FB Twitter

House Martins

House Martins

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 38 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.7
Location
4.7
Value
4.3
Customer
Service
4.8


Occupancy: 6 + 2 person

House Martins - luxury timber clad semi-detached cottage with garden and hot tub available.

Spacious lounge with double sofa bed, Freeview TV, CD/DVD player, DVDs and board games. Open plan kitchen/dining area with dishwasher, fridge freezer and utility room with washer/dryer. Entrance lobby with WC.

First floor double bedroom with en suite shower room. Second double bedroom and twin bedroom with shared family bathroom (jacuzzi bath).

Free WiFi.

Private garden with seating. Designated parking.

Highly Recommended

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a very pleasant stay at this property for the week-end as part of a wedding party at nearby Hestercombe. Kitchen was well equipped and property was spacious. The email informing us what was provided in the property was useful.



Comfortable, well equipped and friendly owners. 9 out of 10.

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Sep 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great place to stay with plenty of amenities. Kitchen well stocked and beds very comfortable. Would definitely stay again.



Mill Meadow replied 19 days ago
Thank you for your feedback after your stay in our cottage, we are so pleased you found us a great place to stay! It means a lot to us, hurry back.

Very convenient and quiet location for events at Hestercombe, only 5 minutes by car.

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Jun 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very convenient and quiet location for events at Hestercombe, only 5 minutes by car. Well maintained and very good customer service on and off-site. The interior lacks a bit of personality and no fireplace for winter warmth.



Mill Meadow replied 119 days ago
Thank you for your feedback, we are always grateful for comments from guests and we are pleased you found our customer service helpful. We hope you will return one day and maybe try Kingfisher, Woodpecker or Buntings Lodges with have wood burners. Have a wonderful summer.

A stay in the Quantocks

Review submitted on Thu, 30 May 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fabulous base for walking in the Quantocks. The family team who run Mill Meadow are lovely, friendly and helpful. The hot tub was particularly pleasant after a full day of walking. The lodge was very comfortable and well equipped. We did have problems with the oven which the team tried to rectify as soon as possible, providing an alternative in the meantime.
I do think the charge for dogs is a little on the steep side compared with other cottages that I have stayed in, but it is a minor point.
A great few days in beautiful countryside with friends.




Mill Meadow replied 140 days ago
Thank you so very much for your wonderful comments, we are so pleased you found our hard work to make our guests happy was appreciated and will certainly take on bound your comments. We hope you will make the journey to Somerset and Mill Meadow again and maybe stay in one of our dog friendly eco lodges. Happy Summer to you all.

Cosy but with limited views

Review submitted on Wed, 15 May 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
House Martins was clean and cosy, but with limited views. The kitchen has frosted windows and looks onto the side of an adjacent house. The lounge windows are small and too high to see much when sitting on the couches. The bedrooms only have skylights.

This doesn't really matter if you can use the outside seating area, which is secluded, but it was too cold and windy when we stayed. However, we were out most of the day, so this didn't bother us much, especially as the price was good.




Mill Meadow replied 152 days ago
Thank you for your kind and generous feedback. How our guests feel about their stay is very important to at Mill Meadow.

Lovely girls weekends break.

Review submitted on Tue, 07 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was the second time we have stayed and in a smaller lodge, house martins, this time.
It was the perfect size for us. We had booked treatments at the lodge with the lovely Rachel and there was plenty of room in the lounge for her to set is her massage table.
The house was well equiped with everything we needed and we enjoyed the hot tub too.
We'll definitely be staying again.
Our only criticism is the deck of playing cards provided in the lodge was missing a couple of cards, but we improvised and this on no way impacted our enjoyment staying at mill meadow.




Mill Meadow replied 164 days ago
Thank you for your lovely positive feedback following your time with us in House Martins, we are so pleased the massage and hot tub added to your stay and you were all able to feel relaxed. We look forward to having you all back again.

A Great Place to Stay

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We rented both House Martins & Woodpecker Lodge for a long weekend for our family of 10 from Great Grandparents to a very active 2 year old. Our stay was for the extended weekend of my Wife's 60th Birthday celebrations. The welcome on arrival from Helen and Suzanne was great. A particularly nice touch was the welcome pack. House Martins has everything you could need for a weekend or longer stay, was warm and cosy. Ramped main door access was also a plus for access to the ground floor by the grandparents who stayed in Woodpecker Lodge but visited for afternoon tea.
We had arranged for outside caterers, The Olive Tree, Taunton to provide a three-course evening meal on the Saturday evening. Mill Meadow provided extra tables so that we could accommodate our whole party. The meal was superb and they even washed up - bonus. We also paid to use the jacuzzi which was excellent. Staff checked this twice a day during our stay to ensure all was fine. The wi-fi was excellent. The setting and location was ideal. Close enough to Taunton for those who wanted to shop and rural enough to be away from the noise of City life. The Quantocks is but a short drive with lots of walking opportunities and various Pubs who do excellent food. We went to the Carew Arms in Crowcombe for Sunday lunch which was, again excellent. We also visited Kings School Christmas Fayre which is well worth a visit if you are at Mill Meadow at the right time.
So in conclusion - a wonderful memorable weekend in an easily accessible location. We will certainly visit again and would highly recommend Mill Meadow.




