FB Twitter

Glen Isla

Glen Isla

5.0
out of 5
Ratings from 24 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.9
Location
4.9
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0


A beautifully converted two bedroom courtyard cottage for up to four guests with french doors leading onto the central courtyard.​

Glen Isla

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
First class all the way....immaculate and extremely comfortable.....I have been to The Steadings many times and stayed in different cottages...the very high standard is maintained in each cottage right down to the teaspoons!....a beautiful location and very dog friendly which in itself is very unusual...the owner Anne has supplied everything needed to make your stay memorable.



Just perfect

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Steadings really do offer 5 star accommodation and not just for the the doggies.
Anne & Norman are terrific hosts who make sure your every need is catered for, including fresh eggs from their own hens.
Its wonderful to arrive and relax with a complimentary afternoon tea before tackling the unpacking.
Its hard to improve on perfection but Anne seems to manage with extra touches that w notice on each visit.




A very pleasant stay the cottage was of a very high standard and so very comfortable.

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Sep 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A most enjoyable break stunning views and so relaxing a return is certainly on the cards very friendly meeting upon arrival and during our stay 10/10.



Glen Isla, Auchteralyth Steadings, August 22nd to 28th 2021

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
For a variety of reasons this holiday booking was made more by good luck than anything else. When I searched the Visit Scotland website, at very short notice, for accommodation I specified 6 nights (an error on my part, should have been 7) in Perthshire and this was the only accommodation offered. Although we do not have a dog, the cottage and surroundings looked so nice that we booked anyway. Possibly the best decision I have ever made.

The cottage was terrific. Anne provided a complimentary high tea for when we arrived, as well as milk, coffee, tea, sugar and eggs (from her own hens). It was possible to relax, have a bite to eat and tea or coffee before unpacking anything. The cottage was spotless, and all of the bed linen and towels were freshly laundered.

We were fortunate to have perfect, almost too hot, sunny weather for the whole of our stay but if the weather had been bad Anne had provided a selection of DVD /Blue ray discs, CDs and games.

My only caveat would be that if you drive a sports car or other car that is low on the road, then this is not the place for you. The access road to the Steadings is quite rough and low slung cars could possibly damage the exhaust. A normal height saloon will have no problems as long as you drive carefully.

I would happily recommend this property to anyone, with or without a dog. I would happily return for another holiday.




Lovely self catering with or without dogs

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Aug 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage is wonderful, with luxury fittings and many additional touches that make it feel very special. It's in a beautiful place, with easy access to the Cairngorms, the coast, and more local walks and scenery. There is a large courtyard space with great views for everybody to use. A tasty and substantial afternoon tea was waiting for us in the fridge on arrival.

However, warning should be given about the approach to the property prior to booking. It is up a farm track that has not been recently maintained, and which is covered in rocks, sharp edges and stones that can fly up and hit your car. We drove extremely carefully but could not avoid the hazards on this track. Eventually we had to park at the bottom of the hill (10 minutes walk up or down) and rely on lifts from the owners if they were available (they were, except on one occasion). Had we known about the state of this track, we may not have booked. The damage caused to our car was an expensive and unwelcome addition to our stay.




Anne Fedele replied 52 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your stay in Glen Isla cottage I also hope that all went well with your father’s hospital appointment. However, in reply to your comments and rating I would like to make the following points clear. Regarding the state of the access road : you knew when you booked with us that the cottage was situated in a rural area. The directions I sent you clearly mentioned “the tarmac road becomes a farm track”. However, you still chose to come in a sport car with very low ground clearance. You went to explore Highlands routes, single roads and tracks near Munros. Unfortunately, damage was inevitable. With regards to customer service, I am a bit puzzled on your mark 4/5. We went out of our way to transport you and your husband down the farm track even when you came back from the Golf Open event at 11pm! The only time we were not available was due to the fact that you only gave us 10 mns warning by text message and the message was delayed as they often are. You could easily have called me on my mobile whose number you had.

