FB Twitter

Farmhouse FH5BEDPF-10/1

Farmhouse FH5BEDPF-10/1

4.1
out of 5
Ratings from 12 reviews
83% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.2
Comfort
4.3
Condition
3.5
Location
4.6
Value
3.8
Customer
Service
4.2


A lovely area to visit with comfortable accommodation

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Feb 2020
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Our first issue was being informed the pool would be out of action for our stay, when you have three children who love to swim it was a bit of a worry but the games room kept them entertained. From the outside the farmhouse looks very tired and in need of some work with cracks in the walls. The downstairs bathroom has taps that have seen better days with broken parts. They did work ok but looked very tatty. The Farmhouse was nice and clean and the heating was excellent.
The rear garden was great and meant the dog could be let out with no fear of her wandering off.
Overall a great place for families to stay with beaches just down the road but does need some work to bring them up to a presentable state.


Mark from Rugby stayed at Farmhouse FH5BEDPF-10/1 for 4 nights in February 2020


Excellent stay!

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Jan 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed here after Christmas and over New Year, and we had an amazing time. We had read a few reviews that concerned us, but they were really not correct. OK the Farmhouse is a little tired, but who cares about that when it is perfectly clean, has everything you need and is warm and welcoming. The location is great for visiting beaches and local towns, the facilities on site are excellent and we used them a lot. No complaints at all and are thinking of booking again next year.

Martin from Bromsgrove stayed at Farmhouse FH5BEDPF-10/1 for 5 nights in December 2019


A disappointment

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Aug 2019
3.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had been looking forward to our stay in what is described as a “luxury” holiday cottage. It cost a good deal more than we have spent previously and we expected something special. The accommodation was comfortable, but not at all luxurious. The bathrooms were shabby. The cooker looked very smart, but was not good at all, the oven did not cook properly. It was impossible to close the window between the kitchen and the utility room, which meant that there was no way to secure the property when we went out.

In the description, it states that coffee, tea, dishwasher tablets and washing powder etc are provided and there is no need to bring supplies with you. In fact, only a minimal amount is supplied and you do have to buy your own. When we were there the pool was not particularly clean, and it was closed altogether for one day. In the sports hall the pool table had a ball missing. The golf course is described as being to a high standard, but to a serious golfer it is appalling. The tennis courts needed resurfacing.

The garden was a very good size and the grass was well maintained.

To sum up: this could be so much better with extensive updating, and the description should be carefully reworded.


Guest from Norwich stayed at Farmhouse FH5BEDPF-10/1 for 7 nights in August 2019


Wonderful week in cornwall

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Apr 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
7 of us stayed in the farmhouse . It easily holds 10 and thus it was a place to relax and enjoy the local facilities such as the pool and badminton which we did. Widemouth beach is close by with a lovely beach where we managed some surfing lessons as well with adventure sports.
There are other lovely places within easy travel radius.
The staff are lovely and pleasant and we had a wonderful week.
Thank you


Praveen from Chester stayed at Farmhouse FH5BEDPF-10/1 for 7 nights in April 2019


A birthday party for our family

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Apr 2019
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A spacious well located house in beautiful part of the country. The pool is a lovely facility but the water temperature is way too cool to allow comfortable swimming. The children really enjoyed the playroom.When we asked for a BBQ,it was provided,we were lucky with the April weather.
The property needs some maintenance and refurbishing. Examples include a toilet seat and broken tap. The kitchen is very well equipped but ,I guess, has not been updated for many years.A broken refrigerator remains installed in the very old kitchen units. We were surprised that the door to the boot room ( the main entrance which has the freezer and laundry facilities) cannot be locked from the outside as no keys are provided. The carpets in the living areas are old and worn. All that said we had a great week. The people we met that work the complex were helpful and friendly.
Would we go again? The answer is yes even if we now now know this is not a gold standard property.


Philip from Almondsbury stayed at Farmhouse FH5BEDPF-10/1 for 7 nights in March 2019


May Half Term break in Bude

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Jun 2018
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Having stayed at Kennacott twice previously in different accommodation we were looking forward to visiting again.

Whilst the sports facilities and swimming pool remain the same, unfortunately we found The Farmhouse not to be as clean as we expected.

Also, according to the labels all the electrical equipment in the property required PAT testing as it was last tested in 2014 putting all families staying in the property at risk.

We would like to return and recommend Kennacott to others as the properties are well appointed but attention to detail regarding cleaning does need to be addressed.


Guest from Milton Keynes stayed at Farmhouse FH5BEDPF-10/1 for 7 nights in May 2018


Concerns over new ownership, facilities good, Farmhouse in need of attention, staff friendly.

