FB Twitter

Grebe

Grebe

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 18 reviews
94% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.7
Location
4.8
Value
4.2
Customer
Service
4.8


This brilliant cottage cluster set just outside Bude on the north Cornwall coast not only has all the ingredients of a very successful family holiday at any time of year but is a veritable self-contained ‘village’ of fun for adults and children alike!

Picture the scene…. You’ve settled into your suitably seaside-chic cottage, the little ones have burned off all their pent up energy from the journey in the indoor or outdoor playrooms and pools and have settled in for early night, a delicious gourmet ready meal has been delivered to the cottage and is warming in the oven and you are soaking in the hot tub… perfect!

There are 18 picture-perfect residences to choose from at Broomhill (view them all here) ranging from Cornish cob barns, stables, the Housekeepers Cottage, the Manor House Apartment and Gate Keepers Lodge. All have been converted and upgraded in a fresh, contemporary style, whilst keeping their character and being especially well kitted out for babies and toddlers, from cots, high chairs and stair-gates to plastic crockery and black out blinds (full list in Fast Facts section). The cottages are arranged in traffic free courtyards which are separate from designated parking areas and the whole village is down a private drive, ½ a mile from the road, making it all the more relaxing for families to roam freely. Several of the cottages have enclosed gardens for children to play and hot tubs for parents to de-stress in soothing bubbles.

Besides the comfort of the cottages, it’s all the extra facilities at the family-run Broomhill Manor that make holidays here with little ones so stress free. A big play room, dedicated to under 6’s, is full of early learning toys and books, plus there’s a games room for older children with a pool table, table football and table tennis. In the car free village, children can free range to the outdoor play areas and parents will struggle to tear them away from the swings, slide, climbing frame, sand pit, trampoline, play fort and Wendy house. An indoor swimming pool is heated to a toasty, toddler friendly 30 degrees and in the warm summer months there’s a heated outdoor pool as well. Grown-ups can relax in the sauna or Jacuzzi, or have a work out in the gym, and mums can pamper themselves with a variety of spa treatments.

When it comes to eating and drinking at Broomhill, the in-cottage dining is always a big hit, with local chef Nicky lovingly preparing a range of dishes which are delivered to the door, all ready to be popped in the oven. In July and August, fresh croissants are available each morning and 3 local supermarkets will deliver groceries to the cottages. There’s also a private bar at Broomhill which is family friendly and features a full size snooker table as well as a selection of board games.

One other extra facet to Broomhill Manor is the professional riding stables onsite, where toddlers can have their first pony ride and older children can book lessons, hacks and beach rides (for over 14s) or take part in gymkhanas.

Accommodation overview

Broomhill Manor comprises 17 cottages and 1 apartment sleeping 2 to 6 people and all with room for at least one cot, which can be provided.

Grebe Cottage (sleeps 5 plus a baby) was converted from an old cob barn and has an upside down layout, with the open plan living areas at ground level and two ensuite bedrooms downstairs. High ceilings make the living area especially light and airy, with comfortable sofas, large HD TV, DVD/Blu ray player and CD system, a dining table and a shaker style kitchen equipped with a cooker, dishwasher, fridge/freezer, microwave, kettle and toaster. The cottage has fully controllable central heating throughout and free Wi Fi. A wide staircase leads to the two bedrooms downstairs: one with a king size bed, space for a cot and an ensuite shower room; and the second with one single bed, a bunk bed and an ensuite bathroom. At the front of the cottage, there is an enclosed courtyard with tables, seating and gas-fired Australian BBQ’s, shared with adjoining Dunlin Cottage which makes these two ideal for extended families or friends to book together.

Fabulous week in Cornwall

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Oct 2020
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The furniture is a little dated and looking tired. New sofas required. Bathroom could do with updating.

Lynn from Horncastle stayed at Grebe for 7 nights in September 2020


Very nurturing place

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Oct 2020
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The place is magical and quiet
Loads of outside stiff for the kids
Loads of information accessible
Riding stable literally a foot away- very nice ponies
The owners are absolutely fabulous
The amenities are great
Of course because of covid lot of things are been taken out of the cottages and some areas are not as easily accessible

I personally think some of the mattress and sofas are a little outdated and will need replacement At some point
But overall it was a restful and confortable stay


Guest from London stayed at Grebe for 7 nights in September 2020


Adequate. You have to go abroad for a decent hotel.

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Sep 2020
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We enjoyed our stay at Broomhill Manor. We have stayed there many times before, mostly during the time it was owned by someone else.
We have sympathy for the owners of this kind of business because of corona virus and understand that there are extra costs involved in taking precautions but we thought it was extremely expensive. If there had been five of us it would feel better value for money but for two, it was more than we would have paid for a good hotel.
We thought this would be safer than a hotel and that is why we made the booking.