Discovering Alyth and nearby Angus glens

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect stay for family of 4 plus our shelter. Accommodation very inviting with all luxury touches of scents, towels, coffee machine and outdoor seating with stunning views. We found the guide information excellent with OS maps and recommended walks and dining out with our dog. It is set in a very peaceful east part of Perthshire with Angus on our doorstep. Great country roads for cycling with challenging hills and rivers for a cool down. Access to steading was forewarned via a farm track and it is all uphill!
Anne couldn’t, be more helpful, always available to answer query before and during stay. She kindly made room for storing our bikes too.
We enjoyed a brilliant July holiday despite COVID times. Thanks




Another fabulous holiday!

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at The Steadings a few times now, but this is the first time we stayed in the Glen Isla cottage. As always the standards of cleanliness were exceptional which is very important to us, especially in the present pandemic, more so as we were holidaying with young children. The cottage is lovely, the additional luxury items and welcoming treats add that extra special feeling. The outdoor space is nice and the children can play safely. We use the cottage very much as a base to go sight-seeing, visiting local villages, driving through the Cairngorms, visiting the beach. Anne always ensures she pops round to say hello which is appreciated. We very much look forward to returning again.



A hidden gem!

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely loved our stay at Glen Isla. It provides a perfect balance of luxury accommodation and a real home from home. The peaceful setting provides a haven for humans and dogs alike so much so we didn't really feel the need to go anywhere to do anything. The hosts are generous and welcoming, the cream tea on arrival, legendary! We are looking forward to our next visit already!



Excellent cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Home from home plus - high quality furnishings and accessories. Glen Isla is one of the best properties I have stayed in. It contained everything we needed and more. Exceptional hospitality too. Beautiful views and close enough to where we wanted to visit family and friends.



Wow

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here over a weekend and had a great time.
The location is rural but is also a great base to explore Perthshire and is only 10 mins from the lovely village of Alyth and near Blairgowrie.
Being rural means it has amazing views and is very peaceful.
The cottage was lovely and equipped to a very high standard.
The welcome was first class and the afternoon tea was a real treat.
Our dog loved it and wouldn’t get in the car to leave!
Overal we had a fantastic time, left feeling relaxed and will be back.




Excellent Stay

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit to Auchteralyth - again it was excellent. Beautiful cottage and the winter special offer was full of added extras that we loved. Looking forward to our next visit.



Back again

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our third visit to Auchteralyth and Glen Isla, having visited in 2009 and 2011. Standards are still very high, it’s a lovely bolt hole in a beautiful part of Scotland. It was our choice to spend most of the time relaxing, although there are plenty of beautiful walks round about, with copious opportunities for seeing wildlife. Anne is a gracious and thoughtful host and the wee extras were much appreciated, in particular the fresh eggs (zero food miles!) and the masks. Looking forward to our next visit,



Wonderful escape

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fabulous family stay at Glen Isla cottage. The weather was very heavy rain but it didn't matter, we had a luxurious cottage which was filled with everything we could need. This is one of the best set up cottages we have set up. Real attention to detail with provision of all the lovely little extras - even coffee capsules!!
The surrounding countryside is beautiful and lots of easy dog walks on your doorstep or a short drive for bigger adventures.
Anne is a wonderful host - available if there was any questions.




highly recommended, dog welcoming, well equipped self-catering cottages

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I highly recommend staying at one of the cottages Auchteralyth Steadings - we stayed in Glen Isla for 10 nights. Anne is super organised, v friendly & cottages are very comfortable, warm & well equipped. Dogs are very welcome and main grounds are fenced so able to be off lead with supervision. Out of the way so v. peaceful with extensive views, yet easy to drive to local villages or further afield.



A genuine home from home

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The phrase ‘home from home’ is used a lot to describe holiday accommodation, but I have never stayed anywhere where it is as appropriate as at Auchteralyth Steadings. There was literally nothing missing; from tin foil to TV, everything was provided and all of it high quality, not just the cheapest you can get away with like some places have. The beds were really comfortable as were the chairs and sofa in the lounge. I was really impressed by the wide selection of DVDs provided, with something there for every taste should the weather be inclement. Fresh eggs from the hens is a really nice touch and made for a great breakfast before setting off for a day’s walking. We will definitely be back next year!



