FB Twitter

Vale View

Vale View

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 25 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.6
Location
4.7
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.7


  • Stone built first-floor accommodation above village pub
  • Private entrance & garden
  • Hot Tub (small children must be supervised at all times) available Easter to end of October (see notes & special conditions)
  • Ideal location for walkers & cyclists
  • 5 ensuite bedrooms
  • Wi-fi
  • Fully enclosed private rear sunny garden
  • 2 well-behaved dogs welcome
  • Parking for up to 5 cars
  • Flexible changeover days

Great weekend

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed at Vale View for a weekend. The accommodation is great for 2 families to stay at. Lots of space in the lounge area and the kitchen area. The kitchen is very well equipped and very clean.
The pub downstairs is fantastic and locals are very friendly.


J. from West Wickham stayed at Vale View for 2 nights in November 2018


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the Owner replied 57 days ago
Thank you for your fantastic 5* review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Vale View and will pass your kind words onto the Owners. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Wedding accommodation

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Oct 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed here as a family for a weekend to attend a wedding at newton hall which was about 20miles away.
The accommodation was perfect for what we needed, large spacious en-suite bedrooms and a lovely large kitchen/diner with stunning views across open countryside. It easily accommodated 11adults.
There was also biscuits, milk coffee and wine provided which was a nice touch.
We didn’t get time to use the hot tub in the garden, but hopefully will return and make use of it then.


Kirsty from Jarrow stayed at Vale View for 2 nights in October 2018


Fantastic family weekend

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed as a family of 10 and had a great time. The accommodation is perfect for a large group, with everything you need for your stay.
The kids loved the hot tub.
The bar downstairs is great, a proper pub.
Thankyou to Lisa was very helpful and friendly and made our stay stress free.
We would definitely recommend ValeView and hope to stay again.


Chantelle from Seaham stayed at Vale View for 3 nights in September 2018


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the Owners replied 93 days ago
Many thanks for your fantastic 5* review! We are glad you enjoyed your family break at Vale View and will pass on your very kind words to Lisa. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Great for a large party

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Aug 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We hired Vale View for a party of 10, for a week. All 5 bedrooms are spacious and have en suites. The common areas - lounge and kitchen/diner - were also larger than expected, and easily accommodated all of us. The two children with us had a great time running through the apartment! The garden is secluded and sheltered from the wind, and the hot tub was always available. Friendly pub below with pool tables.

Nicholas from Ipswich stayed at Vale View for 7 nights in August 2018


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the Owner replied 152 days ago
Thank you for submitting a review of your stay at Vale View. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Vale View

Review submitted on Fri, 11 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
There were 10 of us spending the weekend in this lovely place. The vale view is a large comfortable well equipped place to stay . The owner was very helpful and friendly and the locals in the Queens Head were welcoming .
It's a lovely place to stay


Clair from Sunderland stayed at Vale View for 3 nights in April 2018


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the Owner replied 250 days ago
Thank you for your 5* review! We are thrilled you enjoyed your weekend break at Vale View and bonded with the locals! We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Lovely Easter stay in great value for money apartment

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Apr 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed here for a week with 3 generations of family over Easter. Having all 5 bedrooms en suite was wonderful and the hot tub was a definite bonus despite the chilly weather! The apartment is huge with loads of space in both kitchen/diner and lounge. Meant that the adults could sit in the dining area whilst the children played in the lounge. The view from the kitchen/diner is stunning. Kitchen very well stocked and having a dishwasher, washer and dryer was brilliantl with young children. We ate in every night as there are no restaurants nearby and unfortunately the pub below doesn’t sell food. Noise from the pub was more or less non existent. Think we probably made more noise then them! My only slight criticism was that my bedroom was cold- only one small radiator in a large bedroom. I don’t think this was helped by the window being rather old and draughty unlike the new ones in the kitchen. Apart from this we all loved it and, if we return to the area again, we would certainly stay here.

Ann from Bury stayed at Vale View for 7 nights in March 2018


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the Owner replied 280 days ago
Thank you for submitting a review of your stay at Vale View. We are glad you enjoyed a family get away and there was plenty of room for you all to enjoy! I will pass your comments onto the Owner. Thanks again!

