FB Twitter

Pier Top

Pier Top

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 12 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.6
Location
4.6
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.4


Pier Top is a spacious maisonette in the heart of Ventnor, offering flexible accommodation over three floors and ideally suited for a family or a group of friends.

Home From Home

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Aug 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
There was 7 of us staying at Pier Top for the week and there was plenty of room for us all. It was a lovely place with everything you needed and more it was very comfortable with the little extra touches making it feel like home from home. Myself and my husband used the bedsette in the front room which was very comfortable and easy to put up and down and the big chest to keep all the bedding in was great as it was all at hand.
The location was ideal as we were a stone's throw away from the shops and the seafront.
The only thing we were a bit disappointed with was the garden and the decking area which needed some tlc but in saying this it didn't stop us from using it.
Overall we all had a very pleasant stay and would happily use it again




Home from Home Holidays replied 192 days ago
Owner's response: Thank you for your review Samantha, we really appreciate it. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the flat; as you indicate, it is very conveniently located for both beach and amenities in Ventnor. We’ve worked hard on the personal touches in the flat and are delighted that you noticed this, thank you. Your comments about the garden are not a surprise to us and we are already planning to improve this area, which we hope to be done before the next summer holiday season. Thanks again for staying at Pier Top, we look forward to accommodating you again on a future stay. Best wishes, The Sermon Family.

Perfect Location for Ventnor Beach - but prepare for the stairs and hill!

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Aug 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Whole booking process was very efficient, though I was slightly nervous before arriving as the email communications had all been very short and lacking in warmth. This was clearly just an efficient and straight to the point owner.

Apartment was easy to find, even though it is almost hidden from view at street level - and requires a good shove to open the alley door!

Rooms were as displayed in photographs, with very comfy beds, lovely toiletries, plenty of towels and a lot of detailed information about our stay, the island, procedures, etc. Some nice touches were also provided - beverage and breakfast essentials, wifi, and (I believe) even the capacity to log on to Netflix, though we didn't use this.

I contacted the owner before we arrived to query about parking permits - as it had stated one permit is included, need to claim the refund for this by providing proof of purchase. Just under £40 for the week, and there are several nearby car parks - never had a problem parking at the nearest one on Pound Lane.

Our stay was a family holiday - with three generations. We had planned on using our pressure stair gate but this wasn't possible with the hand rails on both sides (so we improvised with clothes horses!) There are 40 stairs from top to bottom, including several slippy wooden stairs to reach the 3rd single bedroom. We had planned on using this room for our 4 year old, but ended up with Grandpa in there (in the small bed!). We were very grateful for the toilet halfway up the stairs! The bathroom has a good shower as well as a lovely corner bath - which our little ones enjoyed. We were also on the Carnival Parade route (9th August 2017) which was good fun to watch from the bay windows.

This apartment is a great base to get to everywhere on the island, and Ventnor was much quieter than some of the other seaside villages. It isn't really "ideal" for under fives or anyone who struggles with stairs. But then, Ventnor itself has some very steep slopes as well. In a few years time we would definitely consider booking this apartment again.

Ventnor has changed over the years, the front is a lot quieter without the old arcade, there are a lot fewer gift/tourist tat shops than there used to be, but some great restaurants have cropped up. We had excellent meals at Spanish, Italian, Indian and Chinese restaurants a very short walk from the apartment.






Home from Home Holidays (owner response) replied more than 1 year ago
“Thank you for your lovely review Louise; as owner of the property we appreciate your taking the time to do this. We are pleased that you found an improvised solution to your planned stair gate use! The bath is definitely a draw for children and big enough to cater for two or possibly 3 little ones at a time – we hope that you found the bath time play cups in the airing cupboard to use at this time. There are, I think, 4 wooden stairs to the small bedroom which have been assessed as fine though obviously could present a slip problem if crossing them only in stocking feet; hopefully though, Grandpa enjoyed his stay in that room with its good view of the garden. Indeed Ventnor is a hilly place and our apartment has lots of stairs but for those suitably able it’s certainly a good opportunity to stay fitter during a holiday there! Our agents take care of all the booking process and parking ticket reimbursements and I’m pleased they were efficient in their communication.” Kind regards, Karen (owner)

Nice little flat in ideal location

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Aug 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second time at Pier Top. It is beautifully situated and well appointed - very comfortable beds, well set up kitchen etc. We had a couple of issues at the outset but the agents and the owners were ready and very willing to assist, which was impressive customer service we thought. If we return to Ventnor again we would look to return to Pier Top.



