FB Twitter

Welcombe WC2BEDSV-4

Welcombe WC2BEDSV-4

3.8
out of 5
Ratings from 13 reviews
69% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
3.8
Comfort
3.8
Condition
3.1
Location
4.5
Value
3.7
Customer
Service
3.8


decor and bathroom need updating

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Jul 2020
3.2
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The cottages are situated in a great location and the facilities (tennis, badminton, play areas, etc.) are very good. However, the cottages are now very dated and need to be refreshed and renewed. The bathroom has a poor shower and downstairs bedrooms felt musty. New covers for the sofas would improve the look. The cottage was clean but it seemed like the fireplace had been removed from the wall and could do with changing. Standards in self catering have gone up in the last 10 years and these cottages no longer meet the description of luxury.

Ken from Edinburgh stayed at Welcombe WC2BEDSV-4 for 7 nights in July 2020


Welcome cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Feb 2020
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We stayed here 2 years ago and really enjoyed it - the property, facilities and the location.

The sports hall was disappointing - there weren't short tennis equipment and the skittle alley had gone.

The shower didn't work very well- it was very weak and went from very hot to cold and dripped cold water through the unit.


Sara from Frome stayed at Welcombe WC2BEDSV-4 for 4 nights in February 2020


Never stay again

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Oct 2019
2.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
2.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
On arrival you you could smell damp from the bathroom, I had it fix the shower before it could be used, all the furniture was old and worn out, table leg I had to mend, never again would I stay here.

Ian from Bucks stayed at Welcombe WC2BEDSV-4 for 7 nights in September 2019


Awesome place to make home on the Cornish cliffs.

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Sep 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really attentive staff made us feel very welcome in this Cornish coastside home away from home. With enough facilities to keep all ages happy, tons of space to entertain, walk, play and exercise, these cottages are a perfect place to get away. The pool is one of the highlights and isn't overheated so good for lengths as well as the kids splashing about. The sports barn is unique too, and well-equipped for badminton, bring pound coins. Theres a few raquets provided for the tennis courts, and the well-kept football area with goals is a plus too. Back on the inside, the "upside-down " nature of the cottages affords great views from the first floor living space, looking over the coastline, with the bedrooms and bathrooms on the ground floor.
The onsite team are super friendly, and only a text message away, and sorted out things like BBQs and opening up the mini-gym. Although there are 20 or so properties on location and high season, it never felt crowded or overlooked. Negative points are the prices in high season, compared to only a few weeks later, and the fact that the previous occupant had brought an unhousetrained dog, which the cleaning had not quite managed to eradicate. We'd definitely return!!


Pete from TWICKENHAM stayed at Welcombe WC2BEDSV-4 for 5 nights in August 2019


Welcome cottage Kenncott Court

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Aug 2019
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Cottage good facilities, good quality of towels
Double bed not comfortable
Swimming pool cold on entry.


Donald from WARWICK stayed at Welcombe WC2BEDSV-4 for 7 nights in July 2019


We'll be back

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Jun 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
At first I was frustrated because the driving to this place seemed one that never ends. upon arriving after midnight, the staff was still up waiting for us when we called. She gave a straight forward information on where and how to get to the villa. The villa is clean and tidy, comfortable bed and lots of towels:). Loved the kitchen !! I had everything I needed to cook with, just like home
We loved the swimming pool , sauna and the outside massive land enough fir children to explore. The seaview was beautiful and we had a chance to explore the beaches.


Maarij from stayed at Welcombe WC2BEDSV-4 for 4 nights in May 2019


Get Kennacott Court back on track

Review submitted on Thu, 23 May 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We have stayed at Kennacott Court on many occasions over the last 20years . There have been 3 owners in that time that we’re aware off .
The location is fantastic and the views from the ‘ Welcome ‘ accommodation are great .
But Can you please update the fixtures and fittings in the cottages . They have barely changed in those 20 years and first owners
. It just looks tired .

Also you provide badminton racquets etc in the sports barn but they are all broken .
Rather than providing racquets that guests neglect , just get the guests to provide their own . Far simpler. Also please clean the tennis courts and buy new basketballs as the ones that are there are atrocious .
We will probably be back later this year or early next but please spend some time and money and get kennacott court back on track !
Rgds
Graham Lane


Graham from Cheltenham stayed at Welcombe WC2BEDSV-4 for 3 nights in May 2019


Loved our stay!

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Apr 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed with our two boys (7 and 5) and had a fantastic time. The boys loved the football field, badminton, pool table and the swimming pool! Location was great also. We will go back next year.

Guest from Walton On Thames stayed at Welcombe WC2BEDSV-4 for 3 nights in April 2019


Relaxing Time

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Apr 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great views and a very relaxing stay. Near to great beaches for surfing and rock pools. Very friendly staff.

Darren from Christchurch stayed at Welcombe WC2BEDSV-4 for 4 nights in April 2019


Standards have dropped

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Apr 2019
3.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
I have stayed at Kennacott Court many times over the years. My most recent stay was a little disappointing. Standards have certainly dropped - the windows needed cleaning, the windowsills were dusty, there were a number of dead flies in the living room area, the shower leaked, the grouting in the bathroom was discoloured, and there was staining on the wall behind the laundry basket and the lavatory seat was loose. These are all fairly minor things, but historically, Kennacott's accommodation has been so exemplary that I found the standard this time rather poor by comparison. Undeterred, I went about my holiday. A big draw for me is the indoor pool. I used it once - it is heated, but it was very very cold. Historically at Kennacott, I would probably have used the pool daily. It was too cold to be enjoyed, so after the first time, I didn't bother.
Although the complex has changed hands and standards have dropped, the prices have not. Therefore, I did expect the same level of comfort. I am very disappointed, and I honestly thing it is unlikely that I will return.


Guest from Dudley stayed at Welcombe WC2BEDSV-4 for 7 nights in March 2019


Bude Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Jan 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed there for 3 months, well equipped kitchen with dishwasher, washing machine, microwave, full oven/hob etc etc , staff very helpful, facilities very good, only downside was you had to drive to the nearest pub, but this saved us money as we stayed in more.

Derek from Beckenham stayed at Welcombe WC2BEDSV-4 for 92 nights in August 2018


Our stay at Welcombe cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Jun 2018
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We have stayed at Kennacott Court 5 times. This time there was no one to greet us when we arrived. Despite several phone calls to various numbers, we waited 30 minutes before the groundsman turned up.
The property is looking a little tired inside. The sofas etc are shabby and there were no flowers in the lounge as there has been before . There was no kitchen roll, cling film and the kitchen accessories are slightly lacking now.
The location is fantastic and that's why we will return. we look forward to seeing your future developments.


Guest from Kingswinford stayed at Welcombe WC2BEDSV-4 for 4 nights in June 2018


Lovely location, but shame to see the accommodation is much in need of a revamp...

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Jun 2018
3.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We have visited Kennecott several times over the years and have always had a great time due to the excellent location, stunning views and varied facilities. This time we cannot deny that we had a wonderful week celebrating my mother's 80th birthday, however it was just a shame to see the old place looking so "tired". We appreciate that this is (we are lead to believe) due to lack of investment by previous owners, but the condition of the accommodation itself and some of the facilities was not what would be expected of luxury accommodation. The tennis courts and golf course specifically need substantial work. We are told that there are big plans to revamp the place, and we sincerely hope so, as it has always in the past been a home from home. We'd love to see it reach these heights again in the near future.

Mal from Feering stayed at Welcombe WC2BEDSV-4 for 7 nights in May 2018