Review submitted on Tue, 15 May 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We have rented at Kennacott Court for at least the last 10 years and we were naturally concerned at the change of ownership. Our party consisted of my wife and I, our three children (aged 28,27 and 22) plus a girlfriend.
We were pleased to see that all the facilities were still in place, with the pool warmer than in the past but the snooker table (which we love) had been moved and is likely to suffer damage where it is currently located. Both the tennis courts and table tennis table are in need of urgent attention, a relic from the previous owner. The nature trail was well cared for but sadly we did not have time to try out the golf course.
We had got to know the previous owner well and he was always around to welcome us on arrival and departure. We enjoyed the quietness but I guess it was the time of year. The staff were all very friendly but a bit elusive as we had lost their mobile number and ringing reception was not successful. We felt that some of the old owners small touches were missing (flowers, toiletries, adequate toilet paper, tea/coffee sachets).
With regard to the Farmhouse it is in need of some urgent attention. As we pointed out the plumbing is poor, one toilet cistern did not work, other taps were particularly slow and the showers cramped with the water temperature fluctuating (the heating was fine). The electric shaver units were faulty. The utility room TV is in need of re-tuning. We believe some upgrading is needed as this is one of your show piece houses.
We spoke to other visitors who are hesitant about returning next year as we hope the complex continues to be maintained at the highest standard. We are naturally concerned at the planned developments (more houses/sports centre/outlook) which might take away the quietness, charm, character, and "well loved appearance" It would be helpful if you could keep us posted on any developments.
I am happy to discuss further if you wish, 01483 564459


Stephen from Guildford stayed at Farmhouse FH5BEDPF-10/1 for 7 nights in May 2018


Good location and helpful on site assistance negated a bit by some facilities being a bit tired.

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Apr 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a good holiday at Kennacott we particularly valued the good swimming pool and the help we received in respect of any issues relating to the cottage or the facilities. On the negative side we were disappointed by the condition of the tennis courts which when we stayed here over 15 years ago were very good! It was also a concern that one set of windows in an upstair bedroom could not be opened as this not only restricted ventilation but was a health and safety matter if there was a fire.
Overall all though a good facility and location.


Nicholas from Gerrards Cross stayed at Farmhouse FH5BEDPF-10/1 for 8 nights in April 2018


THE FARMHOUSE, FAMILY HOME

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Apr 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
WE, SIX ADULTS AND FOUR SMALL CHILDREN (3 to 7), STAYED HERE FOR A WEEK. THE ACCOMMODATION WAS EXCELLENT BUT THE HOUSE WAS TIRED - E.G. DOOR SEALS FALLING OFF.

THE YOUNG LADY ACTING AS A RECEPTIONIST WAS ENORMOUSLY HELPFUL AND PATIENT.

IRRITATIONS: THERE WERE INADEQUATE CLEANING MATERIALS, E.G. CLEANING CLOTHS AND LIQUID, BIN BAGS; NO HOUSE CONTROL OF CENTRAL HEATING. WE WERE ENCOURAGED, QUITE RIGHTLY, TO DISPOSE OF ALL WASTE, BUT THE WASTE DISPOSAL INSTRUCTIONS WERE INADEQUATE AND THE RECEPTACLES POORLY SIGNPOSTED.

WE STAYED HERE SOME FOUR YEARS AGO AND THE JOY THEN AND NOW WAS THE SECLUSION AND PEACE OF THE SITE. BUT THE PLAN TO BUILD 80 ODD BUNGALOWS WE CONSIDER RUINOUS - THE THOUGHT OF ALL THOSE FAMILIES CRAMMING INTO THE SWIMMING POOL/GAMES AREA IS AWFUL - WE ARE UNLIKELY TO RETURN (HOW SAD).


John from Bexhill On Sea stayed at Farmhouse FH5BEDPF-10/1 for 7 nights in March 2018


Birthday celebration weekend

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Mar 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We were able to enjoy our weekend in spite of the cold weather. Beautifully warm farmhouse and lovely facilities.

Patricia from St. Austell stayed at Farmhouse FH5BEDPF-10/1 for 3 nights in March 2018


Big family celebration

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Feb 2018
3.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
On the whole we had a great time. There were 40 guests over 11 cottages and everyone said how clean their accommodation was.
However we did have issues in the main Farmhouse where I stayed, shower out of order (not told about sign on door), kitchen hot tap stopped working and tv stopped working. Also the swimming pool water temp was really cold and the games room heating was broken


Vicki from Stockwood stayed at Farmhouse FH5BEDPF-10/1 for 3 nights in January 2018


Relaxing Farmhouse break

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ideally situated, some 3 miles south of Bude, near widcombe bay. Facilities on site second to none, for both adults and children. I would not hesitate in recommending the site, facilities, and position, close to Padstow and Port Issac.

Leighton from stayed at Farmhouse FH5BEDPF-10/1 for 7 nights in September 2017