FB Twitter

Fisherman's Cottage

Fisherman's Cottage

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 24 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.5
Condition
4.7
Location
5.0
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.8


  • Uninterrupted sea views
  • Centre of the village
  • Wi-fi
  • Private parking
  • Garden
  • Change over Saturday
  • No pets
  • Towels are not provided

Lovely position, good value for money

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Oct 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Been to Craster several times, stayed in different cottages. Good value for the price, amazing views over harbour and sea.

John from Alfreton stayed at Fisherman's Cottage for 7 nights in September 2018


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the Owners replied 91 days ago
Many thanks for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and will pass your comments onto the Owners. The views from the garden have to be our favourite!

Fabulous location with stunning views across the harbour and beautiful waterfront garden

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Sep 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wow. Waking up to the amazing Craster harbour views on a sunny late summer's morning has got to be one of the best experiences one can have for a UK holiday. Sitting in the cottage's little garden with an early morning coffee, you can hear a pin drop; just birds singing and the gentle lap of water. Sublime. Craster really is the place for you if you want to get away from it all. The cottage's location is amazing - seconds walk from the well trodden coastal path towards Dunstanburgh Castle in one direction and the more secluded (but equally lovely) route along the south coast. Great location for access to the whole Northumberland coastline and only 20 minutes off the A1. Great pub and restaurant on the doorstep. The cottage itself is cozy. Plenty of sleeping accommodation (would maybe be a touch light on comfy seating if all rooms occupied?). A well equipped if small kitchen; it had everything we needed. Fast wifi was a bonus as we could take our Firestick for Netflix etc. Designated parking space to the rear was also a major benefit. Loved everything about our week in Craster and would definitely return to Fisherman's Cottage.

Elizabeth from Wellingborough stayed at Fisherman's Cottage for 7 nights in September 2018


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the Owners replied 124 days ago
Many thanks for your fantastic review! We are glad you enjoyed you stay at Fishermans Cottage and the peace and tranquillity that Craster has to offer. The garden at the front is one of my favourite spots, so I'm glad you enjoyed it too! We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

It's a treat to return here

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stay in holiday cottages all over the country but have returned to Fisherman's Cottage more often than to any other (beginning to lose count of our repeat visits). As said in previous reviews, its situation overlooking Craster harbour is splendid and we spend a lot of time sitting out in the delightful harbourside garden, peacefully drinking in the comings and goings of the boats and birds (eider, turnstone, redshank and oyster catcher prominent within the harbour itself, terns, gannets and dolphin spotted in the waters just beyond the entrance). it is interesting to watch the passersby too who give us envious glances as we sip our morning coffee and afternoon tea among the neighbouring roses, and this year we enjoyed our ringside seats for the annual lifeboat fete as well. There are fine coastal walks both north and south from the door, and a wealth of other magnificent walks near at hand. The cottage benefits from its ownership having been retained within the original fisherman family, which is shown not only in interesting historical photographs on the walls but also in the very careful and thoughtful upkeep and equipping. We love the fact that the cottage feels more of a home than a holiday let. We are grateful to have been able to think of it as our home once again for two glorious weeks in August.

Guest from Cambridge stayed at Fisherman's Cottage for 14 nights in August 2018


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the Owner replied 145 days ago
Thank you so much for this fantastic 5* review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Fishermans Cottage - a home away from home! The garden at the front is a real bonus for taking in the views and watching the world go by, it is one of my favourite spots! We will pass your kind words onto the Owners and hope to welcome you back again in the near future!

A lovely cottage in a spectacular location!

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at Fisherman's Cottage twice, now and I suspect we will be back again. The cottage is homely and well maintained. It is in a spectacular location with inspiring views.