Lovely peaceful location

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect location for us to attend a family wedding in the area. Easy access to other attractions e.g. Hestercombe Gardens. Anyone considering a break in Somerset should look to stay here. The loudest noise we heard was the birdsong.



Great cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Apr 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Really lovely place to stay for the long weekend. We had a great stay and we're sorry to leave so soon. Highly recommended



Excellent in all categories!

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Exactly what we were looking for and did not disappoint. Would highly recommend it for location, accommodation and staff.



Another fabulous stay!

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We just love Mill Meadow, this was our fifth stay. House Martins is great, plenty of space for us all, we can bring our dog, and a lovely hot tub in the garden; what more could you ask for?!

We will see you again soon Mill Meadow!




House Martins

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house was perfect for our pre-wedding stay, it was spacious and well equipped. The location is great, it provided a peaceful setting in the countryside but the town centre was a short drive away to get our necessities.



Girls weekend away

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Nov 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great weekend away, all staff were very kind and helpful. Visited the local pub ( The Swan), food amazing.
It's our second visit to Mill Meadow this year.




House Martins in September

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Sep 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage was very clean when we arrived, it is very well set out and has everything you could possibly want. The location is good and we had some nice walks from the cottage. The laminated walks were very helpful and it would have been nice to have had a few more.

We took our lively cocker spaniel with us and he needs a bit of exercise. A better fitting stair gate would have been helpful and a waste bin in the lounge. Other than that it was good.

Hestercombe gardens were a nice morning out and worth a look at, with a nice tea room.




Mill Meadow family stay

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location for family stay for a wedding nearby. Comfortable and spacious accommodation for the whole family including 6 month old and Grandparent.



Our week in house martins

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Aug 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Mill meadow is convenient for Taunton which has good shops, supermarkets and restaurants.
The lodge was spotlessly clean and very well equipped. The location was very pleasant with outside space to sit in privacy.




Lovely location, nice house, great Pub..

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Aug 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The site is perfectly located, has lovely walks and The Swan is a great pub. Other houses on site are nicer and better situated than House Martins though to be honest, and do look bigger, but it is comfortable enough, is very private and has everything that is needed. The hot tub is a must, and great fun for the whole family whatever the weather. I'd definitely recommend the site, the family are always available for whatever you need, but I'd say try the other houses before House Martins if you can.



Mill meadow is lovely .Lovely part of Somerset . Luckily weather was superb so had a great week.

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Jul 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely setting for an area with lots to offer.Mill Meadow is beautiful and the hot tub was sooo relaxing . Sitting by the lake in the evening was fab .We had great weather so had a great holiday with lots on your doorstep. East Lambrook garden, Dunster Castle ,Selworthy and Hestercombe are lovely places to visit.



Short weekend break

Review submitted on Thu, 25 May 2017
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Our second trip to House Martins was just for a weekend, but we had a lovely time in a lovely & clean house. Relaxing in the hot tub once kids had gone to sleep, watching the clouds as the sun went down was amazingly relaxing. Recommend this property to anyone wanting a peaceful retreat, the house has everything you could need and hosts very attentive.



Fantastic

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
All the family stayed together in adjoining cottages (House Martins and Swallows Barn). This worked out perfectly for us. We had such a great time and the location was perfect for our stay. Many thanks to all at Mill Meadow.



Lovely place

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Mar 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Set in a lovely part of Somerset, we had a great stay in the house martin lodge. Very friendly and welcoming owners. The setting is great, lovely walks in the hills, found some really nice pubs serving great food. Would definitely being returning again soon.



Wonderful and Relaxing

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay at Mill Meadow! It's a lovely resort in a gorgeous location. Very peaceful and relaxing, perfect to re-charge the batteries. Location was great- plenty of walking trails in the area, took a quick cab ride to the West Somerset Steam Train for an afternoon in Watchet (could have continued to Minehead) and did an easy drive to Chepstow, Wales for a day at the castle and racetrack! So many options in the area for things to do. Our residence, House Martins, was perfect for our group (5 total) - all amenities were well taken care of, with the hot tub a wonderful way to relax at days end and look at the stars. Really appreciated the local recommendations and walking trail maps provided in the house - the owners seemed to have thought of everything to give us a great stay. Hoping to plan another stay in the future!



House Martins Family Holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Jul 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I have three words to describe our stay at House Martins in the Mill Meadow facility and they are Fantastic, Fantastic and Fantastic for the following reasons;
The initial meeting was incredibly warm and welcoming and made us feel at home instantly and Suzanne, Chris and Helen were more than happy to help with anything that we requested.
The cottage was like a home from home with everything you could ever need and the addition of the hot tub and BBQ made for a really great holiday.
The Mill Meadow facility is really quite serene and what a fabulous place to unwind especially as they have a lovely lake which if you're into fishing is an added bonus and everywhere is exceptionally clean and tidy.
We all enjoyed our stay so much we will definitely be back and I can honestly say that you will not be disappointed.




