry to hear at times you found the cottage cold. The electric radiators are pre-programmed and we do ask guests not to adjust these to ensure the comfort of all guests. To boost the heating, apart from the fire in the lounge you have mentioned, there are additional convector heaters for each bedroom and fan heater and electric towel rail in the bathroom. We have left instructions on how to use these and if required we are available on the phone to help ensure guests have a comfortable and enjoyable stay. Thanks again and hope you will visit the Black Isle again and stay at Holmes Cottage.

a very good cottage in a beautiful landscape

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really everything was all right and just so as the description. Regrettably one matrace in a single bed was defect (I think it was broken). We like to come back soon!

Rainer from Muelheim An Der Ruhr stayed at Holmes Cottage for 7 nights in July 2018


Our favourite Scottish cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our third time at Holmes Cottage, so again we felt right at home. It is the perfect place to relax. We will be back!

Anneke from Frankfurt Am Main stayed at Holmes Cottage for 14 nights in June 2018


an ideal location for dolphin watching

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Jul 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A small cottage but had all that we needed. the location was ideal for a short walk to the beach before breakfast and a longer walk to see the dolphins. We also visited the Fairy Glen and the nearest cave. the Beach café can be recommended for morning coffee.

Guest from Ossett stayed at Holmes Cottage for 7 nights in June 2018


Holmes Cottage and Rosemarkie

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Jun 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Rosemarkie is a pretty village with golden sands and pretty country walks. There is a friendly general dealers, a pub and a good restaurant. The Groam museum next door is worth a visit, as is the antique shop with its eclectic collection of .glass, medals and
local memorabilia.

Holmes Cottage is very comfortable and well equipped, with a lovely garden. We wouldn't hesitate to stay again.


Kathleen from Whitley Bay stayed at Holmes Cottage for 7 nights in June 2018


We stayed for 5 weeks we liked it so much!

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We absolutely loved staying in Rosemarkie and Holmes cottage was perfect for our needs. It has EVERYTHING you need for a short or a prolonged stay and is situated in a great location - right by the pub, shop and the beach! The cottage is spacious (there was only two of us but a family or group of 4 would fit perfectly) and really tastefully done. It felt like a real home from home and we would love to stay again!

George from Sale stayed at Holmes Cottage for 35 nights in September 2017


Back again - perhaps a holmes from home

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Sep 2017
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cottage is typical for its age with odd corners, roof lines and a bit short on natural light. generally well equipped and with a very comfortable beds. location close to beach with a good beach cafe etc.

David from Stonehouse stayed at Holmes Cottage for 14 nights in September 2017


All good

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Aug 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Everything was fine although the Jack and Jill shared toilet upstairs was unexpected. Good location for exploring the Black Isle and close to a nice pub.

Alison from Newtonhill stayed at Holmes Cottage for 7 nights in August 2017


Clean and quiet

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Aug 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Quality excellent and helpful appliances pack.
Private parking a bonus.
Garden neatly kept.
A pleasure.


Helen from Warminster stayed at Holmes Cottage for 7 nights in August 2017


Another great two weeks on the Black Isle

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Sep 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
this was the sixth year holidaying in the area and this was the best 2 weeks to date! great accommodation, very well equipped and everything worked and had space on the cupboards for our bits and pieces. very comfortable beds. good location in the village and close to other amenities, restaurants and shops.

David from Stonehouse stayed at Holmes Cottage for 14 nights in August 2016


Holmes cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A pleasant and very clean cottage, situated in what is in my opinion the perfect village, near enough to pub,shop and eateries.
Five stars all round.


John from Livingston stayed at Holmes Cottage for 7 nights in August 2016


A great location for the beach and amenities

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Jul 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house was spotlessly clean and very well equiped with a lovely kitchen and bathroom. There is a big garden to the back of the house with a decked seating area. The house has WiFi and even a little office area which is well stocked with leaflets and info. There are two TV areas so good if you go with kids. The stairs turn slightly and only have a banister on one side so not ideal if you are infirm. There is a shop, pub and restaurant a very short distance from the house and a two minute walk takes you to the beautiful beach.

Sarah from Bucknell stayed at Holmes Cottage for 7 nights in June 2016


Ideal holiday Cottage.

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jun 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent fully equipped holiday cottage in a lovely highland village. Very comfortable with nice secluded garden. Inverness, Culloden & many other highl;and towns and villages near by.

Mike from Anstruther, stayed at Holmes Cottage for 7 nights in June 2016


Great cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Comfortable, well appointed property providing great base for exploring Fortrose/Rosemarkie and the wider Black Isle area. Two minute walk from the beach where the dolphins can be seen most days. Recommended.

Guest from Bonnyrigg stayed at Holmes Cottage for 7 nights in September 2015


Just perfect

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful cottage, well equipped,clean and comfortable.
Great location,great communication

Just a short walk to the wonderful beachfront and cafe.

Couldn't have asked for more

Highly recommend


Julie from Caerphilly stayed at Holmes Cottage for 7 nights in June 2015


height of ceilings

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Oct 2014
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We enjoyed our stay at Holmes cottage but think it should have been mentioned that upstairs were low ceilings. I am 5' 2" and my friend not much more. We felt we had to duck when we went upstairs. My daughter's partner is over 6' and I think he would have been struggling.

Guest from Carluke stayed at Holmes Cottage for 7 nights in October 2014


September in Holmes cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Holmes cottage is well named - it was a home from home. On our arrival we found every room immaculate,
and the house heated.
We liked the mix of good new furniture, with some antique pieces, and the bedding and towels provided
were of good quality.. The storage heaters provided good background heat, and the addition of very
efficient electric fires made the rooms very cosy in the evenings.

Rosemarkie is an interesting corner of the 'Black Isle' The cottage is next door to the Groam museum,
( a fascinating and beautiful building ), and is on the ' Pictish Trail ' We were amazed at how much there
was to do in such a small area.

I have to mention the food which was exceptional. In Rosemarkie we found a fantastic bistro. In Fortrose
an award winning butcher, and in Cromarty an award winning baker. And there's lots more.
We will go back to the Black Isle, and hopefully to Holmes Cottage.


Guest from Anstruther stayed at Holmes Cottage for 7 nights in September 2014


Holmes Cottage, Rosemarkie

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Sep 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A really lovely, well-equipped, comfortable cottage in a great location. Two minutes to the beach and a half hour walk to see the dolphins at Chanonry Point. Good spot for the Black Isle in general and also for venturing further north or across to Wester Ross. Shop in the village and at Fortrose plus big shops at Dingwall and Inverness mean that you don't need to bring lots of food along. Crofters restaurant well worth a visit, or two! Excellent holiday.

Guest from Peterlee stayed at Holmes Cottage for 7 nights in August 2014


Lovely week away from it all

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Jul 2014
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Cottage in good location in middle of seaside village. Easy to walk to beach with a good beach cafe. Good bistro nearby - need to book. Walk along beach to see dolphins from shore - highlight of my holiday, Cottage well equipped, plenty of room for two or a family of four, not quite so good for two couples with sloping roof and shared bathroom upstairs. Seagulls a nuisance with their noise waking up at four a.m. and keeping a very close eye on us in the garden ! Museum next door very interesting and worth a visit .Fairy Glen Waterfall and walk past cafe well worth doing.

Guest from Stourbridge stayed at Holmes Cottage for 7 nights in July 2014