FB Twitter

Drumboy Lodge

Drumboy Lodge

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 22 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.8
Location
4.9
Value
4.9
Customer
Service
5.0


Drumboy Lodge is a spacious 4 star self catering accommodation situated on the lands of our small family farm. With it's 4 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms it makes a great choice for family get togethers. Peaceful setting with beautiful views over Loudounhill and the Irvine Valley.

Phenomenal!

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a week we had! Amazing location - quiet and serene with so much to do nearby. Gillian was an absolutely fantastic hostess providing us with everything we needed - including entertainment for the kids on the pony - which they loved. Property is really spacious and homey. 10 out of 10!!!!

Moshe from Gateshead stayed at Drumboy Lodge for 5 nights in August 2019


Gillian Dunbar replied 88 days ago
Was great to see the kids have so much fun on the pony ....and funny to hear that since you have gone home they have been playing at 'farms' ! Great memories for you all !

Relaxing Holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
After having a lovely family holiday at the lodge two years ago, we decided to come back again. Yet again we had a brilliant week, the lodge is spacious and in a very quiet area. A brilliant place to stop if you are looking to explore places like; Glasgow, Edinburgh or Loch Lomond. Thankyou Gillian for giving us a lovely and restful holiday, it was what we needed and we will be back again soon.

Mandy from Solihull stayed at Drumboy Lodge for 7 nights in August 2019


Gillian Dunbar replied 88 days ago
So glad Drumboy Lodge worked it's magic on you , once again ! It really is a great place to recharge the batteries! Hope to catch up again soon.

A fantastic holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Aug 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed ourselves here even though we had a busy 6 day schedule and the owner was a real help too.

Guest from stayed at Drumboy Lodge for 5 nights in July 2019


Drumboy Lodge replied 88 days ago
You certainly packed a lot in during your stay !

Fantastic location

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The lodge was in the perfect area surrounded by stunning views especially of Loudounhill, which was 15min walk away. The lodge itself was comfortable, clean and had ample space both inside the accommodation and outside in the garden. Gillian and her family were very friendly and only call away should you need any assistant with anything.
We would highly recommend staying here and are looking at making this a yearly visit.


Alina from Manchester stayed at Drumboy Lodge for 4 nights in July 2019


Gillian Dunbar replied 123 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave a reply. We really appreciate it! Look forward to meeting you all properly next time !

Amazing Place to stay! Great Family Holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 31 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The owner Gillian was absolutely amazing! She was incredibly helpful and happy to help with any requests and special requirements, nothing was too much trouble and she made our stay so much more enjoyable. Everything was so easy and relaxed from the time of booking (booked direct though website), right up until check out! You really feel the 'Family run' helpful, friendly and welcoming atmosphere. The Bungalow was absolutely immaculate, very spacious, beautifully decorated and maintained. The Bungalow is situated in a lovely secluded area set in the picturesque Scottish countryside on a working farm. Access is allowed (with prior notice) so was lovely to walk around and explore with the children.
I would highly recommend this accommodation to everyone!
Thank you Gillian and Family xx


Amy & Alison from Droitwich stayed at Drumboy Lodge for 2 nights in July 2019


Gillian Dunbar replied 123 days ago
Thank you so much for your glowing review ! It was great to have you all, and I hope you will come again soon!

Great Holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The property was very suitable the needs of our party. We needed good wheelchair access and plenty of space which this house provided. The birds were good to watch from the windows, maybe bird feeders would have provided more entertainment?
The owner is very helpful and pleasant to deal with.


David from Newcastle Upon Tyne stayed at Drumboy Lodge for 7 nights in June 2019


Drumboy Lodge replied 147 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I'm glad you all had a great time! You had great knowledge of the birds around the lodge. We have tried feeders in the past but unfortunately found the blackbirds dominated the smaller birds at them, but is maybe something we could look at again.

Capacious, warm and welcoming, great start!

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the second time we have hired Drumboy Lodge, and brought family from across Europe together, the first time was 7 years ago. Both times were great everything was ready and welcoming with lovely little touches that made people feel quickly at home. Gillian and Tom made everything easy. We will use again, but probably won't wait 7 years:-) Chris and Lynne



Chris from Darvel stayed at Drumboy Lodge for 3 nights in May 2019


Gillian Dunbar replied 180 days ago
I refuse to believe that was 7 years ago ! Look forward to having all the relatives for the next big celebration! Really pleased everyone enjoyed their stay so much.

Drumboy was exactly as was advertised in the excellent video which Gillian put together.

