FB Twitter

Northcott NC2BEDPF-4

Northcott NC2BEDPF-4

4.0
out of 5
Ratings from 8 reviews
75% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.4
Comfort
3.8
Condition
3.4
Location
4.4
Value
3.9
Customer
Service
4.1


Lovely location, internal condition of house shabby, internet speed 2.2 at best (usually no access)

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Oct 2019
3.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We have stayed at Kennacott many times over 25 years but were very disappointed by the conditions in our cottage this time. The armchairs had large holes in the upholstery with stuffing showing through, and the arms of the slipcovers were stiff with the grease of hundreds of hands. The lampshade in the twin room was so old that the fabric had rotted away in holes and it was barely attached to the wire frame. There was a loose board under the kitchen units which we had observed two years ago and which was still not fixed. The carpet had discoloured spots on it.

We could not access the internet at all during our first week, and we found that the best speed we could get was 2.2, only available before 6am when no-one else was up and competing for access.Television reception at Northcott was poor, we were told this was because of the position of the aerial (perhaps a replacement would help).

Apart from this, the general condition of everything was spotlessly clean, the staff were helpful and friendly, the pool remains a delight and the grounds and view are lovely. The location is good for beach and moor access.


Jenny from Abingdon stayed at Northcott NC2BEDPF-4 for 14 nights in October 2019


Northcott cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Aug 2019
2.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
1.0
Location
4.0
Value
1.0
Customer
Service
3.0
On getting their we found the fridge was leaking, stains all over the carpet in the main room and the arms of the settee's were all ripped. Window's did not lock properly and needed screws in to fix the locks. We fixed them ourselves to secure them.
We asked for someone to look at the fridge and the gardner was sent. He was very polite and tried to find why it was leaking but could not. I was told just to keep mopping the water up ever so often.
We had paid in advance to use the golf course and the greens were exactly the same condition as the fairways.
Although to play badminton was free you had to pay for the lights to be on for 20 minutes.
Childrens play area was falling apart and should be pulled down.


Guest from Welling stayed at Northcott NC2BEDPF-4 for 7 nights in July 2019


Upfront reviews this is my SECOND review.......so here we go again

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The welcome that we received was warm and friendly with everything about the complex well explained. The cottage was very comfortable, very homely. he kitchen was well stocked with plenty of crockery and cutlery, we even had a BBQ which was excellent.

The site itself was very well maintained with immaculate garden areas. There is a swimming pool and other amenities but we tended to use the beach more which was a 20 minute walk away or a couple of minutes in the car to Widemouth Bay.

Bude is 4 miles away and also has excellent beaches, pubs, restaurants and supermarkets. We found that the best thing to do was to hire a lockable beach hut which keeps all of your valuables and equipment secure.

We will definitely be going back


Gregory from TAUNTON stayed at Northcott NC2BEDPF-4 for 5 nights in June 2019


Comfortable, Clean cottage with great site facilities

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Jun 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay at Kennacott Court, in Northcott Cottage. Having read reviews we anticipated that the interior would be a little dated but clean and adequate which is exactly as we found it. The site facilities are great - especially the children’s room. We didn’t use the pool or sports courts but they seemed to be well used. We travelled with my parents (70s) and our 10 month old son and the cottage was ideal for our various needs.

The owners were very helpful and able to assist quickly with our queries and requests.

Positives:
Northcott is all on one level
Good layout - the bedrooms are separated by a bathroom
The bathroom is very nice
Very clean
Lots of towels provided including tea towels
The master bedroom is spacious; there was a proper cot in there although we ended up using a travel cot as we could put it next to the bed
The area is great; widemouth bay is nearest, Bude a few miles away and it was easy to travel to Bodmin, Tintagel, Boscastle etc for days out

Things that could be improved:
It would be handy to have more than 1 key though I can understand why only 1 is given.
Only 4 teaspoons!! This almost broke a household with 4 adults and 1 baby...
Some of the furniture could really do with being replaced - sofa arms were threadbare, the mattresses whilst comfortable enough were showing signs of age
A vacuum in the property would be really handy especially as this was the pet friendly property and the dining table is on the carpeted area (mind you if we had had a dog with us he might have gobbled up any crumbs!)
A more thorough check of lights etc working between handovers (one wall light, one bedside lamp not working and a few other bits and bobs which I informed the owner about and which were put right straight away but it would have better if they just worked from the off)

If we are staying in the area again we will be tempted to return. Thank you for providing the base for a lovely holiday.