My 60th birthday

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Feb 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Beautiful accommodation with breathtaking views very private with lovely rear garden which in the summer months must be amazing

Patricia from Cleckheaton stayed at Vale View for 3 nights in January 2018


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the Owner replied 345 days ago
Many thanks for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your birthday celebrations!

Excellent spacious accommodation

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Vale View is set in a small village with pretty views from the rear.
All rooms are spacious and well appointed.
An excellent venue for a family gathering or a group of friends.


Audrey from Natland Mill Beck Lane stayed at Vale View for 7 nights in September 2017


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the owner replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks for the review. Pleased you enjoyed the space the apartment offers. It is a great venue for a group get together.

Great for get togethers

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Aug 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Extremely spacious apartment. .plenty of room for 9 of us. The en-suites essential when a lot of people !. Plenty of crockery, utensils etc. Dishwasher great!. Fab view from back over the Vale. Goodo for touring the area. Good value for money.

Meg from Glasgow stayed at Vale View for 7 nights in August 2017


Stay Northumbria ltd on behalf of the owner replied more than 1 year ago
We are so glad you all had a great time in North Northumberland and thank you for your review. We hope to see you again in the near future.

A great place to stay

Review submitted on Mon, 01 May 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay here. There were only four of us - we all like a bedroom to ourselves, and there should have been five - so we had a huge amount of space. Vale View was very clean and comfortable. There was a nice (alcoholic) welcome pack and plenty of crockery, cutlery and glasses - many, many glasses.

Glanton itself is just a small village, quiet but with no real outstanding features - some very nice houses though. The garage in nearby Powburn had more than enough for emergency supplies when we arrived late afternoon on a Sunday. It was a convenient place to get to other attractions and it was lovely to come back to the large living room and kitchen each night.

You can hear sounds from the pub in at least one bedroom but this was only during normal pub hours and only a problem if you go to bed early.

All of us agreed that we would happily come back.


Christine from Marple stayed at Vale View for 4 nights in April 2017


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the owner replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review of your stay at Vale View. We are pleased that you enjoyed the space in the apartment and liked the surrounding area.

Great for a large family get together

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Superb ensuite accommodation above a pub. There is a little evening noise but nothing excessive, I am sure we made more noise than they did. Lovely owners, super location and the welcome pack was a lovely touch.

Timothy from Derby stayed at Vale View for 7 nights in April 2017


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the owners replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the review and recommendation and pleased to hear you had a good time staying at Vale View.

Christmas stay

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Jan 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic stay at vale view. The place was big enough for our family to eat together and also all sit together in the lounge. The bedrooms were great as they were all en suit. There was a problem with the heating when we arrived so we were without heat and hot water for most of Christmas Eve. The owners were very prompt and brought round heaters and sorted someone to fix the problem. Once it was fixed the main rooms in the cottage were lovely and warm, however the bedrooms were still cold. Also, the water temp was cool in the rooms without electric showers. This was not a big deal and certainly didn't spoil our wonderful stay. We would definitely stay again.

Marsha from Gateshead stayed at Vale View for 7 nights in December 2016


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the owner replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks for the lovely review and recommendation. Pleased to hear you enjoyed Christmas at Vale View despite the heating issue. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Great stay

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Dec 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very well equipped (dishwasher, washing machine, separate dryer and large oven, microwave). Great views and confortable beds. Welcome wine and biscuits left.
Large rooms with plenty of space.
Great place for a large family/ group of friends to stay


Marianne from Edinburgh stayed at Vale View for 4 nights in November 2016


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the owners replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your glowing review of your stay at Vale View - we are delighted that you enjoyed it so much.

A weeks stay in September 2016

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Oct 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Although Vale View comprises the top floor of a village pub, this impacted very little on our stay. The noise from the weekly auction of Giant Vegetables was tolerable and one would not have known the pub was there for the rest of the week. All of the 5 en suite double or twin bedrooms were excellent and the Shower/bathrooms were modern and in good condition. The common kitchen/dining room with excellent views was able to accommodate our dinner for twelve comfortably - the living room was great. Our dog enjoyed the large enclosed garden. We made full use of the free wifi - although coverage was patchy in some rooms.

