FB Twitter

Willows

Willows

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 17 reviews
94% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.5
Condition
4.5
Location
4.5
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.6


Stay in this lovely converted barn located on a working farm between Newport and Yarmouth. Standing next to a a sizeable pond that attracts ducks and wildlife, this really is a haven of peace and tranquillity that will appeal to those wishing to get away from it all.

Just right for our needs

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a neat and comfortable property in a good location. The owner was friendly and helpful. Lovely and quiet at night, though the cockerels do give an early wake-up call!



Home from Home Holidays replied 55 days ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to put together such a lovely review. We're always thrilled to receive positive feedback and I will ensure your comments are passed onto the owner. We look forward to welcoming you back to Willows and the Isle of Wight soon!

Quiet haven in the Isle of Wight

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Aug 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage is located on a farm in the central Isle of Wight. It is small but comfortable and is the only rental property on the site. The farmer, Richard, is very pleasant and helpful, and there are numerous ducks and chickens roaming around, together with a very affectionate dog. The wi-fi is very slow, but just about OK for browsing and Facebook. Otherwise, the cottage is well equipped and conveniently situated for visiting the whole island.



Home from Home Holidays replied 103 days ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to put together a lovely review. We're always thrilled to receive positive feedback and I will ensure your comments are passed onto the owner. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Isle of Wight soon!

Good value for money, not as advertised

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Jul 2018
2.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
3.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
When we arrived the owner wasn't there to greet us, luckily his sister was there to let us in. However, she had no idea that we were coming, therefore the house hadn't been cleaned. The door was already unlocked, so we went in to find an unclean house. There were dog hair on the bed and pillows, CBBC playing on the TV and dirty towels in the shower. There was obviously miscommunication between the agency and the owner, therefore we don't know who was to blame for the mix-up. However, after a five hour drive it is not great to arrive to a dirty house only to be turned away for another 45 minutes to give the sister time to clean the house for us. On the website it is advertised that there was access to a lovely pond next to the house. However, the pond was actually in the owners front garden, meaning we would have to trespass if we wanted to sit by it and enjoy it. It was also advertised that there was a fold-out sofa in the living room, however, the sofa seemed to be almost falling apart and therefore we weren't able to unfold it without risking part of the sofa coming off. There is WiFi, however it is very slow and would keep on disconnecting. Maybe our expectations of what the place would be like were too high, maybe we did get what we paid for... Regardless we definitely won't be returning.



Home from Home Holidays replied 151 days ago
Many thanks for your feedback and we're so sorry to hear of your troubles. We will be sure to liaise with the owner on your behalf to understand what happened in this instance, and to clarify the sofa and pond arrangements. We hope you were still able to enjoy the beautiful sunshine on the island!

Charming location

Review submitted on Fri, 18 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage is so peaceful. It's a perfect base for exploring Freshwater, Alum Bay and Yarmouth. The willow tree, pond and ducks make a very pretty garden. It's very relaxing watching the ducks and chicks coming and going. We loved the visits from Trixie the dog too.
The cottage is very well equipped for cooking and the farmer was really helpful.
Highly recommended.




Home from Home Holidays replied 168 days ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to put together such a lovely review! We're always thrilled to receive positive feedback and I will ensure your comments are passed onto the owners and the team at Home from Home Holidays. We hope to welcome you back to the Isle of Wight soon.

Country farm retreat

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Sep 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent stayer again at The Willows and Mr Barton the farmer and his visiting family are so helpful and friendly. Perfect base for us to visit family on the island with Compton bay for surfing and boarding just minutes away. Easy access to Newport too. Beautiful surroundings with animals on the farm. Very little light pollution if you like to see the stars or just enjoy a glass of wine sat outside of an evening. Definitely a place to return to year after year for us



Home From Home replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for a superb review. It is extremely import to us and highly appreciated. We at Home From Home and our Owners welcome any comments to help us improve our services and facilities. We trust you returned home safely and enjoyed your time on the Island.

Absolutely wonderful

Review submitted on Sun, 07 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wow! What a beautiful to stay! Truely was lovely. My boyfriend and I loved being surrounded by all the farm animals and the countryside. The cottage was so clean and very nicely laid out, a must stay. Richard, the farm owner, was a great pleasure to talk to, very loving and kind.
Very easy access to all parts of the island, perfect if you want to go down to Yarmouth and the needles. Plenty of walks to be had along the coast line and around the countryside of the beautiful island.
Truely was a lovely stay. Would totally recommend it.




Home From Home Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Rosie. Thank you for your lovely review. We agree that Willows is in a great location and perfect for a couple. Hopefully you will be returning again soon. Kind regards Home From Home Holidays (01983) 532385

Delightful farm setting

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Willows is set in the heart of a small farm, right next to the large pond and titular willow tree, often surrounded by several families of ducks. We loved watching their comings and goings through the window while having our morning coffee in bed. The bed is comfy and the kitchen well equipped with far more then we needed for our stay. If you want peace and quiet this is the place for you. Richard, the farmer, is never far away and very helpful.
There is so much to do on the Isle of Wight, we will definitely go back and stay at the Willows. Compton beach is brilliant for swimming and the walks over the downs and from Freshwater to the old battery stunning. Great cycling routes too. It's great to be in such a beautiful coastal setting without all the crowds!




Home from Home Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this kind review. Willows has been popular and your feedback will certainly enhance its popularity to the right people. We are glad you had a wonderful holiday and we welcome you back for 2017, book early!

If you want peace and quiet this is it.