Home from Home Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Pier Top is proving very popular for those wishing to have a well equipped base in the centre of the popular and unique seaside resort of Ventnor, on the Islands sunny south coast. The accommodation is over three floors and has a deceptive garden and decking area to the rear. A few minor issues were resolved quickly as not to interupt the holiday. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. BOOK NOW FOR 2017!

Tip top at Pier Top

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Sep 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Brilliantly located in Ventnor, a minute from the shops and minutes from the gorgeous beach, Pier Top is a comfortable, impeccably clean and tidy base for an Isle of Wight holiday. There is great attention to detail throughout the house and the kitchen in particular was excellent for cooking and dining. The beds were supremely comfortable and despite being right in town, we found it peaceful and quiet. A bonus was the deck and paved garden where bikes and beach toys can be safely stored. The table and outdoor chairs were also appreciated and many hours were whiled away there in the sunshine. Ventnor is charming and packed with dining opportunities but the beach is the great draw and we swam there often. We all agreed we would like to return and what recommendation is higher than that?



Very spacious flat ideal for needs.

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Aug 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay. The flat was spacious and airy.
The location was really good and we were able to find parking nearby.
It was a busy location but very quiet.




Fantastic apartment would book again!

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spotlessly clean, spacious comfortable home from home. Close to amenities would recommend and would book again.
Myself and family had fantastic two weeks holiday.




The owner replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for you feedback and review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay

A stay at Pier Top

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Jul 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A lovely spacious apartment. A very comfortable. good quality mattress in the main bedroom and a bigger fridge/freezer than you usually have in self catering accommodation. A well equipped kitchen for cooking. The location is very convenient for the shops and not far away from the beach. There was some noise from the traffic/people at night time, however the apartment is double glazed so that cuts down most of it. I would have liked to have been offered a change of bedding for the second week as there is no dryer and not enough space to hang the bedding out in the courtyard area on the washing lines.



Pier Top

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Apr 2015
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Pier Top is a nice, well equipped flat in a good location in Ventnor. Our only issue was that the entrance from the street was not obvious, just a plain white door between two shop fronts. Once past the door there is an allyway leading to the front door, this smelt of I'm not sure what but it isn't nice, I suspect it doubles as a public convenience sometimes as it isn't secured.
Once inside the flat things improved greatly, clean and tidy with everything you need including a smart tv, dvd player etc. Very comfortable beds, nice bathroom with hot water on demand. A well equipped kitchen with dishwasher, washing machine and crockery for up to eight guests.
Overall it's very good but let down by the entrance.




Pier Top, Ventnor

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Feb 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a very comfortable and enjoyable stay in this well maintained and appointed apartment. It is well located for many good places to eat and drink



ventnor holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Nov 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The appartment was lovely and in particular the beds were ultra comfortable! Handy for supermarket and apart from halloween night it was peaceful. We would definately stay there again.



First visit to the Isle of Wight ( Ioved it)

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Aug 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Home from Home holidays made booking the holiday easy , they were helpful from beginning to end.
The accommodation was so comfy and the welcome pack was a lovely touch, the outdoor eating space was great
on a warm evening. we would recommend this property 100% (loved it )




Very comfortable, spacious, well equipped and clean apartment in excellent location.

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Nov 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here October half term week and had a lovely holiday. Our visit coincided with the storm and it was certainly wild outside but we we were warm and cosy.

The apartment is spacious and comfortable. The beds were extremely comfortable and even though the apartment is in the town centre, it was quiet in the evening.

We found Ventnor to be a great place to eat out. We loved Cantina and The Spyglass, cheese scones @sarahshouse and coffee at Tramezzini.