Derek from Coventry stayed at Grebe for 3 nights in September 2020


Willesden Women’s Retrear

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I was amazed at the premises, and I would love to go again. Everything was really nice and the details in the mini homes was much appreciated
Thank you again


from London stayed at Grebe for 4 nights in October 2019


A great week

Review submitted on Thu, 26 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great time at Broomhill Manor, the facilities are excellent. The children enjoyed the playroom and the horses. We will be booking again.

Janice from Ongar stayed at Grebe for 7 nights in September 2019


I missed the out of hours swimming.

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Aug 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife and I took our son and daughter and an occasional friend of theirs to Broomhill Manor throughout the years of their secondary education, We rebooked as we left each year, as did the other families we had met there. The net result was our children didn't have to make new friends each year, they were already there.

One of the highlights of those years was the "midnight swims" for the children. Of course they weren't conducted at midnight, just after dark, always in the outdoor pool and always with me as the unofficial minder in the water. It had started with just our two and myself, but grew , just like Topsy, until all the other parents had the evenings off whilst Del "organised" the children in the pool. I say children but of course they were all teenagers in our final years.

My luxury was an hour in the outdoor pool every day at about 6.00am. Both my exercise and my "me time", just plodding up and down with no-one in the way.

I am now a widower and my son is going through a divorce. We found we could take a holiday together for the first time in over twenty years. We were very lucky and found there must have been a cancellation in Grebe enabling us to make a last minute booking.

The cottages have been refurbished since our last visit and to a very good standard, though I was surprised to see so few had more than one WC or shower room, for me a must with anything more than two sharing. The layout of Grebe is perfect for a small family. With us it was me in the double, with my son and my 9 year old grandson in the other. Both had en-suites, perfect.

The kitchen was well equipped and designed but for one small point. There was no storage cupboards for our shopping. We did a shop for the week on our arrival and whilst there was plenty of fridge and freezer space, there was no cupboard space. This may of course be different in the other cottages.

The welcome pack of kitchen/bathroom essentials was a nice touch, though for a diabetic like me the scones and jam were wasted. Fortunately neither my son or grandson like clotted cream; that was a challenge I did rise to.

Unusually for me I didn't visit the bar at all as a drinker. I checked on arrival and there is no draft beer. I'd also bumped into a fellow guest walking around on our first afternoon and was disappointed to find him a racist misogynist, not someone I wanted to drink with or indeed see again. That of course is the beauty of Broomhill Manor, I never did see him again.

In fact, although we spent a lot of time around the grounds and particularly in the outdoor pool, we saw very few of our fellow guests and apart from that one, all very friendly and pleasant, just as I remembered it.

Now I'm back to the pool. The outdoor pool now closes early evening and doesn't open again until 9.30am. The one big disappointment of our holiday. I'd been looking forward to early morning swims on my own, with Ben and particularly young Jonas looking forward to after dark swimming. OK I have to accept there are safety issues that people address far more cautiously than in former years and it's true I forgot to mention my previous qualification and experience as a swimming instructor and "life saver". I guess it's just one of those things about a changing world us old codgers have to accept. Shame though.

If it is necessary to leave the estate there are wonderful beaches very close, both the awful crowded horrors of Bude and Crooklet's and the magically quiet and secluded beaches at the end of narrow quiet lanes just to the North.

No need to carry food on your journey; pre-order with a choice of supermarkets or if you're like me and like to examine fresh produce before purchase, unpack on arrival, take a quick trip to one of Bude's several supermarket and be back in time for a swim and a walk around the state before your first meal in the cottage.

Ben and I both like to cook, so we had no call to sample the current restaurant options, or indeed the pub options, but the choice is very good.

By the way, if you must visit the centre of Bude, the ice cream parlour at the top of the High Street is a must. The ginger and pineapple with a lump of clotted cream on top is close to an orgasmic experience.

Apart from the lack of access to the outdoor pool to relive our earlier holidays here, it was a wonderful trip down memory lane, one I hope to repeat again soon with Ben and Jonas. Who knows I might even book in with my daughter Ruth and her 8 and 10 year old boys on another occasion.

It's not a cheap holiday, but you get what you pay for and this is a quality holiday destination.

Would I return? Well i've already commented on that.

Would i recommend this property? No, I never make recommendations, but if my ramblings above don't give a clear picture of my views on holidays at Broomhill, I'm not the communicator I believe myself to be.