Mark from St. Andrews stayed at Fisherman's Cottage for 7 nights in July 2018


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the Owner replied 161 days ago
Many thanks for your 5* review! We are glad you enjoyed another stay at Fishermans Cottage and the glorious views of Craster it offers. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Lovely view, friendly village

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Jul 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The beauty of Fisherman's cottage is its stunning location, perched on the edge of the harbour with views to the open sea. The village is pretty, peaceful, the people very friendly. A lovely pub serves good seafood, a lovely restaurant serves very good seafood indeed, all with charming and welcoming service. The cottage itself is smart, clean, and has all you need. Having spoken to the delightful owner before heading to Northumberland, we did not need to contact him once there as all was in place. Castles and the coast and the fabulous landscape - it was a very lovely week. Thank you to the Kellys!

Rosaleen from Brent Eleigh stayed at Fisherman's Cottage for 7 nights in July 2018


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the Owner replied 180 days ago
Thank you for your fantastic review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and will pass your kind comments onto the Owner. We hope to welcome you back to Craster in the future!

Really Nice

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
**************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

David from Rotherham stayed at Fisherman's Cottage for 7 nights in June 2018


a perfect holiday. what else is there to say

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
perfect location, very well equipped, spotlessly clean, excellent parking. A real "home from home". Even the weather was good.

We could not have had a better holiday




Guest from Stoke Sub Hamdon stayed at Fisherman's Cottage for 14 nights in June 2018


Ideal harbourside cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Apr 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage is in a wonderful position with great views over the harbour and a short walk to the pub and the smokery. It is very comfortable inside, with modern furnishings and decor and a well-equipped kitchen. We appreciated little extras such as board games and jigsaw puzzles, and a separate dining room with an additional small TV. When we turned up without towels, our hosts kindly lent us some.
We were there in a cold and windy week and it did get a little cool later in the day, so it was useful to have some plug-in heaters. The shower and hot water could be better.


Victoria from St. Albans stayed at Fisherman's Cottage for 7 nights in March 2018


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the owners replied 252 days ago
Thank you of the lovely review, it is great to hear that you had a comfortable stay in the cottage and enjoyed the local amenities.

Great location and excellent cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage provided everything we required and was a pleasure to come back to after a day out.Loved the sound of the waves coming into the harbour when bedroom window open at night.

Ian from Wirral stayed at Fisherman's Cottage for 7 nights in September 2017


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the owners replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the lovely review. Great to hear you enjoyed the location and comfort of this traditional cottage.

outstanding

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
if there was a higher rating than excellent I would have chosen it. one of the nicest cottages we have been to to - and we have been to a lot. a terrace house - which I would not normally chose - but we were never aware of the neighbours in terms of any disturbance or noise. roomy well laid out house with everything you could want. lovely garden - across the road though so maybe not for small children as road quite busy and parked on so vision a bit obscured for short people? only possible room for a small whinge would be the parking. it is ok if all the residents stay in front of their own properties but when some have more than one large car it can be a bit problematic. The loveliest house to visit not sure I would want to live there.

Cecil from Cannock stayed at Fisherman's Cottage for 7 nights in September 2017


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the owner replied more than 1 year ago
What an amazing review, thank you! We are so glad you enjoyed this delightful property based in one of Northumberland's favourite little fishing villages! Due to the village being so small, parking can be an issue at times but we will review the parking spaces and try to rectify the issue. We hope to hear from you again regarding another stay at one of our properties.

Perfect holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We lost count of the envious glances and appreciative remarks we received from people enjoying Craster itself or from those heading along the adjacent coast path to Dunstanburgh Castle as we sat out relaxing day after day in the sun in the cottage's sheltered, flower-girt garden with our breakfast/lunch/tea trays, basking in its prime location overlooking the harbour, The views from the two front bedrooms across the harbour and out to sea are also unbeatable. There was very strong temptation simply to stay taking in activities around the harbour (including a lifeboat launch, unloading of the daily fish catch for delivery to the Craster smokehouse, the eager crewing of the two local rowing gigs, and on one occasion Penelope Keith filming with her village series team). But we also took advantage of the superb walking directly from the door as well as further north and south along the bird-rich, beach-lined coast, with a foray into the purple-heathered hills as well. We found an August trip out to the Farnes splendid even after almost all the auks had departed - still plenty to see with a few late nesting kittiwakes, passing gannets, and many eiders and seals. We love coming back to this cottage, which is immaculately maintained. it has a cosy lounge and separate dining room, three attractive bedrooms (plenty of room for our five adults), a well-modernised and equipped kitchen, one bathroom (own towels), free wifi, phone with honesty box, with strikingly thoughtful provision of everything we were likely to need. It provides full comfort while not sacrificing its authenticity - depicted in the historic photographs on the walls - as the traditional home of generations of a fine Craster fishing family by whom, increasingly unusually, it is still owned. Our children, who were still at school, when we first stayed in the cottage, have long been grown up but eagerly came to join us again for our sixth perfect holiday at Fisherman's Cottage.

