FB Twitter

Chesterdene House, Waren Mill

Chesterdene House, Waren Mill

4.3
out of 5
Ratings from 19 reviews
95% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.4
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.4
Location
4.4
Value
3.9
Customer
Service
4.4


  • Spacious detached stone built cottage
  • 2 miles from Bamburgh & only 300 yards from Budle Bay for birdwatchers.
  • Pool/games room & conservatory
  • Inglenook fireplace with log burner
  • Wi-fi
  • Spacious garden with barbecue hut
  • 2 well behaved pets welcome
  • Peak season Fridays, otherwise flexible changeover days
  • Low Season Short Breaks available

Lovely family holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Aug 2017
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
This is a lovely house. Plenty of room for 6 adults a toddler and 3 dogs without feeling cramped.
We particularly enjoyed the use of the pool table and the conservatory.
Well situated for Bamburgh and Holy Island etc.
Plenty of things to do in the surrounding area.
A lovely family holiday.


Christine from Knottingley stayed at Chesterdene House, Waren Mill for 7 nights in August 2017


Stay Northumbria ltd on behalf of the owner replied 179 days ago
Thank you for the review but your average scores suggest you weren't 100% happy with your time at Chesterdene House. The house is a fantastic size for families, with plenty of different rooms to keep everyone occupied. We are glad you had a lovely time visiting North Northumberland and managed to do plenty of exploring. Hope to hear from you again in the future.

A great week in Northumberland

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed a wonderful time as an extended family in this spacious and comfortable house, well situated near some of the most beautiful parts of Northumberland.

Guest from Chateauroux stayed at Chesterdene House, Waren Mill for 7 nights in August 2017


Stay Northumbria replied 191 days ago
Thank you very much for your positive feedback Paul, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to Northumberland

Family Holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We visited Chesterdene for our family holiday. The house is furnished to a high standard with everything you need supplied. The pool table provided hours of entertainment. We spent time sat chatting and relaxing in the conservatory, we didn't even switch the TV on most days as it's just such a lovely place to be.

Susan from Bradford stayed at Chesterdene House, Waren Mill for 7 nights in July 2017


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the owners replied 199 days ago
Thanks for the great review. Lovely to hear you had a great relaxing family holiday.

Holiday experience

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Jun 2017
3.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a good holiday.the weather was excellent.

The accommodation was well appointed but probably needs updating. The furniture and bed was a little uncomfortable for me.

Although the accommodation was well appointed I felt that the patio and garden could have been tidier with the leaves and the the conservatory roof being particularly dirty and in need of a good clean.


David from Barnsley stayed at Chesterdene House, Waren Mill for 7 nights in June 2017


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the owners replied 242 days ago
Thank you for your feedback, we have passed your comments on to the owners. We are pleased you enjoyed your holiday in the good weather.

Lovely stay in a wonderful part of the world

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Apr 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I admit to being quite surprised at the quality and fittings within this property. While I expected it to be good - it really is a top notch place.

I wouldn't describe the decor as cutting edge but it is totally appropriate for the style of house and area - it is modern, immaculately appointed, extremely thoughtfully put together and every requirement is met. It is a large house but feel every cosy and it is clear that the owners have approached the house with thought and care.

The location is excellent - I originally came from this part of the world and it still thrills me as you take the approach into Bamburgh - the house is a great base for Northumberland exploration and travels. Though without a car you may find your experience a bit limited as shops and pubs / restaurants are a fair hike/

The garden is large and perhaps the only area for improvement - if you have young kids it is hard to see them from within the house and the windows don't look out on to the main part of the land (even from the conservatory).If to be really harsh - it could do with a little bit more landscaping to get the best from the space. The BBQ hut though - is great fun.

All in all , great house and we had a great stay there. Thanks to the owners for allowing us in their home and to Stay Northumbria for the efficient and professional service.

If you are thinking of going - gather up some family and friends and make the trip - no need to hesitate.



Mark from Nontahburi stayed at Chesterdene House, Waren Mill for 4 nights in April 2017


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the owners replied 304 days ago
Thank you for your feedback and good to hear you enjoyed your return to the area. Chesterdene is a lovely holiday home in a quiet peaceful location, ideal for exploring the coast and other attractions of Northumberland.

