FB Twitter

Topcliffe

Topcliffe

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 23 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.8
Location
5.0
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.8


  • Sea-front property right opposite the beach
  • All front windows have sea views
  • 5 minutes from Beadnell Bay
  • Log burner
  • Wi-fi
  • South facing enclosed rear garden
  • Off road parking for 2 cars
  • 2 medium well behaved dog welcome
  • Flexible changeover days
  • Low Season Short Breaks available

lovely relaxing break

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Nov 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Topcliffe is in a great position looking out to the sea. Very warm, cosy and well equipped. Convenient local shop and great to cross the road in a morning and be down on the beach to walk my dogs.

Jackie from Chesterfield stayed at Topcliffe for 7 nights in November 2017


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the owner replied 16 days ago
Great to hear you had relaxing holiday and that you appreciated the location of Topcliffe and everything it has to offer for both guests and their dogs.

First stay in Topcliffe

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
One of the nicest places we have stayed in on Harbour Road, our location of choice in our preferred village of Beadnell.
Great sea views and handy for an evening stroll with the dog.
Well equipped kitchen.
Nice dining area.
Comfy lounge and spacious bedrooms.
Good plentiful hot water and powerful shower upstairs.
Gutter at back needed clearing and fixing.
Bathrooms could usefully do with a toiletries stand.


John from Ilkley stayed at Topcliffe for 7 nights in October 2017


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the owner replied 37 days ago
What a super review and thank you for bringing our attention to the guttering which has now been dealt with. It is great to hear that you found Topcliff one of the nicest places to stay on Harbour Road. We would love to welcome you back in the future.

October half term in Northumberland

Review submitted on Tue, 31 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was a lovely home for five days as we explored the beautiful Northumberland coast. Right on the seafront, the views are great, and it's handy for fishing and dog walking. Everything you need is in the cottage and it's very comfortable.

Rachel from London stayed at Topcliffe for 4 nights in October 2017


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the Owner replied 46 days ago
Many thanks for your fantastic review. We are glad you enjoyed your half term break and made good use of the properties location, right on the sea front! We hope to hear from you again in the future regarding another booking.

Comfortable, relaxing New year break

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Jan 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our break over new year at topcliffe. The house was spacious and comfortable, with a nice open plan kitchen dining space.
The house is well located within walking distance to the beach and restaurant/cafe in Beadnell, as well as a short drive to seahouses.
The house was very clean when we arrived, and was well stocked with sustainable products, which was nice.


Denise from Dalkeith stayed at Topcliffe for 7 nights in December 2016


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the owners replied 333 days ago
Thank you for your very positive review of your recent stay at Topcliffe - we are pleased that you emjoyed the house and the area.

Sunny November Week

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The first time we have booked with Stay Northumbria, won't be the last!! Topcliffe at Beadnell, right on the sea front, excellent property, cosy and warm, lights were on for our arrival, and also the heating. Spotlessly clean cottage, plenty of kitchen equipment provided, not always the case in some places we have stayed. Toiletries left for our use, a very nice little addition, really good quality bedding, and fluffy white towels. An enclosed garden ideal for young children and dogs, one minute walk to the beach, lots of exciting rock pools there, even if we are pensioners we still like rock pools!! We were blessed with wonderful weather, only got rain and gales on our last night before coming home. Can say Topcliffe is one of the BEST properties we have ever stayed in and hope to book another late week next year, also thank you to Stay Northumbria for easy booking service.

Elizabeth from Branton stayed at Topcliffe for 7 nights in October 2016


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the owners replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks for your lovely review of your recent stay at Topcliffe. We are delighted that you enjoyed the house, the welcome and the local area. Many thanks also for your positive comments about Stay Northumbria's service.

Wonderful Northumberland!! 10/10

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our 2nd year at Topcliffe the previous 2 years we stayed in The Haven next door,they are perfect home from home so cosy and comfy!!There is everything that you could possibly need for an enjoyable holiday,extremely comfortable beds,nice bed linen,gorgeous smellies in the bathrooms and.........THE most amazing view of the sea,Sky and stars!!As you can tell we are completely smitten with the place because we don't thik

Aly from Hampshire stayed at Topcliffe for 7 nights in September 2016


Beautiful stay in Beadnell

Review submitted on Wed, 31 Aug 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage was extremely well equipped and the bed very comfortable. Treats for the dog, dishwasher tablets, milk in the fridge etc were welcome finds.

My only very small gripes were that the hoover didn't seem to have an attachment for the stairs and a proper dustpan and brush would be good.

Aside from that the whole family and out dog had a great holiday.


Julie from Wirral stayed at Topcliffe for 7 nights in August 2016


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the owner replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the review and sorry to learn you had a couple of "gripes" which will be looked into, but pleased you had a great holiday.

