FB Twitter

Squire Cottage

Squire Cottage

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 26 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.4
Condition
4.5
Location
4.9
Value
4.9
Customer
Service
4.5


Squire Cottage, an old farm worker's cottage, sleeps four in two bedrooms and downstairs, has a huge inglenook fireplace with an open fire.

Peaceful location, beautiful cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Oct 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely stay, all too short, would definitely go back again, very comfortable beds! Fab fireplace, which I think would be needed in winter.

Karen from High Wycombe stayed at Squire Cottage for 2 nights in September 2017


The perfect escape

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Squire Cottage is a haven from the stresses of the modern world. From the moment we walked into this charming period cottage to the moment we left we felt more relaxed. The lack of mobile reception and internet far from being a problem, was the perfect digital detox.

When we arrived on the Friday afternoon the cottage was ready for us, with fresh flowers and bread on the kitchen table and a basket of logs next to the fireplace. Peter and Becky were the perfect hosts, never intrusive - but we had the feeling they were always available if needed.

The downstairs layout was perfect for 2 adults and 3 dogs, being open plan we could all keep an eye on each other no matter what we were doing. The kitchen is well equipped and had all the essentials. The view from the kitchen window almost made us ignore the dishwasher and wash up by hand...but only almost.

Upstairs the bed was large and comfortable, and the heating kept the room temperature at an ideal level despite the first tinges of autumn cool. The shower was a pleasant surprise having a pressure unknown in other cottages we have rented.

Outside, was ideal for late night walkies, and so quiet. Each morning and evening the sunrise and sunset streamed along the valley creating perfect photographers light.

The cottage is ideally located for exploring the glorious countryside. Knighton, and the bizarre Harry Tuffins was convenient for shopping, but there are numerous other places for the serious foody to explore.

All in all a wonderful break - and a great introduction to Shropshire.


Paul from Robertsbridge stayed at Squire Cottage for 7 nights in September 2017


brilliant

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a way to celebrate 19th wedding anniversary. Cottage was brilliant. Sheep and horses in your garden.Stunning views.The two dogs came to visit every day making friends with our dog Willow. Owners were very helpful when our car broke down.The welcome pack was a nice surprise. Lots to see in surrounding area. We will be back as soon as we can. Thank you for a lovely stay.

David from Wirral Merseyside stayed at Squire Cottage for 4 nights in August 2017


Lovely, quirky cottage!

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Aug 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great base for our work. Comfortable cottage. Excellent shower! Loved the addition of hot water bottles and basic supplies. Spacious and fairly well equipped. Home-made welcome treats were much appreciated. Only helpful addition would be wi-fi!

Amy from Worcester stayed at Squire Cottage for 7 nights in August 2017


A Great week in Shropshire

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Apr 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Squire Cottage is in a beautiful valley, not too far from Ludlow and close to other places of interest.

John from Seascale stayed at Squire Cottage for 7 nights in March 2017


Beautiful location

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful location, very friendly and would definitely stay again. Used for work purposes whilst working on the Elan Valley aqueduct

Paul from Port Talbot stayed at Squire Cottage for 7 nights in March 2017


lovely peaceful stay

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Feb 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
we (2 of us) had a lovely peaceful stay in February. A lovely cottage and a great place for both walking and relaxing 'at home'. Left to our own devices but knowing our hosts were on hand if needed worked well. Lovely welcome breakfast in the cottage when we arrived. Some great walking in the area too.

Michael from York stayed at Squire Cottage for 7 nights in February 2017


Becky replied 291 days ago
I am so glad you had a peaceful stay here recently. We find it can be quite noisy with birds, cockerels, sheep and the stream, with sometimes dogs and tractors adding to the racket!

Wonderful escape

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Dec 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful place to escape from the everyday hustle and bustle of life and unwind! Had a great time with friends and would recommend it!

Jolyon from Oswestry stayed at Squire Cottage for 3 nights in November 2016


Becky replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your compliments! It was good to see you again and it seemed that you certainly had a lively time!!! It was great to witness!