Review submitted on Sat, 18 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We would unequivocally recommend Drumboy Lodge. The location was fantastic and it felt like we were coming home every time we came down one of the several single track roads leading up to it. We had everything we needed and it was the perfect place for our family reunion. There was plenty to read and do and the close proximity to Glasgow meant that we could pop in to hear a concert at the Concert Hall or visit a museum, go shopping etc. Equally, there were walks all around us and for those wishing to mountain bike, it would be great. We are really appreciative of the concern and personal interest in us and our quest to find distant relatives in the area. We would return in a heartbeat and can see the potential for 'younger' visitors to enjoy the property with toys and games provided. My sister and I even practiced our line dancing in the kitchen without worrying about any onlookers! So privacy and quiet were another strong feature of this location. Thank you very much - a lovely person and a lovely spot.

Pam from Nottingham stayed at Drumboy Lodge for 8 nights in May 2019


Gillian Dunbar replied 180 days ago
It was an absolute delight to have you all ! I hope you can all get together again like that again soon ! Sweets are long gone ....and no fillings were lost with the toffee ! lol

Perfect meeting our friends and exploring the area

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were so pleased to find Drumboy Lodge right in the very area we wanted to stay. Gillian was very attentive and gave us loads of help
The Lodge was everything we wished for. Very spacious warm and well equipped.
The outlook from the Lodge was quite breathtaking even on the wildest days.
Gillian was a great help planning a day in Glasgow. What a day so much to see and do, we will have to go back.
Our friends were equally impressed with the Lodge and it’s surroundings.
Thank you Gillian for making our stay so enjoyable and memorable


Colette from Saxmundham stayed at Drumboy Lodge for 4 nights in March 2019


Gillian Dunbar replied 180 days ago
I'm so glad you had such a lovely time. It was great to spend some time with you, and no bother at all helping plan your days out. Hope to see you all again soon!

Could not have had a better holiday .

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very welcoming . Provided lots of useful information about surrounding area . Every single cooking equipment you could need was provided. Again can only say excellent .


Annette from Stoke On Trent stayed at Drumboy Lodge for 4 nights in August 2018


Drumboy Lodge replied 295 days ago
So glad you had such a lovely stay...and look forward to your next visit !

Fagans & Rennies 2017/18

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a great time at Drumboy Lodge .
There was 9 in our party , and lodge was more than enough for our needs .

The area is steeped in high profile scottish history , that i hadnt realised when booking . A good walk up Loudonhill is recommended .

The lodge was stocked with essentials , toilet roll , washing up liquid , washing powder .. ect ..
Gillian also left milk for us , and a nice touch was a bottle of red wine left for us .

Everyone thoroughly enjoyed their stay .


Craig from Tayport stayed at Drumboy Lodge for 4 nights in December 2017


Drumboy Lodge replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us. I'm glad you had a great time....and well done for climbing Loudounhill in January ! No mean task ! We hope to see you again soon.

Christmas 2017

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an excellent stay with the family. From first booking Gillian was extremely helpful and friendly making sure everything was ready for our arrival. The lodge was comfortable, well laid out and clean; a real home from home. There was plenty of information about the surrounding area and local things to do. As it was Christmas we did a lot of cooking so we were very happy with the spacious well equipped kitchen / dining area. Altogether a perfect break, we will definitely be back!

Catherine from Newton Mearns stayed at Drumboy Lodge for 5 nights in December 2017


Drumboy Lodge replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review. Sorry weather and time didn't allow for riding this time.... but definitely next time !

Can't fault the place

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Nov 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Definitely would stay again
Hfjk


Jake from Doncaster stayed at Drumboy Lodge for 11 nights in October 2017


Drumboy Lodge replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks Guys, hope to see you again soon.

Fantastic Holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very quiet and beautiful area to stay in. The lodge was spectacular as Gillian thought of everything. This lodge is family friendly and has a small children's play room, where you can watch them while cooking. Recommend the Loudounhill Walk, which gives fantastic views.

Mandy from Solihull stayed at Drumboy Lodge for 7 nights in August 2017


Gillian Dunbar replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind words. I'm glad you liked the Loudounhill walk, It's one of my favourites! I have just had some drone footage of it done, so keep an eye out for it on the website and FB pages. Coming soon !

Family Holiday August 2017

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is an excellent facility, which we certainly hope to use again, as we have family in the area, and the central location is ideal for exploring, much of what Scotland has to offer.
The lodge provides all that a family requires for a comfortable holiday, if I was being picky a shower over the bath in the bathroom would be useful, but I am being picky, there are 2 showers already in the lodge.
We had a friendly welcome from Gillian, and there is loads of information and advice on local attractions, and facilities, just brilliant for large family groups.


