FB Twitter

Barr Cottage

Barr Cottage

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 24 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.8
Condition
5.0
Location
4.8
Value
4.9
Customer
Service
4.9


Barr Cottage is a steading conversion at Barr Farm on a ridge overlooking Loch Fyne to the West of Minard. It offers fabulous views down the Loch and to the hills and mountains beyond. It has been refurbished recently to a very high standard.

Barr Cottage has two spacious double bedrooms, a family bathroom including a double ended bath with rain shower over, a large dining kitchen with newly fitted units including a built in oven, microwave, fridge freezer and a separate ceramic hob. There is a dishwasher and washing machine to help with those essential chores.

30 Degrees and more

Review submitted on Thu, 19 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Barr Cottage was a beautiful home for our small family with children who loved to play in the garden or looking out for sheeps. It's spacious and very clean. Nothing has run down. Victoria and John are very friendly and also helped us with our car problem. We really would love to come back.



A wonderful experience

Review submitted on Wed, 30 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My friends and I had a great stay at the cotttage. It is even more beautiful than in the pictures. The house is spotless and had everything we need. The hosts are very welcoming and gave us all the information we needed. Victoria made us an amazing lemon drizzle cake too which was a lovely tough so thank you for that.
The scenery around this area is stunning. We were blessed with lovely weather which made it even better.
All in all it was everything we were looking for and more to get a break away from the city.
I would highly recommend




A very enjoyable property

Review submitted on Sun, 20 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very nice and comfortable cottage with very pleasant and helpful owners. Location is peaceful with good views over Loch Fyne. Plenty of wildlife visits the large garden. The cottage was lovely and clean with everything you need. The agent was very helpful when we wanted to extend our stay.



Restored & Relaxed at Barr Cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 10 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Barr Cottage exceeded our expectations! The property and our hosts embodied the spirit of Scotland!

We were warmly welcomed and shown the ins/outs of the property by our hosts. The cottage was spotless, well-equipped, comfortable, modern, convenient, warm, cozy, tons of amenities (I found the apron!) and full of literature of the nearby walks, restaurants, and attractions. The kitchen had everything we needed - the DW was great to have, but we did not use. We did use the W/D, as we had been traveling for a week already. We really enjoyed the fire stove in the LR and were eager to return home each evening to relax with a glass of wine or local brew with a warm fire.

We loved the location - for us it was a perfect home base to explore on our first visit. We were not interested in spending our days in the car, and we found more than we could ever want to see/do within 90 minutes of the cottage. The grounds and view were spectacular. We enjoyed watching the neighbor's sheep frolic every day. One of our favorite outings was a drive to Gigha Island - taking a scenic drive and ferry over to the island. Our hosts were full of ideas and suggestions but were respectful of our privacy. We also enjoyed our final meal at Samphire in Inveraray, nearby. The Barr Cottage experience was the highlight of our two week UK visit. Thank you!




Lambs and Daffodils in Abundance!

Review submitted on Thu, 26 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Barr cottage is just delightful both inside and outside.
We loved the open views over fields and loch , the bird feeder that attracted a variety of birds including the Great Spotted Woodpecker , and a lovely red squirrel with the bushiest tail!
Inside -
the efficient central heating and wood-burning stove kept the chilly April weather at bay. We were very cosy!
The cottage has been expertly renovated to provide a modern kitchen and dining with everything one would require,a spacious bathroom , a living room with loads of books and games ,and very comfortable bedrooms - all beautifully decorated.
We would love to return.




Wonderfull

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Nov 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Sorry 3 rd time ,,,,cottage brill visit wonderfuj even after7.5 hours travel ,,,,,when we come back to Scotland we hope to stay with you , ,,,thank-you xx



Our Stay at Barr Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I cannot say enough good things about the property and the welcome we received from John and Victoria.

A real home away from home in a beautiful part of Scotland.

Fantastic! Highly Recommended.




Best holiday lodge we have ever been

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It is a romantic old cottage, but inside everything is new und very tidy. It is furnished with love and there was nothing we could have missed. The owners are very friendly and helpful, there even was a freshly baked cake and fresh flowers in a vase on the table. Outside you have a wonderful garden of your own and a garden table and chairs, and a wonderful look into the landscape on mountains and Loch Fyne.



Relaxing country cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We highly recommend Barr Cottage for a relaxing stay in a less visited part of Scotland. The setting was picturesque, with white sheep on green rolling hills, near many important prehistoric landmarks, quaint villages and good restaurants. Our hosts were wonderful! The cottage was immaculate and roomy. We would love to come back one day!