Lovely stay as usual!

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Nov 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Have been staying in Squire Cottage on and off since 2006 hand have enjoyed every visit. We love the area and the cottage and always look forward to seeing Becky and Peter. This trip was no exception.

Peter from Ipswich stayed at Squire Cottage for 7 nights in October 2016


A grand place to stay!

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Oct 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It's always nice to unravel the mysteries surrounding old buildings, it's even better to have the privilege of living in one and to have the opportunity to experience the slice of history which is Squire cottage, even if it's only for a short while.
We found the surrounding area peaceful yet interesting, offering plenty to do on the one hand or just allowing you the space to do nothing on the other, if that's what you prefer.
The cottage contained all of the paraphernalia we seem to need these days for comfortable living, plus a few extras to make life that little bit easier, all wrapped within its quirky and engaging form. The large open fireplace, low doors and creaking floor boards all help to keep you gently reminded of how things used to be but with enough comfort to enjoy it.
Our hosts were most attentive and friendly, offering advice and information about things to do and places to go not to mention their speedy rectification of the odd infrastructure glitch, all very reassuring.
We would not hesitate to make a return visit or give our recommendation to others, in our opinion the cottage was good value in every way.


Matthew from Rousay stayed at Squire Cottage for 14 nights in October 2016


Becky replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review. There is so much history in the area and it is exciting to have some of it on the doorstep! We can only vaguely imagine how a large farming family lived in the tiny cottage, which for two is big and for four on holiday, not small. But six or seven?! It was a pleasure to have you here to stay and look forward to your next visit!

Great hosts. great comfort and great location.

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We love old beamy cottages with inglenook fireplaces and Squire Cottage fulfilled all these in spades. It was very comfortable and well equipped, but, at the same time slightly querky, which we liked.
The location is stunning with some amazing walks from the doorstep, and Becky and Peter were the perfect hosts, helpful but not intrusive. There is also lots of helpful info about things to do.
As a holiday cottage we couldn't fault it.


Anthony from Kimbolton stayed at Squire Cottage for 7 nights in September 2016


Becky replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you both for such a positive review. I hope we'll see you again in the future!!

Amazing Views and Silence

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Aug 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful deceptively large cottage, really felt that we had stepped back in time but thankfully with modern conveniences. A rare find to be able to enjoy total silence apart from mother nature and no phones..bliss. Becky welcoming so too Jack and Scully. Had our door open every day as the weather was kind during our stay and the dogs often very politely tiptoed in to say hello! Basil our JRTerrier happy to make new friends.
Stunning views from kitchen windows and all around. Great base to explore Shropshire.
I prefered blue settee as found other chairs a bit too upright.


Sophie from Westbury stayed at Squire Cottage for 7 nights in August 2016


Becky replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind comments. The beauty of a holiday cottage is that it doesn't start with the clutter of ordinary life and space can be shown and used to advantage. As you say, it is very quiet and peaceful here, apart from the cockerel (he has a companion now and young ones growing to challenge him), the dogs (thankfully not too often) and the usual background of birds, stream, owls, guinea fowl and other daily rackets!

quirky cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Jul 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Lovely, quirky cottage. beautiful surroundings. shame didn't meet owners.Bed a bit dippy but okay. Enjoyed our stay
amidst peace and quiet. Plenty of places of interest to visit and pubs that allow dogs


Guest from Harlow stayed at Squire Cottage for 7 nights in July 2016


Becky replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review; yes, it's a shame I didn't get to meet you, though I did have a nice chat to your husband. It is partly the result of living on a farm and having too many interests - we are often doing other things - or recovering from doing them! Thank you for bringing the problem of the bed to our attention. I had a look at it and it seems the base is starting to collapse; it is about time we found a replacement. We often welcome being told about things like that; they are not necessarily obvious when cleaning in a hurry.

A perfect get away.