October at Chesterdene

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Oct 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was probably our sixth or seventh stay in Northumberland in October and we know the area very well. The location of the house was perfect, the closest to Bamburgh that we have stayed in all our visits. The house was great with bedrooms a good size for our needs as were the kitchen/dining & lounge spaces with a fantastic fireplace. The only negative that we had with the space & room configuration was that one of the bedrooms which was on the other side of the house from the rest had access to what we felt was a small shower room poorly decorated. This was situated off the utility room and a bit out of keeping with the rest of the house and its finishes.

We were also disappointed to find that the extensive garden had not had the grass cut and this prevented our children making better use of it as well as the family dog being limited to exploring on his lead as it is not completely enclosed.


Peter from Edinburgh stayed at Chesterdene House, Waren Mill for 7 nights in October 2016


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the owners replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Chesterdene House. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay despite a few little niggles. Your comments will be passed on to the owners.

Another lovelystay in this welcoming property

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Sep 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This is the third time staying here. The house is big enough for everyone to find space. It is well equipped and welcomes dogs
It is an ideal situation for the coast and the moors and the cheviots.
Stay Northumbria are easy to deal with and very helpful.
I never put excellent which is why everything is Good!!


Ann C. from Holme-next-the-sea stayed at Chesterdene House, Waren Mill for 7 nights in September 2016


Stay Northumbria Ltd, on behalf of the owner replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks for your review & we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay once again at Chesterdene House & look forward to welcoming you back once again in the future.

Relaxing holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Aug 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This was a gathering of the family from various parts and with two small children. Chesterdene House was easy to find and the instructions were accurate and easy to follow. There was amble parking for us all. The garden was great with the children although we did ha he to watch the little one because of the stream. He would have had to be watched anyway!
The property was very spacious and we soon felt at home. It was tidy when we arrived but the floor in the kitchen could ave done with a mop as we found when we had to wipe up a spill. The paper towel was black. A better potatoe peeler and maybe steamers in the kitchen would have been helpful.
The beds were all made up but not all had protective covers, maybe a shortage that week.
However, there was lots of room and it was very comfortable and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The BBQ hut was great. Some people had complained about the cobwebs but it is out side and surrounded by trees and this is the country. We found it great on a cool evening and enjoyed the food.
We were sorry that it was not easy to walk to the beach as there were no footpaths and the roads were narrow and busier than might have been expected. It was only a short drive to Bamburgh and we always found somewhere to park close to the beach even though it was busy and in August.
The weather was so good that we did little except relax on the beaches, although some of the family made the trip to Farne Isalnds and this is to be recommended.
The booking and follow up by Stay Northumberland was very good and we had no problems. Any questions were always answered promptly


John from Barnoldswick stayed at Chesterdene House, Waren Mill for 7 nights in August 2016


Stay Northumbria Ltd of behalf of the owners replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks for your review your recent stay at Chesterdene House. We note your comments about the cleanliness and will pass these on to the owners as they employ their own cleaners. We are glad that, despite a few issues, you enjoyed your stay at Chesterdene House and in the Bamburgh area, and were lucky with the weather!

Very comfy and very good location ,pet friendly.

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Sep 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had 2 weeks stay at Chesterdene House, Waren Mill and the location is excellent pet friendly and the house was very comfortable , a bonus to have a pool table and all you need for your pet .Lovely garden and very well furnished overall.
Ideal location for all ie sightseeing and all the Islands also not far from a good restaurant.



Rosalind from Kent stayed at Chesterdene House, Waren Mill for 14 nights in August 2015


Very suitable for a family group

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Aug 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Quite a large family group, ranging in age from 11 years old to eighty-plus, thoroughly appreciated the property and its nearness to attractive beeches and tourist spots like Alnwick and Bamburgh.
Choice of spaces within the property and the pool table were ideal, and the setting for the barbecue proved appealing when weather conditions were not invariably good.


