FB Twitter

Salthouse SH2BEDPF-4

Salthouse SH2BEDPF-4

3.9
out of 5
Ratings from 11 reviews
82% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.1
Condition
3.4
Location
4.4
Value
3.5
Customer
Service
3.9


Lovely cottage shame it needs updating

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Mar 2020
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We have stayed at Salthouse many times ,unfortunately it hasn’t been updated ,it used to have a three seater sofa and a two seater sofa ,now two chairs and two seater ,that was uncomfortable ,it also had a second t.v in bedroom ,it has been taken out ,even through it still advertised it was there , the location is brilliant, and the grounds suburb , the pool is being repaired ,so the price reflects that ,I enjoyed our stay , but it desperately needs updating,

Delia from Oxford stayed at Salthouse SH2BEDPF-4 for 4 nights in March 2020


Complaints

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Jul 2019
2.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
2.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Originally booked into Cherry Tree Cottage & only advised that there was a problem with Cherry Tree when we arrived & were moved to Salthouse. Not happy with the Cottage & moved to Pear Tree which was fine. However Pear Tree only available until the 8th July when we had to move back into Salthouse for the last 2 days. We declined to do this & went home. Following complaints to the management we are waiting for the 10% refund which was promised.

Eric from Cambridge stayed at Salthouse SH2BEDPF-4 for 4 nights in June 2019


Lovely stay, but no longer luxury

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Jun 2019
3.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
2.0
We had a lovely time in the cottage, however the cottage and customer service wasn’t without problems.

This is our third trip to Kennacott Court (our previous trips being in 2013 and 2017) and I feel the site, cottages and facilities have steadily deteriorated since our first visit. We noticed some deterioration on our last trip, but were very surprised at the extent of the decline between our last visit and this trip, The accommodation is advertised as luxury cottages, but I would not describe the site as luxury in its current state of repair.

Salthouse cottage was bright and airy and a really good size, and close to all the onsite facilities, however it was in need of some maintenance. There was paint flaking off the walls in the living room and sofa’s were worn and ripped. The shower over the bath was useless, the water power wasn’t strong enough to put the shower head in the wall attachment. You also only get one key for the cottage which meant all guests had to do the same thing (as the key was needed to access the facilities).

The pool onsite is a good size, but needed a good clean. Every time we went in (even on Thursday after it had supposedly been cleaned) the water was full of fluff and bits floating on the top. However after quickly removing these ourselves were still able to enjoy using the pool.

The games room has really fallen into disrepair. The bowling ally has been removed (although is still pictured on the website) and although the pool table, snooker table and ping pong still function they are in a poor state. And the room itself looks tatty and in need of a good clean.

The grounds were lovely, lots of different routes for walking in and the views were stunning.

While we were on site the staff were friendly and dealt with queries quickly.

The customer service prior to arrival was problematic. We received an email a few days prior to arrival with the arrival info in, and noticed the day after that a different cottage to the one we had booked was listed in the email. When queried we were informed that we had been moved to different cottage. I was very disappointed that we were not specifically notified about the change or contacted to discuss if we were willing to change prior to this email. After querying the change and expressing dissatisfaction at the alternative cottage offered we were contacted and moved back to the original cottage we had booked. It is poor that such a change was made without speaking to us first, and I’m also concerned what would have happened if we hadn’t noticed that a different cottage was listed on the arrival information.

Overall we did enjoy our stay, but was disappointed in the condition of the cottage/facilities and would be concerned about the condition of the cottage and facilities if I were to return in the future.


Guest from Sale stayed at Salthouse SH2BEDPF-4 for 7 nights in May 2019


Short break

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Apr 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a excellent short break in Salthouse, we had a offer from Kennacott and was great value for money ,would definitely come again if we receive more offers ,being pensioners it allowed us to enjoy a very enjoyable break ,Having been before a few years ago the improvements the new owners have made are very good ,the grounds are stunning and the pool is fantastic,The cottage was comfortable ,a little dated perhaps but charming ,wish we had booked longer

Dilly from Oxford stayed at Salthouse SH2BEDPF-4 for 4 nights in March 2019


short winter break

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Jan 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed here in August 2018 in the Welcombe Cottage and had rebooked for a long weekend in November 2018. Unfortunately the electrics blew in the cottage soon after our arrival. The on site team were marvelous and upgraded us to the Salthouse. It's ideal for a family, especially if you have elderly or young as it's all on the ground floor. However this does mean that, as the sitting room faces the main drive, you are on view to everyone.

