FB Twitter

Sandymouth SM1BEDSV-2

Sandymouth SM1BEDSV-2

4.2
out of 5
Ratings from 11 reviews
82% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.1
Comfort
4.4
Condition
3.6
Location
4.7
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.1


Could do so much better!

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Sep 2019
3.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
2.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
2.0
Sandymouth cottage has a lovely location with beautiful views and great potential-however it is quite expensive for what it offers.Just a little time and care could make the cottage and the whole complex excellent. The groundsman worked very hard and the surrounds including the golf course were very good. The person acting as manager/ receptionist had to be contacted by phone as the office was generally left unmanned. The shower in the swimming pool was permanently broken so the pool had dirt and sand on the floor and a film of oily dust on its surface and the filter was not always switched on. The chlorine level seemed insufficient.. There were no instructions or timer in the sauna and you had to wash off after use in the pool! It would have been helpful to have had a local map in the cottage or in reception. Inside the cottage the junk under the bed included an old radiator, a cot, stair gate and 2 folding chairs hence the floor under the bed had not been cleaned for ages. A totally unnecessary heavy upright vacuum cleaner had to be lifted from the wardrobe before we could hang up clothes, which then meant it had to be stored in the bedroom throughout our stay. Outside the cottage guttering had obviously fallen off a long time ago from the rotted fascia board meaning electricity and telephone lines were left to tangle over Windows. It had also caused the exterior wall plaster to become mouldy giving it a poor look. The front door was rotting and bits of wood were missing.The whole place needed refurbishment..

Guest from Winchester stayed at Sandymouth SM1BEDSV-2 for 7 nights in August 2019


A great holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Firstly the pictures on the website did not do it justice. The whole experience was great. We found we were spending a lot of the time on site as there was so much to do. We were going down to the beach late afternoon. We will definitely return.


PAUL from MARKET DRAYTON stayed at Sandymouth SM1BEDSV-2 for 7 nights in June 2019


Excellent

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable with excellent views of the surrounding countryside. Good swimming pool and plenty of sports facilities.

Stephen from stayed at Sandymouth SM1BEDSV-2 for 2 nights in June 2019


A week over Easter.

Review submitted on Sat, 27 Apr 2019
3.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
This was our 7th visit to Kennacott Court. In that time the place has become tired and run down. The bed, chairs and sofas are old and uncomfortable. None of the little extras like kitchen roll, foil, extra toilet roll, dishcloth available. The place is generally clean inside but the facilities need a great deal of upgrading. We enjoyed the putting in the past but the course is gone now. The pool is good but no shower wash available. The walks and surrounding areas are beautiful and we had fantastic weather which helped. Generally disappointed this time and probably won’t visit again.

Kevin from Budleigh Salterton stayed at Sandymouth SM1BEDSV-2 for 7 nights in April 2019


Excellent North Cornwall base

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Apr 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Comfortable cottage with great countryside and sea views. Wires across top of window need to be pinned back as hanging down and interfering with view. Additional wardrobe and hanger space in bedroom would be helpful. Shower would benefit from up-grade. Generally facilities excellent for short self catering holiday.

Great location for visiting North Cornwall attractions, e.g. boscastle, tintagel, port Isaac. Don’t overlook one of Cornwall’s best beaches at Trebarwith Strand!


Gary from Bexleyheath stayed at Sandymouth SM1BEDSV-2 for 5 nights in April 2019


Very comfortable country cottage in stunning location.

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Mar 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely cottage,had everything we needed. I would say that if these cottages are going to be advertised as luxury then more attention is needed to detail ie several of the curtains were hanging off the hooks,there was mould in the shower cubicle and the bin and sink had not been cleaned.
These things did not detract from our holiday at all and we will be going again.


Susan from Bridport stayed at Sandymouth SM1BEDSV-2 for 3 nights in March 2019


A good experience for two days

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Mar 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This was only a two day stay and was a good experience for those two days. Facilities are good even though I did not have much time to use them.

Stephen from stayed at Sandymouth SM1BEDSV-2 for 2 nights in March 2019


This was our second stay in 2 months!!

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Feb 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Sandymouth is a lovely cottage it's the second time we have stayed in this particular cottage.The views are amazing across the fields down to Widemouth bay .Problem with flies in the cottage, they have taken measures on but still picking up dead flies everyday!!This was The same problem when we went in November.
Made good use of the swimming pool which was heated well this time.They grounds are beautifully kept.We will return again as we have been many times before.


Robin from London stayed at Sandymouth SM1BEDSV-2 for 7 nights in February 2019


A Winter Anniversary Long Weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Jan 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Firstly the positives. Sandymouth is a very generously apportioned let for couples. We've seen many where there is much less space. Two comfortable settees, good equipment, TV/DVD player: four-posted bed (good quality bedding) and large bedroom, corner bath and separate shower, separate toilet with bidet. Nice touch to have a Christmas tree with lights as we arrived. Given the weather, it was pleasantly warm. Good location just off the A39 with sea views from the lounge to Widemouth Bay. Swimming pool was not heated, but we soon warmed up and had the place to ourselves! We were greeted and shown to our apartment. Good value for money given the size of the accommodation, the facilities and the location.
Some points that the owners of the property might like to consider.
A 4/5* holiday let could have a better hospitality tray. Tea/coffee and a packet of biscuits were OK, but perhaps a pint of milk in the fridge and scones and jam as a welcome treat. We have stayed in self-catering lets where the fridge was provided with the ingredients of a cooked breakfast for your first day.
The corner bath and sanitary ware is absolutely fine. But peach suite and gold taps is a bit of a dated décor for the end of the second decade of the 21st century. This will need updating just to keep the apartment looking contemporary.
Flies. It was mid-December and the number of flies in the apartment was surprising given that the windows were closed all the time. Might be worth investigating why this is so.
A lamp in the lounge was 'dodgy' which we mentioned when we left and hopefully has been replaced.
Video library looked very out of date. DVDs need purchasing rather than what was there again to keep the site looking in tune with the times.
Finally: we visited in December and were the only people on site. What other fools would get married a week before Christmas! We had the place to ourselves. It is a large site with numerous lets, obviously many designed for families. So when the site is full as it must be in the summer months I should imagine, there would be a very different atmosphere in the public areas and with visitors coming and going from the separate apartments.


Stuart from Honiton stayed at Sandymouth SM1BEDSV-2 for 4 nights in December 2018


Stayed at Kennacott before but this time in a different cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Jan 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Had a lovely stay in Sandymouth, it was our 1st time in this cottage, the views were spectacular so much so that we have booked again in a couple of weeks !! Everything you need was in the cottage.
The site is beautiful and we made full use of the swimming pool. The communal lounge was looking very tired ,but everything else was good.


Sandra from Sw19 8du stayed at Sandymouth SM1BEDSV-2 for 7 nights in November 2018


Lovely quiet cottage but a little tired needs a refurb

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Sep 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a lovely relaxing time at the cottage, it's set in a great location with brilliant facilities and wonderful views.
One thing I would say although it represented good value for money and the site staff were very good the cottage is looking a little tired and needs a refurbishment and some modernising.
It's only our opinion as we are used to.more modern fitting but don't let this put you off going.


Simon from Shortstown , BEDFORD stayed at Sandymouth SM1BEDSV-2 for 7 nights in September 2017