Elizabeth from Prestwich stayed at Northcott NC2BEDPF-4 for 7 nights in June 2019


Amazing family holiday, dog included

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Jun 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
My family (23 of us and our dog) enjoyed a fantastic week at Kennacott Court in 4 cottages.
The location of the 3 main cottages meant we had a large grassy, communal outdoor picnic area and access to 3 barbeques. The 4th cottage was less than a minutes walk away and to honest the kids enjoyed being able to ride their bikes to and from without much supervision.
The site from the outside was very well kept, freshly cut grass, beautiful flowers, decor and structures. It was also very clean.
The facilities that were available were more than and better than we anticipated, including washing machines, dishwasher with detergent, iron, baby cots, indoor swimming pool, sauna, golf course, tennis court, sports field and lots of walking/ bike tracks with benches.
The site felt secure and we saw staff around to replenish household items ie toilet tissue, washing up liquid and maintenance was available quickly to replace a stairgate in our cottage the morning after arrival.
The location of Kennacott Court was perfect, we had beaches within bike riding distance and more just a short drive away, the views were out of this world, and we were able to travel to nearby towns, supermarkets, pubs, restaurants and further to Eden project, Padstow and Illfracombe for days out.
There were just a couple of cons, the decor in the cottages although in keeping with the rural cottage style was outdated and in need of refreshing, curtains were not well hung, there were a lot of cobwebs in corners, the phone in our cottage didn't work, the wifi signal was very weak although it was accessible all over the site. It needs a few updates to make it the 5 star you advertise it to be.
To end our holiday was an amazing memory making time for our family. Thank you Adam and the team for supporting me with the booking, from beginning to end and for attempting to return a few items we left behind.


Katharine from stayed at Northcott NC2BEDPF-4 for 5 nights in May 2019


Great weekend break

Review submitted on Fri, 24 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great weekend away the cottage was comfortable beautifully clean reception lady was helpful when we arrived late because of unexpected car issues the gardens were beautifully kept and we enjoyed the nature walk the pool was an added bonus close proximity to some stunning beaches that our dog absolutely loved!! Would return

Angela from BRISTOL stayed at Northcott NC2BEDPF-4 for 2 nights in May 2019


A great spot and good facilities

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Jun 2018
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The site is lovely and safe and quiet with a short drive to Bude and the beaches. The swimming pool was great and we really appreciated the sports equipment and the beach equipment. The accommodation was very spacious with space to eat outside and lots of room inside. The grounds are extensive with a lovely wood and views to the sea. A great location for exploring North Devon and Cornwall.

Dawn from Swansea stayed at Northcott NC2BEDPF-4 for 5 nights in May 2018


A clean, cosy cottage with excellent shared facilities

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Nov 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
I was very pleasantly surprised with our cottage, perhaps the photo's don't do it justice but it was very clean, comfortable and cosy and had everything we needed for our short break. Most of the kitchen appliances and utensils seemed brand new and the shared facilities (swimming pool, basketball, games room etc) were excellent for our two boys. It was also brilliant to be able to take our dog, the nature walk was a perfect start to her day.

A couple of things that could be improved: the quality of the mattress in the double bedroom - both my husband and I experienced back-ache. Also the fan in the bathroom was very noisy.


Guest from Stratton stayed at Northcott NC2BEDPF-4 for 3 nights in October 2017