The only real disappointment was the indoor swimming pool. In the August it was lovely and warm, perfect for an early morning splash with the kids. However in November, it may have been heated, but it was 5 - 10 degrees too cold for comfort. Not quite an icy bath; but not enjoyable either. Needless to say we didn't get our value for money from it...what a shame!


Richard from Weston Super Mare stayed at Salthouse SH2BEDPF-4 for 2 nights in November 2018


Mrs Sylvia Wilde booked by my son Mal Wilde as a trip down memory lane for my 80th Burthday.

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Jun 2018
3.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We were rather disappointed as having had many happy stays when Howard &Maureen had ownership the standards have really slipped . The gentleman who took over from then let things go and made no improvements. The whole place looks sad and tired although I fully appreciate you are going to upgrade the facilities at Kennacott. However for the prices charged it is not now value for money. The games rooms had no soft balls for tennis or shuttlecocks and the ends of the table tennis table were so splintery and dangerous especially for children. The tennis courts were very uneven with balls careering off in all directions. Moving the Snooker table into the games area has completely ruined the facility for adults enjoyment especially the lighting conditions. When my husband was alive he and my son-in-law loved slipping away for a quiet hour’s play. The golf course was always well kept but the greens now are poor and not inspirational for keen golfers arriving..
Having said this my family did me proud and we had a fun week with lovely weather and generally the three properties we had were fine. It is such a prime position with lovely bays and views in the surrounding areas.


Mal from Feering stayed at Salthouse SH2BEDPF-4 for 7 nights in May 2018


Peaceful and tranquil location with excellentfacilities.

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Apr 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at Kennacot for the last five Easters and have always enjoyed it. It is a lovely , peaceful location with excellent grounds . A super position with access to beautiful places nearby.
This time there were more games tables in the games’ room which made it feel a bit busy and cramped. My daughter missed the piano in the corner!!


Guest from Lichfield stayed at Salthouse SH2BEDPF-4 for 7 nights in April 2018


Salthouse

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Mar 2018
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The Salthouse is looking 'very tired' and old fashioned. It needs a complete refurb. We shared with another couple and we used the shower room only but it is really out dated. The sink in the toilet is so small but I can understand that's probably difficult to change. Would I recommend to someone else? Well yes if it is at the right price and because of the pool and games facilities but I'd tell them not to expect too much.

Guest from Kingsbridge stayed at Salthouse SH2BEDPF-4 for 3 nights in March 2018


Excellent customer service from the staff members on site!

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Mar 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent customer service from the staff members.
Beautiful location and grounds.
We had some issues with the kitchen appliances but they were resolved quickly and with a professional manner.


Guest from Chelsea stayed at Salthouse SH2BEDPF-4 for 56 nights in January 2018


Comfortable but needs updating. Excellent location.

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Nov 2017
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We have stayed at Kennacourt Court , experiencing 6 different cottages, several times between 2002 and 2011. Initially we were delighted with every aspect of Kennacott. We found towards the last visit that things were beginning to look a little tired and in need of some TLC. Having been invited by the new owners to stay again at a discounted price, we went again in October 2017. Although all the facilities are all still there, very little has been done to bring furnishings and decor up to date. Upon arrival, we rang both the numbers given to us to inform the management of our arrival, and could not get an answer. We had to search the site and eventually found a member of staff to let us in to Salthouse Cottage. These issues apart, we had a comfortable and enjoyable stay and will probably use Kennacott again for an off season break as peak summer prices we consider to be very expensive.

Edward from Bridgwater stayed at Salthouse SH2BEDPF-4 for 3 nights in October 2017


Great cottage, lovely break

Review submitted on Thu, 19 Oct 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely holiday at Kennacott Court in October. Salthouse Cottage was exactly what we wanted, a cosy home-from-home which was always warm and excellently equipped.
We were made very welcome on arrival, even after a lengthy delay to our journey. The shared facilities are great, although we didn't use them loads. We enjoyed the short walk to the coast from the cottages and would love to visit again.


Lizzie from London stayed at Salthouse SH2BEDPF-4 for 5 nights in October 2017