FB Twitter

Puffin House (CW68), Cotswolds

Puffin House (CW68), Cotswolds

4.3
out of 5
Ratings from 9 reviews
89% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.3
Comfort
4.4
Condition
3.4
Location
4.8
Value
3.9
Customer
Service
4.7


Click here to view full property description and more images
Puffin House offers contemporary lakeside living with an amazing double height first floor living room with views across Clearwater Lake. The accommodation boasted a recently installed hot tub on the rear decking, 3 ground floor bedrooms, 2 with en-suites and a further family bathroom. Two of the bedrooms are lakeside with access onto enclosed terrace. To the first floor can be found a further bunk bedroom, open plan lounge/dining area & kitchen, complimented by oak floor, feature wood burning stove and fully glazed rear elevations over looking Clearwater Lake.
One allocated parking space, Wi-Fi & Spa use.

A perfect stay

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Nov 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A perfect base to visit the Cotswolds. Lower Mill Estate is immaculate and more than catered for our needs
The accommodation was perfect for all of us with wonderful views over the lake. Everything we needed was at our disposal




The Habitat Escapes Team replied 182 days ago
Thank you for leaving your review, we are so pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed all Puffin House has to offer. We hope to welcome you back in the near future to stay with us again.

Great Location, Lovely Property

Review submitted on Fri, 12 Jul 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our week at Puffin House and we would recommend this property to other travellers just be mindful that minor items can be a bit irritating. For example, the WiFi is slow and doesn't cover all the rooms (although they were in the process of installing fibre whilst we were there); Insufficient mugs and teaspoons means washing up several times daily; couldn't find the BBQ tools so had to buy some; food storage area in the kitchen very poor as all the cupboards had been filled with bowls/dishes/baking trays meaning that our stuff was all on display; the fridge is small and we were constantly shuffling things around........ all very minor I accept and nothing worth formally complaining about but as we have stayed in a few holiday homes, we found this relatively poorly appointed. Hence VFM not too good!




Habitat Escapes Team replied 316 days ago
Hello Harry, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your week at Puffin House! Thank you for letting us know about a few items that are missing, we will pass this onto our maintenance team so they can review the inventory list - we hope this didn't impact your stay. We hope you had a lovely stay and we hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards

A little TL

Review submitted on Mon, 27 May 2019
2.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We have stayed in a few properties in Somerford Keynes and have enjoyed them all, but for puffin house the photos looked good but first we didn’t know it was pet friendly and if you sat on the sofa with Black on you were covered in pet hairs, the balcony was really dirty and has not been swept or cleaned for some time, the bench outside was broken so you couldn’t sit in it, the windows outside was full of cobwebs etc, the en-suite in one of the rooms was dirty, there was no cleaning products, all the rentals we have stayed in always had a few essentials from previous occupiers like salt, pepper etc, but the cupboards were bare. We were told the day we arrived that the wi fi was not working, therefore we were unable to use iPads etc, business was lost due to this.



The Habitat Escapes Team replied 360 days ago
Thank you for your review, sorry that the cleaning was not up to our usual standards and WiFi was not working as expected. We have passed all of your feedback to our Housekeeping team and the Homeowner. We would like to welcome you back to the estate in the near future and we would like to offer you 10% off a return stay in any of our properties. To take advantage of this offer call the booking office who will add this to your booking.

Great location, very nice comfortable house that is well equipped and furnished.

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Jan 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were a family of seven staying over the Christmas period for six days. The house was very comfortable, warm and spacious. It is very well equipped, beds are comfortable and linen and towels to a high standard. The location is absolutely superb with a lovely view of the lake and it is very private and quiet. The amenities on-site are excellent, with a pool, spa a restaurant and a great playground for children. There are plenty of country walks which we availed of as the weather was some mild and dry. The one comment I would have is in relation to parking which was at a premium and upon our arrival there was a car in our allocated space. I had to track down the owner and requested he remove it.



The Habitat Escapes Team replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some feedback following your stay in Puffin House - it sounds as if you have had a wonderful time enjoying the estate. We hope to welcome you back in the future!

Puffin House

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Dec 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were very impressed with the resort facilities. Puffin House is very comfortable. Only one shower for 7 adults was a problem but I should have noted that on the description beforehand. In the twin bedded room the light fitting in the centre of the ceiling between the beds is very dangerous for anyone over 6 feet tall. I cannot tell you how often my partner hit his head!

We will certainly recommend the resort and return ourselves.

Regards Sue Rhodes




The Habitat Escapes Team replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some feedback following your stay at Puffin House. We will certainly forward your comments in regards to the light fitting and showers onto the homeowner in the hope improvements are made. We hope to welcome you back in the future!

Beautiful location

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Oct 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a great stay, despite terrible weather. Welcomed by ducks and a beautiful view every morning. Received a phone call once settled to make sure all was okay. Very comfortable, quiet and with plenty to do, or easy to relax and do nothing in our case!

If I'm being fussy-
The place had a horrible stench of curry but with the beautiful door opening on the balcony we soon got rid of it!
About a hour after arrival staff approached us in the car park wondering why we were in the property already. They said they weren't notified of our early check in and had not checked the property over or given a welcome pack.
There were not any tea towells or wash cloths in sight. I didnt realise how often I use a tea towell.
Could do with a lick of paint throughout.

I could have mentioned the tea towells and I'm sure they would have provided!

Lovely stay and don't let anything out you off. Perfect place for children to enjoy of any age.

I am keen to return!




The Habitat Escapes Team replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some feedback following your stay in Puffin House. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay so much that you wish to return and we apologise that there was a mix up with your arrival time. We hope to see you again soon!

the lack of some amenities

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Jul 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
on the whole a pleasant stay was enjoyed by all, the following needs attention
fitted showers would have been appretiated in the main bedroom ensuite and main bathroom , a mirror is required in the 3rd bedroom near socket.
The sockets need sorting in the main bedroom (not woman friendly for were the mirror is and nearest sockets for hairdryer)
the freezer and fridge in urgent need of defrosting, probably caused by the freezer door not shutting properly
apart from these items everyone enjoyed their visit.




The Habitat Escapes Team replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to provide us a review. The property owner appreciates all your feedback and takes this very seriously to ensure positive future stays. We will work with the property owner, housekeeping and maintenance to rectify this. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay in the property regardless and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Fab stay

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Feb 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house is beautiful and fabulous location. Really well equipped no problems at all. Couple of things that need fixing blind in twin room doesn't work. Up and over cupboard in kitchen needs adjustment dishwasher door falls down really quickly. Really need more showers eight of us all sharing one shower over bath one with screen would be great. Fab house can't wait to come back again.



The Habitat Escapes Team replied more than 1 year ago
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with Habitat Escapes. Thank you for taking the time to let us know about the blind in the twin bedroom and also the dishwasher door. We have sent our maintenance chap to the property to see if he can fix the issues for future rental guests. We hope to welcome you back to Lower Mill Estate in the very near future!

Family Treat

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Feb 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Family get together for 8 adults and 1 child plus dog. Excellent accommodation with tremendous views to lake. Everyone enjoyed the break.



The Habitat Escapes Team replied more than 1 year ago
We are so pleased to hear you have enjoyed your stay at Puffin House. You're right in saying that that the views are tremendous! We hope to welcome you back in the very near future!