FB Twitter

Golden Hill

Golden Hill

4.1
out of 5
Ratings from 7 reviews
86% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.1
Comfort
4.1
Condition
3.9
Location
4.3
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.3


  • Large family house all on one level
  • Ideal for families or friends gathering together
  • 3 miles inland from Bamburgh
  • Log burner
  • Wi-fi
  • South facing enclosed rear courtyard garden
  • Ample off road parking
  • Upto 2 well behaved dogs welcome
  • Activity breaks can be added to your holiday if required
  • Flexible changeover days
  • Low Season Short Breaks available

Lovely spacious house

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Apr 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Plus- very big, lots outdoor space, near to beaches. Comfy beds/good furniture
Cons- no internet in annexe, advertised as having internet no cooking dishes (previous reviewer mentions this but nothing done about it
poor lighting to annexe at night, again mentioned in previous review
Aga, dangerous to small children
Gate not working, would have been nice to close when out or at night.
We had a great week despite the weather and the niggles in the house


Guest from Bradford stayed at Golden Hill for 7 nights in March 2018


A good family week

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Jun 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A great place for a family holiday. Lots of space, both in and out of the property! Made full use of the fields and the artificial grass area. Great location for the A1, Bamburgh and Seahouses. All rooms a good size and with all have en-suite is an added bonus!! The only issue during the week was the internet access, which was very poor!

James from Scunthorpe stayed at Golden Hill for 7 nights in May 2017


Stay Northumbria on behalf of the owner replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay & that Golden Hill met with your requirements. We have asked the owners to take a look at the wi-fi to see if there is anything that can be done. Best Regards.

FYI

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Jan 2017
2.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
2.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Good for a large group of people, note that the annexe is not accessible from main accommodation (outside security light was not working).Ideal base for exploring Northumbria by car.

Guest from Oswestry stayed at Golden Hill for 3 nights in December 2016


Stay Northumbria, on behalf of the owners replied more than 1 year ago
We do clearly state on our website that the annexe is not accessible from the main house. We were not aware the outside light is not working and have asked the owners to fix this. These guests had already contacted Stay Northumbria direct regarding their stay & we spoke to the owners, who have very kindly offered them a discount should they wish to return to Golden Hill in the future.

Kitchen equipment

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Jan 2017
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We felt that the kitchen was not fully equipped to deal with cooking for 12 people, ie there were no casserole dishes or lasagne dishes, or vegetable serving dishes.
Also there were no games, eg scrabble, dominoes etc. It's possible we didn't find them.
In spite of this we had a great holiday. The accommodation was ideal for a family group and not too precious, and ideally placed to get around the county. We had wonderful weather, a bonus in December.


Guest from Orton stayed at Golden Hill for 7 nights in December 2016


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the owners replied more than 1 year ago
Pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Golden Hill despite the shortcomings in the kitchen which the owners will address. It is an ideal property for a large family group and in a great location.

Family 70th birthday gathering

Review submitted on Wed, 31 Aug 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was our second visit to Golden Hill as it provided our needs for a family gathering for a party of eleven.

The location was just perfect,it was quiet, safe and close to most major attractions of Northumberland.

We picked Golden Hill as it suited our requirements which may not coincide with those of others. The four single beds in one room may not suit everyone. It suited us as we had our four young grandchildren sleeping in it.

Parking was no issue for all our cars.

The large field in front of the accommodation was ideal for our grandchildren to play safely. The well landscaped rear garden was perfect for sitting out to relax and for BBQs.

The two ringed Aga cooker may pose a problem for those not used to Agas, if they were considering cooking several items.

We will be considering coming back again for the next big birthday gathering.


Anthony from York stayed at Golden Hill for 7 nights in August 2016


Pure Gold(en)

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Golden Hill is a fabulous place to stay.
We were a three generation family goup, so as the beach etc was pretty high on the agenda of the younger members, the proximity to Bamburgh (2 miles) in particular, but Seahouses & Beadnall worked brilliantly. But it is a perfectly positioned place for all the Northumberland highlights.
The house has loads of space both inside and out and the electric gates meant they could be outside entirely safe and enclosed.
The very large social kitchen is very well equipped, though the Aga is a change for anyone who has not used one. For the size of group the house can take, the sitting room, with huge telly - and Bose sound system! - is more than comfortable.
The beds and rooms are very comfortable. Our one issue was the relative lack of hanging space for clothes, as most of the rooms seemed to have cupboards rather than wardrobes.
We got the wrong impression of the distance to the annex, which was more or less out of one door and round the corner to the annexe door. I had perceived that it was further than it in fact was.
We were all very impressed and we all felt it was excellent value for money. We would recommend it, especially if you have a couple of small children. The four single bed room would perhaps be more problematic if the children are more than 6/7.
Everyone was helpful and keen to ensure we were happy. The welcome pack was very generous. This is not something we have seen in UK before. Thank you. We had a great time.


Guest from Stalybridge stayed at Golden Hill for 7 nights in August 2015


Excellent stay, great location - all really good!

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Jun 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really enjoyed our stay for a week. We were a party of 11, and we stayed in genuine comfort all week. The space outside for the kids to run around was fantastic. Location for Bamburgh, Holy Island, Beadnell, Seahouses, Alnwick etc etc was spot on. We'll definitely be back!

Guest from Keighley stayed at Golden Hill for 7 nights in May 2015