FB Twitter

Bakehouse - Sleeps 2, King Bed, Dog Free, Shower

Bakehouse - Sleeps 2, King Bed, Dog Free, Shower

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 21 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
5.0
Location
4.7
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.9


Ideal getaway

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyed our third stay in this lovely cosy cottage. Very relaxing and still finding new places to visit. The seting is ideal.

Donald from Broseley stayed at Bakehouse - Sleeps 2, King Bed, Dog Free, Shower for 7 nights in September 2021


A Good Base

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent setting and accommodation. Additionally a good base for exploring the area. A visit to Clevedon is a must.

Peter from Derby stayed at Bakehouse - Sleeps 2, King Bed, Dog Free, Shower for 7 nights in July 2021


A lovely conversion

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The old Bakehouse has been beautifully converted into a one up-one down holiday cottage. Everything I needed was provided . There are a lot of parking spaces on-site, plus open space and seating to enjoy the countryside views. Crossing Barton Road, there is a lovely walk up Barton Hill onto The West Mendips Way. From Crook Peak there are stupendous views across The Bristol Channel to Wales. Home Farm is well situated for visits to Wells; Cheddar Gorge; Glastonbury; and Weston-Super-Mare.

Linda from Southsea stayed at Bakehouse - Sleeps 2, King Bed, Dog Free, Shower for 6 nights in July 2021


A blissful hideaway in The Mendips

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our cottage was everything we could have wished for. It had old world charm and, at the same time, was comfortable and extremely well appointed. Taken with the other cottages on the site it was a great base for exploring the area, with easy access to the coast at Clevedon and Burnham, as well as historic Wells and Glastonbury. Finishing off in the evening, watching the sun go down, sat in the lovely grounds of Home Farm Cottages.

We would return without any hesitation.


Roger from Warwick stayed at Bakehouse - Sleeps 2, King Bed, Dog Free, Shower for 6 nights in July 2021


Lovely relaxing holiday in Somerset

Review submitted on Fri, 28 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay in The Bakehouse which is cosy, comfortable and well equipped. As keen walkers we were very pleased that we could walk direct from the cottage on several days with access to the West Mendips Way and also to the Strawberry Line walking and cycling route. It is also not far in the car to Cheddar Gorge, Glastonbury and the Somerset coast. Somerset is such a beautiful and varied county and we can certainly recommend staying at Home Farm Cottages.

Catriona from Ripley stayed at Bakehouse - Sleeps 2, King Bed, Dog Free, Shower for 7 nights in May 2021


Lovely stay

Review submitted on Sat, 22 May 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in the Bakehouse for a week in May. The cottage was beautiful, very clean and cosy and we had everything we needed with a kitchen. Mike was a very welcoming host.
The highlights of our trip were a day in Wells, Cheddar Gorge, Longleat and Glastonbury (and we recommend a walk round Glastonbury Abbey). Everyone we met was very friendly, thank you Somerset!


Alexandra from Ilkley stayed at Bakehouse - Sleeps 2, King Bed, Dog Free, Shower for 7 nights in April 2021


Ideal getaway

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Nov 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage ideally situated for visiting many locations.

Donald from Broseley stayed at Bakehouse - Sleeps 2, King Bed, Dog Free, Shower for 7 nights in October 2020


Value for money, a beautiful cottage.

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Oct 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We loved our stay at the Bakehouse, the cottage was really cosy and clean, everything was provided which was a nice touch especially when self catering. The whole site was well cared for. We used the laundry facilities and again were impressed with what was available and the standard of cleanliness. Plenty of fields to walk across although because the cottage is down a long country lane we were unable to go for a walk to the local shops. However the cottage is situated close to various places to visit, and Mike provides a really informative and helpful pack with suggestions of things to do. We went to Cheddar and loved it, Glastonbury, Wells, Bath, Clifton Suspension bridge, Montacute House, Weston-Super-Mare and Burnham on Sea. We had a really lovely week and felt refreshed.