Review submitted on Mon, 16 May 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you like peace and tranquility and lovely old biuldings then you couldn't choose anywhere better. We were welcomed with homemade bread, a bowl of free range eggs and butter. The surrounding countryside is pretty and great walking country with footpaths and walking routes galore. There was a good selection of maps and walking info in the cottage to help us plan our day. The lack of phone signal and internet makes Squire farm the perfect getaway from a hectic life. If you like daily updates on face book or are constantly on your mobile or you like everything on your doorstep eg shops/ pubs etc then Squire farm wouldn't be for you. For us and our two dogs the cottage was ideal.
Just one thing I missed is maybe a bench in the grassy area behind the cottage. Somewhere to drink my morning coffee and watch the lambs and admire the view from.


Susan from BINGLEY stayed at Squire Cottage for 7 nights in May 2016


Becky replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review. It is certainly a perfect place to walk from... As to the bench in the garden, we have outdoor table and chairs, but the weather, up until now hasn't been conducive to sitting outside! I'm sorry - I should have realised that you needed something to sit on outside - I was probably too taken up with the sheep and lambs!!

Lovely birthday break

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Mar 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
I booked this for my husbands 40th birthday, it was a great weekend. A fabulous cottage in a brilliant location, surrounded by gorgeous countryside would absolutely go back again.

Fiona from Stafford stayed at Squire Cottage for 2 nights in March 2016


Squire Farm review

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Mar 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The access track was extremely waterlogged and pot-holed but we had been warned. The cottage was a little cool but again we had expected it considering the time of year. We were glad to be able to have our two dogs with us but wished the lawn at the back of the cottage was enclosed so that we could let them off lead for short times. However we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and it was a convenient base for family visiting whilst still being 'away from it all' We hope to go again!

David from The Lizard stayed at Squire Cottage for 14 nights in February 2016


Enjoyable weekend

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Mar 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A unique cottage full of character, very well equipped and in a peaceful location ....... we very much enjoyed looking out over the fields and watching buzzards build their nest. The welcome pack of eggs, milk, bread and butter was very much appreciated as was the plentiful free supply of logs for the fire. We did have a little 'hiccup' with the heating but that was resolved immediately and we were soon cosy again! So nice it was dog friendly and she loved her walk up the hill each morning.

Len from Northallerton stayed at Squire Cottage for 3 nights in March 2016


Becky replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Len, for your very appreciative review. I am sorry about the heating and thank you for your forbearance. Unfortunately these things happen sometimes and we do try to resolve them as soon as possible - as in your case!

Our favourite 'home away from home'

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Feb 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We just came back to Cardiff after a wonderful full week in Squire Cottage. We have been there in all 4 seasons and it never ceases to be stunning and inspiring. Our 4 year old enjoys wearing her wellies and visiting all the animals on the farm. Becky is always happy for us to join her on her feeding rounds. My husband loves nothing more than creating fires in the huge open fireplace every evening whilst sipping whisky. The surrounding villages and towns all have something unique to explore. We especially like Jolly Frog restaurant, Tuffins supermarket in Knighton (closest mobile signal by car), and Aardvark books in Brampton Bryan. You will never regret a stay at Squire Farm and it is likely you will become regulars like us once you experience it. The hosts Becky and Peter are lovely and always helpful and open to feedback or suggestions. Don't miss this place!!

Melanie from Cardiff stayed at Squire Cottage for 4 nights in August 2015


Becky replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Melanie, it is always a pleasure to have you here. See you again soon.

Quirky, relaxing and very, very peaceful

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Nov 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A week in the prettiest valley in Shropshire with no phone signal. Utter bliss. Wonderful walks from the door, although some of the stiles require gymnastic ability, with the walk up to the prehistoric hill camp one to remember for ever. Comfy. Well, not glamorously, equipped. And a huge open fire.

Katherine from Sheffield, stayed at Squire Cottage for 7 nights in October 2015


A hidden gem

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Sep 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We had a fantastic stay at Squire Farm with our two dogs. Ideally placed to visit lots of places in England & Wales - Elan Valley dams & reservoirs were fantastic in the late afternoon sun. The cottage was very spacious for the three of us & the dogs, well equipped and comfortable. There are lots of walks for the dogs (and us...) - the only thing missing was an enclosed garden so we could have let the dogs outside off the lead. Loved the decoration upstairs - would definitely recommend it and hope to stay again soon.