Del from Bristol stayed at Grebe for 7 nights in August 2019


Summer week in Cornwall

Review submitted on Fri, 12 Jul 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely setting, good facilities (heated outdoor pool a big win with the kids) and very friendly on-site management. Of course we benefited from great weather, which helps, but overall we really enjoyed this break.

Graeme from Glasgow stayed at Grebe for 7 nights in June 2019


Half Term Holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you Alan and Linda for yet another wonderful holiday. I believe this is our 7th stay at Broomhill and as usual it didn’t disappoint. Bringing 5 children between 8 and 14 on holiday is always a challenge but everyone was completely content which left the adults to relax and unwind.
The Broomhill grounds are truly amazing to look at and the facilities are 5 star. Meals at the Preston Gate Inn are a must and Summerleaze Beach was great for all the family. We look forward to returning in the summer.


Colin & Laura from Wallington stayed at Grebe for 7 nights in May 2019


Another wonderful stay

Review submitted on Wed, 31 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely 5 day break, as always the team are welcoming and can’t do enough . See you in July! Such a lovely place with everything you need to relax! My 12 and 17 year old still love it !

Samantha from Ashby De La Zouch stayed at Grebe for 4 nights in October 2018


Family holiday at Broomhill Manor

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had another excellent holiday at Broomhill Manor this summer.
As ever the facilities were excellent which we made full use of. We stayed in Grebe cottage which we were very pleased with. Plenty of room for 4 of us. Our 2 children (age 10 and 11) had another great holiday at Broomhill this year and can't wait to go back next year. We have already booked to go back and stay in Grebe again next summer.
We would highly recommend Broomhill Manor for a family holiday in Cornwall.


Andrew from Reading stayed at Grebe for 14 nights in August 2018


Wonderful cottage in great location

Review submitted on Thu, 26 Apr 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage with brilliant amenities. Really helpful and friendly owners. Good location. All the little extras present and nothing too much trouble. Would definitely recommend.

Claire from Burwell stayed at Grebe for 7 nights in April 2018


Loved it and would recommend

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Apr 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very friendly welcome and tour of the grounds. Lovely coattage, warm and cosy. Loved the pool and indoor playroom. Playroom was bright and cleaned daily (very different to other grubby playrooms we’ve experienced). The daily cleaning is definitely appreciated. Outdoor space was lovely - swings, trampoline and playhouse went down a storm with my two (3 and 1.5 yrs). Pony ride for my 3 year old was wondering, stable owner Jo very friendly and gentle with kids. Alan was super efficient and organised . The few very minor issues we had on arrival were dealt with with lightning speed. Have already recommended to friends. Only constructive feedback is that it would be good if check in was slightly earlier (4pm Is latish) and check out slighter later (10am quite early) so can have more time. All in all, a beautiful friendly place run very professionally. Thank you.

Rebecca from Bushey stayed at Grebe for 7 nights in March 2018


Weekend break

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Feb 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely welcoming stay for a last minute mid week break. Customer service was fantastic and managed to deal with our very late arrival with ease. This is our second visit and We will be back!!

Zoe from Aldershot stayed at Grebe for 3 nights in February 2016


enjoyable stay

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Nov 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay. There are some great facilities with benefit of being walking distance to the beach.

If I was being picky, there wasn't quite enough hot water for the morning showers but we managed.


Nicola from London stayed at Grebe for 5 nights in October 2015


The perfect escape for when you just need to get away. When you just need to kick back and re-group

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It is not the first time I've stayed at Broomhill Manner. Each time I've stayed it has always been a wonderful experience. The perfect escape always.

Charmaine from London stayed at Grebe for 3 nights in October 2015


A very enjoyable holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Sep 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for two weeks in Grebe cottage finding the facilities excellent and the hospitality from Alan and Linda first class. As a family of four with young children we found something for everybody and are looking forward to a return next year.

Darryl from Orpington stayed at Grebe for 14 nights in August 2015


Fabulous week away

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Jul 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fantastic week away with excellent facilities to please the whole family. Very warm welcome from Alan and Linda and delicious scones on arrival - a real treat.

Guest from Hilton stayed at Grebe for 7 nights in July 2015


Our stay at Broomhill Manor

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We greatly enjoyed our time at Broomhill Manor. The staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful. Our cottage was well equipped. clean and comfortable. Facilities (in and outdoor swimming pools, games rooms, beautiful landscaped gardens) were plentiful and freely available and we felt relaxed and happy throughout. It would be a pleasure to stay there again and we would strongly recommend it to family and friends.

Guest from Reading stayed at Grebe for 5 nights in June 2015