Guest from Cambridge stayed at Fisherman's Cottage for 14 nights in August 2017


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the owners replied more than 1 year ago
Well what a superb review and recommendation, thank you. A glowing tribute to this traditional cottage. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

The best cottage we have ever stayed in!

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were a family of 4 staying for a week in this cottage - 2 adults and 2 teenagers. The 3 bedrooms made it ideal as the kids could each have their own room. We did comment that it would have felt a little crowded with 6 people staying there, especially as there is only 1 bathroom.

The location, overlooking the harbour, is lovely and we saw some pretty sunrises.

The kitchen is well stocked with good quality crockery, cutlery and pans.

The only niggle was lack of a second toilet so if that could, somehow, be rectified, it would be perfect!



Sharon from Lancaster stayed at Fisherman's Cottage for 7 nights in August 2017


Fisherman's cottage craster

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Jul 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage was lovely and in an ideal spot we felt it would have been a bit small for four adults as the bathroom and kitchen were tight on space the lounge and bedroom were both spacious and had wonderful views we were impressed with the car parking space at the back of the cottage all in all a good holiday let.









Diane from Otley stayed at Fisherman's Cottage for 7 nights in June 2017


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the owners replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks for the review. Fishermans Cottage is as it says a "traditional Fisherman's cottage" and it does have amazing views.

A delightful garden and very comfortable cottage.

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Jun 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was easy to access with good parking facilities. The kitchen was well equipped and we enjoyed using the other common rooms and especially on two occasions when we viewed a complete rainbow across the town and harbour.The beds were comfortable and the views from the two bedrooms overlooking the bay were wonderful. Our greatest pleasure was sitting in the lower garden area which we shared with many sparrows while drinking our coffee in the morning and a drink in the early evening. Many thanks for contributing to a wondeful holiday.

Carol from Oxford stayed at Fisherman's Cottage for 7 nights in June 2017


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the owner replied more than 1 year ago
We are so pleased that you had such an enjoyable holiday and stay at Fisherman's Cottage. Thank you for the lovely review and recommendation.

Very relaxing break.

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Sep 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great location wonderful views. I live in London and being in such a quiet location and being able to sit outside with a view of the harbour was fantastic.

William from London stayed at Fisherman's Cottage for 7 nights in September 2016


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the owner replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your comments and recommendation. It certainly is a great place to relax.

Peaceful and relaxing break

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Sep 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our time staying in Fisherman's cottage. It's perfectly located on the harbor in Craster. Easy walking distance of the village centre and the seashore. It has a lovely front garden from which you can watch the world go by, and there's plenty of stuff to do in the surrounding area. Hillwalking, beachcombing, bodyboarding, rockpooling, castles, tourist hotspots and quiet towns. Plus a ruined castle to explore 20 minutes walk away.

The house is clean, tidy, well-kept and well stocked. It's not large, but it's large enough for the advertised occupancy and it is comfortable. We may well look to book it ourselves again next year.

If I had to be picky, I'd perhaps wish that the cottage had space for a dishwasher, as the three we took with us were useless and made a horrid noise while working.


Richard from Belper stayed at Fisherman's Cottage for 7 nights in August 2016


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the owner replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the lovely review and we would be delighted to welcome you back to Fisherman's Cottage next year. We love your sense of humour!