Guest from Dollar stayed at Chesterdene House, Waren Mill for 7 nights in July 2015


Chesterdene was a real 'home from home'

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Jul 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Chesterdene is a beautifully presented and tastefully decorated holiday home. It was equipped with everything a family could need and more, even having a dog bowl and towel and use of buckets and spades for the trips to the beach. The garden was well maintained and the barbeque hut we used to have kippers from the smoke house at Seahouses was delightful. We all thoroughly enjoyed a peaceful and relaxing holiday.

Guest from Stapleford stayed at Chesterdene House, Waren Mill for 7 nights in July 2015


Perfect house for Northumberland self cater holiday.

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful spacious well equipped house set in lovely private grounds. Well situated for the delights of Bamburgh and the spectacular beaches nearby. Highly recommend.

Guest from Calver stayed at Chesterdene House, Waren Mill for 7 nights in July 2015


Missing

Review submitted on Tue, 26 May 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The barbecue hut had obviously not been used this year so we had to give it a good dust and brush out before it was fit to sit in.
A sink in the utility room would be useful
A couple of torches by front and back doors would have been helpful ( we all forgot to take one!)


Guest from Warrington stayed at Chesterdene House, Waren Mill for 7 nights in May 2015


An enjoyable stay in great location

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Apr 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house is very clean and spacious. The rooms are large and well equipped. Particularly the pool room, conservatory and large outdoor space offers lots of fun. The location is excellent with many fantastic places nearby. We found that the kitchen was not particularly well stocked for such a large house. The number of pots and pans and amount of crockery was a bit tight to cater for 7 people. This is now being very picky but putting in a few more drinking glasses (and remove the cracked ones) is not a big deal and a couple of large bin liners would also be great to find in the house and not having to buy them.
Overall, we greatly enjoyed our stay and found everything we needed. The only downside was the price. While I acknowledge that the house is top quality, has many additional features and is in a great location, it was almost twice the price of similar sized properties nearby. This is why I scored the value for money quite low. I would book it again, but only off-season.


Guest from Würzburg stayed at Chesterdene House, Waren Mill for 7 nights in April 2015


Recommended!

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Oct 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We enjoyed a lovely week at Chesterdene House to celebrate a family birthday.

Location is excellent to enjoy all of the local attractions particularly the fabulous beaches and the house was large enough to accommodate us all and our two dogs who thoroughly enjoyed themselves and now need a very long rest!!


Claire from Wakefield stayed at Chesterdene House, Waren Mill for 7 nights in October 2014


Great place to stay

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Oct 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A short drive from most places, good quality well presented accommodation, good size of living rooms, bathrooms well equipped, large kitchen with everything you would need

Guest from Ringwould stayed at Chesterdene House, Waren Mill for 7 nights in August 2014


A very special place

Review submitted on Sat, 27 Sep 2014
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We have stayed here twice before and would have no hesitation in staying again.
A lovely ,well appointed house in a lovely area and so good to be able to bring the dogs!


Guest from Holme-next-the-sea stayed at Chesterdene House, Waren Mill for 7 nights in September 2014


Fantastic Property

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Jan 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
When we arrived the property it was better then the photographs portrayed. There was plenty of space for all of us including the 2 dogs and everything was clean. The bedrooms were spacious and the beds were comfortable. The log burning fire once we had mastered how to keep it alight gave out a tremendous amount of heat and made the room warm and cosy. We thought the towels and dog biscuits provided for our pets was a nice touch. The location could not have been better, Banburgh and Seahouses jus a short drive away. Budle bay although picturesque is not the ideal place to walk dogs but it was ok. All in all we had a great stay at Chesterdene and should we come back in the Summer then we would stay there again.


Guest from Wetherby stayed at Chesterdene House, Waren Mill for 7 nights in December 2013


The Place to stay

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Sep 2013
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This is the second time we have stayed at Chesterdene House and we would definitely recommend it to anyone especially if they have dogs.
There is plenty of room and it is well equipped.
A perfect location for your holiday.
We will be back!!


Guest from Holme-next-the-sea stayed at Chesterdene House, Waren Mill for 7 nights in September 2013