FB Twitter

Ship's Loft

Ship's Loft

4.3
out of 5
Ratings from 8 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.4
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.1
Location
4.6
Value
4.3
Customer
Service
4.5


A wonderfully refurbished pet friendly fisherman's cottage in the popular Downalong area of St Ives with open beams. Sleeps 8. Living/dining area upstairs; and bedrooms and bathrooms downstairs. Entrances to both floors with useful utility area at the entrance to the ground floor. Complimentary WiFi. Ship’s Loft really is a perfect St Ives base for a family.

Great place with loads of space

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Nov 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
First of all this is a great place to stay with the family with loads of open space upstairs to keep that social aspect. The kitchen is well equipped and with a good quality finish through out. Down stairs the bedroom are good and of a reasonable size. The double bunk beds are a great idea but none of the rooms have much hanging space with is not a big deal. Because of the low ceilings down stairs the shower is not normal height meaning some people have to bend down to wash their hair. It is located right next to a restaurant and opposite a shop with is great in some ways but the very early morning deliveries are quite noisy especially for those in the 2nd and 3rd bedroom as the window for these rooms are at street level. Overall we did have a great stay in a lovely property but personally was effected by the delivery noises in the mornings which may effect some and not others.



Tim & The Team at Cherished! replied 28 days ago
Hi, thank you for your review of Ships Loft - we are sad to hear your stay was affected by the shop next door. We are pleased to note that you did however, enjoy the house with its sociable family space! Very best wishes Tim!

Can,t wait to go back.

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Oct 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved our stay yet again. This cottage has been a great find for us, warm, welcoming, within spitting distance of harbour and town and right next door to Norway Stores - what could be better. We will be back.



Tim and the Girls At Cherished Cottages replied 65 days ago
Hi Bev, Thank you for your lovely review of Ships Loft -we look forward to welcoming you again in the future! Tim

Lovely holiday rental

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Oct 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Good amenities and great position near to all beaches, restaurant and bars. Open plan living making for a great family stay.



Great Location and well equipped property

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Sep 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The living area was lovely and the kitchen was very well equipped - one of the best we have stayed in.
The bedrooms were very small and the hanging space was inadequate - there were only 4 of us so we managed by using the 3rd bedroom as hanging space but if there had been 8 of us it would have been a problem.
The bed in the main bedroom was a bit hard for me personally and I would have preferred to have a mattress topper to make it a bit softer.
Saying that we would consider staying at Ship's Loft again.




Tim & The Team at Cherished! replied 83 days ago
Hi Jane, Thank you for your feedback we will certainly pass your comments on to the owner of this lovely house. We would love to have you and your party back to stay in the future! Tim

Ships loft

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Sep 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely little cottage - the living area was a great size and comfortable the kitchen was spacious we did have some problems with the dishwasher and micro wave but nothing that would spoil the stay. I like the little hamper that was left for us!
Downstairs the bedroom area was quirky, the master bedroom was small and an awkward shape so difficult to furnish I think, to many bits of furniture I removed one table to move the shelf/hanging unit so I could get around the bed, the bed was comfy though also the door wouldn’t open very far before hitting the bed (the door needs to open into the hallway or maybe a slider because it really doesn’t work as it is) it was annoying. The other bedrooms were ok I think although we didn’t use the bunk room but it was very cute!
Bathrooms were good nice fittings etc
Ships loft is in a good position in st ives, being next to Norway stores sloop market and the loft restaurant it is quite busy and if you have the stable door open there were plenty of people who thought they would have a look in, which was a little strange.
All in all we enjoyed our stay but I don’t know if I would stay there again unless they changed the bedroom door around




Tim and the Girls At Cherished Cottages replied 93 days ago
Hi Lorna, Thank you for your feedback & we are glad that you had a good stay in Ships Loft. I will certainly pass your feedback onto the owners regarding the bedroom door. Tim!

Perfect location

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Jul 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Have been visiting St Ives, mainly Porthmeor, for 30+ years and we enjoyed this cottage more than any other.
Perfect location and lots of comfortable room. Thank you.




Tim and the Girls At Cherished Cottages replied 135 days ago
Hi Lynne, Thank you for your lovely review - we are glad that you had a lovely stay in Ships Loft in the very heart of St Ives. Tim!

Two weeks in St . Ives

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Jul 2019
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Ships Loft is located well for town and beaches. Needs new furniture to improve comfort. Sofas especially.



Tim & The Team at Cherished! replied 155 days ago
Hi Karen, thank you for your feedback - I will pass this on to the owner of the lovely Ships Loft. We agree the location is perfect for your beach family holiday in St Ives. Tim & The Team

Fabulous break

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Ships loft in the first week of June, it was our second stay at the property. Last year we went to Mallorca and spent most of the holiday saying that it was not as good as Cornwall.

Ships Loft is as shown in the pictures, we weren’t disappointed. The location is fabulous, even with small children you can walk to any of the beaches, pop next door to a good restaurant, pop over the road to beautiful galleries and a pottery, there’s a great cafe a few doors down, a shop stocking anything you’d ever need to whip up dinner, or buy warm croissants in the morning.

On a practical note, the first time we visited our twins were two, the upside down layout of the house was perfect. If they got out of bed in the night there was no need to panic that they’d fall downstairs. Now they are four, the bunk bed layout in the children’s bedroom meant they were keen to get into bed every night.

See you next year!




Tim and the Girls At Cherished Cottages replied 184 days ago
Hi Liz, We are so happy that you had another great stay at Ships Loft! The four bunk beds are a huge appeal to children of all ages, and what a bonus that they went to bed early too!! We look forward to seeing you next time! Tim