FB Twitter

Harebells (HM72), Cotswolds

Harebells (HM72), Cotswolds

4.1
out of 5
Ratings from 12 reviews
83% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.2
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.3
Location
4.2
Value
3.7
Customer
Service
4.3


Click here to view full property description and more images
Harebells is a substantial and spacious property accommodating 10 guests’ set within a private gated area on Howells Mere of just 9 houses, known as Orchid Village. Set back from the westerly shoreline of Swillbrook Lake, divided by a private garden area which is accessed from the main garden, provides an idyll to sit and enjoy the scenery of this truly stunning nature lake. Beautifully presented, this 3 storey contemporary detached five bedroom property also has the addition of a roof terrace which provides views across the Lake and wider Estate. The owners have taken great care over the internal furnishings and have ensured a high level of fixtures & fittings throughout. The accommodation provides 3 ground floor double bedrooms and a master super king suite and further double & shower room to the first floor.
One allocated parking space, Wi-Fi & Spa use.

Great location, lovely views

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Mar 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
House clean and very comfortable. Good facilities. Private views of the lake from the house . Peaceful, lovely to see several herons.
Great weekend




Habitat Escapes Team replied 68 days ago
Hello Julia, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are happy to hear that you had a lovely stay at Harebells and enjoyed the lake views. We hope to welcome you back to the estate soon. Kind Regards

Highly recommended!

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We absolutely loved our stay at Harebells and will certainly be returning soon! The location was perfect and so safe for the children to nip out on their bikes. We walked, cycled, swam, rowed and played tennis daily- and in between enjoyed relaxing at the house which was beautifully bright and airy. The house had everything we needed (though Mum was a bit miffed that there wasn't a chest of drawers in her room!) and when we needed information from Habitat Escapes they were very helpful and efficient!



The Habitat Escapes Team replied 244 days ago
Thank you for leaving such a lovely review, it sounds like you enjoyed all Lower Mill has to offer and you had a wonderful stay. We hope that we can welcome you back to stay with us again in the near future.

An absolute disgrace - Do not stay at Harebells.

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Jun 2019
2.2
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
3.0
Value
1.0
Customer
Service
2.0
Ar £1600 for two nights stay, I expected a certain level of cleanliness and facility. Not filthy outside staircases, dirty and stained rooftop furniture, and wardrobes in the master bedroom and kitchen drawers filled with the personal possessions of the owners, thus preventing their use. We had to live out of our suitcases. Totally non-acceptable. What I had hoped would be a wonderful experience for my family to celebrate an important occasion was a complete disappointment.



Habitat Escapes Team replied 327 days ago
Dear Alan, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for this property. We are really disappointed to hear you found the property did not meet expectations. This property in particular receives a very high level of feedback from our guests and cleaning is consistently rated as excellent or outstanding. If you found the outdoor areas did not meet expectation then this is certainly below standard for us. We are based on a nature reserve so cobwebs and pollen from the nearby reeds are particularly prevalent at this time of year. If you would have contacted us during your stay we would have been very happy to send housekeeping to the property to rectify all issues. All properties onsite are privately owned so the owners do leave some of their personal belongings in a few of the storage units. We have never received a complaint that this has impinged on a guest but we will of course pass your feedback onto the homeowner. Again we are very saddened to read this review and we will ensure a future guests are fully satisfied as they have been previously.

Bank holiday weekend in Somerford Keynes

Review submitted on Mon, 13 May 2019
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely property perfect views and comfortable living, highly recommend for a family getaway. The lovely ladies at Habitat Escapes were very helpful and were able to answer all questions or point us to the right direction.

Slight downside, no music can be played after 11pm...

Other than that would definitely return for the 3rd time for sure.





Habitat Escapes Team replied more than 1 year ago
Hello Prabhjot. Thank you for your review, we are happy to hear that you have a lovely time at Harebells. We hope to see you again soon!

Family break in the Cotswolds

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Mar 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic stay yet again at Lower Mill Estate. We have stayed at various properties over the last few years and always enjoyed our visits. Excellent customer service and easy booking facility would highly recommend it! The only thing that would much improve the stay at Harebells is to have a bigger sofa and or bean bags to sit on in lounge area as there was 10 of us staying at Harebells and ther certainly wasn’t enough room for us to all chill and relax all together in the evenings. We found ourselves having to sit on the hard kitchen chairs which was a shame! Will book a different property next time.



The Habitat Escapes Team replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review, we are glad you had another fantastic stay at Lower Mill. We have passed back your feedback on the seating to the owner of Harebells. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Bank Holiday Weekend in Cotswolds

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Sep 2018
3.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We thought the property was lovely and we were looking forward to spending a relaxing bank holiday weekend around the property and the lakes and general area itself. However, there was some confusion and a lack of transparency around the use of the lakes in the area for fishing and kayaking which made us a bit uncomfortable. Before booking, I confirmed the lake on which our property we rented was suitable for kayaking and fishing and I was told yes. When we picked up the kayak they also told us it was fine to use the kayak on our lake. However, at one point, someone from shore yelled at us for fishing on the lake (we had pemits/licenses). In another instance, someone came and told us that no canoes were allowed on the lake (we rented a kayak for that reason, but my husband stopped kayaking, thinking that canoes and kayaks would be the same). It made us feel uncomfortable to be getting mixed messages about what was and was not permitted and it made us feel like there was some tension between property owners and renters and the dual nature of the park for visiting and enjoying nature and conservation. Given that we live in London, we had hoped this location could be a place we could come back to regularly for school holidays, but given the discomfort we felt as a result of the mixed messages about the permitted uses of kayaks, fishing etc, I do not think we will return.