Perfect holiday. Beautifully maintained traditional house owned by local family in superb location.

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our fourth holiday in Fisherman's Cottage where once again we enjoyed a superb Northumbrian holiday. The cottage could not suit our family better. It is a great treat for us to return to this beautifully cared for and peaceful traditional house, which unlike many other harbour-front cottages is still owned by a local family, as is splendidly illustrated in the historic photographs displayed of earlier generations and of the village in the past. The cottage has a prime position on the harbour front with magnificent views across the harbour and out to sea, and it is a luxury to be able to sit out with breakfast or afternooon tea in the delightful, sunny, sheltered harbourside garden, surrounded by flowers, watching the boats and the wildlife (eider ducks, waders, a seal). There is excellent walking directly from the door. The house itself is equipped with everything we could possibly need, now including wifi (mixed blessing sometimes but this time work had chased us north so this was extremely useful). It is immaculately kept. Thank you. Perfect.

Guest from Cambridge stayed at Fisherman's Cottage for 7 nights in August 2016


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the owners replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this wonderful review. We are delighted that once again you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at Fisherman's Cottage. The owners are very proud of their family property and its history.

Fisherman's Cottage Northumberland in August

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Aug 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Location was perfect - not far to see many local attractions, equally could have just stayed at cottage all week as views and walks were perfect for us. Cottage was very comfortable and clean and would definitely stay here again.

Guest from Stone stayed at Fisherman's Cottage for 7 nights in August 2016


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the owners replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks for your lovely review of Fisherman's Cottage. We are pleased that you enjoyed the cottage, its location and the local area.

Enchanted place

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Aug 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are a family of four adults and two children who really loved our stay in Fisherman's Cottage. Beautiful location overlooking harbour with a small terraced garden to sit in and relax and watch the sea. Safe small beach at low tide to make sandcastles and rock pools. Lovely walk to Dunstanburgh from end of road. Cottage very well equipped and clean with comfy beds. Would recommend to family and friends.

Jill from Walsall stayed at Fisherman's Cottage for 7 nights in July 2016


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the owner replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review and recommendation, great to hear that you had a wonderful time at Fisherman’s Cottage.

very clean and comfortable cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Jul 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a lovely stay despite the inclement weather. The cottage is very clean with everything needed for a comfortable stay close at hand. We loved the little garden overlooking the harbour and feeding the friendly local sparrows. Scenary is beautiful with lovely views out of the cottage windows.

Janet from Sheffield stayed at Fisherman's Cottage for 7 nights in July 2016


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the owner replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks for the lovely review, so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Fisherman’s Cottage.

Family gathering

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Jun 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage is in a fantastic location looking over the harbour out to sea. The village is just the right size with a couple of eating places to you need to go further a field for supplies. The Cottage Inn a mile up the road serves good food at affordable prices. The cottage was big enough but would benefit from a downstairs loo which could be considered under the stairs.

Guest from Stoke-on-trent stayed at Fisherman's Cottage for 7 nights in June 2016


Lovely house

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Aug 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely cottage in a great location.
Very well equipped kitchen. Very nice garden overlooking the harbour.

/////////////////:////////////////////////


Alison from Bristol stayed at Fisherman's Cottage for 7 nights in July 2015


Home from Home with a View!

Review submitted on Fri, 12 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderfully equipped with so many thoughtful extras, snug, peaceful, lovely quirky garden, just perfect for a relaxing getaway. Good bus connections from Craster so hardly used the car, fabulous beaches for walking and great pub for refreshments! Big Thank You to owners, we loved every minute of our stay.

Guest from Holt stayed at Fisherman's Cottage for 7 nights in May 2015


A lovely Easter break

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Apr 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fisherman's cottage is a beautiful, traditional coastal cottage, with beautiful views of the harbour and village.
Tastefully decorated, the cottage comfortably sleeps 6, with the added bonus of a separate dining room.
Our second stay in this delightful property and would not hesitate in recommending it to others.


Guest from Hamsterley stayed at Fisherman's Cottage for 7 nights in April 2015