Great location in comfortable property

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Aug 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We returned with our dog to Topcliffe for a week in August and had a very comfortable stay. Lovely property in excellent location within easy walking distance of all Beadnell amenities.

Peter from Newcastle upon Tyne stayed at Topcliffe for 7 nights in July 2016


Beach Heaven

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Top life has everything you need for a comfortable holiday. The house is well presented and was clean and fresh when we arrived.
The beds were lovely and comfortable.
The location is fantastic we only used the car twice all the other days we walked to different places from the house.
The only things that were missing are some lamps in the lounge and a draft excluder for the front door.
Great stay, we have already booked The Haven next door for the summer.


Carol from York stayed at Topcliffe for 7 nights in May 2016


Clean, comfortable, quiet cottage by the sea

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a very enjoyable week here during Easter 2016. Beds and sofas were comfortable and the large kitchen is very well equipped. The downstairs single bedroom and shower room was a bonus for the older member of our party. Access to the beach is straight across the road. Turn right from the house, and a 5-10 minute walk takes you to Beadnell harbour and long sandy beach. Turn left, and you can walk straight down to the sand/rock pools leading up towards Seahouses. There is a local shop and a fish and chip shop two minutes across the road. We had some problems with the WiFi extension, but Jackie kindly came out straight away from the office to re-set it. Reception was still quite patchy, but that only really bothered our two teenagers! Great location and we enjoyed trips to Alnwick Castle and Gardens, Holy Island, Berwick and Bamburgh Castle. We would be pleased to stay here again.

Jacqueline from Chesterfield stayed at Topcliffe for 7 nights in March 2016


Sunny Topcliffe Beadnel

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Oct 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely weeks holiday at Topcliffe, we had a welcome pack for both dogs including towels, the property was fresh and clean with a fantastic view from the front. instant access to the beach along a grassy path which we used on a daily basis especially at sunrise, the weather was also fantastic which meant we spent very little time in the cottage however it had excellent heating and a log burner for the colder nights. The quality TV and freeview was enough for us when we did sit down of an evening, only small thing that we thought would be a good touch was a lamp in the living room.

I would recommend this cottage as being in a perfect location, a Pub and cafe close by with just a few minutes drive to Seahouses for different places to eat. Access to the coastal route is handy and you are only a short drive to the bigger town of Alnwick.


Dave from Kincardine stayed at Topcliffe for 7 nights in September 2015


Family holiday in a lovely village across the road from the sea

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Oct 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our first trip to Northumberland for many years. Great location with two great beaches within walking distance and lots of things to do within a 20 mile radius. The house is across the road from one of the beaches. It is very well equipped, clean and comfortable - with a small garden at the rear with chairs and tables. And very dog friendly - K9 welcome pack, enclosed garden and nearby walks.

Ian from Inverness stayed at Topcliffe for 7 nights in September 2015


Beach front pet friendly self catering

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location of this house is perfect, literally right accross the road from the beach and very near to the shop and village centre. We were a family of 4 adults and 2 dogs and there was plenty of room for us all, the downstairs bathroom being a bonus, the garden was also escape proof for the dogs.The decor in the house was very tastefully done and we lit the wood burner at night as it was just starting to go a bit chilly and this was lovely & warm.The kitchen is very well equipped and the beds were comfier than ours at home!!. Would not hesitate to return, have stayed in the Beadnell/Bamburgh/Seahouses area on a numerous occasions and this was the best self catering we have stayed in so far. Well Done to the owners of this property.

Angela from Manchester stayed at Topcliffe for 4 nights in September 2015


Top stay at topcliff

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything about our stay was 10/10,the cottage is extremely cosy and comfy,all that you could possibly wish for a lot of effort and thought has gone into making topcliff perfect!! Looking forward to our fourth year 2016... Can't wait!!

Aly from Hampshire stayed at Topcliffe for 7 nights in September 2015


all good for holiday cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 10 Sep 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
no problems with the cottage, every one very help full.
barbeque not in garden disappointment,
all facilities in the cottage worked very well.


Stuart from Grasby stayed at Topcliffe for 7 nights in August 2015


Wonderful break and felt relaxed

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Aug 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an excellent week at Topcliffe. The facilities are clean and modern. Its an excellent location with the beach, pubs and shop all easily reached by foot. We stayed with our dog and she settled in very well.
The only improvements I'd recommend are curtains in the main bedroom. The blind is ok but on a sunny morning the room was very light by 4:30am.A barbeeque would have been a nice addition as well. Otherwise excellent and we will be looking to come back next year.


Guest from Newcastle upon Tyne stayed at Topcliffe for 7 nights in August 2015


Topcliffe is Terrific

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beadnell is a wonderful place for a holiday and Topcliffe is the ideal cottage to stay, especially if you need a ground floor bedroom and en suite. The sunshine we had was a bonus, but the beach and the sea never change, they are spectacular.