Lovely eco-lodge cottage in Somerset

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Feb 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely, peaceful place to stay, kids loved feeding the fish on the lake. House very warm, comfortable, well-kept, and equipped. Suzanne very helpful, couldn't do enough for us, really made our stay like coming home!



A relaxing short break

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Jan 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very relaxing lodge. Surrounding area fantastic for walks. Couldn't fault it highly recommend it.
The lodge came fully equipped and had many extras. X




Well equipped holiday home at the foot of the beautiful Quantock Hills.

Review submitted on Thu, 31 Dec 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
House Martins is a well equipped house which is deceptively spacious, on the interesting Mill Meadow development just a few miles from Taunton. It is easy to find and well located for exploring the local area. Particularly the beautiful Quantock Hills.

Mill Meadow is very efficiently run and it came as no surprise to us that the house was clean and warm when we arrived and that everything worked as it should.

It is not cheap to stay at Mill Meadow but on reflection, it is fair to say that you get what you pay for.




Great stay at House Martins

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Nov 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
In Taunton for a family Wedding and Mill Meadow was just right to accommodate our 3 generational family. There was plenty of space in the House Martins property and it was very well equipped, especially the kitchen...we didn't want for anything.

Suzanne our host and Jean the housekeeper were wonderfully welcoming and helpful and really went the extra mile when we checked out with assistance with our rental car and transfers to the railway station.

I just wish the spa had been included in the rental price as that would have been fun to utilize. The additional charge (especially as we were travelling on Australian Dollars!) couldn't be justified.

All in all, a great option for our stay.




Excellent Property

Review submitted on Fri, 01 May 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay at this property. The owners could not do enough for us and made us feel very welcome. The property is ideally located for some really nice walks in beautiful countryside



Excellent Property

Review submitted on Fri, 01 May 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay at this property. The owners could not do enough for us and made us feel very welcome. The property is ideally located for some really nice walks in beautiful countryside



Family short break

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Apr 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We shared the lodge with family, both had young children it worked very well.
High chairs cots stairgates all good condition.
Excellent holiday facilities




4day break

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Apr 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very clean, fantastic layout, kitchen fantastic, bedrooms all of a good size and well presented. Hot tub was a fantastic way to finish the day. We were very satisfied. A lovely welcome was given on arrival.



beautiful place

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Feb 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Mill meadow is a perfect place to live and to
Spend your holidays. My family and I feel there like at home. Everything is perfect, The house, the area ...House Martin is a confortable house where you can find everything you need to spend a lovely time.




New Year 2014 - Mixed Group of Friends

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Jan 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at the House Martins was brilliant! We stayed for 3 nights over the New Year period and had an amazing time. I have been a guest before and will be booking again for April! Would highly recommend Mill Meadow.



A Truly Magical Place

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Jan 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Millmeadow is a truly magical place set in the peaceful haven of Kingston St Mary yet only a few miles away from the bustling market town of Taunton. This was our second visit of 2014, having stayed in the fabulously spacious Flycatchers at Easter. House Martins is more compact but exhibits a cosy homely feel which was great for our Christmas stay; our hosts Chris and Suzanne were as attentive as ever, even providing us with a fully decorated real Christmas tree on our arrival. The Kitchen Diner is functional and spacious, the bedrooms all of adequate size with sloping ceilings and rooflights. The whole family was very happy, we braved the hot tub on two occasions and the whole week was perfect!

We have already booked another two weeks in Robins Lodge for the Summer. Millmeadow is a "must see" experience!

Thanks to everyone!




Our Somerset Holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Nov 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thoroughly enjoyed our visit, House Martins Lodge was warm comfortable and spacious, everything we could possibly need was provided. Plenty of local attractions nearby,the West Somerset Steam Railway is well worth a visit. Walking on the Quantock Hills was a delight seeing the autumn colours and we were pleasantly surprised to see numerous deer. All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our holiday and would hope to return in the future.



I love mill meadow

Review submitted on Fri, 31 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I live in mill meadow during some periods and I feel at home .
Chris and suzanne are very kind and all the people there make the maintenance perfect.




House Martins

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Sep 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Again a thoroughly good expereince. The location is peaceful and the lodges are well laid out in the environment (lots of native planting). The accommodation is clean and well appointed - (loved the Laura Ashley touches). Both times we received a warm welcome and we came away feeling valued and rested.
Thank you




wonderf place

Review submitted on Tue, 20 May 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everyghing is perfect, the only negative thing is that the kingstonroad is a little bit dangerous. Some Cars runs too much. Otherwise the place, the house, staff , the area, everyghkng is very nice. I , ve felt like at home. Thank you.