FB Twitter

Old Vicarage Beadnell

Old Vicarage Beadnell

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 11 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.7
Location
4.8
Value
4.2
Customer
Service
4.8


  • A large detached property
  • 5 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms (1 ensuite) sleeping a maximum of 8 people
  • Ideal for families (child age restrications apply)
  • Wonderful spacious accommodation
  • Large drawing room with open fire
  • Wi-fi
  • Piano
  • Games room with full size table tennis & pool tables
  • Garden, arboretum & enclosed rear courtyard with large table & chairs
  • 1 well behaved dog welcome
  • Flexible changeover days
  • Low Season Short Breaks available

Christmas at Beadnell

Review submitted on Fri, 12 Jan 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at The Vicarage in Beadnell. It was a comfortable traditional house and perfect for a family get together over Christmas. There was plenty of room with 2 lounges, games room and spacious bedrooms. The kitchen with the Aga was cosy and very well equipped. The formal dining room was perfect for Christmas lunch (though the candle ban was a little disappointing but understandable).

The location was superb with a short walk to a pub, cafe and shop as well as the spectacular beach.

We had a wonderful holiday and I would be happy to return again. Stay Northumberland were particularly helpful via email and phone.


Anna from Dunstable stayed at Old Vicarage Beadnell for 7 nights in December 2017


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the owner replied 133 days ago
Many thanks for your fantastic review! We are thrilled that you all had an enjoyable Christmas break staying at the Old Vicarage. It is in a perfect location for a friends or family get together, with bars and cafe's just up the road! We do hope to hear from you regarding another booking in the future. Thanks again!

Perfect coastal retreat

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a beautiful home; our family were blown away by every aspect of this charming, warm property - a lovely week in a part of the world that is very special to us. Literally no complaints ... we're hoping to visit again next year and will hopefully make it a regular thing. A great place to make memories.

Ali from Durham stayed at Old Vicarage Beadnell for 7 nights in August 2017


Stay Northumbria ltd on behalf of the owners replied 255 days ago
Thank you so much for your glowing review! We are thrilled you had a lovely time in the Old Vicarage. We agree that this property is something special and has a cosy, homelike feel to it. Please do not hesitate to get in touch if you fancy booking with us again.

A coast full of castles!

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Sep 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house is situated in its own grounds, so feels hidden away, but is close to the local pubs and shops. Ideal for big groups, welcomes dogs, and there is a lot to see along the coastline.

James from Horsham stayed at Old Vicarage Beadnell for 7 nights in July 2017


Stay Northumbria ltd on behalf of the owner replied 263 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Old Vicarage and the beautiful coastline of Northumberland. There are plenty of castles along the coastline for guests to visit and this property is perfect for those interested in castles, we hope you managed to visit them all! We do hope to hear from you again in the future.

Football Hole anyone?

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Jun 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are regulars to Northumberland but are still discovering new things to see - this year it was Old Bewick.

The Old Vicarage is an excellent base for a large crowd. Plenty of room for all. The kitchen is well equipped and the beds are comfortable. Plenty of parking space and lovely quiet surrounds.
One issue - the windows are now all secured: this has the benefit of keeping in the heat and preventing break-ins, but it also means there is no fresh air in the bedrooms. Most of the year this won't matter but when temperatures are high it could be stifling. For us fresh air at night is a must.
Also, if you want stable wifi you should look elsewhere.


Martin from Nottingham stayed at Old Vicarage Beadnell for 9 nights in May 2017


Stay Northumbria on behalf of the owner replied 351 days ago
We are pleased that you enjoyed Northumberland again, and are still finding new things to discover. The couple of things you mention in your review could have been attended to during your stay if we'd been made aware. The owner has only recently had all of the upstairs windows eased to allow the top window sashes to be opened, if these are not working it can only be that they have swollen - this will be investigated. The wi-fi throughout the area is not fast in most cases as fibre has only just arrived. Wi-fi can never be guaranteed as it is a third party provision, however if there is an intermittent problem at the Vicarage, this could have been investigated for you if we'd been made aware. Now we know we will look into it for future guests.

A family Christmas

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Jan 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were a party of 8 adults, needing 5 rooms, and preferably somewhere on the NE coast, so this house was a great discovery. Mostly we live in the UK, but two of the party arrived from Melbourne, Australia, so we needed somewhere they could feel warm.
Arrival was painless (apart from the tail end of Storm Barbara), and the house was indeed warm and welcoming. We much appreciated the touches like the Christmas tree and crackers, as well as mince pies, and foil to wrap a big bird in.
Various expeditions were made - to Holy Island, Dunstanburgh and along to the pub at High Newton. Sometime it was was wet and windy but on the last day the wind left us, and we had a wonderful beach walk. People who liked lime kilns and birds were suitably entertained.
We made a Christmas lunch of goose with all the trimmings - a bit of an epic in an unfamiliar kitchen, but it worked! And the only thing we really missed was a large carving dish, so all in all a tribute to the equipment in the house.
Bedrooms were comfortable, and hot water plentiful. The living room was suitable for a group, although lighting the fire seemed a slightly slow process - whether due to the wind direction or lightly damp wood was not clear - but we always managed in the end. It was good to have a big dining room for the evenings - very civilised.The upstairs games room was a bit of a disappointment - while it did contain both table football and table tennis, it was impossible for adults to play either game, due to space restrictions. Maybe it is OK for young children, but it would be worth either removing one of them, or advising the limitations.
So in general we were very pleased to have found this place - being close to the coast in a small village with 2 pubs and a bistro suited us very well, and the house enabled a happy family reunion. As for would we recommend it (below) - well yes, for a group who want something a bit different - but we only know about its winter persona. Of course it would have been a quite different experience in summer, and we didn't have the chance to use the BBQ etc, and sadly there were no Highland cattle to be seen. We probably won't have need for such a large place again in the near future, but are always happy to return to the Northumbrian coast when the diaries permit.