Sue from Rayleigh stayed at Bakehouse - Sleeps 2, King Bed, Dog Free, Shower for 6 nights in October 2020


If you are tall learn to duck.

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Oct 2020
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A few low beams so be careful if you are tall, you need to quickly learn to duck especially going up the stairs. There is a beam halfway up. The arm chairs are adult size but almost child height which makes them difficult to get out of if you are not in full health or are, like me, tall. Also, be very very careful in the shower. It is quite small and the shower tray is very slippery when wet. It really needs a non slip mat or shower tray. But over all the Bakehouse is, like the rest of the farm, historically very interesting. The bakehouse still has it's inglenook and stone wall character but with up to date kitchen and other fittings. The owner (Mike) is very helpful and interesting to talk to. The farm is located down a single track lane and the local motorists dont seem to understand the concept of going slow if you cant see what is coming, so be careful. There is also an electric car recharging point available to use if you have an electric car. Payment for the use of this is on an honest basis.

Mike from Wisbech stayed at Bakehouse - Sleeps 2, King Bed, Dog Free, Shower for 7 nights in October 2020


Small but perfectly formed

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Oct 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Lovely cottage, small but perfectly formed. It is basically a 1 up, 1 down which the pictures don't really show, so it is much smaller than it looks. However, it's beautifully done, full of charm and character, with everything you need. The kitchen was well equipped (We cooked every single night) the only small gripe was that the knives were too blunt to cut with and there was no knife sharpener supplied, so we ended up buying a knife ourselves, as we didn't really want to go near anyone else during this time of Covid. The surroundings are beautiful, plenty to see on the doorstep or nearby. We visited Weston-super-Mare, Cheddar and Cheddar Gorge, Glastonbury, Wells and Wells Cathedral, as well as Dunster Castle. We also went to a fantastic Garden Centre near by which was the best we had ever been to. It had multiple shops within it, (Fat Face, Pavers etc) but the plants etc were amazing too and a very good price. The cottage was a really good base as none of this was too far away.

Kristy from Largs stayed at Bakehouse - Sleeps 2, King Bed, Dog Free, Shower for 7 nights in October 2020


Lovely bakehouse stay in somerset

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and I enjoyed the cosy bakehouse with all the home comforts and real fire. We were greeted by Mike and his lovely 2 dogs with welcome starter of cake, tea coffee and milk. Good walking straight from the house and lots of recommendations helped guide us on things to do and to great local pubs. Covid restrictions all managed very well so felt safe. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Sarah from West Molesey stayed at Bakehouse - Sleeps 2, King Bed, Dog Free, Shower for 4 nights in August 2020


Sad to leave

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very relaxing stay. Everything we needed was either in the cottage or onsite. Excellent location for exploring the area. Lots of information provided. Beautiful outdoor space with stunning flowers.

Ann from Edinburgh stayed at Bakehouse - Sleeps 2, King Bed, Dog Free, Shower for 7 nights in August 2020


Great stay in a lovely cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
On arrival the Cottage was warm and cosy, very helpfull hosts.
Enjoyed our stay and the location.
we can recommend this to all holiday makers.


Peter from Stuttgart stayed at Bakehouse - Sleeps 2, King Bed, Dog Free, Shower for 7 nights in October 2019


lovely weekend

Review submitted on Sat, 21 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had need of accommodation for 14 adults and 3 children at the end of august. how difficult is that. home farm came to the rescue by helping us to fit into 4 of their delightful cottages. All are excellent. We were only 10 mins from the wedding venue in Banwell and in the middle of gorgeous walking country. Ruth and Mike allowed us to host a family bbq on the sunday and we had over 30 family members at the event, across 4 generations. Fabulous.
Everyone was please with their specific cottages and I know some will return - lovely place to stay.