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Richard is a nice friendly man, he will go out of his way to assist you, with out being intrusive. All the live stock are also very friendly, the ducks often came in for a cup of tea.



Home from Home Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
A true Isle of Wight welcome is waiting at The Willows, we are so pleased to be providing accommodation at this peaceful home. Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Please book now for 2017.

Charming country retreat with easy access to Cowes and beach locations!

Review submitted on Thu, 18 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our holiday couldn't have been better. We are frequent visitors to the IOW. This cottage was in great condition as was exactly as described. The farmer was, as others have said, very warm and friendly without being intrusive. He was very welcoming and very receptive to our individual requests. The use of the farm washing line and tumble trier were welcome essentials as I was a parent staying with 3 children. This accommodation is more suited to 2 travellers, as is stated, but with our camp beds with us and sleeping bags, I accommodated myself and 3 children with a bit of a squeeze. But since most of our time was spend outdoors enjoying the best that IOW has to offer in terms of surfing, sea and beaches/walks we were more than happy with the accommodation. A lovely bench afforded quiet contemplating space and the picnic bench and chairs were a great place to eat breakfast or dinner and sit with a glass of wine and watch to sun go down. The ducks were always around (and not keen to move for the car!) but the children enjoyed them and encouraging them to move. The farm dogs were also a favourite. If we had (as we intended) taken our bikes, the farmer was happy for us to store them in his outbuilding, which was fine. He was also happy for us to pitch a tent for the kids to play if we had wanted as there was plenty of grass (just avoid the duck poo!)
A lovely quiet place, with normal 'farm' noises of ducks, sheep and cattle which did not disturb us just add to the experience.
The kitchen was adequately equipped and the shower room/toilet sufficient for our needs with plenty of hot water. We needed the washing machine and that worked well. There is also a toaster, microwave, fridge/freezer etc as you would expect of self catering. It was also easy to find with our SAT NAV. Highly recommended!




All round satisfied.

Review submitted on Thu, 26 May 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our second stay at the Willows.
Very quite location, no views from property as it is a farm but peaceful. Friendly owner but not intrusive. Ideal for a couple.




We would not hesitate to come again

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Sep 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We were looking for somewhere off the beaten track with some peace and quiet and were not disappointed in these respects.
The presence of ducks, chickens etc added to the overall effect. We found the farmer very friendly, helpful and anxious to
please. Facilities and comfort lived up to our expectations.




A hidden gem, lovely owner, perfect for relaxing and escaping the 9 to 5!

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Sep 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Willows for 4 nights in August/September and we had the most wonderful stay.

The property had everything needed and was well equipped. The bed was very comfortable and every extra had been thought about. The property was clean and tidy and homely.

The rural and secluded location was perfect for our needs and the outside space was an added bonus

The owner Richard and his family (who were visiting when we stayed) were very friendly and chatty but not intrusive and very helpful with hints and and tips as to things to do and see.

We loved the animals and how quite this property was. We felt very tucked away and safe.

The arrival and departure process was really easy and although good directions were provided by the agent i think we would have been lost without sat nav!

We will definitely be back to stay again.




Just right

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Jun 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A superbly situated and very peaceful home from home..

No ambient noise apart from farm animals.

Bus stops and a pub within a 15 minute walk. Perfect !




A lovely relaxing week break at Willows

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Jul 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Willows was the perfect place to relax and enjoy the countryside (waking up to the sound of cattle and sheep, then being greeted by the ducks at the front door!). The cottage was clean, bright and comfortable - it was lovely to sit by the pond on a sunny evening with a glass of wine. The farmer/owner was very welcoming and friendly. Calbourne is a beautiful village with a good pub (The Sun Inn).

The location is good for exploring the whole island by car. We brought our bikes, but only used them once...coming from East Anglia we're not used to hills though!! We had fabulous days out at the steam railway; Osbourne House; Calbourne watermill as well as the picturesque villages of Godshill and Shanklin; and spent time on the beach at Sandown and walking along the coastal path at Freshwater bay.

We will be coming back to this beautiful island to discover more and would stay at Willows again.





Peace, Perfect Peace

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Jun 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage is a lovely place to stay and, while situated on a farm, is easily reached by car and is handy for all points on the Island.

The barn conversion works very well and is bright, airy and comfortable.

I came to the Island for a nice peaceful holiday and The Willows was the perfect place for that. It is large enough for a family of two adults and two children. The 'neighbours' while noisy at times are absolutely adorable. These are the ducks, rooster and other birds. Swifts were flitting about the buildings during the day and the Rooster did not mind reminding you who was Cock-o-the-Heap. Really really nice and restful.

Richard is a delight to chat to and I enjoyed our wee talks. Very helpful while minding the privacy of the holidaymakers. A perfect host.

All in all this was a delightful place for me to holiday and I have no hesitation in returning and/or recommending this to others.





'Willows', a very clean well equipped cottage, ideally situated for sightseeing.

Review submitted on Tue, 27 May 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
My husband and I received a very warm welcome from Richard, the owner. He was most helpful and informative. The cottage was very clean and well equipped and is well situated for sightseeing. There is a lovely large pond next to the cottage and we were entertained daily by the ducks. Visitors are welcome to take walks around the farm.

We would happily recommend 'Willows' for a lovely holiday.




Willows

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Sep 2013
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Willows is very suitable for a couple who enjoy being in the middle of the countryside. There are lovely walks from the property. The owners live on the farm nearby and are very friendly. There are some good pubs within short driving distances.