Guest from Cambridge stayed at Old Vicarage Beadnell for 5 nights in December 2016


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the owners replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted you had a good Christmas at the Old Vicarage and that you enjoyed Northumberland. Many thanks for the lovely review and recommendation.

Lovely family getaway

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Nov 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We spent a great week at The Old Vicarage (Oct 2016) and there was plenty of space for three generations under the same roof. The house was warm, comfortable and well equipped. The location is perfect for exploring the Northumbrian countryside and close to a number of beautiful beaches.
The only one negative is that it is billed as a pet friendly property (and we paid extra to include the dog) and yet the expectation is for the dog to sleep outside in a stable that is cold, damp and could not be secured.


Alison from Coventry stayed at Old Vicarage Beadnell for 7 nights in October 2016


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the owner replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks for your feedback on your recent stay at The Old Vicarage. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, apart from the issue of where your dog could sleep. We do apologise - your comments have alerted us to the fact that the Welcome Folder in the property has some inaccuracies, which we are now addressing. Dogs are welcome to sleep in the kitchen or the utility room at the house and don't need to sleep outside. We are sorry we weren't aware of the incorrect information left in the house and hope this didn't spoil your stay too much.

Fantastic location for a family holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Aug 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a fantastic base for a holiday for our two families (4 adults, 4 children between 10 and 15, plus dog!) The house is really spacious and well-equipped. It was in easy walking distance of Beadnell's shop, cafe and pubs. Could also walk to the nearest beach, but loads of good beaches up and down the coast from here, so drove to those too - car parking free in a lot of places. Welcome pack of tea, coffee, milk and biscuits was a nice touch on arrival. Really enjoyed staying here, and would recommend it.

Guest from Selby stayed at Old Vicarage Beadnell for 7 nights in July 2016


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the owner replied more than 1 year ago
The Old Vicarage in Beadnell is a great family house and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your recommendation.

Perfect for our large family but a shame for the dogs.

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house is brilliantly situated, very near the sandy beach of Beadnell Bay. Wonderfully spacious and well equipped for the whole family.
Only 2 gripes...our teenagers were disappointed with the WiFi speed and the enclosed outside space for the dogs was inadequate. The front paddock was full of sheep and the poor fencing allowed them to be in the front and side part of the lawn and into the Arboretum. Dog owners be aware that the surface of the only enclosed outside space has sharp chippies in it.


Gail from Strathpeffer stayed at Old Vicarage Beadnell for 7 nights in July 2016


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the owner replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the review and the 2 gripes! Beadnell is in the throws of updating to faster broadband but unfortunately not yet in the area of the Old Vicarage. The enclosed dog area is the red gravelled courtyard to the rear of the house. There are many lovely walks in the area and of course the wonderful beach.

Location, location,location 85/100

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Jun 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Northumberland coast is uniquely wonderful. Beadnell is a great place from which to explore. The Old Vicarage is secluded and quiet and set in lovely surrounds. The house is formal but very spacious; the living room is cosy and the bedrooms comfortable. We needed the log fire at times and the central heating is needed even in summer. The boiler broke down but an engineer was called out on the bank Holiday and we had heating restored very promptly.

The kitchen is well supplied. The aga had to be disconnected before we arrived but we had all the necessaries for cooking.
We would consider coming again as the house is excellent for a company of 8 and we enjoyed our stay. We loved the spaciousness.

Internet is intermittent and towards the end of the week non-existent.
Perhaps a clock ? Maps ?
No problems with parking.




Martin from Nottingham stayed at Old Vicarage Beadnell for 7 nights in May 2016


Excellent property

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Aug 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent property, excellent location, we really enjoyed our stay.
Have only given good for cleanliness as some cobwebs on lower shelves in kitchen, dead bee on windowsill in bathroom in en suite, these were small but noticeable details.
The control valve on the radiator in the en suite bedroom was broken when we arrived, not a problem for us as we switched off the heating altogether(we reported this). The seat on the downstairs loo was loose and broke very quickly, we mended and reported it. It was attended to very promptly but was still loose afterwards so we could not see what repairs had been carried out, therefore we did not use this loo again.
Overall loved the property, we were walking and visiting local tourist spots so perfect for our needs.


Guest from Nottingham stayed at Old Vicarage Beadnell for 7 nights in July 2015


Our stay at The Old Vicarage, Beadnell

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Jun 2014
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a good week at the Vicarage - our second stay at this location.

I have sent a separate email to Stay Northumbria dealing with some minor issues where improvement would be possible. These related to:

The bottom tray of the dishwasher was slightly faulty

Questionable fire escape situation in the en suite bedroom

BBQ could do with a new grill tray


Guest from Aylesbury stayed at Old Vicarage Beadnell for 7 nights in May 2014