Colin from Wokingham stayed at Bakehouse - Sleeps 2, King Bed, Dog Free, Shower for 7 nights in August 2019


Nice stay at The Bakehouse

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Good location to discover North Somerset, where there are lots of things to see and do. So much so, we ran out of time. Cosy cottage for two.

John from Stone stayed at Bakehouse - Sleeps 2, King Bed, Dog Free, Shower for 7 nights in August 2019


The Perfect Holiday Location

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Bakehouse is a beautifully presented small cottage on an ex-working farm set in lovely countryside. Ruth and Mike keep it in excellent condition and everything, including the kitchen utensils (not the case everywhere we have stayed!) as spotless. The furniture is very comfortable and everything for visitors' needs has been thought of. We had never before used an Amazon Echo but bought one as soon as we returned home.

Ruth and Mike could not have been more friendly and welcoming and even took in a grocery delivery for us and packed it all away. Harry and Archie, the cockapoos, are a delight. We enjoyed watching the large (180ish) dairy herd walking by to the milking parlour each day.

We did as much walking as the less than perfect weather allowed and enjoyed a trip to Winscombe for a holiday treat, a very good cooked breakfast in The Pantry café.


Peter from Stratford Upon Avon stayed at Bakehouse - Sleeps 2, King Bed, Dog Free, Shower for 7 nights in June 2019


The Bakehouse

Review submitted on Fri, 24 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything about this stay was wonderful. Fresh flowers, home made chocolate cake and milk in the fridge upon arrival. There was everything you could need from hairdryer to an Alexa. Ruth and Mike were excellent hosts as were Archie and Harry (2 handsome cockerpoos) . We enjoyed it so much we booked for next year before our break had finished.
I would recommend The Bakehouse 100%.


Sara from Haverfordfest West stayed at Bakehouse - Sleeps 2, King Bed, Dog Free, Shower for 7 nights in May 2019


Cosy short stay below the Mendips

Review submitted on Sat, 04 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Comfortable, well equipped cottage in rural surroundings in good location for visiting Somerset & Brstol

Jacqueline from Sedgefield stayed at Bakehouse - Sleeps 2, King Bed, Dog Free, Shower for 3 nights in April 2019


Perfect choice

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent all round self catering. Peaceful & welcoming retreat especially for enthusiastic walkers.

David from Pulborough stayed at Bakehouse - Sleeps 2, King Bed, Dog Free, Shower for 7 nights in March 2019


Beautiful Cottage in an idyllic setting

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband I stayed here for the week and it was perfect. Location wise, set in the countryside it was peaceful and exactly what we wanted with easy access for walks and short drives to some great local pubs. In the cottage everything looked new and well cared for. Cleanliness was excellent and quality of decoration and furnishing's a really great standard. Hosts Mike and Ruth were welcoming and warm, with a really lovely personal touch of flowers and some delicious home-made cake on the counter and milk in the fridge to welcome us to our stay in Bakehouse. Access to a well-equipped laundry room was helpful for cleaning up after our walks. Made for two, Bakehouse is a little slice of home-from-home, a very private and quiet little getaway. We look forward to returning.

Sophie from stayed at Bakehouse - Sleeps 2, King Bed, Dog Free, Shower for 7 nights in December 2018


Beautiful cottage in an idyllic location

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Me and my wife had a 4 night stay in this cottage over the festive period. Check in was super easy, Mike showed us around the cottage and gave us all the info we needed for our stay. The cottage was kitted out with everything you could need, and it looked exactly like the photos, small and compact, but warm and cosy, exactly what we were looking for. Who doesn't like a cup of tea in an arm chair next to a roaring fire! Home farm is located in a very convenient location, rural but only a 15 minute drive to the motorway and a stone's throw to the mendip hills. We will defineitely book again for this year. Thanks Mike and Ruth!

Ross from Crediton stayed at Bakehouse - Sleeps 2, King Bed, Dog Free, Shower for 7 nights in December 2018