Lovely place to stay

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Jun 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Nice renovated place and with it's own mood and atmosphere. We have found anything we needed, very tidy. You really feel welcome in this place!



excellent accommodation

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Jun 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was an excellent "find" because you never quite know, even with photos, what it will be like. The house was faultless, and the proprietor was delightful. We will be back.



The best you can get for your money

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything perfect.
Victoria and John are very careful and friendly hosts. They gave good informations for interesting places around.




May 2017

Review submitted on Sun, 28 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great welcome from the owners & another very comfortable and peaceful stay on this lovely cottage. Very recommended.



A really beautiful cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the moment we arrived at Barr Cottage we know that we were going to have a lovely stay. The owners were there to give us a very warm welcome and there was a lovely Easter egg sitting on the table with a welcome card. The garden is beautiful with red squirrels, woodpeckers and numerous other birds. The cottage was very warm, cosy and perfect for a holiday in Argyll.



Beautiful cottage in lovely location.

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Dec 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a beautiful cottage in a peaceful location. Close to both Inveraray and Lochilphead.
Crarae gardens about 1 mile away. Owners of the cottage couldn't be more welcoming and helpful.
Loads of historic sites nearby - Castles, stone circles cairns etc.
Also plenty of wildlife in the area and plenty bird species visiting the cottages bird feeders.
Would recommend this cottage to all age groups.




Great place to stay and relax for some days.

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We got a warm welcome and found a very clean and complete home for our holidays. The location is great for daytrips to Inveraray, Oban or the Secret Coast. A rainy cold day can be enjoyed in front of a warm fireplace.



Immaculate Well Equipped Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Oct 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a fabulous few days stay at Barr Cottage with the compliment of amazingly sunny weather in October. The cottage is immaculate well equipeed and the whiskey cake that the owners provided went down a treat, Venture Boat Trip from Crinan was fantastic and would strongly recommend - we saw 4 Sea Eagles!! A lovely re-charge of the batteries - Thank you



Excellent Property

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were made to feel very welcome by our hosts. The cottage is lovely and in a good place for visiting many places in the surrounding area. We felt that the on-line photographs didn't do the property justice. We could have stayed a lot longer as we felt so relaxed and at home!



Extremely clean, warm and cosy cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 26 Aug 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent property to go to if you are allergic to dogs, I have a severe allergy to dogs and it is difficult to find a holiday let where the owners are true to their word when they say no pets as some owners we have booked with, often allow their own pets. The owners live in an adjacent property and were extremely helpful and approachable yet allowed you to enjoy your holiday in peace. The cottage was warm and cosy a real home from home. There is an amazing shower which was extremely welcoming after a long day exploring the amazing countryside before settling down next to the wood burner in the cosy lounge with a dram or two. The property is extremely well equipped, exceptionally clean and a wonderful quite and peaceful place to stay. We enjoyed horse trekking, hiring a boat on Loch Awe and catching our fresh makerel supper in Tarbert. The cottage is set up on the hill and a very short walk down the private driveway gives you a fantastic view of Loch Fyne. I would recommend this cottage to stay in as an ideal base especially if you are sampling Scotland for the first time.



The most fantastic place to discover Argyll region !

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit to the Barr cottage. We have satyed for 2 weeks this time and were not bored - perfect holidays for the family :-) This is definitely the most fantastic place to visit one of Scotland's most beautiful regions - Argyll. The cottage is perfectly arranged and equiped and the hosts - Victoria and John - most welcoming people ! We recommand Barr cottage to everyone :-)




Excelkent stay

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An ideal place for a holiday. Comfortably furnished and equipped house. Lovely and very helpful owners. Very well-kept garden. The picturesque surroundings. Many attractions nearby. I would highly recommend!



A great base for exploring Argyll

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage has been renovated to a very high standard, is well equipped and nicely furnished, and is a very comfortable place for four adults or a family of four to stay. It has a spacious, well kept garden, plenty of off road parking, and lovely views down to Loch Fyne. The owners, John and Victoria, are welcoming and helpful without ever being intrusive. I would highly recommend Barr Cottage as a base for exploring Argyll.



A fabulous cottage in a beautiful location

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the perfect cottage to get away from it all. The cottage deserves 5* as the owners have considered everything that you may need for a holiday. The property has recently been completely refurbished and is maintained to a high standard.
The area has great walks and places of interest. It is located in a 'foodies' paradise with so many choices of fabulous restaurants serving local produce. We highly recommend this property (and we are incredibly fussy) and will be returning very soon.




Delightful Cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Jun 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great location for exploring this part of Argyll, we concentrated mainly on the area around Lochgilphead, especially Kilmartin. The museum tearoom was delightful in the sunshine.The cottage was very well equipped and we enjoyed our stay. Didn't need to light the stove which was a bit disappointing!