FB Twitter

Portland House

Portland House

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 10 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.3
Location
4.7
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.8


The elegant lounge at Portland House with its beautiful vintage fireplace allowing for a wondrous log fire in winter

A delightful spacious house in beautiful location

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Dec 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a wonderful weekend in Portland House with a group of friends celebrating a birthday. Everyone loved how the house absorbed so many people, and how the living room fitted us all. It was perfect for our group of adults as each bedroom had its own ensuite.
It is a great location - easy for drivers coming late at night to find because it is well connected on main roads. We set out from the house for a lovely walk around the river and the nearby countryside is gorgeous. The house had everything we needed to cook for a large number of people. It is really nice cooking in the kitchen with the Aga, and there additional oven & hobs meant it was very easy.
A huge thank you to John and Jenny who were really helpful before and during our stay. I had to contact them a few times and they were very responsive and helpful.


Ruth from London stayed at Portland House for 2 nights in November 2017


Family weekend birthday celebration

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a very enjoyable weekend the house was perfect for us 16 people in total rooms very comfortable plenty of room throughout the house, The surrounding area very scenic and we enjoyed some lovely walks.
I am happy to recommend to others and have mentioned to several friends.


Mike from Newton Abbot stayed at Portland House for 3 nights in November 2017


A beautiful house in a great location.

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic family weekend at Portland House, which is a well equipped, comfortable house, furnished to a high standard. The gently sloping garden is beautiful, with plenty of benches to use if you get the weather (we did!) and the hot tub hire worked a treat. Easy access to local attractions by foot, welcoming local pub (The Crown) and Woods of Whitchurch is a local shop to beat all others. We ordered breakfast pastries in advance and they did not disappoint! The cars we arrived in didn’t get used until we left on Monday morning! A great place to spend a celebratory weekend with family. Thank you.

Andrea from Burnham On Sea stayed at Portland House for 3 nights in October 2017


Wonderful Family Weekend

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Oct 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We enjoyed a comfortable stay at Portland House with 20 family members and hosted a fabulous 60th Birthday party on the Saturday evening. We had everything we needed in the kitchen for catering to our large group and loved the location being so close to Monmouth and in the lovely Wye valley. Would recommend to friends.

Andrew from Dorset stayed at Portland House for 2 nights in September 2017


Great large house and helpful owners

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Sep 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house was perfect for the Stag Do we organised and Jenny (owner) was so helpful with all the preparations. Will strongly consider returning next time we organise a big party!

Guest from stayed at Portland House for 2 nights in September 2017


Wonderful Stay

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Sep 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We all really enjoyed our stay. It's in a beautiful location. I highly recommend Portland House. Fab.

Stephen from Rayleigh stayed at Portland House for 7 nights in August 2017


Portland House is a perfect place for large groups

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Portland House is a perfect place for large groups and an ideal base for exploring the surrounding areas. As a party of nine children and seven adults we had plenty of room and the layout of the house and beautiful garden worked perfectly for us all. We thoroughly enjoyed our week's stay – the delicious cake on arrival was much appreciated! It's an ideal base for exploring the surrounding area and highly recommended.

Nic from Stockport stayed at Portland House for 7 nights in August 2017


Sisters Hen Do

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Jul 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fantastic house with everything we could have needed and more, in a fabulous location. Perfect for my Sisters Hen Do and all her Hens. We all felt right at home

Lauren from stayed at Portland House for 2 nights in July 2017


Lovely house in a beautiful location. Friendly and helpful customer service

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Jul 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay. We found the house clean and comfortable, with everything you could need.
Only issue was toaster blew the fuse!!!
Really pretty location.
The Hen really enjoyed herself.


Jenna from stayed at Portland House for 1 nights in July 2017


Great weekend away

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Jul 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely stay for stay for a group of 21 for my partners 30th birthday surprise weekend. John and Jenny had made us a beautiful cake on arrival and were very accommodating to any requests I had prior to the visit. Beautiful garden to accommodate us all and fabulous hot tub set up for our arrival. Surprising to read about he history of the house while we were there! Only down side was occasional cold showers in the higher rooms but John did warn us they had recently has trouble and would have been happy to have come and looked at them again for us, but it was only a minor inconvenience over a weekend. Also had to move all noise/music inside and to the right side of the house later in the evening due to neighbours but wasn't a problem. Thanks for having us and we hope to return!

Grace from stayed at Portland House for 2 nights in July 2017