FB Twitter

Sudeley Guest Cottage; Sudeley Castle, Cotswolds

Sudeley Guest Cottage; Sudeley Castle, Cotswolds

4.4
out of 5
Ratings from 20 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.5
Comfort
4.4
Condition
4.4
Location
4.9
Value
4.2
Customer
Service
4.0


The Guest Cottage has been completely renovated to the highest standard and contains many items of furniture and pictures from the Castle's private collection. Upstairs, the accommodation comprises two double bedrooms, one twin bedroom and 2 bathrooms. Downstairs, there is a modern fully equipped kitchen / breakfast room and separate lounge. For your entertainment, there is a flat screen TV and a new WiFi system has also been installed, enabling guests to stream programmes onto their smartphone or tablet. There are also a selection of books available for your enjoyment. Fluffy towels and bedding is provided for all guests.

Sudeley Castle Guest Cottage is located immediately adjacent to the main Castle, to which guests enjoy complimentary entrance, during the season. The Guest Cottage has a large private garden, with outstanding views down the Winchcombe valley.

Regrettably, no pets are allowed

Guest Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 26 May 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This cottage was ideally located for access to Sudeley Castle and the surrounding area. It was very spacious and very well equipped. The extensive garden was ideal for our 4 young grandchildren. My only criticism would be that 10am was a bit of a challenge to vacate the property in the last day



Extraordinary & ordinary

Review submitted on Tue, 14 May 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This home is in an amazing location with a delightful exterior. On the inside it is homely and spacious without being special. We enjoyed our stay here, thoroughly enjoyed the Cotswold's and made the most of free entry to the castle. The kitchen has everything you could need and more and the bathrooms are a good size and clean. I didn't find the bed comfortable and the curtains didn't keep out enough light for the kids to sleep past the 4:30am sunrise. That said I'd stay here again if the opportunity arose.



Sudeley Stay

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Apr 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent location and a very neat cottage
The kitchen is well equipped. Very cozy place and we enjoyed our stay




Great Place for visiting Cotswolds

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The property was as advertised, quaint, comfortable and well appointed. Visiting the castle and grounds for free was a bonus. The history, architecture, peacocks and gardens were amazing. Cannot wait to visit again in September



An excellent, relaxing stay

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Apr 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Cottage was beautiful. Well very and clean. The bedrooms were spacious and comfortable - the front room furniture no so great though for a family.
Garden was fabulous and the location is also excellent. Would definitely recommend.




Fine!

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Jan 2019
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
A DVD player would have been great in the property. Furthermore a big cooking pot for a property up to 6 would be appropriate; as well as a second pan. Nevertheless it’s a great house to enjoy the country life.



Beautiful Cottage in Great Location

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Dec 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a delightful cottage in a great rural location, with wonderful walking and heritage on the doorstep with the delightful Winchcombe with places to eat and shop. The cottage is well presented, comfortable and stylishly decorated and furnished. Minor irritation - a number of light bulbs had blown and not the correct spare bulbs provided, and that we didn't have adequate cups and sauces, or appropriate cooking trays for the oven or serving dishes - needed if you are staying more than a few nights. Otherwise would highly recommend.



Sudeley guest cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Nov 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This is a lovely property but we would have liked the use of a DVD player and also a radio in the kitchen.



Wonderful Family break

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Nov 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The family had a wonderful stay - it made an ideal base to explore and was suitable from 3 - 74 year olds. We hope to be back soon



A Fairytale Cottage!

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Sep 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We loved our week at the Sudeley Guest Cottage! It is in such a gorgeous location and the cottage itself is wonderfully decorated and maintained. Our only complaint was that we found the mattresses a bit hard but some people probably like them that way. Overall, it was a week spent in a truly beautiful place!



Our busy to Sudeley Castle to catch up on some family history

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Aug 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We enjoyed our visit to the Castle on our first day and ventured further out on the following days. The location is excellent to see the sights around the area. The cottage is well presented in a quite location but within easy reach of anything you could wish for.. we would recommend this to any family as a fabulous place to stay



a beautiful cottage in a beautiful place.