Guest from Newcastle Upon Tyne stayed at Topcliffe for 7 nights in July 2015


A Beachside gem

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We recently stayed at Topcliffe, two grandparents and two grandchildren. The beach is just across the road which is quiet.
The beach is sandy and rocky, swimming, sandcastles and rockpooling.
It was great for the kids as they could take wetsuits on and off at the house then straight into the shower. Very well
equipped. Ideally located for touring the area.


Guest from Southport stayed at Topcliffe for 7 nights in May 2015


Topcliff a good place to stay - how to make it a great place to stay

Review submitted on Tue, 05 May 2015
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We enjoyed Topcliff very much. we have stayed in Beadnell on several trips and Topcliff is the best location so far. The views are great. To make our stay even more memerable I suggest the following:
1 you add extra crockery to allow us to be able to have soup and pudding without the need for washing up between courses.
2 the sound proofing for the downstairs bedroom is very poor. If you can't improve this you should let guests know this before they book.
3 trays and more plastic chopping boards would be good.
4 Wifi reception only strong in the lounge. The hub is in the Haven. Our guests were working during our stay and had to keep moving from the dining room table to the lounge to send and receive messages.
5 your gues book is written for the Haven, it mentions wine racks and guarage that don't exist in Topcliff. I would recomend a review of the details in the guest book.

These points might seem minor but they would improve an already good offering. Thanks for laying on the sunshine as well.

Keith Findell



Guest from Milngavie stayed at Topcliffe for 14 nights in April 2015


Stay Northumbria (Managing & Letting agent) replied more than 1 year ago
We thank Mr. Findell for his suggestions, some of which have been implemented, some the owners are unable to do anything about i.e. soundproofing - the cottage was only recently renovated using all modern building techniques and between room insulations, so to be candid there would be little else that could be done for improvement and to date no-one else has raised this point. Where wi-fi is provided for a property the owner and the agent do not guarantee the provision of this service as it is provided by a third party. Firstly it should be pointed out that Topcliffe does not have a phone line, so the only way to provide wi-fi is to provide a mobile device (not ideal as the mobile signal there is not great), or to piggy back off the owners supply in the adjoining house. In Topcliff's case, it is semi-detached to a property owned by the same person, and the hub is actually attached to the dividing wall, so it couldn't be more closely positioned. As with many old buildings it is impossible to guarantee how far the signal will reach due to wall construction, distance etc. We do advise on our website that wi-fi is provided in properties for personal and leisure use. If you require a service for business use, you would be advised to ascertain that a) the property has a sufficiently high level of service, and b) that the owner has a package which is designed for the type of work you will be doing i.e. no download ceiling / extra costs etc. We will be happy to provide the necessary information before you book. Lastly although the correct guest folder was in each of the properties when the cleaners exit cleaned both properties, it would seem that somewhere along the line they have been inadvertantly left the wrong way round, we apologize for any inconvenience caused, but a quick phone call to our office would have remedied that confusion, as it would have done so for the majority of the other items noted. We are really pleased that Party Findell still had a good time, and the sun shone for them too. Date: 26th June, 2015. We'd like to update our wireless internet information, in that Topcliffe now has a good signal not only in the lounge but also the dining/ kitchen, although we must point out that this wi-fi is a standard BT package for personal and leisure needs and not "fast broadband".

Topcliffe

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Jan 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Arrived late in the day end of December and was delighted to open the door to a warm house. It smelt clean too. Very comfortable sofas and huge double bed. Had absolutely everything we needed. Perfect for our dog with an escape-proof back garden/

Guest from Woodhouse stayed at Topcliffe for 4 nights in December 2014


Autumn half-term break in Beadnell

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Nov 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A well-presented, clean and comfortable cottage with fabulous seaviews from the front windows. First time we have ever received a welcome pack for the dogs as well! Would definitely recommend to friends.

Guest from Burnley stayed at Topcliffe for 7 nights in October 2014


topcliffe top cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0

Topcliffe was a lovely cottage with great views out to the farnes,
It was clean,comfortable with a well stocked kitchen.
Great location (two pubs chippy and shop all in walking distance) beach just across the road.


Guest from Ambleside stayed at Topcliffe for 7 nights in August 2014


A lovely stay by the sea

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Jul 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just returned from Topcliffe after a wonderful sunny week, in a house facing the sea. What more can anyone want.
Topcliffe's location could not be better for seaside lovers and the house itself was comfortable and beautifully furnished. In fact I have brought a few decor ideas home with me!


Guest from Newcastle Upon Tyne stayed at Topcliffe for 7 nights in July 2014