FB Twitter

Ortolan Villa (CW67), Cotswolds

Ortolan Villa (CW67), Cotswolds

4.3
out of 5
Ratings from 6 reviews
83% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.3
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.2
Location
5.0
Value
3.7
Customer
Service
4.2


Click here to view the full property description and images
Ortolan Villa is located in a quiet traffic free area on Clearwater and within an easy c. 5 minute walk of both the Spa facility and on site Restaurant, Ballihoo. The property is accessed via a small foot bridge over a brook, fronting onto an open green area, parking is to be found a short distance from the property.

Ortolan Villa has been furnished to a high standard by the current home owners to provide a welcoming and comfortable stay including an outdoor sunken hot tub. The accommodation provides 1 Super king ensuite bedroom, further king bedroom and single bedroom with pull out truckle (on request) with family bathroom to the first floor. The second floor provides a quest suite with king bedroom (low level bed), adjacent shower room with utility room off.
Bathrooms are finished with floor to ceiling travertine stone and mosaics. The kitchen is modern and stylish and the living area provides ideal relaxation space with plenty of natural light enjoying views across Clearwater Lake. Outside there are decked areas to the front and rear of the house. The lakeside decking benefits from a sunken private hot tub and is the ideal place for pre-dinner drinks and dining al-fresco.

A great stay despite a few teething problems

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Dec 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
I stayed here with a group of friends in November 2018 and we had a great time. The house was comfortable, clean and very well equipped. We had a few teething problems (the heating wasn't working to begin with, the smoke alarms were beeping, the hot tub took 24hours to warm up and then was scalding hot) but the staff were polite, helpful and quick to respond. We would definitely go back again.



The Habitat Escapes Team replied 6 days ago
Thank you for your review, sorry that you had some property issues when you arrived. I am glad to learn you had a great time. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Family Summer break

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Sep 2018
3.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
2.0
The layout and location of the house was great for a family holiday. It was close to the park, restaurant & spa but slightly tucked away so offering good privacy.

The house was well furnished, however the dining table was too small for a house this size and definitely not big enough for 8 people as advertised which was a shame because eating together is an important part of a family holiday for us! We also didn’t have any tumblers but when we asked housekeeping they quickly bought some for us to use.

The air con units were leaking so we had to put cups underneath to catch the water and it was significant enough to need to empty the cups through out the day to prevent the carpets getting wet. We alerted Housekeeping to this issue and they told us that they were aware and an engineer was booked for the following week. Good but we did feel a little disappointed to have this problem.

Finally, the wash basin in the family bathroom had a faulty plug which became stuck on day 1. Housekeeping did not resolve this problem despite us reporting it a number of times and when we left on day 7 we still had a wash basin full of dirty water. This meant the children had to use the master suite bathroom and therefore we all had to share!

We have visited LowerMill many times before and we love the ambience, location and facilities so will definitely return however we would not choose this house next time.





The Habitat Escapes Team replied 92 days ago
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with Habitat Escapes and value your return custom. We will relay your comments about the dining table to the owner who is keen to ensure guests are happy with the standard of the rental accommodation. We apologise for the inconvenience caused by the faulty air conditioning units, unfortunately we were unable to arrange for this to be fixed prior to you stay but are pleased to say that the issue has now been resolved. The sink plug is now working as normal but we will be following this issue up with housekeeping. We do hope to welcome you back to the estate in the future so please contact the team to arrange your return custom discount for your next stay.

Family fun

Review submitted on Thu, 30 Aug 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
First time to stay at lower mill estate, the location was fantastic as was the house if not a little tired but it felt homely and accommodated my family nicely. Everything was at hand and well stocked for our needs. The facilities were great went biking and paddle boarding. We ate at the restaurant which again was excellent but could do with being a little larger as it wa very busy especially when the weather was not so good. Will definitely go again just great family time.



The Habitat Escapes Team replied 102 days ago
Thank you for your review, it seems as though you enjoyed a lot of the facilities we have on the estate! We look forward to welcoming you back to Lower Mill in the near future.

Celebratory weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Jul 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ortolan Villa suited our family of 7 adults, one toddler and two babies very well. The kitchen/open plan area worked well and there were lovely views of the lake. It was also close to the spa and tennis courts.The weather was unusually hot and unfortunately two of the bedroom air conditioning units were broken but we were quickly provided with a fan.
Lower Mill Estate is a beautiful and tranquil haven but being high season meant it was pricey.




The Habitat Escapes Team replied 146 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review of your stay. Ortolan certainly is a great choice for a group of family and friends and offers plenty of space with views over Clear Water Lake. The weather has been extremely hot as of late and we have been working very hard to provide fans within all properties to assist in these high temperatures. Our properties are not advertised with air-conditioning and in these extreme conditions we'd also advise to bring your own fans. We thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

A great house in a wonderful location

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Apr 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely few days staying in the Cotswolds water park. The house was beautiful, clean and had all the necessary things to make for a comfortable holiday. The kids in particular appreciated the 'den' with TV and xbox and the hot tub. The adults appreciated the quiet location and stunning views. The only thing that I would add to the house to make the stay even better would be some board games so on wet evenings we could all enjoy some family time over a game.
The water park itself is very beautiful, with great walks and cycles and loads of nature to observe. The facilities there are however very limited. There is one tiny restaurant which serves as the site shop (a couple of shelves) and the bar (3 bar stools). The staff and food were great, but it really is rather tiny and gives little choice for an hour or two out of the house. The other facilities are also rather limited - the bike hire was very expensive with poor quality bikes (one with non working brakes and another with non working gears). This was all sorted and the staff member was very helpful, but given we were paying £55 for each bike for 3 days, you would expect much better quality. Similarly the water sports hire was expensive and a little too relaxed - along the lines of pick your kayak, 2 minute introduction on using it, a finger pointing to the jetty and off you go. Perhaps a future development would be lessons, guided excursions etc which would be great for the family audience. The pools were very good though and the outdoor pool lovely and warm for March/April.




The Habitat Escape Team replied 241 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We take all feedback on board and pass it on to the relevant companies that operate at Lower Mill Estate. It sounds like you participated in all activities Lower Mill Estate has to offer and delighted you found the property clean, comfortable and accommodating. The Water Park in which we are situated is certainly beautiful, with much to explore. As the holiday season can get busy, we would always recommend you book a table at Balihoo restaurant in advance. The shop provides all essentials, alternatively there is an option for a food delivery service from all large local supermarkets. Delighted you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Beautiful villa

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Feb 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a lovely stay here. The Villa is beautifully kept and has every luxury you need. The kitchen is fantastically equipped with everything you could possibly need (and more). The television in the kitchen wasn’t working which was a shame and the hot tub wasn’t fully working, but Habitat Escapes were very helpful.

We’d highly recommend a stay here.




The Habitat Escapes Team replied 291 days ago
We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay! Your will be pleased to hear that following your stay in Ortolan Villa the home owner has made the necessary repair works to the Hot Tub to ensure all functions are working correctly. We hope to welcome you back to Lower Mill in the future!