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Aug 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
2.0
We had a nice stay at Sudeley. It was nice to be able to walk to the Castle. The cottage was adorable and the location
picturesque. It's a bit remote to try with no car. Luckily, my friends had one and came to our rescue. It would be great if there was a person on call that could answer some questions or help with means of transportation into town, or helping find a cycle hire, etc...
It might also be an idea to offer a grocery service for guests at an extra charge of course. I would definitely go back. Probably a bit
better prepared.




Lovely house

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Jul 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely house in beautiful setting. Needs some tic in upstairs bathroom. Very nice eat- in kitchen. Sudeley castle terrific.



June at Sudeley Castle Guest Cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Jun 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a lovely two night stay at Sudeley Castle Cottage at the beginning of June. The cottage was very quaint and homey and we enjoyed the quiet, relaxing atmosphere. Our only wish is that we could have had more time on the Castle grounds. Sudeley is so beautiful and it would be nice for guests staying on property to have additional access to the grounds. Since it doesn’t open until ten with last entry at 4 it was difficult to get in time at the castle along with our other sightseeing in the Cotswolds. The grounds are so lovely and it would have been nice to have enjoyed them earlier in the morning or later in the evening.



Sudeley guest cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Apr 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you are after the quaint cottage experience then the cottages at Sudeley castle are perfect.
We had the odd issue (booking/ heating broke during stay) but the staff were on hand and did all the could to fix it.
Upon closer inspection the fixture in the cottage were a bit worn and the furnishing could do with a more frequent spring clean. We arrived to a note from the visitors before us pointing out that there were maintenance issues with light bulbs out and broken chair but this had not been sorted by staff! Kitchen kettle was coated in limescale so we went and bought descaler it was that bad. Attention to detail for basics could be better.




Lovely winter weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely, comfortable cottage, very well equipped with everything you could need. Arriving on a Friday afternoon in the midst of winter, it would have been nice if the heating could have been put on the day before - it was freezing! Great walks from the doorstep. The cottage is on its own and further away from Winchcombe than the other castle cottages - about 15 minutes walk. We would like to return when the castle is open.



We had a great family break

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Dec 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We went with some friends with children with a range of ages and had a great time. Very peaceful, comfortable and close to the village.



Fantastic location for those interested in history

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Dec 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spent 2 nights here in mid-October. Cottage was perfect for the four of us and there was another large double bedroom that we didn't need to use. Comfy, cosy and warm cottage with everything we needed for a short stay. We pretty much lived in the splendid kitchen. Unfortunately we couldn't see the views from the cottage due to the low lying mist!! The castle is a 5 min walk away, across the road and into the exit from the car park. You can also drive there in 1 min if mobility is a problem. We spent all our time in the castle/in the cottage, but Winchcombe is only 5 mins away by car. Perfect place if you love history as you are so close to the wonderful castle.



Great location cottage next to castle

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Dec 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cottage everything was high spec and luxurious. Had to ring the out of hours emergency people to tell us where the key safe was as difficult to find (we were looking at side door not front door which is adjacent to car parking space) but once inside had the most comfortable stay. Would highly recommend



Cotswolds retreat

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Sep 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The cottage was lovely with a pleasant back yard. Only the front door was usable and would have been much better with the use of the side/back entrance which was blocked off. This made it difficult to carry food and beverages to the back yard table.
In the middle of one night, the burglar alarm went off due to an electrical problem causing a loss of WIFI use the next morning and requiring assistance in the middle of the night to turn off the alarm. We could not raise the Roman shade in the upstairs bathroom making it basically unusable to open or to enjoy the views. My husband made a temporary fix to the shower arm in the upstairs shower as it was also broken upon our arrival. With these exceptions, we still had a fine stay and would recommend it.