John from Swindon stayed at Drumboy Lodge for 7 nights in August 2017


Gillian Dunbar replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. Especially such a nice one ! You packed a lot in while you were here .... even climbing Loudounhill ... ! I hope you got enough time to visit all your family and friends before returning home. Hope to see you all again.

Great x 10

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Jul 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Positives
-Clean, Great size, Comfortable, Very friendly and helpful owners and many others
To improve
-Internet connection was breaking out and this ,I think is, is the fault of internet service provider ( BT)


Guest from Aberdeen stayed at Drumboy Lodge for 4 nights in July 2017


Gillian replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback. Much appreciated. I'm sorry the internet was unstable at the time of your stay. I have asked the next guests and all seems fine but I will certainly get it checked by BT. We hope to see you all again for your next family reunion.

A long weekend away with friends

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Apr 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay, clean house, clean air, space, very accommodating hosts and beautiful scenery. Not far from Loch Lomond in the car but there is also a local waterfall if your prepared to go looking.... really lovely....

Guest from Luton stayed at Drumboy Lodge for 4 nights in April 2017


Drumboy Lodge replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. It was great to meet you all. You packed a lot into a short time that was for sure ! I hope the children remember their time here in years to come.

Very nice house

Review submitted on Sat, 21 Jan 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very nice house, perfect for a large group with children. Our hosts were very hospitable and helpful in catering for our needs. Great value for money!

Douglas from Edinburgh stayed at Drumboy Lodge for 3 nights in January 2017


Drumboy Lodge replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your comments. I hope you will all manage to come the next time and hopefully for longer.

Christmas vacation at Drumboy Lodge

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We travelled from Australia and chose to stay at Drumboy Lodge as it was close to family and friends. There were 7 of us. The Lodge was clean and had everything we could possibly need for our 2 week stay. It even snowed for us. Gillian was extremely helpful and even gave the kids a tour of the farm and let them pet the animals. The Lodge is a 3 minute drive to the carpark at the foot of Loudon Hill and so we even climbed the hill on a couple of occasions. The view was beautiful, as was the view from the Lodge livingroom. The kids made good use of the children's room and the large dining kitchen played host to a family Christmas dinner. I would not hesitate to recommend this property to anyone who would like to stay in the beautiful Scottish countryside in a lovely clean, well equipped and spacious family home away from home.

Allan from Ormond stayed at Drumboy Lodge for 15 nights in December 2016


Gillian Dunbar replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for such a kind review. It is very much appreciated. You were a week too early leaving ..... we had a huge amount of snow the following week ! I'll need to post the video on our FB page of the kids sledging ! Hope to see you all again soon.

Excellent Customer Service

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at Drumboy Lodge over the last few weeks while working in the area. Each week we have a text to check our requirements and nothing is ever to much bother. Very friendly and lovely property and we will be adding this to our preferred accommodation while in this area. Thanks so much for accommodating us. I have already recommended to friends and family (but I wont be on the weeks I want ha)

Louise from St Helens stayed at Drumboy Lodge for 4 nights in September 2016


Gillian Dunbar replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your review. Yes I definitely thinks it makes a difference to guests when they can speak to the owner direct. Look forward to doing business with you again in the future !

Drumboy Lodge stay

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Sep 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Booked for a weeks holiday in Scotland.The location was fantastic with excellent views.Gillian the owner was a brilliant host.
We had a great week there plenty to see within a short drive and excellent for cycling.The lodge was in the middle of nowhere but very homely.


Tracey from Norwich stayed at Drumboy Lodge for 6 nights in August 2016


Gillian Dunbar replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. It was great to meet you all, but next time have more time after your event so that you can have extra fun ! I'm going to have to look out longer cycle and running routes as the 7 mile ones were too easy for you !

Fantastic Location and Premises

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Sep 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Gilian and family helpful , friendly and easy to get on with. However no toilet/ bathroom doors locks work - a bit uncomfortable, Also the swing from garden that was once there, isn't any longer (probably for insurance reasons) and was sorely missed. Furthermore the garden is a beautifully tended large green lawn, but a little too wet to be used by the kids really. But all this was only a small dampener on the otherwise fantastic holiday we enjoyed there.

Guest from Gateshead stayed at Drumboy Lodge for 9 nights in August 2016


Gilian Dunbar replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. I'm really sorry about the bathroom lock, you should have said, and we would have had a look at it for you. I'm afraid the Scottish weather wasn't as kind to you this year as it has been in the past, but I managed to cut the grass twice during your stay with no problems. We were advised to remove the swing, but the absolute delight on all of your children's faces when riding the ponies certainly made up for that. I'm glad you enjoyed another fantastic holiday here !