A wee break

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We all fell in love with the cottage and location would recommend to anyone looking for a wee relaxing break away from the hub bub .



Beautiful dog friendly accommodation

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very glad to get a last minute booking with Anne. The cottage was beautifully appointed, warm and comfortable. The extras that you never expect in self catering accommodation were so appreciated. These included fresh free range eggs, tea and coffee, dog covered masks, dog shampoo, chocolates, and lots of useful information about the surrounding area....the whole place is very relaxing, loved seeing the horses and hens outside. Anne was very attentive and very pleasant to deal with. Very happy to have found this place and will definitely return.



Perfect stay

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our first stay at Glen Isla cottage and we will definitely go back again! It was super clean and there were lots of lovely little personal touches to make the stay even more special. Our hosts were very welcoming and happily recommended some places we could visit. The cottages are in a beautiful location too. Very quiet and peaceful with fab views. It’s only a short drive to the closest town too.



A hidden gem

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you want a relaxing time from the hustle and bustle and relish the sound of hens clucking and horses neighing with space to wander in the grounds overlooking a gorgeous view with fabulous night skies, then at any season of the year, at the far end of a farm track this is the place for you. If you're looking for a dog friendly retreat with all the comforts and little luxuries of home, then look no further than Auchteralyth Steadings. We've stayed in all four cottages and have found every one immaculately prepared for our arrival. Glen Isla is the biggest cottage with a double and twin bedroom, a bathroom and an en suite shower room so ideal for two couples happy to share. The crisp white bed linen and fluffy towels are way beyond what we've come to expect in self catering establishments, and found normally only in good hotels. The kitchen is superbly equipped with a plentiful supply of quality crockery and cutlery, pots, pans and utensils and a full-size dishwasher to cut down on chores and allow guests to explore the lovely local area and beyond. Free use of washing machines and tumble drier in the laundry room is an added bonus so you don't have to pack your entire wardrobe 'just ion case'. Everything has been really well-thought out. Anne the owner is a diamond, wonderfully attentive, on-site in the main house if you need her, but maintaining a discreet distance so that, as well as the layout of the Steadings, means you never feel overlooked. All in all, this really is a gem of a place and, having found it, we wouldn't stay anywhere else in Scotland (and our two dogs think that too!).



Family birthday break

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We hired two properties for a long weekend for family birthday s. Anna was an excellent host very helpful and accommodating. Very much like home from home with a 5 star service and accommodation. Our family off doggies loved their stay And where welcomed by Anna and other guest. Thank you Anna for helping to make special family memories for the very young and old .



Excellent stay

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an excellent stay , very peaceful and great for the dog. Anne was a excellent host and the fresh eggs were tasty.



Heaven for us doggy people

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What can i say but excellent!!
Everything about this cottage was first class, Annes attention to detail is excellent, the cottage is very homely for both dogs and humans alike. The location too is excellent, open countryside, yet Alyth is only a 5 min drive away.
I would recommend Auchteralyth Steadings to anyone with or even without dogs.
Look forward to visiting again with our doggy family.




Return visit

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit and was even nicer than our first. The place is spotless and I mean spotless. Everything is supplied from washing powder to free range eggs. The quality of the bedding and towels makes me want to throw out my own and replace it all. Anne is so welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. The location itself is beautiful with the most stunning views. Well off the beaten track but a relatively short drive to Dundee. We are looking forward to our third visit. Can’t recommend this place enough.



Anne replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Kieran for taking the time to review the cottage. Quality and comfort and most of all hospitality is essential to me . Cannot wait to see you all again. A bientôt ANNE

Fab!

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had booked the Steadings for just over a week to attend the Open in Carnoustie. It became a home away from home. We had two friends say for one night (also golf fans) and they were so impressed with the cottage they didn't want to leave.
Very comfortable, everything is to the highest standard and very welcoming.