Phil from Honiton stayed at Squire Cottage for 7 nights in August 2015


Becky replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your really useful review. We look at the cottage every so often and wonder how best we could 'enclose' the garden without separating it from the front of the cottage and the entrance. However as we have some work to do on improving the garden, we will definitely look at making it enclosed.

tranquility in the Shropshire countryside.

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Aug 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Beautiful house in a lovely location, Walks in every direction from the door including one up to a magnificent hill fort. Challenging cycling country with steep ascents and rapid descents which our 10 year old struggled with.
House comfortably accommodates four people with a large impressive fireplace. Due to the weather we made use of it most nights. Logs obtained freely from a nearby barn.
The welcome pack was appreciated. The owners lived in an adjacent property and whilst were available for help were not intrusive.
Birds nested in the eaves and walls of the house. Saw red kites most days.
Many good quality pubs and restaurants within an easy car journey. The White Horse at Clun deserves a mention (following a short but tortuous bike ride) with wonderful food and beer from their own micro brewery.
Peace and quiet was guaranteed due to the absence of wifi and mobile reception.
Stokesay and Powys Castles worth a visit.


Guest from Stockton On Tees stayed at Squire Cottage for 14 nights in July 2015


Becky replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your useful review. I know you made the most of your stay with us and it will be a pleasure to see you again sometime.

A lovely rural retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jul 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We really enjoyed our stay at Squire Cottage, a lovely rural location with stunning views and perfectly placed to explore some great towns and villages. The cottage was well equipped and spacious and I would highly recommend it to friends.

Guest from Bradford stayed at Squire Cottage for 7 nights in July 2015


Becky replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind review and recommendation. We certainly agree that it is a beautiful location.

A short weekend break with family

Review submitted on Fri, 26 Jun 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location was perfect for us as we had several family groups meeting, spanning 4 generations, some from Lancashire and others from Southampton. Only wished we had had longer. It was great to be able to take Marley (the dog) with us. As there were 6 adults and a baby +dog, we had both properties which worked very well.

Guest from Southampton stayed at Squire Cottage for 3 nights in June 2015


Squire cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely comfortable relaxing haven. We had a super relaxing short break at squire cottage. Can't wait to return with our family. The cottage felt like home from home but with lovely scenery.

Guest from ELLESMERE PORT stayed at Squire Cottage for 4 nights in June 2015


Becky replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review. 'Relaxing haven' is how we feel about Squire Farm too - and we live here!

Greens Isle of Wight

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We love the cottage. We have been 4 times, which is a reflection of the enjoyment we take from our time at Squire's cottage. A warm and friendly welcome from Becky and Pete; a well appointed cottage with homely charms; an idyllic location. Thanks again.

Guest from Gurnard stayed at Squire Cottage for 7 nights in April 2015


Becky replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Family Green. It is lovely to have visitors who appreciate what we have here and you will most certainly be welcome again.

Squire Cottage is the best we have ever stayed in!

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
There is a certain feeling that overcomes you as soon as you start up the drive to the cottages. It is a sort of warmth, belonging, awe, cosiness and immediate satisfaction. The feeling won't leave you. You know you have arrived at a place you will never forget and most likely return to. The cottage itself is very spacious, well equipped, clean and uniquely decorated. The tedious attention to detail is obvious. We are a family of 3: myself (American) and my husband (Welsh) and our daughter. She was very young the first time we came (just finished our 6th stay) and it is amazing to watch her get more into and excited about each successive holiday at Squire Farm. She now calls it 'our farm'.



Guest from Cardiff stayed at Squire Cottage for 7 nights in March 2015


Becky replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you guys for a lovely review. It is good to feel that other people enjoy Squire Farm as much as we do. We will see you again soon I hope.