Glanton proved to be an excellent base for exploring the surrounding countryside and coastal walks. However, one does need a car, since it is about 15 minutes to Alnwick the nearest town

I would thoroughly recommend this to anyone organising a family gathering or gathering of friends. It would be an excellent base of a weeks golf, walking or birdwatching holiday. The local golf courses are welcoming, very modestly priced and great fun


Martin from Edinburgh stayed at Vale View for 7 nights in September 2016


A week away in August 2016 with an extended family of 10 plus labrador

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Aug 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a very relaxing week away in August 2016, Vale View is perfectly situated to enjoy day trips to Alnwick, Bamburgh and all the surrounding countryside and beaches, there is lots to see and do in this beautiful part of our country.
The accommodation is very large and well equipped, the 5 en-suite bedrooms all allow individual space if needed, the master bedroom has a single room, a walk in dressing area and large bathroom all attached to it, all good.


Andrew from Kettering stayed at Vale View for 7 nights in August 2016


21st birthday stay.

Review submitted on Thu, 19 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What an excellent place for a party/family get together! The location is stunning and accomadation was home from home! We had everything we needed. We even had a pub on our premises, what more can you ask for! So pleased I came across this place to celebrate our daughters 21sr birthday! Fun had by all!

Julie from Stockton-on-Tees stayed at Vale View for 2 nights in May 2016


An Enjoyable Weekend

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I chose Vale View because it was spacious and could accommodate our party of seven with most people having their own rooms. It was an added bonus that they were all en-suite. We were meeting to spend the weekend quilting and found it perfect with lots of space in lovely light rooms and a well equipped kitchen to keep us going with lots of good food. We visited in March and found it warm and cosy with a comfortable lounge to relax in at the end of the day. I would certainly recommend this property and hope to visit again.

Pat from Hexham stayed at Vale View for 3 nights in March 2016


Family vacation

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Feb 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a wonderful apartment, loads of space for our extended family, fantastic location, so close to Breamish valley and Northumberland National Park, great for exploring, easy access to amenities in Wooler and Alnwick, a week wasn't long enough.
The view from the kitchen renders the TV obsolete - would definitely recommend


Jason from Wigan stayed at Vale View for 7 nights in February 2016


A family reunion at Christmas

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Jan 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Vale View provided a good base for a Christmas reunion. It was spacious and comfortable, and was a great location for exploring the hills and coastline.

David from Twickenham stayed at Vale View for 7 nights in December 2015


Spacious holiday base

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Aug 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable and spacious, ideal having en suite for every room. Perfect central location to explore the whole county. Perfect for larger families/groups.

Guest from Norwich stayed at Vale View for 7 nights in August 2015


Bowron family from Edinburgh

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Aug 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Good, clean, comfortable, spacious property with outstanding southerly views from the kitchen. Quiet peaceful location close to rivers, beaches and lovely towns made it ideal for a family holiday.

Guest from Livingston stayed at Vale View for 7 nights in August 2015


Excellent apartment for a large family

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Jul 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great week staying in Vale View. There were nine of us and at no time did we feel crowded in. Every one of the five bedrooms were en suite. The sitting room had four sofas and a large leather chair. The kitchen / dining/ living area was large and very well equipped with good quality crockery, washing machine, tumble drier, pots, large fridge freezer and superb cooker. We appreciated the beautiful panoramic view from this room.
Would certainly recommend this apartment and the very many attractions in the area. We had great fun!


Guest from Aberdeen stayed at Vale View for 7 nights in July 2015


stunning value for money apartment

Review submitted on Wed, 27 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a wonderful weeks holiday. There were 9 of us fishing at fisheries in the area. Apartment was spotless and very spacious, with en-suite to all rooms. Very well kitted out with everything we needed. We were all made very welcome by staff and other customers in the pub. Could not have asked for more.

Guest from Bishop Aukland stayed at Vale View for 7 nights in May 2015


A wonderful stay

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This accommodation was a great find. We booked it for 10 friends meeting between Newcastle and Edinburgh and our 6 month old baby came along. It was easy to forget the cottage is shared with a pub since it was so quiet. It was beautiful, spacious and clean with lovely, good quality linen and towels provided. We had a great time and hope to meet up there annually!

Maria from Newcastle Upon Tyne stayed at Vale View for 3 nights in March 2015


Great place to chill out.

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Mar 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We booked this break for a chill out weekend and that was exactly what we got. The property was great,rooms all had an end suite so perfect for a girly weekend. We are hoping to book again real soon.

Guest from Newcastle Upon Tyne stayed at Vale View for 3 nights in March 2015