Habitat Escapes Team replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback, sorry for any confusion, we try to be transparent regarding the use of lakes on the estate, the lake your property backed onto, Swillbrook Lake, has no waterside access onto as this is a nature conservation lake, this is stated in the property description on our website. The lake opposite your house, Howells Mere, can be used all year round for fishing and kayaking. We would love to welcome you back to Lower Mill Estate so you can experience all the estate has to offer and we would be happy to offer you a 10% return booking discount.

Howell Mere 5 bedroom villa

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Aug 2018
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Top floor sitting room was the warmest room in the villa, especially when the outside temperature approached 30 degrees. I was concerned about the high surrounding water level despite the area being in drought. I also had concerns about drowning risk if children wandered a short distance from their parents.

The site was within an hours drive from many local points of interest.

There were not enough exit signs when one tried to go out on a trip. The signs that were present could have been a larger.




The Habitat Escapes Team replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some feedback following your stay in Harebells. We are pleased you enjoyed some glorious sunshine during your stay, due to the build of the property enjoying expanses of glass frontage this does mean at particular times in the day it can get quite hot. The homeowner of this property has purchased fans in the hope to give future guests more comfort in high temperatures. Here at Lower Mill Estate our lakes are maintained by a flood management system and therefore the water levels in our lakes remain fairly similar all year round. Whilst we are a family orientated estate we do advise that parents should accompany children at all times due to the water access. We do however have a range of properties that have enclosed decking areas for parents wanting to book accommodation where children do not have direct water access. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Great house in lovely location, perfect for family holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Jun 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Harebells with our 3 children and their grandparents. The house was spacious, comfortable and well equipped for all of us. Our only small criticism would be that the living room sofas weren't overly comfortable but other than that we were very happy. In addition, the location was stunning and much more private than some properties at Lower Mill. We had a great week as a family and would happily return



The Habitat Escapes Team replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking time to review your stay. We're delighted you had an enjoyable time and your feedback will be passed on to the property owner. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Fantasic weekend break away!

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Apr 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Harebells for my mums 50th surprise birthday as a family break away. The house was beautiful and the surrounding area was great. Perfect for what we wanted, it’s only drawback was lots of bugs around outside which did hinder us opening windows and eating outside as much but would still highly recommend.



The Habitat Escapes Team replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review, we're so pleased Lower Mill Estate was the perfect setting for your Mother's birthday, it certainly has a to offer from Spa relaxation, beautiful view, walks and water sports to keep all entertained. Bugs can be found in the surrounding area of the reserve and lakes especially as the warmer weather arrives. This makes for a healthy ecosystem and encourages further wildlife to live, which we hope you managed to spot too. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Great sociable house for family or friends. Choose your time of year carefully.

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Apr 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This house was exactly as it showed on the website. Rooms were great and lots of bathrooms which is important when there are a lot of you! Open plan living,dining and kitchen was perfect for entertaining. Unfortunately one bedroom on the ground floor has a very small double bed, which when there are a group of large adults is a problem. Luckily for us there were only four couples so we did not use this room. Be careful on the time of year you visit as the mosquitos on the lakes are a real nuisance!



The Habitat Escapes Team replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. Following up, you will be pleased to hear the property owner has replaced the downstairs bed with a standard size double, to accommodate 10 adults very comfortably. A few mosquitoes are unfortunately inevitable during the warmer weather as Lower Mill Estate is built around a diverse nature reserve supporting a range of wonderful habitats and wildlife for all to enjoy. We're very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with Habitat Escapes and we hope to welcome you back in the near future

Harebells

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Feb 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a lovely house, well equipped and comfortable and not too far from the pool and shop. It was winter but we still couldn't resist going up to the roof ... in the summer months it must be fantastic to sit out up here! The kitchen is on the second floor so if you are bringing shopping in be ready for stairs. The only problem that we encountered was with the oven. It only works with induction pans and yet some of the pans provided don't seem to be induction, so the hob kept turning itself off! We worked out what was wrong in the end, so we didn't go hungry.



The Habitat Escapes Team replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some feedback following your stay with Habitat Escapes. We will certainly pass on your comments regarding the pots and pans to the owner. We hope to welcome you back in the warmer months so that you can make full use of the wonderful roof terrace!

My letter of 28th decw

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Jan 2018
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
You have my feedback in a letter I wrote to your office on 28dec. I had an email from D.Lemmy acknowledging this and saying she would be replying this week , Heather Goodman



Habitat Escapes Team replied more than 1 year ago
As always we are thankful for your feedback, we have since changed the wording on our in house property documents to stipulate the correct double bed size's and are confident this will not cause issue in the future. We have relayed all comments back to the homeowner. We hope you are satisfied that the issue has now been resolved and hope to welcome you back to the estate in the future.